Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

"Can't Reach Server"


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1

August425

Posted 17 January 2012 - 09:12 PM

I run a server for me and a few friends, and we've had it for about a week now. When I went to connect to it today, Minecraft gave me the "Can't Reach Server" error. Not only is it not working for me, but it's not working for my friend's either. I've double checked the port-forwarding, and the ip address, but I just can't figure out what's wrong with it. Please help!

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Gking19
    Gking19

    Gold Miner

  • Members
  • 394 posts
  • Location: my room
  • Minecraft: Gking19

Posted 18 January 2012 - 12:40 AM

The external IP might've changed, if your IP is dynamic, then this is a common problem.
~Chinchillin like a villain~

#3

August425

Posted 19 January 2012 - 08:06 PM

Alright, it's working now! Thank you!

#4

Gking19
    Gking19

    Gold Miner

  • Members
  • 394 posts
  • Location: my room
  • Minecraft: Gking19

Posted 20 January 2012 - 12:09 AM

No problem!
~Chinchillin like a villain~

#5

AlloraVentrice
  • Location: El Cajon, CA, USA
  • Minecraft: alloraventrice

Posted 31 January 2012 - 03:38 AM

I'm having the same problem. I've given my friend my external IP address, checked the port forwarding, I use my IPv4 that I found in ipconfig. My friend is not able to connect to my server at all. I moved to another location using a different internet connection and can't connect myself. Please help someone.

#6

Gking19
    Gking19

    Gold Miner

  • Members
  • 394 posts
  • Location: my room
  • Minecraft: Gking19

Posted 31 January 2012 - 05:30 AM

Check the firewalls.
~Chinchillin like a villain~

#7

AlloraVentrice
  • Location: El Cajon, CA, USA
  • Minecraft: alloraventrice

Posted 31 January 2012 - 06:39 AM

I am at home now and can access it through my IPv4 but not through the regular IP. I've disabled the firewall now. It still isn't working.

#8

AlloraVentrice
  • Location: El Cajon, CA, USA
  • Minecraft: alloraventrice

Posted 31 January 2012 - 07:02 AM

K nevermind. I'm stupid...I was forwarding the wrong ports. Thanks for the help anyways.

#9

Milkshake554

Posted 04 February 2012 - 05:20 PM

What do I have to set in the firewall? Have the same problem.. :/

#10

ntorrisi
    ntorrisi

    Newly Spawned

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 February 2012 - 10:04 AM

View PostGking19, on 18 January 2012 - 12:40 AM, said:

The external IP might've changed, if your IP is dynamic, then this is a common problem.

i had the same problem but the server is online but i cant reach it apparently.? none of my ip's have changed what do i do?

#11

Gking19
    Gking19

    Gold Miner

  • Members
  • 394 posts
  • Location: my room
  • Minecraft: Gking19

Posted 08 February 2012 - 02:37 PM

You probably didn't port forward correctly.
Milkshake you have to allow (what I'd suggest) minecraft itself and the server software through the firewall.
~Chinchillin like a villain~

#12

Keeran381

Posted 12 February 2012 - 05:25 AM

I am having a similar issue. I am able to connect to a friend's server, but another friend is getting the "can't reach server" message. He has entered exactly what I enter and still gets the same message.

#13

Seanic
    Seanic

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 24 March 2012 - 06:53 PM

I'm having the same problem. I've got a list of ten servers on my game, and ALL of them say "Can't Reach Server."

#14

CreeperManEd

Posted 08 April 2012 - 01:09 AM

I'm having the same problem, my friends can't join, I checked my IP and was port-forwarded 25565 before the server was made. I have to use localhost to join it.

#15

CreeperManEd

Posted 08 April 2012 - 01:22 AM

I need help

#16

Lorenzero

Posted 26 April 2012 - 05:45 AM

Weird Problem, I can only access my server, with the same ip, everyone is unable to access the server, it says 'Cant reach Server'  Big Problem!

#17

Su_KE
    Su_KE

    Carpenter

  • Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 26 April 2012 - 06:05 AM

View PostLorenzero, on 26 April 2012 - 05:45 AM, said:

Weird Problem, I can only access my server, with the same ip, everyone is unable to access the server, it says 'Cant reach Server'  Big Problem!

Please post your own posts with the issue. And post your network settings models etc in format

<Modem / Modem Router [Ext IP] [Int IP]> < Router [Int IP]> < PC [Int IP]> where applicable.

Also post in your own NEW thread any information you think we should know such as SMP type Server CP use etc

#18

WasianBoy

Posted 29 April 2012 - 06:24 PM

Im Stupid and i dont know anything about ip or sockets or whatever but is there a way to check if the ip has changed?

#19

Sir_Mathew_Steel

Posted 29 April 2012 - 07:16 PM

Can somebody please test this bukkit server i`ve been trying to get work for a while now.
5.162.157.136

#20

Mikis99
    Mikis99

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 25 June 2012 - 06:24 PM

Hi! I have created a server with Hamachi and I put IP to my friend. When he wants to connect It says: Can`t reach server! What I should do?Posted Image