Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Using Fraps to record gameplay and webcam?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1

BrooksyFC
  • Location: In the South West
  • Minecraft: Brooksy_FC

Posted 09 January 2012 - 01:14 PM

Just ordered a new HD webcam and was wondering if there is anyway to record gameplay/what's on the screen, along with my webcam. I'm assuming that you get standard software with it.

Currently with the webcam I have, I am recording the gameplay with fraps on the main pc and then using my laptop to record the webcam. Bit annoying to sync them up when editing the video.

Any idea if I can assign a button (mine is F9) to record the screen and the webcam at the same time with fraps or any other software?
Posted Image

Register or log in to remove.

#2

kbrocks100
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: kbrocks100

Posted 09 January 2012 - 01:26 PM

Record the game and your webcam video separately, then in a video editor (Camtasia Studio, Sony Vegas, ect) put the two clips together.

#3

Advize
    Advize

    Void Walker

  • Members
  • 1530 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Minecraft: Advize

Posted 09 January 2012 - 01:29 PM

Find out how to change the hotkey to record (in your webcam software) and change it to the same button as you use to start recording in fraps (or vice versa). Not sure what kind of performance hit you can expect from trying to record both at once though.

#4

btwsupporter
  • Location: Living In China
  • Minecraft: Mikesully52

Posted 09 January 2012 - 01:33 PM

Potentially Fraps can do it, but you have to find/buy the premium version.

#5

fm87
    fm87

    Beyond the Horizon

  • Members
  • 22016 posts

Posted 09 January 2012 - 01:35 PM

I'm not sure if you can set them to record at the exact same time, but you can set the webcam to record, start the game up and then sync it together. That's how most people do it.

Editing is 99% of making youtube videos, and most people spend a few hours doing it. The rest is take after take after take after take.

#6

BrooksyFC
  • Location: In the South West
  • Minecraft: Brooksy_FC

Posted 09 January 2012 - 01:41 PM

View Postkbrocks100, on 09 January 2012 - 01:26 PM, said:

Record the game and your webcam video separately, then in a video editor (Camtasia Studio, Sony Vegas, ect) put the two clips together.

Yeah that's what were doing at the mo. Just a little time consuming getting it inline. Not a huge issue.

View PostAdvize, on 09 January 2012 - 01:29 PM, said:

Find out how to change the hotkey to record (in your webcam software) and change it to the same button as you use to start recording in fraps (or vice versa). Not sure what kind of performance hit you can expect from trying to record both at once though.

Yeah that's what I'm hoping will work. Lag is the main issue, if we get any. Got a decent pc with a lot of RAM so we shouldn't have a huge problem.
Posted Image

#7

Advize
    Advize

    Void Walker

  • Members
  • 1530 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Minecraft: Advize

Posted 09 January 2012 - 01:45 PM

View PostBrooksyFC, on 09 January 2012 - 01:41 PM, said:

Yeah that's what were doing at the mo. Just a little time consuming getting it inline. Not a huge issue.

Yeah that's what I'm hoping will work. Lag is the main issue, if we get any. Got a decent pc with a lot of RAM so we shouldn't have a huge problem.

If you have a second hard drive, set Fraps to record to one while the webcam records to another.

#8

fm87
    fm87

    Beyond the Horizon

  • Members
  • 22016 posts

Posted 09 January 2012 - 01:56 PM

View PostBrooksyFC, on 09 January 2012 - 01:41 PM, said:

Yeah that's what I'm hoping will work. Lag is the main issue, if we get any. Got a decent pc with a lot of RAM so we shouldn't have a huge problem.
You need to record to a second hard drive separate from your games (and also preferably your OS).

This is not optional, you will lag very badly if you do not, unless you're recording in a native SD resolution.

#9

BrooksyFC
  • Location: In the South West
  • Minecraft: Brooksy_FC

Posted 09 January 2012 - 03:43 PM

View Postfm87, on 09 January 2012 - 01:56 PM, said:

You need to record to a second hard drive separate from your games (and also preferably your OS).

This is not optional, you will lag very badly if you do not, unless you're recording in a native SD resolution.

I may have to record on the main hard drive and record the other on my portable hard drive.

Were gunna be recording at 1280 x 720 I think. The one we use at the mo is about 800 x 600, but it's a bad make. So I'm hoping that we can record at that res with the new one I've ordered.
Posted Image

#10

flendtDK
    flendtDK

    Obsidian Miner

  • Members
  • 1367 posts
  • Location: In heaven (where the god Notch lives)
  • Minecraft: xXxflendtxXx / FlendtDK

Posted 09 January 2012 - 03:47 PM

Wait, i have a laptop, and my webcam is an HD one, in my laptop. But how to i find the driver or anything for that webcam? I tried to search for webcam in "run" but that didnt work. I got the laptop ASUS G74SX and i havent even really tried out the webcam yet, please help :)

#11

fm87
    fm87

    Beyond the Horizon

  • Members
  • 22016 posts

Posted 09 January 2012 - 04:00 PM

View PostBrooksyFC, on 09 January 2012 - 03:43 PM, said:

I may have to record on the main hard drive and record the other on my portable hard drive.

Were gunna be recording at 1280 x 720 I think. The one we use at the mo is about 800 x 600, but it's a bad make. So I'm hoping that we can record at that res with the new one I've ordered.
You will get a lot of lag if you record FRAPS to the same drive both your OS and games are on.

The head on the hard drive can only seek so much at a time.

#12

Gamer_games12
  • Location: Y U WANT TO NO
  • Minecraft: freechat900
  • Xbox:Cant tell

Posted 07 February 2014 - 11:41 PM

Use screen-cast-o-matic to record webcam and gameplay at the same time Posted Image
<a target='_blank' title='Minecraftanonymous - Get Tested!' href=http://www.minecraftanonymous.com><img src=http://www.minecraftanonymous.com/assets/banners/banner_73.png border='0'/></a>