Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[1.0.0] AdvHud Mod v1.5


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1

idiotioc
  • Minecraft: Idiotioc

Posted 25 December 2011 - 07:11 PM

This is my first mod for Minecraft. I picked up Minecraft last year in October, and I have been playing it ever since. I started java programming summer in this year and I am now confident enough to attempt a Minecraft modification. For some time, I've believed that the current Minecraft Heads up display is a bit unintuitive and leads to an extremely cluttered screen. Since the release of the GUI scaling option and the addition of the hunger bar and XP bar, I decided that it was high time to create my own HUD mod that reorganizes the screen elements so that the player will have a larger view of the middle of the screen. And so I created this.

Currently it changes the location of a few of the HUD parts for better organization and displays information such as your co-ordinates and held item (and arrow ammo when holding a bow). It also displays the compass and clock onscreen if they are in the inventory, eliminating to need to use up an quick bar slot. It can also hide or show the version tag at the top corner of the screen. The newest feature of this mod allows one to choose whether they want to show the HUD at all using a fade system that can select the amount of time an element stays on-screen after changing.

Version 1.5: Restructured HUD (internally, for ease of implementation of repositioning later), added light sensor, revamped menu, made clock and compass independent, and added more display options for the held item caption and co-ordinate display. Now warns you using the item caption when you are holding a tool with under 5% usage remaining.

Images:
Spoiler:

Downloads and Version History:
Current Version - V1.5:   Minecraft 1.0.0: Download

Version History
Spoiler:

How to Install:
1. Download the mod from the download link on this page. Choose the correct download for the right version of MineCraft.
2. Extract the files.
3. Using an archiver program such as WinZip, WinRar, or 7zip, open the minecraft.jar in the \bin folder.
4. Copy the random class file directly into the JAR, replacing one of the existing files.
5. Copy the \net folder directly into the JAR; this will merge the folder contents with existing files.
6. Delete the \META-INF folder if it is still in the JAR.
7. Load up MineCraft and play.

Incompatibilities:

This mod will have some incompatibility issues with mods that alter the in-game heads-up display.
Incompatible Mods: Adaptive HUD (now Advanced HUD), Rei's Minimap, mods that affect the qd.class file in Minecraft 1.0.0
I will list any known incompatibilities with other mods below (if I can find any!).


License:
[/size]
All the content in this modification is all my own.
You cannot reuse or redistribute any of my content without permission.
You may make videos and images using this content.


If you download and try this mod, I would appreciate feedback on this thread so I know what I need to improve! Thanks!
Go to original thread in the WIP Mod forum.

Past Survey Results:
Spoiler:


Bug List
Spoiler:

Upcoming Features
Spoiler:

Feel free to leave suggestions for new features/improvements!
Posted Image - Mistakes were made.
AdvHud Mod @Jetstream395

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Ricuuu
    Ricuuu

    Gold Miner

  • Members
  • 381 posts
  • Location: Germany
  • Minecraft: Ricu

Posted 25 December 2011 - 07:12 PM

Looks nice ;D Good job ;)
Posted Image

#3

DwarfishMiner
  • Location: Poulsbo, WA
  • Minecraft: DwarfishMiner

Posted 25 December 2011 - 07:14 PM

Hey, I remember when you originally posted this! Glad to see how well it has been doing!
This is a signature. I have literally nothing to put in it.

If you're a small map maker, send me a PM and if it's good enough I'll advertise it in my sig.

#4

JonBlizzard

Posted 25 December 2011 - 07:15 PM

Looks really nice, cant wait to see the future of this mod!
If I helped, or you wanna support me click the little Posted Imageicon at the bottom right of my posts

#5

Mathew
    Mathew

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 1079 posts
  • Location: Australia
  • Minecraft: Transperth

Posted 25 December 2011 - 07:18 PM

pigs all round
A single word is not "spam". A single word is perfection. It's concise, efficient communication. If I can sum up everything I need to say in a single word instead of one to three paragraphs, how does that not benefit the company that must pay to store everything I type and upload?

#6

DwarfishMiner
  • Location: Poulsbo, WA
  • Minecraft: DwarfishMiner

Posted 25 December 2011 - 07:19 PM

View PostMathew, on 25 December 2011 - 07:18 PM, said:

pigs all round

Why are your posts always so short and lacking intelligence?
This is a signature. I have literally nothing to put in it.

If you're a small map maker, send me a PM and if it's good enough I'll advertise it in my sig.

#7

Fitfap
    Fitfap

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 659 posts
  • Location: In a slimeeee. :3
  • Minecraft: Fitfap

Posted 25 December 2011 - 07:21 PM

Great looking mod. I like your choice of the positions of the GUIs. :3
Posted Image

#8

Neon_ColorsFTW22
  • Minecraft: NeonColorsAero

Posted 25 December 2011 - 09:04 PM

Thanks for the update I LOVE IT

Posted Image


#9

idiotioc
  • Minecraft: Idiotioc

Posted 26 December 2011 - 03:34 PM

Currently working on a bug fix for the instance where altering your fade time alters the screen brightness as well.
Also implementing a file location change of the configuration file for those who hate cluttered folders (such as .minecraft when you have installed loads of mods (not necessarily with modloader!)).
Expect it to be up by today or tomorrow.
Posted Image - Mistakes were made.
AdvHud Mod @Jetstream395

#10

Sixdd
    Sixdd

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 81 posts
  • Location: Kansas, USA

Posted 26 December 2011 - 07:51 PM

I realize that you state clearly this is incompatible with Rei's Minimap. However seeing as I for some reason cannot stand playing without it anymore, would anyone happen to know of a compatibility patch? Or failing that could you create a little patch for it?

Either way this looks fantastic and I love the adaptive Compass and Clock features. I will certainly be using this if Rei's Minimap ever ceases to alter the same class.


Posted Image
4 U.S. Locations + London !


#11

idiotioc
  • Minecraft: Idiotioc

Posted 26 December 2011 - 08:51 PM

View PostSixdd, on 26 December 2011 - 07:51 PM, said:

I realize that you state clearly this is incompatible with Rei's Minimap. However seeing as I for some reason cannot stand playing without it anymore, would anyone happen to know of a compatibility patch? Or failing that could you create a little patch for it?

Either way this looks fantastic and I love the adaptive Compass and Clock features. I will certainly be using this if Rei's Minimap ever ceases to alter the same class.



I can see no work around for the incompatibilities with other HUD mods other than to collaborate directly with the other authors and merge the coding for those who want multiple mods. However, I will continue to look for such a method.
BTW I have just uploaded 1.4.1 which has 2 small changes: changed the configuration file in .minecraft from /AdvHudOptions.txt to /mods/AdvHud/config.txt, and fixed the bug that ties the brightness setting to the fade time slider.
Will be posting updated screenshots and a video sometime this week (unless someone could be so kind as to make a video for me).
Edit: Found a really stupid bug. It displays arrow ammo when you hold a bowl...  Will fix it when I implement language support. Also going to make the compass and watch appear without needing to show the hotbar (Because if you don't want it to appear, you can change it in options because it isn't a necessary HUD element). Will upload a 1.4.2.
Posted Image - Mistakes were made.
AdvHud Mod @Jetstream395

#12

idiotioc
  • Minecraft: Idiotioc

Posted 28 December 2011 - 08:16 PM

Finished coding a new menu, more options, and restructured the HUD so I can later implement custom locations of HUD elements.
Added a light sensor, made the clock and compass display independent of each other, and added more options for held item info and co-ordinates. Each element is now able to have an independent fade/display setting and in the three default layouts provided, elements adapt their position to conditions such as other elements being hidden or not.
I will be taking a break from coding this, but the next (non-bug fix) update will have repositioning.
Posted Image - Mistakes were made.
AdvHud Mod @Jetstream395

#13

Neon_ColorsFTW22
  • Minecraft: NeonColorsAero

Posted 30 December 2011 - 06:29 AM

to all people who have trouble un installing the mod (because for some reason if you changed the hud you will get a error when you start minecraft up with this mod un installed)

Steps

1.Go into any minecraft world
2.Press F6
3.Now there are 3 options click on one of them
4.Now set EVERYTHING to default just keep on clicking until it says Default
5.Do this with the other two but with the one showing the hearts armor and hunger bar just change it back to the where it use to be in vanilla minecraft
6.now un install the mod
7.Minecraft will now run

Posted Image


#14

PizzaSHARK
  • Location: Oklahoma, United States
  • Minecraft: artegaflak

Posted 30 December 2011 - 07:42 AM

Nested spoilers aren't working for displaying images.

#15

idiotioc
  • Minecraft: Idiotioc

Posted 31 December 2011 - 11:13 PM

View PostNeon_ColorsFTW22, on 30 December 2011 - 06:29 AM, said:

to all people who have trouble un installing the mod (because for some reason if you changed the hud you will get a error when you start minecraft up with this mod un installed)

Steps

1.Go into any minecraft world
2.Press F6
3.Now there are 3 options click on one of them
4.Now set EVERYTHING to default just keep on clicking until it says Default
5.Do this with the other two but with the one showing the hearts armor and hunger bar just change it back to the where it use to be in vanilla minecraft
6.now un install the mod
7.Minecraft will now run

Hmm. Never saw that before. I will look into this. I can't think of any reason why this would happen, as it doesn't change any save data, and when uninstalled, it shouldn't try to read the config file.
Edit: Well, this is extremely strange, because I just tested this out and it works perfectly fine for me.

View PostPizzaSHARK, on 30 December 2011 - 07:42 AM, said:

Nested spoilers aren't working for displaying images.

Are you sure? Working for me.
Posted Image - Mistakes were made.
AdvHud Mod @Jetstream395

#16

Ssonicninja

Posted 01 January 2012 - 12:02 AM

So how do you open the menu? Its not showing when i press escape?

Nevermind XD This mod is very cool btw props to you! :Diamond:

Edited by Ssonicninja, 01 January 2012 - 12:08 AM.


#17

PwnZer101

Posted 01 January 2012 - 12:46 AM

Please make it where you can ccustomize it to where ever you want
I ve Been sniping for our country.Now We need you to snipe.Sniper Land

#18

AsianRaisen

Posted 03 January 2012 - 01:23 AM

HEY! is there a way you could possible make multiple custom HUD options so we can change them ourselves?

#19

NECROxftw
  • Minecraft: renxwar

Posted 03 January 2012 - 09:52 AM

This seems to not work with:
Improved Chat
Convenient Inventory

It works up until I try to load up a world (SSP & SMP), then my client crashes. Tested, and it only happens with these either of these mods.

#20

Borz0r
    Borz0r

    Gold Miner

  • Members
  • 372 posts
  • Location: Englandd
  • Minecraft: Borz0r

Posted 03 January 2012 - 12:38 PM

Could you make it so that you don't need to have a clock and compass in your inventory? and also have an option so that you can see how much your armor has degraded?

Posted Image
Add me on league of legends! sparkyuk