Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Bukkit to singleplayer mod!


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1

abbef2
    abbef2

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 128 posts
  • Minecraft: Duke_Freakman

Posted 15 December 2011 - 06:55 PM

Okay so here is my idea, why not make a mod that makes a "plugins" folder at singleplayer, so you can use bukkit plugins IN single player! You load the plugins the same, but you dont have to take half of yout RAM to get a server!

Anyone up for this mod? It is probably going to be quite a challenge!

If you do make this mod, PLEASE ALLOW ME TO BETA TEST<3
Posted Image
"OH HELL YEAH!" - Me

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Derpsalot
  • Minecraft: Derpsalot

Posted 15 December 2011 - 06:57 PM

Why would you need things like "World guard" and chat colors and ranks...
http://agm.enjin.com - An awesome WIP Role Playing server. Isn't available to the public just yet, though.

#3

ivanjacob

Posted 15 December 2011 - 06:57 PM

View Postabbef2, on 15 December 2011 - 06:55 PM, said:

Okay so here is my idea, why not make a mod that makes a "plugins" folder at singleplayer, so you can use bukkit plugins IN single player! You load the plugins the same, but you dont have to take half of yout RAM to get a server!

Anyone up for this mod? It is probably going to be quite a challenge!

If you do make this mod, PLEASE ALLOW ME TO BETA TEST<3

3 words single player commands
Posted Image

#4

abbef2
    abbef2

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 128 posts
  • Minecraft: Duke_Freakman

Posted 15 December 2011 - 06:59 PM

View Postivanjacob, on 15 December 2011 - 06:57 PM, said:

3 words single player commands

Yeah i have got that one :D But it should have a function to import more commands! I wanna play with VoxelSniper on SinglePlayer! D:
Posted Image
"OH HELL YEAH!" - Me

#5

HazyHills
  • Location: Between Wales and Scotland.
  • Minecraft: HazyHills
  • Xbox:HazyHills

Posted 15 December 2011 - 06:59 PM

2 more words...Mod Loader

#6

abbef2
    abbef2

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 128 posts
  • Minecraft: Duke_Freakman

Posted 15 December 2011 - 07:00 PM

View PostDerpsalot, on 15 December 2011 - 06:57 PM, said:

Why would you need things like "World guard" and chat colors and ranks...

-.- THat is not what i am looking for, I DEMAND VOXEL MODS!
Posted Image
"OH HELL YEAH!" - Me

#7

Waterdude
    Waterdude

    Zombie Killer

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 174 posts
  • Location: England
  • Minecraft: Waterdude

Posted 15 December 2011 - 07:01 PM

View Postabbef2, on 15 December 2011 - 06:59 PM, said:

Yeah i have got that one :D But it should have a function to import more commands! I wanna play with VoxelSniper on SinglePlayer! D:

WorldEdit brush mode works like a charm.



Where did I get this Premium from?

#8

abbef2
    abbef2

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 128 posts
  • Minecraft: Duke_Freakman

Posted 15 December 2011 - 07:06 PM

View PostWaterdude, on 15 December 2011 - 07:01 PM, said:

WorldEdit brush mode works like a charm.

World edit is so boring, it has to few options. I made Skyrim with it, it took ages -.- just making the bloody snow and grass took like 2 weeks!
Posted Image
"OH HELL YEAH!" - Me

#9

xtrapsp
    xtrapsp

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 70 posts

Posted 15 December 2011 - 07:14 PM

View Postabbef2, on 15 December 2011 - 07:06 PM, said:

World edit is so boring, it has to few options. I made Skyrim with it, it took ages -.- just making the bloody snow and grass took like 2 weeks!

Your not doing it right..

pos1 pos2 replace grass with snow...
Posted Image << Blog which is about EVERYTHING

#10

Quickcraft

Posted 17 December 2011 - 06:17 PM

Yeah that would go REALLY good with single player commands!!!! :Diamond: :Diamond: :Diamond:

#11

Graph
    Graph

    Linear

  • Retired Staff
  • 713 posts
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • Minecraft: Graphiicz

Posted 17 December 2011 - 06:21 PM

View Postabbef2, on 15 December 2011 - 06:55 PM, said:

Okay so here is my idea, why not make a mod that makes a "plugins" folder at singleplayer, so you can use bukkit plugins IN single player! You load the plugins the same, but you dont have to take half of yout RAM to get a server!

Anyone up for this mod? It is probably going to be quite a challenge!

If you do make this mod, PLEASE ALLOW ME TO BETA TEST<3

It is very easy to set up a private localhost server for yourself. It's basically single player but you can add a few basic plugins, like WorldEdit, and not experience much lag as you're the only player on.

If you don't quote my post, I probably won't see what you have to say.

Posted Image


#12

abbef2
    abbef2

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 128 posts
  • Minecraft: Duke_Freakman

Posted 19 December 2011 - 09:09 PM

View PostGraph, on 17 December 2011 - 06:21 PM, said:

It is very easy to set up a private localhost server for yourself. It's basically single player but you can add a few basic plugins, like WorldEdit, and not experience much lag as you're the only player on.

I have one right now, but it lags to much. There should be some nice awesome guy to make this mod. If you can port singleplayer mods to multiplayer, why not multiplayer to singleplayer?

View Postxtrapsp, on 15 December 2011 - 07:14 PM, said:

Your not doing it right..

pos1 pos2 replace grass with snow...


or you could just use the //overlay command, but still. Voxel sniper has a brush ONLY for replacing the top layer of stuff. I love worldedit, but voxelsniper is still way better.
Posted Image
"OH HELL YEAH!" - Me

#13

pivot99
    pivot99

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 111 posts
  • Location: Lost
  • Minecraft: pivot99

Posted 20 January 2012 - 03:14 PM

View Postabbef2, on 15 December 2011 - 06:55 PM, said:

Okay so here is my idea, why not make a mod that makes a "plugins" folder at singleplayer, so you can use bukkit plugins IN single player! You load the plugins the same, but you dont have to take half of yout RAM to get a server!

Anyone up for this mod? It is probably going to be quite a challenge!

If you do make this mod, PLEASE ALLOW ME TO BETA TEST<3

Dude I undrstand... Im trying to make videos in single player... with 2 diferent characters and i just want to use bukkit plugins to let me easly change with mobdisquise...

#14

Pheenixm
    Pheenixm

    Obsidian Miner

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 1260 posts
  • Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
  • Minecraft: Pheenixm

Posted 20 January 2012 - 09:59 PM

I'll try to explain this simply:

I'm a modder, and I've worked with both Bukkit and Single Player, so I know this. With Bukkit, you have a whole lot more input methods than with just regular minecraft. Bukkit isn't a mod, its a rewrite. It has many, many hooks that enable plugins to grab data and use it for what they need to. To do this, Bukkit (not sure about this part) grabs onto packets of data outgoing from the minecraft_server.jar and adds its hooks into them so plugins can register events. This allows bukkit to function without modifying base files.

The mods that have been ported to bukkit modify the minecraft_server.jar files rather than interfacing with Bukkit itself. In-fact, the bukkit plugin required to run these mods makes sure that Bukkit can work with them, without crashing due to unknown data and files out of place.

However, since Bukkit was designed to work with the multiplayer server and its outgoing data, it won't work so easily on singleplayer, where it can't be the middleman between the computer and the host machine. Porting Bukkit to minecraft proper would be a Herculean task that require a modding team. Just look at Bukkit, they have an entire staff dedicated to keeping it working, and it still has some issues. Porting Bukkit to minecraft would require months of work, most likely, and a sizable team of professional coders (or extremely good amatuers).

Tl;dr: It only really works one way, unless you can find someone willing to do a massive re-code for you.
Posted Image

#15

123pandaman
  • Location: minecraft
  • Minecraft: 123pandaman

Posted 10 February 2012 - 11:59 PM

View Postabbef2, on 15 December 2011 - 06:55 PM, said:

Okay so here is my idea, why not make a mod that makes a "plugins" folder at singleplayer, so you can use bukkit plugins IN single player! You load the plugins the same, but you dont have to take half of yout RAM to get a server!

Anyone up for this mod? It is probably going to be quite a challenge!

If you do make this mod, PLEASE ALLOW ME TO BETA TEST<3
Ya it would be nice because you can test out plugins that u made...
------------------------------
"whatever you do don't die"

#16

marioncooldude
  • Minecraft: Marion3300000

Posted 29 April 2012 - 04:00 AM

View Postabbef2, on 15 December 2011 - 06:55 PM, said:

Okay so here is my idea, why not make a mod that makes a "plugins" folder at singleplayer, so you can use bukkit plugins IN single player! You load the plugins the same, but you dont have to take half of yout RAM to get a server!

Anyone up for this mod? It is probably going to be quite a challenge!

If you do make this mod, PLEASE ALLOW ME TO BETA TEST<3

that's what i think to someone really should rewrite single player commands so that you can play bukkit plugins on it that would be awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

#17

Alphieboy

Posted 19 July 2012 - 06:40 PM

View PostDerpsalot, on 15 December 2011 - 06:57 PM, said:

Why would you need things like "World guard" and chat colors and ranks...
what he probably means, is fun plugins like Mobdisguise and stuff

#18

pianoboy8
  • Location: New York, United States
  • Minecraft: pianoboy8

Posted 11 September 2012 - 08:41 PM

i have a question. can you use bukkit plugins for single player commands? i want mcmmo in single player, and i know spc has plugins, so yah.
Posted Image
I am the Lyoko Hero

#19

jodi850
    jodi850

    Gold Miner

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 18 October 2012 - 07:46 PM

single player commands has a plugin folder.but what i learned of it it is specialy for single player commands plugins.not bukkit plugins.
but still since minecraft 1.3 singleplayer has a local server in itself.ist possible to tweak bukkit a little bit so it uses that local server?
i found this awsome tool today. go check it out! :D
http://www.minecraft...custom-potions/

#20

jodi850
    jodi850

    Gold Miner

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 19 October 2012 - 03:10 PM

i found your solution:betterLAN mod
still doesnt run any plugin.i tryd mobarena plugin and it cant start
i found this awsome tool today. go check it out! :D
http://www.minecraft...custom-potions/