Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Redstone Chests


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1

morshu9001
    morshu9001

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 917 posts
  • Location: My chateau.
  • Minecraft: bomb56

Posted 03 December 2011 - 05:14 PM

As of 1.8, opening a chest made a loud, annoying sound and played an opening animation. This could be used to tell if someone was robbing your chest. However, it's not very good.

I think opening a chest should simply power redstone next to the chest momentarily like a button. You can use this to make notifications and traps when people open your chest!
Using a Mac, the best kind of PC. I am a server admin. I only play MP and do NOT install SP mods.
Support shields replacing parrying here! (Click it)

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Morphster108

Posted 03 December 2011 - 05:18 PM

That would be nice but there is nothing for that right now. :(
Posted Image  Like my boss computer much?

#3

Fenrakk101
  • Location: New York
  • Minecraft: Fenrakk101

Posted 03 December 2011 - 05:18 PM

A wooden box could not generate power...
I talk to myself because he listens.

#4

MCParradox
  • Minecraft: MCParradox

Posted 03 December 2011 - 05:18 PM

Yes, but then you'd be killed when you went to get a porkchop from it! :D

Gamer and Youtuber from Great Britain



#5

morshu9001
    morshu9001

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 917 posts
  • Location: My chateau.
  • Minecraft: bomb56

Posted 03 December 2011 - 05:20 PM

View PostFenrakk101, on 03 December 2011 - 05:18 PM, said:

A wooden box could not generate power...
But a stone button and a wooden plate can?
Using a Mac, the best kind of PC. I am a server admin. I only play MP and do NOT install SP mods.
Support shields replacing parrying here! (Click it)

#6

Rockasaur123
  • Location: Canada
  • Minecraft: Rockasaur123

Posted 03 December 2011 - 05:23 PM

View Postmorshu9001, on 03 December 2011 - 05:20 PM, said:

But a stone button and a wooden plate can?


yes,because everything notch adds in can do anything.....

#7

AlphaUKWolf

Posted 03 December 2011 - 05:25 PM

Use a BUD switch. A chest updates when it opens.

#8

Fenrakk101
  • Location: New York
  • Minecraft: Fenrakk101

Posted 03 December 2011 - 05:26 PM

View Postmorshu9001, on 03 December 2011 - 05:20 PM, said:

But a stone button and a wooden plate can?

Pressure plates... WITHIN the wooden plates!
I see your point, but those devices are designed to create power. You're trying to add the ability to create power to a device not intended to do this.
Maybe if you crafted the box into something more... but it should not be a basic function.
I talk to myself because he listens.

#9

Rockasaur123
  • Location: Canada
  • Minecraft: Rockasaur123

Posted 03 December 2011 - 05:27 PM

you,sir are a hipocrit its a game

#10

Scrugz
    Scrugz

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 03 December 2011 - 06:13 PM

I don't think that he meant for all chests to produce a redstone current... A redstone chest would just be crafted like a regular chest, but with redstone in the center block. The chest could effectively act like a lever when opened (or a button). It seems like a fine idea to me, though I'm sure that it's already been mentioned frequently.

#11

morshu9001
    morshu9001

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 917 posts
  • Location: My chateau.
  • Minecraft: bomb56

Posted 03 December 2011 - 09:46 PM

View PostScrugz, on 03 December 2011 - 06:13 PM, said:

I don't think that he meant for all chests to produce a redstone current... A redstone chest would just be crafted like a regular chest, but with redstone in the center block. The chest could effectively act like a lever when opened (or a button). It seems like a fine idea to me, though I'm sure that it's already been mentioned frequently.

What you are describing is the recipe for a note block. Why can't all chests just create current?
Using a Mac, the best kind of PC. I am a server admin. I only play MP and do NOT install SP mods.
Support shields replacing parrying here! (Click it)

#12

Scrugz
    Scrugz

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 03 December 2011 - 10:36 PM

Oh my bad :P Well I was just trying to appeal to Fenrakk101. And it just seems a little senseless to make them all produce a redstone current anyway. Why not have redstone at the bottom left and right corners when crafted instead? At least something to vary it from the normal chest. Why should they all emit a redstone signal?
Don't get me wrong, I like the idea, I just don't see why all chests should.

#13

morshu9001
    morshu9001

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 917 posts
  • Location: My chateau.
  • Minecraft: bomb56

Posted 03 December 2011 - 11:58 PM

View PostScrugz, on 03 December 2011 - 10:36 PM, said:

Oh my bad :P Well I was just trying to appeal to Fenrakk101. And it just seems a little senseless to make them all produce a redstone current anyway. Why not have redstone at the bottom left and right corners when crafted instead? At least something to vary it from the normal chest. Why should they all emit a redstone signal?
Don't get me wrong, I like the idea, I just don't see why all chests should.
Well, all doors are activated by redstone current without modification (just wooden doors), so I thought all chests should emit current without modification. I mean, you could craft a chest+switch to make this, but then it gets confusing (which chest is the switch one?).
Using a Mac, the best kind of PC. I am a server admin. I only play MP and do NOT install SP mods.
Support shields replacing parrying here! (Click it)

#14

Scrugz
    Scrugz

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 04 December 2011 - 12:49 AM

Yeah, chest+switch makes sense, as opening the chest effectively would act as flipping a switch. As for telling them apart, maybe you can tell the difference when you open it? Ha if you're planning to make a trap chest you should probably know which one that is anyway

#15

misterfox0
  • Location: Harleysville, Pemmsylvania

Posted 04 December 2011 - 01:54 AM

As said before, look up how to make a BUD switch with redstone. It changes state when a block in a certain area updates- opening and closing a chest is an update. Therefore, you would hook up your BUD switch to a rapid pulsar that connects to a dispenser filled with arrows. Open chest= 30 arrows before you can say "oh sh*t!"

Quote

I didnt see it either but I geuss its true

#16

morshu9001
    morshu9001

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 917 posts
  • Location: My chateau.
  • Minecraft: bomb56

Posted 04 December 2011 - 02:04 AM

View Postmisterfox0, on 04 December 2011 - 01:54 AM, said:

As said before, look up how to make a BUD switch with redstone. It changes state when a block in a certain area updates- opening and closing a chest is an update. Therefore, you would hook up your BUD switch to a rapid pulsar that connects to a dispenser filled with arrows. Open chest= 30 arrows before you can say "oh sh*t!"
Thanks, I never knew about BUD switches. I looked at one on Youtube just now, and they're not really that compact. I guess you can use it in a fortress or something, but the switch would be too big to put in a small cottage.
Using a Mac, the best kind of PC. I am a server admin. I only play MP and do NOT install SP mods.
Support shields replacing parrying here! (Click it)

#17

misterfox0
  • Location: Harleysville, Pemmsylvania

Posted 04 December 2011 - 02:26 AM

View Postmorshu9001, on 04 December 2011 - 02:04 AM, said:

I looked at one on Youtube just now, and they're not really that compact.

I beg to differ, my friend-
This could easily be concealed in a deep wall (3 blocks deep with the BUD in the middle layer of blocks).

Quote

I didnt see it either but I geuss its true