Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

"Error occurred during initialization of VM" ?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1

Rizor.org

Posted 27 November 2011 - 11:14 PM

So i get this error when i try to start my Minecraft Server on my hosting server, I'm running Pail
It works fine on my Local Computer, which i find weird

Ive tried these two:

@ECHO OFF
IF /I "%PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE:~-2%"=="64"  java -Xms1024M -Xmx2048M -jar "%~dp0craftbukkit-0.0.1-snapshot.jar"
IF /I "%PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE:~-2%"=="86"  java -Xincgc -Xmx1024M -jar "%~dp0craftbukkit-0.0.1-snapshot.jar"
@ECHO OFF
SET BINDIR=%~dp0
CD /D "%BINDIR%"
java.exe -Xincgc -Xmx2G -jar craftbukkit-0.0.1-snapshot.jar

Here's a picture of the message I'm getting
Posted Image

Help is appreciated! :)

EDIT: Both machines are x64 Windows 7

Register or log in to remove.

#2

webrosc
    webrosc

    Kitty Moderator

  • Sectional Moderator
  • 8047 posts
  • Location: South West England
  • Minecraft: webrosc

Posted 27 November 2011 - 11:18 PM

how much ram does the system have?

#3

Rizor.org

Posted 27 November 2011 - 11:20 PM

4 Gb

#4

webrosc
    webrosc

    Kitty Moderator

  • Sectional Moderator
  • 8047 posts
  • Location: South West England
  • Minecraft: webrosc

Posted 27 November 2011 - 11:24 PM

hmm... when computer is idling is there 2G of free ram?
do you have 64bit java installed?

your second .bat is identical to mine so i can't see error there

#5

Rizor.org

Posted 27 November 2011 - 11:27 PM

Yes, 2383 MB Available

No, I don't, should i get it? :)

#6

webrosc
    webrosc

    Kitty Moderator

  • Sectional Moderator
  • 8047 posts
  • Location: South West England
  • Minecraft: webrosc

Posted 27 November 2011 - 11:30 PM

yeah it won't hurt to as 64bit software can handle more memory, not sure what the 32bit limitation is, that maybe the issue

#7

Rizor.org

Posted 27 November 2011 - 11:34 PM

Sweet! Server is now up and running! Thanks alot! :D

#8

webrosc
    webrosc

    Kitty Moderator

  • Sectional Moderator
  • 8047 posts
  • Location: South West England
  • Minecraft: webrosc

Posted 27 November 2011 - 11:36 PM

no worries :) glad its sorted

#9

j2ther
    j2ther

    Carpenter

  • Members
  • 53 posts
  • Location: Ohio, U.S.
  • Minecraft: j2ther

Posted 28 November 2011 - 03:57 AM

32bit Java is limited to 1024MB :P

Posted Image


#10

hexparrot
    hexparrot

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1150 posts
  • Location: Phoenix, AZ
  • Minecraft: hexparrot

Posted 28 November 2011 - 04:31 AM

View Postj2ther, on 28 November 2011 - 03:57 AM, said:

32bit Java is limited to 1024MB :P
From http://www.oracle.co...gc_heap_profile

Quote

Why can't I get a larger heap with the 32-bit JVM?

The maximum theoretical heap limit for the 32-bit JVM is 4G. Due to various additional constraints such as available swap, kernel address space usage, memory fragmentation, and VM overhead, in practice the limit can be much lower. On most modern 32-bit Windows systems the maximum heap size will range from 1.4G to 1.6G. [...] On 64-bit operating systems running the 32-bit VM, the max heap size can be higher

So at least 1.4GB, and it may scale up to 1.6GB or slightly higher if on x64 Windows and still using 32-bit Java.
Posted Image

#11

UserXD_HD
  • Minecraft: UserXD_HD

Posted 19 October 2012 - 09:24 AM

my server  is hosted on mcprohosting i can start if for this reason help me plz

#12

SimpleNode

Posted 19 October 2012 - 09:00 PM

View PostUserXD_HD, on 19 October 2012 - 09:24 AM, said:

my server  is hosted on mcprohosting i can start if for this reason help me plz
Your paying for McProHosting's support, why not use it?
Posted Image

#13

alexeppy
    alexeppy

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Location: Caprica
  • Minecraft: alexeppy

Posted 02 September 2013 - 05:40 AM

my laptop has 2.00GB of RAM with 1.60GB useable so what do i do