Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[WIP][MOD] In-game Inventory Editor


  • Please log in to reply
255 replies to this topic

#1

Assassians4hire
  • Location: Brooklyn, NY

Posted 13 November 2010 - 12:47 AM

THIS IS A WORK IN PROGRESS MOD
PLEASE, Please, don't flame me on how fair you want to play MineCraft. THIS IS FOR PEOPLE WHO WANT INVENTORY EDITORS!
If you don't like the idea, simply exit out of the thread. That simple. I don't want flame wars.


I began working on a mod that a friend (nameloc) brought up in a conversation not too long ago.
I right now just made the layout in Photoshop. I'm going to apply the GUI textures once I am able to get that going.

The purpose of this mod is to allow an in-game inventory edit/addition, since some people have to use out-of-game inventory editors (There's nothing wrong with them, and I'm not even sure I could finish up this mod) to put items needed into their inventory.

Posted Image
Basically it's just a GUI addition to the inventory screen. There's a list where you can browse through block and item id's, select the amount of the item/block you want, and the damage applied to it. On the right of the input boxes, there's the item where you can simply take and drag into your inventory.

This would be handy for building large buildings with a specific material, or supplying other people with materials.


I will gladly take help from anyone who is willing to help me on this.
I will get started on the GUI additions (coding it to the GUI) over the weekend, then I'll go ahead and code in the functions to select a block from the list.
I have a somewhat understanding on how I'm going to attempt this. First comes the GUI, then comes the GUI functions, and last adding to the inventory.

I think that the task of doing this would be pretty wearing, but I would like to be able to add in an item that I need for building into my inventory.


Also, I would like some people to help me with the textures as well, and support for texture packs (applying the texture packs custom-inventory textures to the GUI addon)


Thanks!
Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle. - Plato
"Coding is not my main qualification, even if it is one of the thing I enjoy the most in the world, beside drinking and sex ^^" - ProfMobius

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Donixs
    Donixs

    Diamond Miner

  • Members
  • 811 posts

Posted 13 November 2010 - 01:05 AM

Sounds sexy.

Proceed with this idea.
Posted Image

#3

Anna Hope
  • Location: DEMACIAAAA

Posted 13 November 2010 - 01:06 AM

Never got the spelling in your name, if it has a purpose, but that's besides the point lol, you make some sick mods and this one will probably be the best! I hate having to carry like 400 million cobblestone when trying to build a castle among other things.. Therefore, I shall not! Epic win mod <3
''Their guiding light makes enemies weary, but they should worry most when the light fades.''
-- Garen, The Might of Demacia, on torches

#4

BlockMaster
  • Location: England, UK

Posted 13 November 2010 - 01:13 AM

I would love this, as long as it doesn't work in SMP.

#5

Assassians4hire
  • Location: Brooklyn, NY

Posted 13 November 2010 - 01:18 AM

Donixs said:

Sounds sexy.

Proceed with this idea.
Thanks, and I will. :P

Anna Hope said:

Never got the spelling in your name, if it has a purpose, but that's besides the point lol, you make some sick mods and this one will probably be the best! I hate having to carry like 400 million cobblestone when trying to build a castle among other things.. Therefore, I shall not! Epic win mod <3
Hah, it was supposed to be assassins for hire, but I misspelled assassins. D: Went by that name for a while.
Thanks, and I'll be sure to try to speed up development on this mod.

BlockMaster said:

I would love this, as long as it doesn't work in SMP.
I will try and make it not compatible with SMP, meaning it gets disabled if you're in SMP. Not a guarantee, though. I'm not sure how to do this :/
I'll try my hardest, since it would be a pain to have people going around spamming TNT blocks and such.
Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle. - Plato
"Coding is not my main qualification, even if it is one of the thing I enjoy the most in the world, beside drinking and sex ^^" - ProfMobius

#6

Fallensn0w

Posted 13 November 2010 - 01:19 AM

Looks great & bookmarked :P
Posted Image
The first compiler out there for the minecraft computer called Redgame.

#7

Assassians4hire
  • Location: Brooklyn, NY

Posted 13 November 2010 - 01:29 AM

Fallensn0w said:

Looks great & bookmarked :Diamond:
Thanks and thanks :SSSS:
Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle. - Plato
"Coding is not my main qualification, even if it is one of the thing I enjoy the most in the world, beside drinking and sex ^^" - ProfMobius

#8

CreeperDaReeper
  • Location: Norwalk Ohio
  • Minecraft: CreeperDaReeper

Posted 13 November 2010 - 01:36 AM

I support this yo.

Laterz.

#9

NeonJ
    NeonJ

    Diamond Miner

  • Members
  • 864 posts

Posted 13 November 2010 - 01:38 AM

This looks awesome! I personally cannot wait! :White:
Posted Image The name's Cirom, a BLU KAG archer of awesome. Click the archer to join me in KAG!

#10

DottyIce
  • Location: Georgia
  • Minecraft: DottyIce

Posted 13 November 2010 - 01:42 AM

Fallensn0w said:

Looks great & bookmarked :Diamond:

Same.
Posted Image

#11

tboneice
    tboneice

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 156 posts

Posted 13 November 2010 - 02:28 AM

Looking forward to this FL!

#12

TheDreamstalker
  • Location: In between Wurm, H&amp;H, and Minecraft

Posted 13 November 2010 - 02:31 AM

Looking awesome!~ :)

Posted Image    Posted Image    Posted Image    Posted Image    Posted Image


#13

nesgamer
    nesgamer

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 13 November 2010 - 07:06 PM

Looks great.
Hope to see this out soon.
Oh Hai der :3

#14

Club559
    Club559

    Obsidian Miner

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 1344 posts
  • Location: A little west of somewhere.
  • Minecraft: Club559

Posted 13 November 2010 - 07:13 PM

You could post a simple version and an advanced version. Basically, advanced version would allow you to enter an item ID, and I'd personally prefer that. Keep up the good work on the user-friendly one, tough :iapprove:
None.

#15

Assassians4hire
  • Location: Brooklyn, NY

Posted 13 November 2010 - 07:20 PM

Club559 said:

You could post a simple version and an advanced version. Basically, advanced version would allow you to enter an item ID, and I'd personally prefer that. Keep up the good work on the user-friendly one, tough :P
I wanted to do an enter the item ID one, but some people will be complaining since some don't know the item ID.
So I'll stick a picture next to the list.
The current item you see in the list is the boat, which I made the icon pretty small. It's going to be slightly bigger in the GUI release (I hope I can get a beta by the end of this week) and a whole list people can scroll through, with them sorted by id.
Maybe in later releases, I'll do something like INVedit, and make a little side bar to select what kind of objects you want to see in the list.
Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle. - Plato
"Coding is not my main qualification, even if it is one of the thing I enjoy the most in the world, beside drinking and sex ^^" - ProfMobius

#16

Biohazard

Posted 13 November 2010 - 07:51 PM

You should make a new crafting recipe for the inventory editor (its a block) so you can craft the inventory editor, rightclick the inv'editor block and edit the inventory.

is it a good idea?
This mod is better than RedPower 2:
Posted Image

#17

Assassians4hire
  • Location: Brooklyn, NY

Posted 13 November 2010 - 07:57 PM

Biohazard said:

You should make a new crafting recipe for the inventory editor (its a block) so you can craft the inventory editor, rightclick the inv'editor block and edit the inventory.

is it a good idea?
It would be nice, but I don't feel like doing that much work and releasing too much source code. I respect Notch, and I don't want to release too much source code. This is probably why the mod might need extra installation steps then other mods. :S

Also, instead of the scroll bar, I'm thinking about taking the scroll feature that Notch has put into the texturepacks menu, to free up space for bigger icons and such :Pig:
Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle. - Plato
"Coding is not my main qualification, even if it is one of the thing I enjoy the most in the world, beside drinking and sex ^^" - ProfMobius

#18

ShaRose
    ShaRose

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1148 posts

Posted 13 November 2010 - 09:43 PM

Just as an fyi, for disabling in MP.

WORLDREFERENCE.w == "MpServer"

I'd put the actual class there, but I'm not sure where you are actually modding it.

Might also want to check out risugami's bridge block mod, since it has a custom gui.

#19

Assassians4hire
  • Location: Brooklyn, NY

Posted 13 November 2010 - 09:48 PM

ShaRose said:

Just as an fyi, for disabling in MP.

WORLDREFERENCE.w == "MpServer"

I'd put the actual class there, but I'm not sure where you are actually modding it.

Might also want to check out risugami's bridge block mod, since it has a custom gui.

Thanks.

I'm making my own GUI, since I have the help of the GUI files and Google. :)
Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle. - Plato
"Coding is not my main qualification, even if it is one of the thing I enjoy the most in the world, beside drinking and sex ^^" - ProfMobius

#20

ShaRose
    ShaRose

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1148 posts

Posted 13 November 2010 - 09:54 PM

Assassians4hire said:

ShaRose said:

Just as an fyi, for disabling in MP.

WORLDREFERENCE.w == "MpServer"

I'd put the actual class there, but I'm not sure where you are actually modding it.

Might also want to check out risugami's bridge block mod, since it has a custom gui.

Thanks.

I'm making my own GUI, since I have the help of the GUI files and Google. ^_^

Meant as an example on how modders can do it.