Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Make MineCraft Run Faster


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1

ColonialDagger
  • Minecraft: ColonialDagger

Posted 04 November 2011 - 07:40 PM

Hello!
My name is ColonialDagger and I want to know how you can make MineCraft run faster and without lag. I have seen how many people can run many mods and still have amazing FPS, on fancy and far.

I have a computer with 4 gigs of RAM (2.8 available), which is the max. To play MineCraft kind of smoothly, I need to use OptiFine and set my graphics fast and far. I usually have MineCraft set to realtime in the task manager, and have GameBooster running. I also close other things that use a lot of CPU, like Skype and TeamSpeak. This always sets it to around 20-30 FPS.

I have tried to allocate more memory to Java, but I could only allocate 1024mb (1g). There has recently been an update for Java which I installed. I tried to run MineCraft again, but it came out with the same results, and now I forgot how to allocate more memory to Java (lol), but I'm sure it won't work any better. How do you get MineCraft to run less laggy and achieve more FPS, and if you can, without OptiFine?

Thank you so so much!

P.S.
Without OptiFine, I have around 8-10 FPS, playing on the same graphics I have when I use OptiFine.
Posted Image

Register or log in to remove.

#2

disilas
    disilas

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 176 posts

Posted 04 November 2011 - 07:41 PM

I was about to say optifine :P

Well.. guess the other ppl, got alot better computer than u...
Fly.

#3

falcodomin8tor
  • Minecraft: falcodomin8tor

Posted 04 November 2011 - 07:45 PM

My computer is worse than this (1.25 GB on XP) and i can run Fast, Normal, and get 30-40 FPS, pretty stable...
I don't think real-time is recommended.
Try using Normal render distance.
Have you tried Pre-release 5 of 1.9?
The performance has been improved A LOT in the pre-release.
I don't really know what will fix the problem permanently but these MIGHT help for now...
;)
There is an 'i' in Minecraft.

#4

Tyndall
    Tyndall

    Carpenter

  • Members
  • 69 posts
  • Minecraft: Tyndall

Posted 04 November 2011 - 07:49 PM

Well RAM only effects Minecraft a little bit. What are ALL your computer specs?

Also. Gamebooster is a ripoff. You can do the same thing it does yourself.
Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

#5

conner_275

Posted 04 November 2011 - 07:50 PM

Give the other specs please
- graphic card
- cpu

#6

generikb

Posted 04 November 2011 - 07:52 PM

minecraft code is not even remotely optimized unfortunately, and causes even decent machines to chug.

"Luckily" my computer died and I had to buy a replacement.  Upgraded to an i7 processor, 8gb ram, radeon HD 6770 vid card, and a 128GB SSD for my main drive.

Now I can play with no lag whatsoever, and I can record with Fraps at 60fps easy.

So at least for now the option might be "Optifine or New Computer"
Check out my MineCraft YouTube Channel: "GeneriKB, The Minecraft Hermit"!  Inventions, Let's Play Series, Annoying meowing cat in the background, etc!  300,000+ subscribers woo-hoo!

#7

5z2zzz
    5z2zzz

    Iron Miner

  • Members
  • 281 posts
  • Location: Glitched into a wall
  • Minecraft: xz8yearoldgreifer1337

Posted 04 November 2011 - 07:55 PM

its your graphic card probably, i have a shitty one and i have 8gb and i can run 15fps on average :P

#8

ColonialDagger
  • Minecraft: ColonialDagger

Posted 04 November 2011 - 08:06 PM

View PostTyndall, on 04 November 2011 - 07:49 PM, said:

Well RAM only effects Minecraft a little bit. What are ALL your computer specs?

Also. Gamebooster is a ripoff. You can do the same thing it does yourself.

View Postconner_275, on 04 November 2011 - 07:50 PM, said:

Give the other specs please
- graphic card
- cpu
System
Rating: 3.3
Processor: Intel® Pentium® Dual CPU T3200 @2.00 GHz 2.00 GHz
Installed memory (RAM): 4.00 GB (2.87 GB usable)
System Type: 32-bit Operating System
Pen and Touch: No Pen or Touch Input is available for this Display

Graphics Card
Spoiler:

Posted Image

#9

DentzSetzer

Posted 14 January 2012 - 10:37 PM

This method works very fine for me to improve performance for my game and my server :

Ramdisk Minecraft Tutorial



Hope that will help you

#10

_Illuzions_
  • Minecraft: lookseezoda

Posted 07 February 2012 - 09:41 AM

Yeah sorry bro it all depends on your pc's specs but there definately are some mod solutions like optifine as every one else has mentioned.Just fiddle around with all the extra settings optifine gives you and hope for a better result.I just bought a new laptop,it was $750 and i only really got it for minecraft but the game runs slowly on it no matter what i have the settings set to,but then i tried optifine and had no better result untill i fiddled with the settings for optifine and well its been great ever since then.

#11

XxRenegadeShot
  • Location: Illinois, US
  • Minecraft: XxRenegadeShot
  • Xbox:Lime0fHint

Posted 04 March 2012 - 12:57 AM

Believe it or not, java in most cases has allocated too much memory (1024, or 1 gig ram) I reduced it to 512mb ram and it upped my fps a bit :D To do this, go to the optifine page and download magiclauncher, it is a custom minecraft launcher. You can edit the amount of ram you want to use in it before starting :) Sometimes, for some computers, this doesn't work, but it did for me.

#12

vmanstudios

Posted 05 March 2012 - 08:30 PM

with my minecraft it used to be really laggy and i put all the settings on low but then i got a graphics card (readon ati hd5450) and now i can run everything to the max and get at least 100 fps

#13

zack3463
    zack3463

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 11 March 2012 - 05:09 AM

Could be tht ur registry is messed up or u need to type in the search bar MSCONFIG and u can change the programs tht run when u start windows.  4 the mac i think its MACONFIG or APPCONFIG. u hav to be REALLY careful doing this. your computer can stop working right if u do tht wrong. u hav to be really computer savvy to do good with it. if ur not good with tht stuff then i dont reccomend doing tht then.

now i hav a

4.3 x 4 Ghz proccesor
a 850mb graphics card
and i get at least 210 fps

#14

mahicool
  • Location: England

Posted 22 March 2012 - 07:34 PM

Tips and tricks:

1. Download the latest Java 7 builds from here: http://download.java.net/jdk7/. Minecraft should run much smoother with less lag spikes. It really helps.
2. Set the Java process to higher priority
3. Set "Limit framerate" to Max FPS. The limiter is so implemented that it always decreases the FPS.
4. Update LWJGL from here.
5. Lauch Minecraft with less memory (yes, really). It needs maximum 256 MB and runs fine on all settings with the default texture pack. By default java allocates too much memory (1GB?) which may get swapped to disk and the overall performance may suffer a lot. To start Minecraft with less memory:
  • Download and start the Magic Launcher.
  • Click Setup
  • Enter 256 in the field "Memory"
  • Click OK
  • Login and play

Posted Image

#15

Spoiled_Pork

Posted 25 May 2012 - 01:39 AM

Random question:  is the new Mac Mini with 8gb ram smooth when running Minecraft???

#16

72kks
    72kks

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 30 May 2012 - 12:37 AM

I suggest downloading MAGIC LAUNCHER since you could make java run less ram when opening minecraft

#17

Casey1201
  • Location: The States
  • Minecraft: Casey1201

Posted 30 May 2012 - 12:46 AM

I have an 8 year old computer with a graphics card which is default today.  I run at about 120 FPS for Minecraft and I use Normal and Fast.  How the hell do you guys not get less frames then me? I can run on fast and far, but that brings me down to 70 FPS which doesn't feel right.
Posted Image

#18

playcraft
  • Minecraft: TheEfios38

Posted 05 June 2012 - 01:38 AM

Well, at least your luckier than me, I need to play in FAST and TINY and sometimes it lags

#19

seanTHEgoldMINER
  • Location: Western Australia
  • Minecraft: seanTHEgoldMINER
  • Xbox:Sean6076

Posted 29 September 2012 - 03:32 PM

Install a 64 bit OS. 32 bit OSes are capped at 3gb of RAM, unless you use some kind of trippy stuff to get around (which slows the heck out of the RAM)

#20

ODPBigMac
  • Location: Dallas,TX
  • Minecraft: JasonMorgan112
  • Xbox:ODP Big Mac

Posted 09 October 2012 - 02:17 PM

Im thinking of upgrading my desktop from 3 gigs of RAM and a 2.7 ghz single core sempron cpu(bad i know) to an i3 or i5 processor at about 3.3 ghz quad core and 8 gigs of RAM( 4x2, two of 4gb each). I have been looking at this forum and it seems graphics cards have a lot to do with it. The i3 or i5 cpu also has integrated intel 4000 HD Graphics( the best integrated intel one) and would be like quadrupling my comp speed( single core to quad core). If anything could be mildly improved or if u think one of the specs is bad, please reply. Btw minecraft runs anywhere from 10 to 30 fps depending on the day and runs fraps, bandicam, and camtasia at an unplayable 3-5 fps. Please tell me how much these upgrades will improve it!