Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Chunky - Minecraft mapping and rendering tool


  • Please log in to reply
545 replies to this topic

#1

nrub
    nrub

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 82 posts
  • Location: Sweden
  • Minecraft: nrub

Posted 29 October 2010 - 01:02 PM

*
POPULAR

Latest version: 1.2.2

Downloads:
Windows Installer (.exe): Chunky-1.2.2.exe
Linux/Mac version (.zip): Chunky-1.2.2.zip
Only launcher (win, mac, linux) (.jar): ChunkyLauncher.jar

Wiki: http://chunky.llbit.se
Subreddit: http://www.reddit.com/r/chunky

Development blog

Sample render by 04hockey:

Posted Image

Register or log in to remove.

#2

nrub
    nrub

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 82 posts
  • Location: Sweden
  • Minecraft: nrub

Posted 30 October 2010 - 03:49 PM

Update: added basic cave mode and improved the GUI significantly.

#3

Morty
    Morty

    Gold Miner

  • Members
  • 379 posts

Posted 30 October 2010 - 04:15 PM

Fantastical!
Can you add the ability to delete the chunks as well?
I would love to reduce my current world to only the square Im using, so that after the update tomorrow, Ill be able to enjoy all the new zones, that the generator will generate. : )

And God said:
∇ • E = ρ / εo; ∇ • B = 0; ∇ x E = - ∂B/∂t; ∇ x B = μoJ + μoεo∂E/∂t;
and there was light.


#4

nrub
    nrub

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 82 posts
  • Location: Sweden
  • Minecraft: nrub

Posted 30 October 2010 - 07:34 PM

Morty said:

Fantastical!
Can you add the ability to delete the chunks as well?
I would love to reduce my current world to only the square Im using, so that after the update tomorrow, Ill be able to enjoy all the new zones, that the generator will generate. : )

I did not intend Chunky to be a Chunk editor, but I guess I could add this. It would be a useful feature! I'll update this later if I get it working.

#5

Comrade Mango

Posted 30 October 2010 - 07:52 PM

It's useful, except it can be a little awkward to use.

#6

Z91www
    Z91www

    Diamond Miner

  • Members
  • 708 posts
  • Location: in ur hard drive, steelin ur kookiez

Posted 30 October 2010 - 08:20 PM

You're cool. I love you. Really. :Black:
Actually, 1 request - Could you make it so it shows where your player is on the map? Then it'd be even more awesome :Black:
The Ultimate Minecraft Survival Guide -
http://tinyurl.com/MCsurvival
It has the ultimate guide to playing Minecraft! From finding dungeons to strategies for killing mobs!
Video game testing - http://002b3qoy5tak2w28oh2tkv6u4d.hop.clickbank.net/

#7

nrub
    nrub

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 82 posts
  • Location: Sweden
  • Minecraft: nrub

Posted 30 October 2010 - 08:39 PM

I've now added chunk deletion.

Z91www said:

You're cool. I love you. Really. :D
Actually, 1 request - Could you make it so it shows where your player is on the map? Then it'd be even more awesome :D
Ha! Now I just need to convince everyone else :)

I was actually planning on adding something to show where the player is. I'll be working on this next!

#8

Frank_The_Bison

Posted 31 October 2010 - 07:29 PM

When I load my world, it only loads a small section of it, and not where i'm currently exploring.

All right everyone, if we don't buy Lamborghinis for one day, the price will go way down and then we can all afford one. It's Economics!

#9

nrub
    nrub

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 82 posts
  • Location: Sweden
  • Minecraft: nrub

Posted 01 November 2010 - 01:46 PM

Frank_The_Bison said:

When I load my world, it only loads a small section of it, and not where i'm currently exploring.

Yep it loads the map where the map generator started generating the map, i.e. the "origin". This is a great suggestion though! I'll get on it.

Edit: okay it's in there. Player location does not currently work in the Nether though. I'll see when I have time to fix this.

#10

masami_eiri

Posted 01 November 2010 - 02:23 PM

sorry,
noob here,
I miss something... how do I run this?

#11

Anna Hope
  • Location: DEMACIAAAA

Posted 01 November 2010 - 02:45 PM

Amazing!! This is EXACTLY what I need! I'm waiting for the new version of OreVeins, and I was planning on deleting all chunks so the game world spawns ore like OreVeins, and as such I have only been running around in temporary huts gathering items, not building a permanent base. No longer! Now I can just delete the chunks around my base!

Lovely <3
''Their guiding light makes enemies weary, but they should worry most when the light fades.''
-- Garen, The Might of Demacia, on torches

#12

nrub
    nrub

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 82 posts
  • Location: Sweden
  • Minecraft: nrub

Posted 01 November 2010 - 08:16 PM

masami_eiri said:

sorry,
noob here,
I miss something... how do I run this?

If you are using Windows or Mac you should be able to just double click Chunky.jar. If this doesn't work I don't think I can help you, sorry.

For linux users the command is java -jar Chunky.jar

#13

masami_eiri

Posted 01 November 2010 - 08:55 PM

nrub said:

masami_eiri said:

sorry,
noob here,
I miss something... how do I run this?

If you are using Windows or Mac you should be able to just double click Chunky.jar. If this doesn't work I don't think I can help you, sorry.

For linux users the command is java -jar Chunky.jar

I have w7 x64,
so a .jar file is like an executable?

I don't know why but it doesn't work.
too bad because I really could use this.

maybe I have to put the file in a specific folder?

#14

DE3000
    DE3000

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 149 posts
  • Location: Asmato
  • Minecraft: DE3000

Posted 01 November 2010 - 09:30 PM

Can you make multiple chuck selection? Its a bit of a pain if you are trying to delete a large area.

Another idea, cloning chunks.

#15

Frank_The_Bison

Posted 01 November 2010 - 09:49 PM

Chunky has just saved my best map, It was freezing constantly when I tired to load it, thankfully the problem was because i had around 8 minecarts running at the same time in the same area, so i just deleted the chunk and it loaded up just fine.

All right everyone, if we don't buy Lamborghinis for one day, the price will go way down and then we can all afford one. It's Economics!

#16

the_leif
    the_leif

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Location: Boston

Posted 02 November 2010 - 12:30 AM

Needs a larger scale. I tried to use it to delete some excess area on my SMP map to bring biomes closer to our main area. Not really possible
http://minehost.org - Soon to be awesome. You'll see.

#17

masami_eiri

Posted 02 November 2010 - 11:23 AM

the_leif said:

Needs a larger scale. I tried to use it to delete some excess area on my SMP map to bring biomes closer to our main area. Not really possible

that's exactly what I need to do,
if you find a solution please let me know... ;)

#18

nrub
    nrub

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 82 posts
  • Location: Sweden
  • Minecraft: nrub

Posted 02 November 2010 - 11:42 AM

masami_eiri said:

nrub said:

masami_eiri said:

sorry,
noob here,
I miss something... how do I run this?

If you are using Windows or Mac you should be able to just double click Chunky.jar. If this doesn't work I don't think I can help you, sorry.

For linux users the command is java -jar Chunky.jar

I have w7 x64,
so a .jar file is like an executable?

I don't know why but it doesn't work.
too bad because I really could use this.

maybe I have to put the file in a specific folder?

I suggest you check if your Java version is up-to-date. I have the same system as you w7 x64 and it works fine here, the jar file works like an executable.

Java download can be found at: http://www.java.com/...load/manual.jsp

If it still doesn't work I guess the file associations might be screwed up. I don't know exactly how to fix this but perhaps you can google it and find help on how to execute a jar file in Windows.

#19

nrub
    nrub

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 82 posts
  • Location: Sweden
  • Minecraft: nrub

Posted 02 November 2010 - 11:48 AM

DE3000 said:

Can you make multiple chuck selection? Its a bit of a pain if you are trying to delete a large area.

Another idea, cloning chunks.

Yeah I was thinking about how to add multiple chunk selections. I don't know what would be the best solution - maybe hold SHIFT and you select chunks in a rectangle. I'm at school now so I wont be able to work on this until I get home but this is definitely something I want to add.

the_leif said:

Needs a larger scale. I tried to use it to delete some excess area on my SMP map to bring biomes closer to our main area. Not really possible

The smallest scale (i.e. largest map area displayed) right now is one pixel per block - that's 16 pixels per chunk. If I make a yet smaller scale that would mean not all blocks are visible in the chunks and I'm not sure this would be beneficial.

By the way you can resize the window to see a larger part of the world. Have you tried that?

#20

masami_eiri

Posted 02 November 2010 - 12:56 PM

nrub said:


I suggest you check if your Java version is up-to-date. I have the same system as you w7 x64 and it works fine here, the jar file works like an executable.

Java download can be found at: http://www.java.com/...load/manual.jsp

If it still doesn't work I guess the file associations might be screwed up. I don't know exactly how to fix this but perhaps you can google it and find help on how to execute a jar file in Windows.
I'll try thanks,
I think i had only the 32 version.

edit.
i was wrong, i had already the 64 version.
reinstalled it, still don't work.

maybe i'll try something else later back from work,
right now i don't even understand what the problem is. :)