Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[v3.6] AMIDST - Strongholds, Village, Biome, Etc. Finder. [1.7.4]


  • Please log in to reply
4367 replies to this topic

#3081

Dweller_Benthos
  • Minecraft: Dweller_Benthos

Posted 28 June 2013 - 12:15 PM

View PostShredder725, on 27 June 2013 - 10:20 PM, said:

how to you even apply the -noverify flag? geez. I need a simple tutorial.

Depends on your operating system, but most likely you're getting that because your jar is modded.

View PostDonosis777, on 28 June 2013 - 02:33 AM, said:

Would it be possible to give an option to look at the map with the Large Biomes on? I've created a world with the Large Biomes option turned on, but AMIDST is showing a regular world (I use Magic Launcher, so It's showing my position on the map and everything, just not with Large Biomes. Would that even be possible?

There is an option for it, but I think it's broken in the new version. At least when you pick from seed and enter large biomes, it isn't any different than a map created with normal biomes. So i think it's broken. I imagine if you load a world from a dat file, it's supposed to read whether it's large biomes or not automatically, and it appears it isn't.
D_B
To tell them how to live is to prevent them living.

Register or log in to remove.

#3082

Harun35
    Harun35

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Location: Turkey

Posted 28 June 2013 - 02:54 PM

View PostDweller_Benthos, on 27 June 2013 - 07:14 PM, said:

What version of Minecraft?
minecraft 1.5.2   win7 ultimate 32bt

#3083

PokeMaster99999
  • Minecraft: PokeMaster99999

Posted 28 June 2013 - 11:15 PM

I'm wondering whether this will be updated to suit the official 1.6 release, which is coming out tomorrow... As of right now, AMIDST is pretty pointless, unless you want to backdate your version.

#3084

darksebol
  • Location: Coventry

Posted 29 June 2013 - 08:22 PM

Could be nice if it also would show player spawn location. :D

#3085

Donosis777
    Donosis777

    The Meaning of Life, the Universe, and Everything...

  • Members
  • 42 posts

Posted 01 July 2013 - 02:26 AM

View PostDweller_Benthos, on 28 June 2013 - 12:15 PM, said:

There is an option for it, but I think it's broken in the new version. At least when you pick from seed and enter large biomes, it isn't any different than a map created with normal biomes. So i think it's broken. I imagine if you load a world from a dat file, it's supposed to read whether it's large biomes or not automatically, and it appears it isn't.

Correct, I'm looking at a world from a dat file (save game) and it's showing a completely different map than the one I'm living on. The biomes are regular size. Do you think it will be fixed next update?

#3086

hancodyby

Posted 01 July 2013 - 07:07 PM

View Postjcgurango, on 14 September 2011 - 06:47 PM, said:

What, does he not have the right to complain because it's not working for him? It may be working for everybody else, but it's not working for him. He's not judging the skills of the programmer, anyway. He never said he was a better programmer.

Anyways, it's a nifty little tool, but it doesn't work very well for me. Have yet to find one.



no, he has no right to complain because it is a free program not garunteed to work! he has put nothing into it other than a few minutes, that he was told, whether he read it or not, may be completely innacurate! he has no right to complaint! he has the right to explain to the developer that it isnt perfect, and wait for a better one, and be useful, instead of complaining!

#3087

Purechillos
    Purechillos

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1035 posts
  • Location: The Depths of The Archives
  • Minecraft: DopeyPear

Posted 01 July 2013 - 08:43 PM

So this doesn't seem to be compatible with 1.6 yet.

The Jar is in a different location, the "Versions" folder, and it's named "1.6.1" and AMIDST won't read it correctly.

Hope to see an update to this soon!

Hi.


#3088

Dweller_Benthos
  • Minecraft: Dweller_Benthos

Posted 01 July 2013 - 09:00 PM

View PostHarun35, on 28 June 2013 - 02:54 PM, said:

minecraft 1.5.2   win7 ultimate 32bt

It should work, as long as your Minecraft is not modded.
D_B
To tell them how to live is to prevent them living.

#3089

BigAlanM
    BigAlanM

    MD Moderator

  • Sectional Moderator
  • 1649 posts
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • Minecraft: BigAlanM

Posted 02 July 2013 - 03:18 AM

I just downloaded MC 1.6.1 and then tried Amidst v2.1 on old world saves and also on a world created with MC 1.6.1.
All worked fine.
This, of course, is with a totally unmodded copy of MC 1.6.1.

Repeat: I'm having NO problems with Amidst working with MC 1.6.1.

EDIT:  I just checked and mincraft.jar (ver 1.5.2) still exists in my .minecraft/bin folder.
1.6.1.jar exists in a new folder called .minecraft/versions/1.6.1.
I suspect that Amidst v2.1 is using the 1.5.2 minecraft.jar for it's world map generation.
If that's the case, then my tests above are of no use.
There are no dangerous weapons. There are only dangerous people. R.A. Heinlein

#3090

DOTDOT
    DOTDOT

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 02 July 2013 - 09:53 AM

Hi, first of all I would like to say thank you and what a great program this is but I think I have found a problem with it (v2.1) and it has also been mentiond in the early release of amidst, to reproduce this

1.  load up a new world with options:
large biomes
crative mode (so you can telleport for ease of use)
allow ceats
seed:
321539913

2. open up amidts and start new from seed and enter seed 321539913 again and create with large bioms.

3. enter coordinates in amidts  X: -580 Z:6030 this will place you at plain lands

4  In minecraft telleport by entering the  same coordinates  X: -580, Y: 100 Z: 6030

as you will find in minecraft you will find that you are not in plain lands but in extream hills, this is a problem for me because I have built my home in extreamhills and I am trying to find plain lands and beacuse large biomes are on it will take a life time to search out plainlands by foot I hope this can be fixed in future update, other then that this program is great keep up the good work.

thank you

DOT

#3091

Moranic
    Moranic

    Void Walker

  • Members
  • 1807 posts
  • Location: The Netherlands
  • Minecraft: Moranic

Posted 02 July 2013 - 10:46 AM

A quick note:

- 1.6 and onwards is not supported as of yet.
- 1.5.2 and lower is supported (check the OP for the correct versions).
- Large biomes is broken, it will show the wrong coördinates. It will however show you where the biomes are, but scaled down.
- You need an unmodded jar for this to work, otherwise nothing will happen.
- The minecraft.jar file must be in the .minecraft/bin folder, otherwise this will not work (hence the brokenness in 1.6 and onwards, that places it inside a versions folder).
Posted Image

#3092

DOTDOT
    DOTDOT

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 02 July 2013 - 01:33 PM

View PostMoranic, on 02 July 2013 - 10:46 AM, said:

A quick note:

- 1.6 and onwards is not supported as of yet.
- 1.5.2 and lower is supported (check the OP for the correct versions).
- Large biomes is broken, it will show the wrong coördinates. It will however show you where the biomes are, but scaled down.
- You need an unmodded jar for this to work, otherwise nothing will happen.
- The minecraft.jar file must be in the .minecraft/bin folder, otherwise this will not work (hence the brokenness in 1.6 and onwards, that places it inside a versions folder).

running unmodded 1.5 the program runs fine except the lage biomes which was clarafiyed above thank you will just have to keep searching beyond the coords thank you for the heads up

#3093

Gurzhag
    Gurzhag

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 02 July 2013 - 01:34 PM

Can't download it. Links are not working for Windows at least

EDIT: They are now working fine! Sorry :)

#3094

WoodenAxe

Posted 03 July 2013 - 05:53 PM

wanting to use this for 1.6 to preview seeds on a large biome map (trying to avoid massive oceans). Anyone able to do whatever updates need to be done? (it is open source https://github.com/skiphs/AMIDST )
Adult Minecraft Server WoodenAxe.com
server address: world.woodenaxe.com

#3095

BigAlanM
    BigAlanM

    MD Moderator

  • Sectional Moderator
  • 1649 posts
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • Minecraft: BigAlanM

Posted 04 July 2013 - 05:01 PM

View PostBigAlanM, on 02 July 2013 - 03:18 AM, said:

I just downloaded MC 1.6.1 and then tried Amidst v2.1 on old world saves and also on a world created with MC 1.6.1.
All worked fine.
This, of course, is with a totally unmodded copy of MC 1.6.1.

Repeat: I'm having NO problems with Amidst working with MC 1.6.1.

EDIT:  I just checked and mincraft.jar (ver 1.5.2) still exists in my .minecraft/bin folder.
1.6.1.jar exists in a new folder called .minecraft/versions/1.6.1.
I suspect that Amidst v2.1 is using the 1.5.2 minecraft.jar for it's world map generation.
If that's the case, then my tests above are of no use.

I just created a world using 1. 6.1 (seed -1916308277, which has a LOT of villages etc.) the biome map produced by Amidst v2.1 using the 1.5.2 minecraft.jar appears to be an accurate representation of the world produced by MC 1.6.1.
With the 80-90% accuracy of predicted villages, temples, etc. actually existing that seems be inherent in Amidst.

So, in short, if you install MC 1.6.1 on a machine that already has MC 1.5.2 Amidst v2.1 will give you a usable map since the respective .jar files are located in different folders.
OBTW - The new launcher looks like it will allow you to launch MC 1.5.2 if you wish.
There are no dangerous weapons. There are only dangerous people. R.A. Heinlein

#3096

Skidoodle

Posted 05 July 2013 - 12:31 AM

I've started work on the 1.6.1 update, but it's a bit more tricky as the launcher moves around a lot of files. I guess I'll try for profile support.

#3097

ComtockMiner
  • Location: In the Heart of the Comstock
  • Minecraft: ComstockMiner

Posted 05 July 2013 - 01:01 AM

View PostSkidoodle, on 05 July 2013 - 12:31 AM, said:

I've started work on the 1.6.1 update, but it's a bit more tricky as the launcher moves around a lot of files. I guess I'll try for profile support.

Thank you so much for working on this awesome tool again! I hope you are able to update this to 1.6 and restore the right click move player feature! Again thank you!

#3098

Skidoodle

Posted 05 July 2013 - 01:10 AM

View PostComtockMiner, on 05 July 2013 - 01:01 AM, said:

Thank you so much for working on this awesome tool again! I hope you are able to update this to 1.6 and restore the right click move player feature! Again thank you!
Yeah, my goal is to get the map update out with this patch. That way scrolling will be smoother, and loading will be much nicer. (Also a lower amount of memory required, I think)

#3099

CrowMCLP
    CrowMCLP

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 34 posts
  • Location: Waxahachie, TX USA
  • Minecraft: Crow__

Posted 05 July 2013 - 07:34 AM

Would the large biomes issue be resolved with this upcoming update? and the always annoying question. Any time frame on completion?

| Survival | PvP | McMMO | iConomy | ChestShop | Spleef | CTF | PreciousStones | mc.blackbirdnation.net


#3100

somecooldude12

Posted 05 July 2013 - 05:20 PM

Norton says this program has a virus. Any help here?