Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[v3.6] AMIDST - Strongholds, Village, Biome, Etc. Finder. [1.7.4]


  • Please log in to reply
4371 replies to this topic

#1

Skidoodle

Posted 14 September 2011 - 12:44 PM

*
POPULAR

AMIDST Project Formerly Minecraft Stronghold Finder
Advanced Minecraft Interface and Data/Structure Tracking


About
AMIDST is designed to help enhance the process of finding structures, biomes, and players in minecraft.
By accessing your minecraft files, it's able to draw the biomes of the world out and show where points of interest are likely to be.

What AMIDST can do.
- Find Strongholds
- Find Villages
- Find Witch huts
- Find Temples
- Find Player Spawn
- Map Biomes
- Move Players
- Save an image of the map
- Load map data from different versions of Minecraft.

What AMIDST can't do.
- Show modifications to the world.
- Give information on individual blocks.


READ ME
[INFO] AMIDST HAS NOW MOVED FROM BITBUCKET TO GITHUB.
[BUG] Spawn points, villages, temples, and witch huts may be slightly less accurate than normal.
[BUG] Moving your player on the map WILL put you into the sky. It is unclear on how to fix this issue.
[INFO] AMIDST uses Google Analytics to anonymously gather general statistics.
[INFO] AMIDST attempts to check for updates each launch.
[INFO] AMIDST is now completely open-source. Check it out on GitHub.


BUG REPORTING
Please report all bugs with as much detail as possible to the issue tracker.
Feel free to also make a post, or send me an email at: [email protected]


Download
AMIDST v3.6 Supports 1.2.4 - 1.7.4
( Ad free  |  Adf.ly ) Windows [Exe]
( Ad free  |  Adf.ly ) Mac OS X [App]
( Ad free  |  Adf.ly ) Linux [Jar]



Changes:
Since there were quite a few, I've grouped them a bit. (Hopefully I don't miss any)
Major Changes:
- AMIDST is now under GPL v3
- Completely reworked the profile selector.
- Added automatic seed histories. If AMIDST detects a "history.txt" file next to it, it will write a time stamp followed by the seed for each seed you enter.
- Added smooth fragment fading. (This may be disabled in the options menu) Enabling this will cause all fragments to fade in when loaded.
- Most crashes now create a "crash dialog" containing a log that can easily be pasted.
- A licenses window has been added to the help menu. This will contain all relevant license information for AMIDST and its libraries.
- Added option to set the default world type to any of the world types or "prompt each time".
- Switching maps no longer eats up extra memory. (This will be a huge improvement in memory/processing performance when loading new maps)
- Rendering speeds have been vastly improved.
- Fixed issue where files would not be properly closed.

Minor Changes/Fixes:
- Hidden files/folders now show when opening a world from a file/folder.
- Added 1.7.4 to official version list.
- A new option is availible in the Options menu called "Show Debug Info". Enabling this will add a small panel to the map viewer containing debug information on fragments.
- Library loading now follows OS rules correctly. (This should fix a number of errors with loading)
- AMIDST now returns "4" on crashes. This will change at a later date to include various error codes.
- Mac OS X users should no longer experience the "corrupted" issue.

Command Line Support:
- Added a "-mcpath <file>" flag for users to specify the path to their .minecraft directory.
- Added "-log <file>" flag. Using this flag will cause AMIDST to write all log output to the specified file. AMIDST should create a file if it does not exist.
- Added "-history <file>" to specify where AMIDST should write seed history to. If AMIDST cannot find a file at the path you've specified, it will attempt to make one.

Biome Color Profiles:
Overview: This was something that was added in 3.5, but I've improved on a bit for 3.6. Color profiles let you set what color each biome shows up as. To activate them, simply create a folder named "biome" next to AMIDST. After launching AMIDST again, a new file should appear in that folder called "default.js". It will contain the default options for a color profile. You may edit this directly, or create new color profiles within the folder (following the same design as default.js). Any subdirectories will show up as sub-menus. (There is also support for shortcuts, as mentioned in this post)
- Added support for biome nicknames. (Example: [ "Ice Plains", { "alias":"Really cold place", "r":255, "g":255, "b":255 } ] )
- Duplicate biome colors are now supported.
- default.json is not much cleaner.
- Biome profiles no longer cause an empty profile list when there's a syntax error.
- A new menu option for reloading your list of biome color profiles has been added.


Previous Changes:
Spoiler:

Older versions
All versions of AMIDST 3+ are available for download at: https://github.com/s...AMIDST/releases

Special thanks
A big thanks to the people over at http://www.57digital.co.uk/ for their very generous support.

Supporting the project
Aside from using adf.ly, there are a few ways you can help improve AMIDST.

Check out the GitHub page. Bug submissions, feature suggestions, and any improvements to the source code are always welcome.

Due to requests, I have now added a donation link back in.
Posted Image


Media
A video tutorial on v3.0 will be up eventually. Until then, here are some screenshots:
Spoiler:


Legal
License information can be found at https://github.com/s...ter/LICENSE.txt


Outdated Versions
If you are interested in the old Minecraft Stronghold Finder, all the old information can be found here:
Spoiler:
Additionally, the download to AMIDST v2.1 can be found here:
Spoiler:


Register or log in to remove.

#2

ronyanlu
  • Location: Brazil huehuehue

Posted 14 September 2011 - 01:09 PM

I dont understod how to use the program. I got 6 numbers, what they are?
Posted Image

#3

skiphs
    skiphs

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 14 September 2011 - 01:17 PM

View Postronyanlu, on 14 September 2011 - 01:09 PM, said:

I dont understod how to use the program. I got 6 numbers, what they are?
Hah, forgot to change the labels for 2 and 3. xD (This is also skidoodle)
Anyway, the first row is what you want, just ignore the rest for now. I'm still trying to figure out why they don't work.

#4

ronyanlu
  • Location: Brazil huehuehue

Posted 14 September 2011 - 01:38 PM

Program: 696,24
My stronghold: 779,-27

God job man
Posted Image

#5

Incomitatum

Posted 14 September 2011 - 01:45 PM

I am using the texture pack AND the coordinates from your program I must be daft because I am only seeing "mine-shafts".

My seed is 4815162342

My coords are supposedly: 840,568

Nothin'. Sorry :S
Posted Image

#6

ronyanlu
  • Location: Brazil huehuehue

Posted 14 September 2011 - 01:59 PM

@Incomitatum
I only found 2 dungeons =/

810,494 and 906,598
Posted Image

#7

LateralG
    LateralG

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 14 September 2011 - 02:06 PM

:Diamond: :Diamond: :Diamond:   to you Sir!
Thank you

#8

bluekitsune13

Posted 14 September 2011 - 02:43 PM

Oh my god!  This actually works!  Thanks a bunch!

#9

LN~on~MC
  • Minecraft: lordnaylor

Posted 14 September 2011 - 03:05 PM

a but buggy, coords are oftern out, and normaly by alot

#10

Pag101legolord1

Posted 14 September 2011 - 03:22 PM

View PostLN~on~MC, on 14 September 2011 - 03:05 PM, said:

a but buggy, coords are oftern out, and normaly by alot

you try making it then and within a few hours after the update comes out aswell
yeh i didnt think you could

it works good enough for me and everyone else so why do you have to complain

#11

Nefhith
    Nefhith

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 190 posts

Posted 14 September 2011 - 03:41 PM

This is eggcelent!

I've found many dungeons (5 or so) and 1 stronghold. I love this program. It's like have a mission. An objective in Minecraft xD

Anyway, maybe this doesn't detect what it has to detect, but it takes you to different places, which make it fun.

#12

jcgurango
    jcgurango

    Coal Miner

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 145 posts

Posted 14 September 2011 - 06:47 PM

View PostPag101legolord1, on 14 September 2011 - 03:22 PM, said:

you try making it then and within a few hours after the update comes out aswell
yeh i didnt think you could

it works good enough for me and everyone else so why do you have to complain
What, does he not have the right to complain because it's not working for him? It may be working for everybody else, but it's not working for him. He's not judging the skills of the programmer, anyway. He never said he was a better programmer.

Anyways, it's a nifty little tool, but it doesn't work very well for me. Have yet to find one.
Posted Image

#13

quietsamurai1998
  • Location: Aperture Science
  • Minecraft: quietsamurai1998

Posted 14 September 2011 - 07:27 PM

veeeeeeeeeeeeeery nice
worked on first try!
you are EPIC!!!
:Diamond:   :Diamond:   :Diamond:   :Diamond:   :Diamond:  :Diamond:   :Diamond:   :Diamond:   :Diamond:   :Diamond:  
i wont need them anymore!

#14

kingy98
    kingy98

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 24 posts
  • Location: Norway
  • Minecraft: kingy98

Posted 14 September 2011 - 07:57 PM

Where do we find the coords there it should be a stronghold?
Posted Image

#15

lukesterh
  • Location: England, UK
  • Minecraft: lukesterh

Posted 14 September 2011 - 08:03 PM

Very nice, care to share how it works? :)
I do web stuff...
http://www.lukehobster.com | Follow me on Twitter: @lukehobster

#16

GerardGorey

Posted 14 September 2011 - 10:19 PM

View Postlukesterh, on 14 September 2011 - 08:03 PM, said:

Very nice, care to share how it works? :)

Check out the original thread linked in the OP.

#17

skiphs
    skiphs

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 15 September 2011 - 01:05 AM

Stronghold 2/3 should now be working a bit better.

Try out the new release! :D

(This is Skidoodle until my main account isn't considered "new")

#18

Bawllz
    Bawllz

    Newly Spawned

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 15 September 2011 - 02:10 AM

I hit calculate for a seed I just made and nothing happens =*(

#19

Otrovai
    Otrovai

    Carpenter

  • Members
  • 56 posts
  • Minecraft: Otrovai

Posted 15 September 2011 - 02:54 AM

Just a note.

The 3rd dungeon coords Do not work for  my seed.

Not a Large issue since the first two Strongholds were within 25 blocks or so of the first 2. but number three is nowhere to be found. Just letting ya know that Number 3 can still be way off mark.

This is an INSANELY usefull little program mate. Thanks for programming it.
Posted Image

#20

skiphs
    skiphs

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 15 September 2011 - 03:29 AM

View PostBawllz, on 15 September 2011 - 02:10 AM, said:

I hit calculate for a seed I just made and nothing happens =*(
Make sure there are no extra spaces, decimals, or words! :D
That should solve the problem.

View PostOtrovai, on 15 September 2011 - 02:54 AM, said:

Just a note.

The 3rd dungeon coords Do not work for  my seed.

Not a Large issue since the first two Strongholds were within 25 blocks or so of the first 2. but number three is nowhere to be found. Just letting ya know that Number 3 can still be way off mark.

This is an INSANELY usefull little program mate. Thanks for programming it.
Yeah, it was pretty much a "best guess" kinda thing with the second two. Without importing almost all the minecraft code I doubt I could accurately predict where they are. But I'll try to look into changing the code for the third one.

On a side note, on one of the maps, I actually found the third one close to where it said, but the whole stonghold was only about two rooms large.

A bug perhaps?