Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[1.5.2] GuiAPI - An Advanced GUI Toolkit


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
643 replies to this topic

#1

ShaRose
    ShaRose

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1148 posts

Posted 10 September 2011 - 02:47 AM

*
POPULAR

NOTICE: This mod is dropped by me. As it says later in the thread, full source is on github. If you want to update it, go for it. You don't need to ask me. Branch it, copy it outright, I don't care. If you want to ask me about anything, I am still on irc.

Hello! I'm ShaRose and I'm currently the primary maintainer for GuiAPI, taking over for lahwran who will still be contributing. GuiAPI is a powerful API for creating easy to create and use settings and menus in Minecraft, and uses TWL (http://twl.l33tlabs.org/).


For Users:

Current version is 0.15.6-1.5.2. Please note that as of 0.15.2 and on, GuiAPI is a coremod, and thus requires Forge.

Download 0.15.6-1.5.2 here: Download

Oh, and even though it should be obvious since it's a gui mod, yes, this is client only. If you try and install this on a server it will crash.

If you are using Linux you will need to update LWJGL to 2.6 or higher, due to a bug in the version that Minecraft is shipped with at the moment. Windows users do not need to do this. You can download the latest version from the LWJGL website.

Old Versions:

Spoiler:

CoreMods are installed simply by copying the jar to the coremods folder in .minecraft.

For Modders:


GuiAPI is now fully documented, has MCP source files, and includes a few examples.

You can view the source code on my Github, at https://github.com/ShaRose/GuiAPI/.

I don't currently host javadocs anywhere, though I do tag releases on Github when I commit, which do have javadocs. If it's not specifically tagged, or there's no comment, there's a good chance that no changes were needed and it was just a straight recompile.

Installation instructions for GuiAPI into MCP are on the repo's readme, here.

If you have modified GuiAPI by updating the theme, adding a new Widget, added functionality, or fixed a bug, please by all means contact me with details below or open a new issue on Github.

Contact me:

If you need help using GuiAPI (Adding GuiAPI to your mod), you can contact me on IRC, or you can email me using the option in my profile.

Anyone (install help OR modding help) can contact me on IRC on #Risucraft on Espernet if you have an IRC client, and if not you can use the EsperNet Webchat here. Don't be discouraged if I don't answer immediately, I may be asleep / at work / otherwise AFK.

Register or log in to remove.

#2

linkey11
    linkey11

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1177 posts
  • Minecraft: Linkage

Posted 10 September 2011 - 04:34 AM

Cool beans, I hope you do as well with this project as lahwran did.
Eh.

#3

Blueblade11
    Blueblade11

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1001 posts
  • Location: Minecraft, Australia

Posted 10 September 2011 - 04:42 AM

Yep. Now, to figure out what you did...
Playing since Beta 1.3_01. Yeah. I like BTW. Or used to. Still do. ­Stuff Technic. (Back in the day...)
*Plays Minecraft on a craptop* *Optifine user since Optimine* *Using mods since Beta 1.5_01*

#4

ShaRose
    ShaRose

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1148 posts

Posted 10 September 2011 - 04:58 AM

View PostBlueblade11, on 10 September 2011 - 04:42 AM, said:

Yep. Now, to figure out what you did...

If you mean the changes I made, a vast majority was code cleanup. Renaming fields and methods, commenting, etc. I made sure all methods and fields had a javadoc entry. I added GuiApiHelper, which includes a lot of helpers. I modified ModAction to allow some more functions. I updated ModSettings to include some 'basic' methods to get settings. I updated GuiModScreen to allow more control over the background rendered. WidgetClassicTwocolumn and WidgetSinglecolumn have an option to set a specific widget's height. That's just the stuff I remember off the top of my head, and the vast majority isn't used by most people.

#5

Blueblade11
    Blueblade11

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1001 posts
  • Location: Minecraft, Australia

Posted 10 September 2011 - 05:24 AM

View PostShaRose, on 10 September 2011 - 04:58 AM, said:

If you mean the changes I made, a vast majority was code cleanup. Renaming fields and methods, commenting, etc. I made sure all methods and fields had a javadoc entry. I added GuiApiHelper, which includes a lot of helpers. I modified ModAction to allow some more functions. I updated ModSettings to include some 'basic' methods to get settings. I updated GuiModScreen to allow more control over the background rendered. WidgetClassicTwocolumn and WidgetSinglecolumn have an option to set a specific widget's height. That's just the stuff I remember off the top of my head, and the vast majority isn't used by most people.

infomation overload...

Anyways, going to sift through that javadoc later.
Playing since Beta 1.3_01. Yeah. I like BTW. Or used to. Still do. ­Stuff Technic. (Back in the day...)
*Plays Minecraft on a craptop* *Optifine user since Optimine* *Using mods since Beta 1.5_01*

#6

ShaRose
    ShaRose

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1148 posts

Posted 10 September 2011 - 05:27 AM

View PostBlueblade11, on 10 September 2011 - 05:24 AM, said:

infomation overload...

Anyways, going to sift through that javadoc later.

It's easier to say most of the stuff people use is exactly the same, and if you want to see some of the new stuff to look at the two examples.

#7

honeybunch

Posted 12 September 2011 - 06:49 PM

I assume you install it just like any other mod?  You might want to provide at least a cursory explanation about installation in the OP.  I've installed enough mods that I'm pretty sure I'm doing it right, but I imagine users who are new to Minecraft modding would appreciate some instruction.  

Anyway, thanks for the API.  I'm planning to install this and the Forge version of your ID Resolver and go crazy with Forge mods.

EDIT: Rereading it, the first paragraph might come off as kind of hostile or like I'm chastising you.  Just want to say that that wasn't my intention.  I was really just trying to make a suggestion that I figured would be helpful to new modders.

#8

Mathir_Girelad
  • Location: Chile

Posted 14 September 2011 - 10:53 PM

Can you make a patch for ModOptionsAPI? i want to make Nature overhaul with id resolver and i can't :(
Posted Image

#9

Timrath
    Timrath

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • Location: Austria

Posted 14 September 2011 - 10:56 PM

I, too, would love to see some instructions. Do you put the .zip into the mods folder, or do you unzip it and throw it into minecraft.rar?
Also: how can I tell whether the installation was successful? I don't even know what this mod does, but I need it for the ID Resolver. I've tried getting it to work numerous times, but it never worked, and I have no clue why. I don't even know if it's because of GUIAPI or ID Resolver itself.

#10

Mathir_Girelad
  • Location: Chile

Posted 14 September 2011 - 10:59 PM

View PostTimrath, on 14 September 2011 - 10:56 PM, said:

I, too, would love to see some instructions. Do you put the .zip into the mods folder, or do you unzip it and throw it into minecraft.rar?
Also: how can I tell whether the installation was successful? I don't even know what this mod does, but I need it for the ID Resolver. I've tried getting it to work numerous times, but it never worked, and I have no clue why. I don't even know if it's because of GUIAPI or ID Resolver itself.
i made it work :D just install GuiAPI right after ModOptionsAPI. It worked for me :)
Posted Image

#11

Wilf
    Wilf

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 912 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Minecraft: Rio_Sputnik

Posted 14 September 2011 - 11:04 PM

very nice <3

#12

Timrath
    Timrath

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • Location: Austria

Posted 14 September 2011 - 11:25 PM

View PostMathir_Girelad, on 14 September 2011 - 10:59 PM, said:

i made it work :D just install GuiAPI right after ModOptionsAPI. It worked for me :)
ModOptionsAPI? What is that?

I'm totally stumped. Even with a reinstalled Minecraft, it still gives me a black screen. I suspect GUIAPI just is incompatible with Minecraft 1.8.

#13

ShaRose
    ShaRose

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1148 posts

Posted 18 September 2011 - 11:29 PM

GuiAPI is now updated to 1.8.1.

#14

Epicmidget
    Epicmidget

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 981 posts
  • Location: St. Louis, Missouri
  • Minecraft: Epicmidget123

Posted 18 September 2011 - 11:31 PM

No pics, no clicks.

Posted Image


#15

xSoul
    xSoul

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 535 posts

Posted 18 September 2011 - 11:32 PM

Good job!

#16

thegofa
    thegofa

    Void Walker

  • Members
  • 1822 posts
  • Location: New Zealand

Posted 21 September 2011 - 10:14 AM

View PostEpicmidget, on 18 September 2011 - 11:31 PM, said:

No pics, no clicks.

LOL your loss, Mo Creatures and anything else needing a gui wont run without this. Maybe read a bit, the 2nd post is Lahwran who did this GUI forever.

TG  :Diamond:
Posted Image

#17

thegofa
    thegofa

    Void Walker

  • Members
  • 1822 posts
  • Location: New Zealand

Posted 21 September 2011 - 10:21 AM

Hey ShaRose, not sure if its you I should ask this, or go to Dr.Zhark for Mo Creatures, let me know please if its not here and I will delete...

I have installed 1.8.1 latest, ModLoader latest, AudioMod latest and GUIAPI latest.

Run MC, all fine. Then add Mo Creatures latest (in mod folder) and I get this...

Spoiler:

Never seen that "Incompatible argument to function" before so wondered if it was GUIAPI.

Many thanks for any help and if its Mos, sorry for posting here...

TG  :Diamond:
Posted Image

#18

xTwilight3
  • Minecraft: xTwilight

Posted 21 September 2011 - 10:46 AM

Cool! :D
Did my post help? Click the Posted Image on my post. It's 110% optional Popcorn smelting, old removed feature, new mod. :D

#19

ULT1MATEGAMER

Posted 21 September 2011 - 05:14 PM

teehee i always use this every update :D

#20

ShaRose
    ShaRose

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1148 posts

Posted 21 September 2011 - 08:34 PM

View Postthegofa, on 21 September 2011 - 10:21 AM, said:

Hey ShaRose, not sure if its you I should ask this, or go to Dr.Zhark for Mo Creatures, let me know please if its not here and I will delete...

I have installed 1.8.1 latest, ModLoader latest, AudioMod latest and GUIAPI latest.

Run MC, all fine. Then add Mo Creatures latest (in mod folder) and I get this...

Spoiler:

Never seen that "Incompatible argument to function" before so wondered if it was GUIAPI.

Many thanks for any help and if its Mos, sorry for posting here...

TG  :Diamond:

I'd say talk to Dr.Zhark about that one.