Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[Tutorial] How to speed up Minecraft.


  • Please log in to reply
108 replies to this topic

#1

iAlex`
    iAlex`

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 86 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Minecraft: iEpicsaurus

Posted 15 October 2010 - 01:58 AM

In this tutorial I will teach you how to speed Minecraft up a bit by using Task Manager.

__________________________________________________________
Requires:
Minecraft to be open,                                                               WORKS ON WINDOWS!
and Task Manager.
__________________________________________________________

Here's how you do it, ...

Step one:
One your keyboard press CRTL + SHIFT + ESC  or  CRTL + ATL + DELETE.
Something like this should pop up;
Posted Image

Step two:
Right click on "Minecraft Launcher" and then press Go To Process.
Now, it should look like this;
Posted Image


Step three:
Now "javaw.exe" should be highlighted. Next, right click on "javaw.exe" and move your mouse over Set Priority and finally click high.
It should look like this;
Posted Image


After you've done that, your Minecraft should speed up a bit.
Tutorial by: Alex.  :iapprove:
0.0000001 credit goes to 0m3ga4.

Flowzor said:

Digmit said:

MainFrame said:

I know a thing that is better than minecraft.
Having sex.
Try it.

Believe me MineCraft is better....not as messy and with MineCraft you get to keep your clothes on.  [Sheep]

You play Minecraft with your clothes on? What kind of weirdo are you?

Register or log in to remove.

#2

zyzzyva
    zyzzyva

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 179 posts
  • Minecraft: zyzzyva

Posted 15 October 2010 - 01:59 AM

I should try this. I'm getting tired of 12 fps when only MC is open...

#3

Kalti
    Kalti

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 15 October 2010 - 02:03 AM

Dude, get more RAM.

#4

iAlex`
    iAlex`

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 86 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Minecraft: iEpicsaurus

Posted 15 October 2010 - 02:03 AM

zyzzyva said:

I should try this. I'm getting tired of 12 fps when only MC is open...
Yeah, it'll help a lot, when Minecraft needs to use RAM it'll just use it.
Also, for further help I'd also read: viewtopic.php?f=17&t=26219
Good-luck!

Flowzor said:

Digmit said:

MainFrame said:

I know a thing that is better than minecraft.
Having sex.
Try it.

Believe me MineCraft is better....not as messy and with MineCraft you get to keep your clothes on.  [Sheep]

You play Minecraft with your clothes on? What kind of weirdo are you?

#5

MrDerogative
  • Location: In your subconscious

Posted 15 October 2010 - 02:03 AM

oh man this works great, thanks for the tutorial, I wish I'd figured this out earlier :iapprove:

#6

TacKY
    TacKY

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 108 posts

Posted 15 October 2010 - 02:03 AM

O SHI- DID U JUST STATE SUMTING UH AS DECIDED HOW FAR TWO?

MOD EDIT: Your posts have been like this a lot lately. Stop that.

#7

iAlex`
    iAlex`

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 86 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Minecraft: iEpicsaurus

Posted 15 October 2010 - 02:05 AM

MrDerogative said:

oh man this works great, thanks for the tutorial, I wish I'd figured this out earlier :iapprove:
You're welcome! Hope you have a great time on Minecraft.

Flowzor said:

Digmit said:

MainFrame said:

I know a thing that is better than minecraft.
Having sex.
Try it.

Believe me MineCraft is better....not as messy and with MineCraft you get to keep your clothes on.  [Sheep]

You play Minecraft with your clothes on? What kind of weirdo are you?

#8

Xiili
    Xiili

    End Dweller

  • Members
  • 7881 posts
  • Location: Rome

Posted 15 October 2010 - 02:06 AM

Works for any OS you say?

Task manager is windows :iapprove:

#9

Intoxicated666

Posted 15 October 2010 - 02:08 AM

My minecraft runs already at 300fps. But thanks!
[simg]http://i39.servimg.com/u/f39/13/39/46/49/indev-10.png[/simg][simg]http://i79.servimg.com/u/f79/13/39/46/49/pyroma10.png[/simg]

Foxy1990 said:

If some higher beings ever got to view this forum before coming to our planet they would turn back and not bother
Posted Image

#10

iAlex`
    iAlex`

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 86 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Minecraft: iEpicsaurus

Posted 15 October 2010 - 02:09 AM

Xiili said:

Works for any OS you say?

Task manager is windows :P
Well, I guess. Thanks for the correction. :)

Flowzor said:

Digmit said:

MainFrame said:

I know a thing that is better than minecraft.
Having sex.
Try it.

Believe me MineCraft is better....not as messy and with MineCraft you get to keep your clothes on.  [Sheep]

You play Minecraft with your clothes on? What kind of weirdo are you?

#11

Karob
    Karob

    Redstone Miner

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 611 posts
  • Location: The Wilds of Ard
  • Minecraft: karob

Posted 15 October 2010 - 02:32 AM

Dude! Nice - now I'm playing fullscreen without the lag and jumpiness.
Posted Image

#12

iAlex`
    iAlex`

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 86 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Minecraft: iEpicsaurus

Posted 15 October 2010 - 02:42 AM

Karob said:

Dude! Nice - now I'm playing fullscreen without the lag and jumpiness.
Thats good news, have fun playing!

Flowzor said:

Digmit said:

MainFrame said:

I know a thing that is better than minecraft.
Having sex.
Try it.

Believe me MineCraft is better....not as messy and with MineCraft you get to keep your clothes on.  [Sheep]

You play Minecraft with your clothes on? What kind of weirdo are you?

#13

Erzengel

Posted 15 October 2010 - 02:51 AM

Be careful with this. You're taking priority away from all other programs running on windows. If you have anything running in the background, it will only run at the mercy of Minecraft.

Messing around with priorities in Windows Task Manager is an at-your-own-risk action and should only be taken when you know the full consequences of your actions.
Posted Image

#14

zyzzyva
    zyzzyva

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 179 posts
  • Minecraft: zyzzyva

Posted 15 October 2010 - 02:53 AM

Wait, will this work if I have ONLY Minecraft open?

#15

iAlex`
    iAlex`

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 86 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Minecraft: iEpicsaurus

Posted 15 October 2010 - 02:55 AM

Erzengel said:

Be careful with this. You're taking priority away from all other programs running on windows. If you have anything running in the background, it will only run at the mercy of Minecraft.

Messing around with priorities in Windows Task Manager is an at-your-own-risk action and should only be taken when you know the full consequences of your actions.
Doing this wont mess anything up, it just makes the priority of Minecraft higher.
I've been doing this for a long time, it's safe.
But yes, there can pose a VERY VERY LOW Risk.

zyzzyva said:

Wait, will this work if I have ONLY Minecraft open?
Yes, you have to keep doing this everytime you close Minecraft. Only because when its not open it won't be in the processes/windows list.

Flowzor said:

Digmit said:

MainFrame said:

I know a thing that is better than minecraft.
Having sex.
Try it.

Believe me MineCraft is better....not as messy and with MineCraft you get to keep your clothes on.  [Sheep]

You play Minecraft with your clothes on? What kind of weirdo are you?

#16

ultradude25
  • Location: Victoria, Australia
  • Minecraft: ultradude25

Posted 15 October 2010 - 03:04 AM

iAlex` said:

Erzengel said:

Be careful with this. You're taking priority away from all other programs running on windows. If you have anything running in the background, it will only run at the mercy of Minecraft.

Messing around with priorities in Windows Task Manager is an at-your-own-risk action and should only be taken when you know the full consequences of your actions.
Doing this wont mess anything up, it just makes the priority of Minecraft higher.
I've been doing this for a long time, it's safe.
But yes, there can pose a VERY VERY LOW Risk.
Actually, it can mess things up. Maybe not for Minecraft, but in GMod setting a higher priority will increase your framerate, but give you heaps of internet lag spikes.

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#17

iAlex`
    iAlex`

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 86 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Minecraft: iEpicsaurus

Posted 15 October 2010 - 03:07 AM

ultradude25 said:

iAlex` said:

Erzengel said:

Be careful with this. You're taking priority away from all other programs running on windows. If you have anything running in the background, it will only run at the mercy of Minecraft.

Messing around with priorities in Windows Task Manager is an at-your-own-risk action and should only be taken when you know the full consequences of your actions.
Doing this wont mess anything up, it just makes the priority of Minecraft higher.
I've been doing this for a long time, it's safe.
But yes, there can pose a VERY VERY LOW Risk.
Actually, it can mess things up. Maybe not for Minecraft, but in GMod setting a higher priority will increase your framerate, but give you heaps of internet lag spikes.
It might for other games, but this tutorial is for Minecraft not GMod.  :P

Flowzor said:

Digmit said:

MainFrame said:

I know a thing that is better than minecraft.
Having sex.
Try it.

Believe me MineCraft is better....not as messy and with MineCraft you get to keep your clothes on.  [Sheep]

You play Minecraft with your clothes on? What kind of weirdo are you?

#18

DBerg
    DBerg

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 37 posts

Posted 15 October 2010 - 03:53 AM

Sweet mine is laggy as hell if i dont have near complete fog on

#19

Bacon
    Bacon

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 15 October 2010 - 03:58 AM

Non noob way (batch), so you don't have to do this every single time:

START "Minecraft" /high "Minecraft.exe"

For quad core (i7)

START "Minecraft" /high /affinity 5 "Minecraft.exe"

#20

Sjums
    Sjums

    Carpenter

  • Members
  • 66 posts

Posted 15 October 2010 - 04:03 AM

I have made my own program that launches mc and @ same time sets the priority up :wood:

I could share if anyone wants? :3


Also,  the jar file runs better than the exe ^^