Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[1.4.2] Slime Chunk Finder! GUI! Requires Modloader! [3.0.1]


  • Please log in to reply
234 replies to this topic

#1

KingCold999

Posted 13 July 2011 - 07:12 AM

Ever wanted to see a slime, but could never find a place they spawn? This is because slimes spawn in special "slime" chunks, generated at random using the seed (so they are persistent from world-to-world with the same seeds!) This small mod adds a true/false to the F3 menu, allowing you to see if you are standing in a chunk that slimes may spawn! It does not edit how slimes spawn however, so in these chunks they still only spawn from levels 1-16 =P slimes can now spawn up to level 40! Making this mod much more useful, as you can have many layers of slime farms. Posted Image

3.0.1 Download (Minecraft 1.4.2)(Adfly -> Dropbox)

Mod now requires Risugami's Modloader.

If you know how to make a keybind without this, I will release one that does not require the modloader/forge. Until then it requires them.

Press M to show the map!

Edits GuiNewChat, so not compatable with any mod that edits this - all others should work.

Please comment! Commenting keeps this topic alive Posted Image


Works in multiplayer as long as you can access the /seed command!


Old Downloads:

OVER 9000! (Downloads)

Screenshots:

Posted Image
Posted Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Post your own Posted Image

Installation Video (thanks to theonlynafizzal)



Change List:
Spoiler:

To-Do List:
Spoiler:

Terms and Conditions:
Spoiler:

Post if you use this mod please, I'd like to get a good idea how many people use this Posted Image
Posted Image

Register or log in to remove.

#2

MrProfessorWyatt
  • Location: Troll Island, Alaska

Posted 13 July 2011 - 07:19 AM

This is very cool but i bet most people didn't even know that minecraft used F3.
Posted Image

#3

bowser956

Posted 13 July 2011 - 07:22 AM

Does this work in SMP?

#4

KingCold999

Posted 13 July 2011 - 07:23 AM

View Postbowser956, on 13 July 2011 - 07:22 AM, said:

Does this work in SMP?

Yeah.. I think it does.


View PostMrProfessorWyatt, on 13 July 2011 - 07:19 AM, said:

This is very cool but i bet most people didn't even know that minecraft used F3.

Lol, is it a well kept secret or something? I think its used a lot in vanilla smp for co-ords =P
Posted Image

#5

Colee12
    Colee12

    Carpenter

  • Members
  • 61 posts
  • Location: Missouri
  • Minecraft: Travisrcool

Posted 13 July 2011 - 07:30 AM

View PostMrProfessorWyatt, on 13 July 2011 - 07:19 AM, said:

This is very cool but i bet most people didn't even know that minecraft used F3.

Correction: Almost EVERYONE knows Minecraft uses F3.  They just choose not to due to they think it's "cheating".

#6

UnknownLie

Posted 13 July 2011 - 07:46 AM

There's a mod just like this created before this one...

http://www.minecraft...pawning-chunks/

Quote

Ingame Mod (1.7.x & 1.6.6)

This mod expands your F3 screen to show the world seed as well as whether or not slimes can spawn in your current chunk. You need to manually copy the .class file into your minecraft.jar (open with WinRAR or the like) and make sure to delete meta-inf folder if it's still in there.
If this doesn't help there are lots of tutorials out there, e.g. here.

Download (1.7.3): http://www.mediafire...p9i07nf3amxmxzm
Download (1.7.01/1.7.2/1.7.3?): http://www.mediafire...u8pp6rw6iqeda38 (makes your f3 screen display version 1.7.01 even if you're on 1.7.2)
Download (1.6.6): http://www.mediafire...yw62j6402b10h63

Posted Image

#7

Qweets
    Qweets

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 588 posts
  • Location: Chico, CA
  • Minecraft: Qweets

Posted 13 July 2011 - 07:52 AM

please tell me you could add a feature to show like wireframe outlines of "chunks" so we can visibly see chunks while we are looking around with F3. If you could actually make chunks outlined it would make things SO much easier for those of us who are retarded when it comes to using coordinates, I don't understand how to find a chunks outline etc so if I could visibly see a wireframe outline around the chunks "kinda like the frame outline on blocks when we are close enough to break them" that would be amazing, this is the kind of mod I want, one that tells if slimes are spawnable and shows wireframe outlines around chunks on the surface. Maybe you can make the slime chunks somehow have a green tint to the blocks in them as well? Please let me know if anything like this is doable with your modding skills. Thank you.

#8

KingCold999

Posted 13 July 2011 - 07:59 AM

View PostUnknownLie, on 13 July 2011 - 07:46 AM, said:

There's a mod just like this created before this one...

http://www.minecraft...pawning-chunks/

did not know that... o.O

I may try the wireframe thing.. that could be interesting if I got it to work. Would be much easier to see ^^
Posted Image

#9

Qweets
    Qweets

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 588 posts
  • Location: Chico, CA
  • Minecraft: Qweets

Posted 13 July 2011 - 08:03 AM

View PostKingCold999, on 13 July 2011 - 07:59 AM, said:

did not know that... o.O

I may try the wireframe thing.. that could be interesting if I got it to work. Would be much easier to see ^^

Oh man if you can get it to work PLEASE pm me and let me know when you have it finished.. I'm so terrible with coordinates I would like to visibly see chunks that way i co uld just dig out the blocks of chunks that contain slimes so I know where to start making a trap.. I hope you can do it.

If anyone knows of another mod that shows chunks somehow please let me know!

#10

KingCold999

Posted 13 July 2011 - 02:38 PM

View PostQweets, on 13 July 2011 - 08:03 AM, said:

Oh man if you can get it to work PLEASE pm me and let me know when you have it finished.. I'm so terrible with coordinates I would like to visibly see chunks that way i co uld just dig out the blocks of chunks that contain slimes so I know where to start making a trap.. I hope you can do it.

If anyone knows of another mod that shows chunks somehow please let me know!

I dont know of any other mods that do this.. but I do know if you place down 2 ice at either side of a chunk it shows the division (this is a glitch I believe =P)
Posted Image

#11

toytoise
    toytoise

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 35 posts

Posted 20 July 2011 - 03:46 PM

How do i install this? I normally just open the mod in winrar then copy it across but it wont let me open this in winrar

#12

Battosay
  • Location: France

Posted 20 July 2011 - 04:13 PM

View PostQweets, on 13 July 2011 - 08:03 AM, said:

If anyone knows of another mod that shows chunks somehow please let me know!

You don't need a mod, the borders of the chunks always are a multiple of 16.
Like that:

Spoiler:

Wanna learn more about Better Than Wolves ? Check my channel :
http://www.youtube.com/user/Battosay52Posted Image

View PostFlowerChild, on 10 June 2011 - 01:18 AM, said:

Buddy, that's like asking Jack The Ripper to remove your appendix because he's so into performing surgery.

#13

noampcc
    noampcc

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 06 August 2011 - 12:23 AM

tnx

#14

KingCold999

Posted 07 August 2011 - 06:41 AM

Gotta say.. I find it sad that this has over 500 downloads, yet only 9 replies (uncounting my own) T.T

And no problem noampcc glad to help. :3
Posted Image

#15

Robberhood
  • Location: Akihabara,Japan

Posted 07 August 2011 - 10:14 AM

like it thanky you ^.^

#16

TropicalDefeat
  • Minecraft: Cat_PurrsBOOM

Posted 09 August 2011 - 12:31 AM

So, is it SMP too or not?
Posted Image

#17

Jerico555

Posted 09 August 2011 - 05:16 PM

Not compatible with zan minimap. Works in SMP.

#18

TropicalDefeat
  • Minecraft: Cat_PurrsBOOM

Posted 09 August 2011 - 07:51 PM

Awww, I use Zan minimap.
Posted Image

#19

essaic
    essaic

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 09 August 2011 - 08:07 PM

Thanks

#20

tigereye504
  • Location: deep in my lair, making new items that bend reality itself!
  • Minecraft: tigereye504

Posted 09 August 2011 - 11:48 PM

thanks! just wondering, however... could you make it compatable with zan's minimap? I'd rather be able to use both...

Posted Image