Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[1.8+]Extreme Increased View Distance


  • Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

#1

sevenfour
  • Minecraft: sevenfour

Posted 01 June 2011 - 06:14 AM

Posted Image
Mod for Minecraft 1.7.3 (and 1.6.6) that changes the way render distance is calculated, so that it is many times greater than the original.

I've now added a "lite" version as well that is essentially double view distance instead of "4x"

Original render distance (blocks):
Far: 400
Normal: 256
Small: 128
Tiny: 64

Render distance with mod (blocks):
Far: 2048
Normal: 1536
Small: 1024
Tiny: 512

Render distance with "lite" mod (blocks)
Far: 1024
Normal: 512
Small: 256
Tiny: 128

Comparions:
http://i.imgur.com/ZJNtn.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/aOHQv.jpg

The actual distance seen is half of these values, because the values are basically a "diameter" and the player is at the center. Higher values will GREATLY lower performance, because the increase in chunks isn't linear with the increase in view distance.  If you have a view distance of 512, for example, the game will load 1024 chunks (512/16 = 32, 32*32 = 1024); if you have a view distance of 1024, the game will load 4096 chunks, 4 times what it loaded with a view distance of 512. The max view distance will be loading 16,384 chunks, which is 16 times the amount that the smallest view distance loads, even though the "view distance" value only increases by 4 times.


Downloads/Version history:

Version 3, For Minecraft 1.8 - Current - Sept 19, 2011
Increases -all- view distance settings to ~4x default
Download:
http://www.mediafire...p233cu5p7r1jzkg


Version 3 "lite", For Minecraft 1.8 - Current - Sept 19, 2011
Increases -all- view distance settings to ~2x default
Download:
http://www.mediafire...7k73euwx7o2duqg



Version 2, For Minecraft 1.7.3 - July 17, 2011
Increases -all- view distance settings
Download:
http://www.mediafire...bljcoas9vd01r97
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=X1XAJME0

Version 1, For Minecraft 1.6.6 - June 01, 2011
Increases -all- view distance settings to 3-4 times default
Download:
http://www.mediafire...gkq3ietwr7pjm6a
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=UW2L0R7E


Install Instructions:
1. Download file
2. Find your .minecraft/bin folder
4. Put modded class files into minecraft.jar
5. Delete META-INF folder
6. Start game
If you need more help, go here:
http://www.google.co...iw=1238&bih=747

Notes:
> 64 bit OS and 64 bit Java probably required
> If you're already using a 64 bit OS/Java your game crashes or the screen goes black often, follow these instructions to make Minecraft use more memory:
http://www.buxville....ft-Memory-Usage
> If you're looking for this mod, I assume you have a powerful computer. I am testing/creating it on a computer with a Q9550 CPU at 3.7 ghz, 4 Gb of memory, and a GTX 470 GPU. It greatly reduces performance, especially when using "far".  I suggest to disable advanced OpenGL, the game runs smoother for me when using something higher than "tiny".
> If anyone  who is a better programmer than me is willing to make a gui button to toggle the mod on/off, feel free to steal the mod and re-release it.
> Probably compatible with: HD texture pack patcher(tested, compatible), modloader, toomanyitems, most mods unrelated to graphics
> Not compatible with: Other mods that rely on changes to renderglobal or entityrenderer classes. This includes optimine/optifog and other mods that change view distance.
> This mod is free, there is no license, you may do anything you want with it. I won't provide the source unless you contact me personally, as there's really not much to it.
My texture pack:
Posted Image

Register or log in to remove.

#2

NickWaterfall
  • Location: Norway
  • Minecraft: Victor96

Posted 01 June 2011 - 06:18 AM

Holy...
I am Nick Waterfall, expect to see me everywhere.

Strant said:

No pic, no click.

#3

CsprBzmr
  • Location: The Netherlands
  • Minecraft: CsprBzmr

Posted 01 June 2011 - 06:20 AM

That's amazing. I don't know if my computer will be able to run that.. :o
My name is Casper Bezemer, hence CsprBzmr (removed the vowels).
Just thought I'd get that out there... Yeeaah.

#4

SSkid
    SSkid

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 103 posts
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Minecraft: wrinkletit

Posted 01 June 2011 - 06:24 AM

uhh.. nice..
it will be superb, if lag-free
Currently Supporting a massive growing;
Posted Image

#5

notjasonlee

Posted 01 June 2011 - 11:07 PM

even after using the method of increasing memory listed (i have 4gb), i am still getting a memory error after about 5 minutes of play, despite the F3 memory stats showing me as using about 40% of the available memory.

#6

sevenfour
  • Minecraft: sevenfour

Posted 02 June 2011 - 02:54 AM

View Postnotjasonlee, on 01 June 2011 - 11:07 PM, said:

even after using the method of increasing memory listed (i have 4gb), i am still getting a memory error after about 5 minutes of play, despite the F3 memory stats showing me as using about 40% of the available memory.

Are you by any chance using 1.6.5?
My texture pack:
Posted Image

#7

notjasonlee

Posted 02 June 2011 - 03:03 AM

no...i just came back to say that i have fixed it. apparently if you install java 64 over java 32 it just keeps both, so i was running java 32 even though i had java 64 installed. i uninstalled all the java versions and reinstalled 64 and it worked fine! great mod...much needed for those of us who have the computing power to do it.

#8

sevenfour
  • Minecraft: sevenfour

Posted 04 June 2011 - 06:03 PM

View Postnotjasonlee, on 02 June 2011 - 03:03 AM, said:

no...i just came back to say that i have fixed it. apparently if you install java 64 over java 32 it just keeps both, so i was running java 32 even though i had java 64 installed. i uninstalled all the java versions and reinstalled 64 and it worked fine! great mod...much needed for those of us who have the computing power to do it.

Thought it might be something related to that too. Glad you've solved it!
And yeah, I'm pretty sure the memory usage counter in-game is inaccurate, or not measuring what you think it's measuring.
My texture pack:
Posted Image

#9

sevenfour
  • Minecraft: sevenfour

Posted 17 July 2011 - 05:42 PM

Updated for 1.7.3...
My texture pack:
Posted Image

#10

Ownager42
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Minecraft: ownings3

Posted 17 July 2011 - 05:45 PM

i think if i play on far, my computer will explode :P

(using a pentium 4 2.8ghz)
Posted Image
did my comment helped you, dont forget to press that little + in the corner!

#11

sevenfour
  • Minecraft: sevenfour

Posted 17 July 2011 - 06:36 PM

View PostOwnager42, on 17 July 2011 - 05:45 PM, said:

i think if i play on far, my computer will explode :P

(using a pentium 4 2.8ghz)

Yes it will
My texture pack:
Posted Image

#12

NyaNyaSoul

Posted 17 July 2011 - 06:39 PM

My computer cant even handle 200, and with the mod the least will be 500. i dont think it will work for me. :/
This would be such a epic mod if it doesnt cause lag...
Posted Image

#13

TerraFreeze

Posted 17 July 2011 - 06:42 PM

extreme lag will also need the help of optimine and optifog,

i beet it helps... btw doesn anyone have a picture of renderdistance on far using this mod?

Posted Image

          Why fight to live, if living to die?

#14

_WitchKing_

Posted 17 July 2011 - 06:57 PM

Posted Image

It is my computer.

And you attack it
---
Nice mod thx :D
Posted Image

#15

Asgardian
    Asgardian

    Nether Resident

  • Members
  • 2367 posts
  • Location: Lost in dreams and fantasy beyond space and time.
  • Minecraft: Akantorkiller

Posted 17 July 2011 - 08:01 PM

Now I feel like a boss, because my computer has no problem to handle it  :iapprove:

#16

sevenfour
  • Minecraft: sevenfour

Posted 17 July 2011 - 10:51 PM

View PostNyaNyaSoul, on 17 July 2011 - 06:39 PM, said:

My computer cant even handle 200, and with the mod the least will be 500. i dont think it will work for me. :/
This would be such a epic mod if it doesnt cause lag...

Sorry, but that's impossible...

View PostTerraFreeze, on 17 July 2011 - 06:42 PM, said:

extreme lag will also need the help of optimine and optifog,

i beet it helps... btw doesn anyone have a picture of renderdistance on far using this mod?

It would help but that mod edits the same classes as this one and they have ignored my message to add my mod as an option in optifog/optimine.
My texture pack:
Posted Image

#17

Fraktal
    Fraktal

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 944 posts
  • Location: Some Small Town, GA
  • Minecraft: shoop_da_woop13

Posted 25 July 2011 - 01:54 AM

Wow, i usually get about 200+ fps, and when i installed it, it went down to 20 Lmao. This would be awesome if i had a super computer, i just have a NEW computer. xD
Great mod though, i had to uninstall it.

#18

XeoNz
    XeoNz

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 114 posts

Posted 07 September 2011 - 09:36 PM

this mod is awesome just installed it now

#19

planloser

Posted 19 September 2011 - 11:54 PM

is this workin for the "Bedrock fog" too? the lowered view distance in 1.8 is really annoying.
Im looking for a MOD to expand the view distance in Bedrock level. PM me.

#20

WatcherInTheShadows

Posted 20 September 2011 - 12:35 AM

The guys over at Robinton's Cubic Chunks would love to talk to you I think.
You want this! It's your precioussssssss! XD
Posted Image