Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[Solution to remix packs]

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
1254 replies to this topic

Gestankfaust
  • Minecraft: Gestankfaust

Posted 28 August 2011 - 03:33 AM

Yeah...at the beginning, I didn't want (or don't remember wanting :P) a sub-forum for remixes. But seriously...now? It becomes a shame to see first run pack/projects get buried by so many rehashes of the same packs.

Posted Image
"This may hurt a little, but it's something you'll get used to...."

Register or log in to remove.

Stefenatefun
  • Minecraft: stefenatefun

Posted 01 September 2011 - 08:42 PM

Remix packs should be both in their own section, and have [Remix] at the beginning of the thread title. I honestly hate it when I get texture packs that are just a different texture pack, just recoloured.

chalarie

Posted 02 September 2011 - 07:02 AM

Being a texture artist, i can see from the viewpoints of many other texturepackers- you spend way too much time perfecting this art for someone to take it, change a pixel, and call it their own. But at the same time i come from the sadly infamous Xaiwaker texturepack, where we were taken down for using many of Frendens textures. While we have now changed everything, there is no way for Xaiwaker to have started if we hadn't started with a remix. I think we should allow remixes BUT with some very strict rules.

1. Pack must have a [REMIX] tag and be in its own subcategory
2. Must credit the author directly with a link to their page, and list of what textures are still there's.
3. It is forbidden to use any forms of making money off of the pack by any means be it adf.ly or some other source until given permission by an admin and moved out of the remixes category.