Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

How to set up your own Local Area Network (LAN) Server


  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#1

minepro97
  • Location: Australia
  • Minecraft: minepro97

Posted 14 April 2011 - 07:09 AM

Hello I recently was trying to set up a Local Area Network server and I found there was not a lot of help out there. I will work on this topic and update it regularly so please ask questions and give me more information to add to it.

Unfortunately at the moment it is not possible to have LAN server that works without an internet connection although one can be mad that does not use internet through gameplay (when you have limited or slow internet) This is not possible because if you play minecraft without being connected to minecraft.net your username is always called “Player” no matter what you tried to login as. A person with the username “Player” can play on the LAN server perfectly well but the problem is if two people try to connect to the server and are both called “Player” the second person to connect will kick the first and it will say:


Disconnected by Server

You logged in from another location


Because of this only one player can be called “Player” and all others must have individual accounts which unfortunately means without editing the minecraft files it is impossible to play multiplayer via a LAN server without any internet connection.

To setting up the LAN server, first of all you need to set up a server as normal.
(I may update this later on how to do that if too many people are confused although there is a lot of help out there. The tutorial that helped me the most was on the Minecraft Wiki:
http://www.minecraft...ing_up_a_server)
After doing that, do as following:
1. Open "server.properties"
2. Set online mode to "false"
3. Run the server and it will say stuff about how insecure and stuff it is (a heap of rubbish) If you have no problems it should say the Spawn area is ready.
4. To connect from the computer that is running the server click multiplayer and type in as the address: "localhost"  hit connect and you should be in almost instantly (if that does not work for whatever reason try this: “127.0.0.1” although I doubt that will do any different).
5. To get others to connect you first need to connect and set up whatever you are using (e.g. Diverter, Ethernet adapter LAN, Tunnel adapter, built-in wireless router, etc.)
Next, on the computer that is running the server, open a command engine:

On a Windows XP open the start menu and use “Run”.
On a Windows Vista or newer (up to Windows 7) open the start Menu and type in “cmd” and select “cmd.exe” from the list. (C:\Windows\System32)
On a Mac I think you use Terminal (Applications/System tools?/Terminal) but I do not know the commands and cannot help you with the next step (anyone knows how please post so I can update this).

Edit: On a Mac you DO NOT use terminal. (It is possible but more difficult using the command "ifconfig")
Instead open the Apple menu (the very top right corner of screen) and hit system preferences. A window with lots of icons in sections will show up with titles such as: Personal, Hardware, Internet & Wireless, etc. Open up 'Network' in "Internet and Wireless" and go into the tab that has whatever connection you are using (e.g. Ethernet) and there should be an Ip Address - use that.

If you have an older (or newer) version of Mac and this does not work I am sorry but I again cannot help you. So please again post if you know how it is done or whether it actually has any difference/

Once you have “Run” or “Command Prompt” (“cmd”) open type in the command “ipconfig” and hit enter and scroll down until you find the type of connecter you are using with has an IP address next to it (if you cannot tell disconnect whatever you are using, and run the Command Engine in a separate window and try again and you can check what is different and that will be it). Any IPv4, IPv6 or Default Gateway addresses should work (whichever looks most like an IP address (192.156.1.84 or anything similar). Give one of these to all the people trying to connect and if they put it in they should be able to connect! (If not try a different one) Enjoy!

To all who thinks this is me asking you a question or that it is just an "idea" You are wrong!!! This works perfectly well (if not a bit laggy) and my friends and I use this everytime we are together!!!

Notes:
    I have had this working on a Mac and a Windows Vista
    Wired is much faster than wireless
    I have not tested on a Windows XP and I am not 100% sure about whether and how ipconfig works for "Run"



If you have any questions, problems or if you have any suggestions to this topic feel free to post, I hope I helped.

Feedback is greatly appriciated and is never to silly (as long as it is on topic and your question has not already been answered. So if your have read this please tell me what you think even if it is a minor suggestion such as: "Blue text is annoying and people don't like it"

So tell me exactly what you think so you can help me help others by improving this thread!!!

View PostAtomicStryker, on 27 February 2011 - 03:14 PM, said:

I recommend using Optifine for replacing Notch's funky render code with slightly less funky rendering code.

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Focnr
    Focnr

    Gold Miner

  • Members
  • 375 posts
  • Location: The Woods.

Posted 14 April 2011 - 05:10 PM

Great idea, great thread.
+1 internet.
:Diamond:
Cheap website hosting here.

#3

thomasrye

Posted 20 April 2011 - 05:49 PM

Very helpful. Thanks so much.

I can login using 'localhost' just fine.

Anything else (Internal IP or External IP, including port extension or not) and I immediately get "Connection Lost - End of Stream"

Any help on that?

#4

mason092
    mason092

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 07:39 PM

In Linux and Mac OS X, the terminal command is "ifconfig."

#5

Darkhand81

Posted 20 April 2011 - 09:51 PM

I just figured this out on my own in exactly the way you mentioned, would have been so much faster if I had found this thread first. :Diamond:

My next issue is custom skins on a LAN server without internet access...  Is there any way for people to use their custom skins if the LAN has no net access?  Can the skins be placed somewhere locally that the server knows about so it uses them and everyone can see everyone as they expect, or does it only know to look online and we're all stuck looking the same?

#6

minepro97
  • Location: Australia
  • Minecraft: minepro97

Posted 20 April 2011 - 11:12 PM

Darkhand81 said:

I just figured this out on my own in exactly the way you mentioned, would have been so much faster if I had found this thread first. :Notch:

My next issue is custom skins on a LAN server without internet access...  Is there any way for people to use their custom skins if the LAN has no net access?  Can the skins be placed somewhere locally that the server knows about so it uses them and everyone can see everyone as they expect, or does it only know to look online and we're all stuck looking the same?

Sounds like something a mod might be able to do or there may be a way to alter the default skin in the minecraft files but they may only work if the internet is DISCONNECTED not if you are simply playing offline as it may download the default skin for use. And there is also a chance every time you connect to minecraft.net it will override the skin you put in the minecraft files with the default skin.

View PostAtomicStryker, on 27 February 2011 - 03:14 PM, said:

I recommend using Optifine for replacing Notch's funky render code with slightly less funky rendering code.

#7

minepro97
  • Location: Australia
  • Minecraft: minepro97

Posted 20 April 2011 - 11:14 PM

thomasrye said:

Very helpful. Thanks so much.

I can login using 'localhost' just fine.

Anything else (Internal IP or External IP, including port extension or not) and I immediately get "Connection Lost - End of Stream"

Any help on that?

Yes I was going to update that but my Mum dragged me off screaming to have dinner :iapprove:

View PostAtomicStryker, on 27 February 2011 - 03:14 PM, said:

I recommend using Optifine for replacing Notch's funky render code with slightly less funky rendering code.

#8

minepro97
  • Location: Australia
  • Minecraft: minepro97

Posted 20 April 2011 - 11:16 PM

mason092 said:

In Linux and Mac OS X, the terminal command is "ifconfig."

Yes, thankyou,I did know that but the other way is much less complex (I could not seem to get it working) especially for people who aren't very good with computers :D.

View PostAtomicStryker, on 27 February 2011 - 03:14 PM, said:

I recommend using Optifine for replacing Notch's funky render code with slightly less funky rendering code.

#9

minepro97
  • Location: Australia
  • Minecraft: minepro97

Posted 20 April 2011 - 11:18 PM

thomasrye said:

Very helpful. Thanks so much.

I can login using 'localhost' just fine.

Anything else (Internal IP or External IP, including port extension or not) and I immediately get "Connection Lost - End of Stream"

Any help on that?

Yeah I think that is to do with how little the server connecting has been programmed so unfortunately I don't think those commands will work (I am ver surprised 'localhost' does)

View PostAtomicStryker, on 27 February 2011 - 03:14 PM, said:

I recommend using Optifine for replacing Notch's funky render code with slightly less funky rendering code.

#10

CarpeNemo

Posted 28 April 2011 - 02:46 AM

I don't know about anyone else, but I'm having problems getting my mate (on my laptop) to connect. I think I've got the right external IP, because my server program is saying he's taking too long to log in, but I can't figure out why it's saying that. That means my server knows he's there, but just isn't letting him in. >.<

But...why? I can't figure out what to do. I'm pulling my damn hair out over here.

#11

Juzzy
    Juzzy

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 02 May 2011 - 06:13 AM

Quote

I don't know about anyone else, but I'm having problems getting my mate (on my laptop) to connect. I think I've got the right external IP, because my server program is saying he's taking too long to log in, but I can't figure out why it's saying that. That means my server knows he's there, but just isn't letting him in. >.<

But...why? I can't figure out what to do. I'm pulling my damn hair out over here.

I had the same issue, Try disabling your firewall and virus scanner.

I use avast and once i disabled that it worked  like a charm! :D

#12

minepro97
  • Location: Australia
  • Minecraft: minepro97

Posted 13 May 2011 - 07:26 AM

Juzzy said:

Quote

I don't know about anyone else, but I'm having problems getting my mate (on my laptop) to connect. I think I've got the right external IP, because my server program is saying he's taking too long to log in, but I can't figure out why it's saying that. That means my server knows he's there, but just isn't letting him in. >.<

But...why? I can't figure out what to do. I'm pulling my damn hair out over here.

I had the same issue, Try disabling your firewall and virus scanner.

I use avast and once i disabled that it worked  like a charm! :D

True, but you do not necessarily have to disable them: for me it says (or something of the sort):
"Windows firewall has blocked some parts of this application"
and then you just click "Stop Blocking"

View PostAtomicStryker, on 27 February 2011 - 03:14 PM, said:

I recommend using Optifine for replacing Notch's funky render code with slightly less funky rendering code.

#13

mikro42
    mikro42

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 14 May 2011 - 05:20 AM

I'm getting massive Lag using lan servers, internet or not, It looks like nothing works, but if you wait for literally 5 mins, things start happening. have windows firewall off, avast off, tried hosting local and using a 3rd computer, nothing seems to work.

can anyone shed any light?  :sponge: for anyone who can:P

#14

Diameter
  • Location: Australia
  • Minecraft: Diameter

Posted 14 May 2011 - 06:44 AM

mikro42 said:

I'm getting massive Lag using lan servers, internet or not, It looks like nothing works, but if you wait for literally 5 mins, things start happening. have windows firewall off, avast off, tried hosting local and using a 3rd computer, nothing seems to work.

can anyone shed any light?  :D for anyone who can:P
have you allocated enough RAM to the server?

#15

TBK
    TBK

    Iron Miner

  • Members
  • 319 posts

Posted 14 May 2011 - 11:04 AM

In Vista and Windows 7 the localhost url/redirect won't work out of the box, you have to edit the C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts file and uncomment the first two lines, so it look like this:
# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
127.0.0.1	   localhost
::1			 localhost

Gone with the wind. If you want anything, send me an email.

#16

borgil
    borgil

    Carpenter

  • Members
  • 43 posts

Posted 14 May 2011 - 12:24 PM

mikro42 said:

I'm getting massive Lag using lan servers, internet or not, It looks like nothing works, but if you wait for literally 5 mins, things start happening. have windows firewall off, avast off, tried hosting local and using a 3rd computer, nothing seems to work.

can anyone shed any light?  :ironore: for anyone who can:P

Set higher priority to the service.
Linux - using "renice" command.
Windows - RMB on the javaw.exe in "Process manager" > set priority> high

But this lag is to massive.
Broken network cards driver?

#17

TBK
    TBK

    Iron Miner

  • Members
  • 319 posts

Posted 14 May 2011 - 12:26 PM

borgil said:

mikro42 said:

I'm getting massive Lag using lan servers, internet or not, It looks like nothing works, but if you wait for literally 5 mins, things start happening. have windows firewall off, avast off, tried hosting local and using a 3rd computer, nothing seems to work.

can anyone shed any light?  :Zombie: for anyone who can:P

Set higher priority to the service.
Linux - using "renice" command.
Windows - RMB on the javaw.exe in "Process manager" > set priority> high

But this lag is to massive.
Broken network cards driver?

People should install JDK and use that JRE with the -server paramater.
Gone with the wind. If you want anything, send me an email.

#18

Epic861
    Epic861

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 20 October 2011 - 04:12 PM

I know this is stupid question but does this work just for those who bought minecraft?

#19

minepro97
  • Location: Australia
  • Minecraft: minepro97

Posted 21 October 2011 - 09:50 PM

View PostEpic861, on 20 October 2011 - 04:12 PM, said:

I know this is stupid question but does this work just for those who bought minecraft?

Well I have mentioned it but I will re-explain for you :P

If you are not logged in to a premium account you will have to play offline. No matter what your non-premium username is your username will be called "Player". On a server there can only be one person of the same name at a time. This means that only one person can play via LAN as "Player". So everyone on the server except one person MUST own the game.

View PostAtomicStryker, on 27 February 2011 - 03:14 PM, said:

I recommend using Optifine for replacing Notch's funky render code with slightly less funky rendering code.

#20

electrovir
  • Minecraft: electrovir

Posted 13 November 2011 - 03:50 AM

I'm trying this and it's not working…
I'm running the minecraft server on my Mac and my friend is trying to connect to it from his PC running Vista.
We followed all the directions, and the server always shows up in minecraft as not responding.
We've tried all the ethernet addresses (we're using a cable) and he can ping me at the one that is my computer, but minecraft won't connect.
I can't figure out why it won't work :(