Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[1.7.4] OptiFine HD D1 (FPS Boost, HD Textures, AA, AF and much more)


  • Please log in to reply
40625 replies to this topic

#881

talgon
    talgon

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 237 posts
  • Minecraft: talgon96

Posted 30 May 2011 - 07:04 PM

What are the fastest possible settings when using optifog and optimine!?

I'm not getting any responses!

Register or log in to remove.

#882

mikeydoom1988
  • Location: Flowery Branch, GA
  • Minecraft: mykehdoom

Posted 30 May 2011 - 07:07 PM

View Posttalgon, on 30 May 2011 - 07:04 PM, said:

What are the fastest possible settings when using optifog and optimine!?

I'm not getting any responses!

That's because there's isn't one answer, there's many many different setting for everyone's computer. No one person has the same exact setup.

I myself use optimine, and optifog, but I get only like 2-5 FPS when using 16x16 textures, so I have to use MCPatcher, and 32x32 or bigger textures for minecraft to actually work. Strange, yes. But it works. I get about 60+FPS with Optimine+Optifog+MCPatcher and DokuCraft 32x32.
Posted Image

#883

talgon
    talgon

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 237 posts
  • Minecraft: talgon96

Posted 30 May 2011 - 07:23 PM

View Postmikeydoom1988, on 30 May 2011 - 07:07 PM, said:

I myself use optimine, and optifog, but I get only like 2-5 FPS when using 16x16 textures, so I have to use MCPatcher, and 32x32 or bigger textures for minecraft to actually work. Strange, yes. But it works. I get about 60+FPS with Optimine+Optifog+MCPatcher and DokuCraft 32x32.
Ok, then what do each of the settings do, so I can figure something that will work real well.

#884

robmeister006
  • Location: California, US
  • Minecraft: robmeister006

Posted 30 May 2011 - 07:38 PM

I'm having a little trouble using this mod, I've installed a fresh copy of minecraft and installed this mod and I don't seem to be getting any extra options in the video settings menu. The OP lists a bunch of options that aren't showing and at one point it says to read the readme.txt file which I can't seem to find in the zip. Using version 1.6.5A the game runs fine but I don't think the mod is working because I don't notice any difference and the options aren't there. Any help would be appreciated, I think I'm just missing something.

Oh and I did delete the META-INF folder...

#885

Gulvballe

Posted 30 May 2011 - 07:39 PM

View PostGulvballe, on 30 May 2011 - 06:52 PM, said:

Mine just hangs and say "Updating Minecraft" then showing a "Done Loading" but the status bar never moves to the end and therefore never make me launch a singleplayer map..


Does anybody know what i'm doing wrong... i'm kind of a newb at this kind of thing..

I'm running it on a MacBook Pro 13" 2,26 Ghz Core2Duo, 4Gb Ram and nVidia GeForce 9400m..

with out Optimine i'm running an avg. of 25FPS.
With optimine on minecraft 1.5 i was running at like 58 to 75 fps

Edited by Gulvballe, 30 May 2011 - 08:06 PM.


#886

EpicFishFingers
  • Location: UK

Posted 30 May 2011 - 08:02 PM

Very good performance. Just updated to 1.6.5 as I learned not to update straight away since I rely on optimine to make minecraft playable on my laptop, and when I updated from 1.4 to 1.5, optimine wasn't updated straight away, so I couldn't really play MC for several days.
Although I just ran 1.6.5 vanilla before backing up minecraft and installing this mod, and I have to say it was pretty playable even without optimine (17fps average inside a tree (planetoids map) and my laptop always has framerate issues when I look at tree leaves, even on fast graphics).
Now that I've installed optimine, I'm getting those vital extra few frames per second (now averaging 19-20fps) to make minecraft smooth.
I installed version 1.6.5 A. I'll be back if there are any problems.
I'm running MC on a Dell Insprion 1525. 3GB RAM, 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor, Intel 965 chipset graphics card. I play on tiny/short fog with minimum settings and use gamebooster. And yes, I am getting a desktop soon so I can play MC 'properly'.

#887

Chevan
    Chevan

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 133 posts
  • Minecraft: Chevan

Posted 30 May 2011 - 08:27 PM

View Postrobmeister006, on 30 May 2011 - 07:38 PM, said:

I'm having a little trouble using this mod, I've installed a fresh copy of minecraft and installed this mod and I don't seem to be getting any extra options in the video settings menu. The OP lists a bunch of options that aren't showing and at one point it says to read the readme.txt file which I can't seem to find in the zip. Using version 1.6.5A the game runs fine but I don't think the mod is working because I don't notice any difference and the options aren't there. Any help would be appreciated, I think I'm just missing something.

Oh and I did delete the META-INF folder...

Optimine hasn't any configurable options, OptiFog does, which isn't yet relased.

I'm asking again, what OpenGL verison do I need to set fancy fog in OptiFog? (HD4850)

#888

robmeister006
  • Location: California, US
  • Minecraft: robmeister006

Posted 30 May 2011 - 08:31 PM

View PostChevan, on 30 May 2011 - 08:27 PM, said:

Optimine hasn't any configurable options, OptiFog does, which isn't yet relased.

I'm asking again, what OpenGL verison do I need to set fancy fog in OptiFog? (HD4850)

Dude thanks for answering me on that, I appreciate it, it's kinda funny because I just noticed all posts about options were after the 1.5_01 header, but it's nice to know for sure. Thanks again man :)

#889

Ttwiitter
  • Location: None of yo buisness ...
  • Minecraft: God

Posted 30 May 2011 - 08:38 PM

Please update OptiFog to 1.6 ?
Posted Image

#890

Kamil
    Kamil

    Obsidian Miner

  • Members
  • 1279 posts
  • Minecraft: SupePsychoSnipe

Posted 30 May 2011 - 10:27 PM

Please change the title to indicate that Optimine is 1.6.5 compatible, I almost missed it.

#891

eddiefivespeed
  • Location: Canada
  • Minecraft: EddieBust

Posted 31 May 2011 - 01:49 AM

So do i download A or classic? what's the diff.?  i didn't really understand the description on the first page.

#892

Ooryll
    Ooryll

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 31 May 2011 - 03:01 AM

Thank you for updating this. You sir just boosted my game by 30 FPS, and I appreciate it.

#893

cSc
    cSc

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 31 May 2011 - 04:00 AM

I really have to ask, i've heard quite a bit of negative reviews about Optifog, and Optimine really has given me a decent FPS boost. Ive got a Radeon x1200, which bottlenecks quite a bit, so my question is, will Optifog be good or bad for this card? (And much praise for updating it to 1.6.5)
Proud Citizen of This.

#894

Folrig
    Folrig

    Carpenter

  • Members
  • 68 posts

Posted 31 May 2011 - 04:02 AM

View PostGulvballe, on 30 May 2011 - 07:39 PM, said:

Does anybody know what i'm doing wrong... i'm kind of a newb at this kind of thing..I'm running it on a MacBook Pro 13" 2,26 Ghz Core2Duo, 4Gb Ram and nVidia GeForce 9400m..with out Optimine i'm running an avg. of 25FPS.With optimine on minecraft 1.5 i was running at like 58 to 75 fps
Are you using any other mods? And did you install Optimine last?


View PostTtwiitter, on 30 May 2011 - 08:38 PM, said:

Please update OptiFog to 1.6 ?
Simmer down bud. He will let us know when he updates. I'm going out on a limb here, but I doubt that this is all he has on his plate.


View PostKamil, on 30 May 2011 - 10:27 PM, said:

Please change the title to indicate that Optimine is 1.6.5 compatible, I almost missed it.
Optimine is not the point of this forum. His project is OptiFog. I'm pretty sure the only reason Optimine is here is because people keep whining about it. Honestly, I'm not entirely convinced it's worth continuing. Especially when comparing Optimine to OptiFog.
This...all of this...is just....wonky!
---Some excellent MC mods: Better Than Wolves Mod, OptiFine, Solar Apocalypse, ModLoader --- Best Maps Ever: VECHS' SUPER HOSTILE SERIES

#895

Justin17
  • Minecraft: Justin1017

Posted 31 May 2011 - 04:35 AM

Kinda confused. What do I download exactly...?
Posted Image

#896

sp614x
    sp614x

    Nether Resident

  • Members
  • 2126 posts

Posted 31 May 2011 - 05:29 AM

For all the people wondering:

- Updated to 1.6.5 is only Optimine, because it is much smaller and easier to update. Version 1.6.5 is the classic of Scaevolus, version 1.6.5_A has some additional optimizations and should be a bit better.
- OptiFog is halfway done and should probably be ready today

One of the reasons for the slight delay were some problems with MCP. The guys at MCP did a wonderful job again and responded very fast.
In the meantime, go read the blog, click some adfly links ;-) and be patient.

#897

Gulvballe

Posted 31 May 2011 - 05:39 AM

View PostFolrig, on 31 May 2011 - 04:02 AM, said:

Are you using any other mods? And did you install Optimine last?



Simmer down bud. He will let us know when he updates. I'm going out on a limb here, but I doubt that this is all he has on his plate.



Optimine is not the point of this forum. His project is OptiFog. I'm pretty sure the only reason Optimine is here is because people keep whining about it. Honestly, I'm not entirely convinced it's worth continuing. Especially when comparing Optimine to OptiFog.


I did a clean install of minecraft and just installed optimine.

#898

Jippiedoe

Posted 31 May 2011 - 06:00 AM

View Posttalgon, on 30 May 2011 - 07:23 PM, said:

Ok, then what do each of the settings do, so I can figure something that will work real well.
Setting the render distance smaller usually speeds it up, having AOGL on too, and ofcourse fast graphics instead of fancy...

#899

Folrig
    Folrig

    Carpenter

  • Members
  • 68 posts

Posted 31 May 2011 - 11:36 AM

View PostGulvballe, on 31 May 2011 - 05:39 AM, said:

I did a clean install of minecraft and just installed optimine.

Did you pull out the .minecraft folder then let the game re-download? If you did then I'm afraid I'm stumped. Sorry friend.

It's just that I went back and read your description of your problem again, and it sounds like a problem I'd have when screwing around with mods. If I wanted to get Minecraft to reinstall itself I would delete the .jar or another piece of the game, and the version file. But doing that would inevitably cause minecraft to hang on the load screen.

To reliably get Minecraft to do a "clean" install I now pull the .minecraft folder onto the desktop, and then run minecraft.exe. After its downloaded I then transfer my saves and delete the .minecraft folder.
This...all of this...is just....wonky!
---Some excellent MC mods: Better Than Wolves Mod, OptiFine, Solar Apocalypse, ModLoader --- Best Maps Ever: VECHS' SUPER HOSTILE SERIES

#900

sp614x
    sp614x

    Nether Resident

  • Members
  • 2126 posts

Posted 31 May 2011 - 01:04 PM

OptiFog 1.6.5

Download, test, report bugs and generally have fun. The merged version will Optimine will follow shortly.
One thing to have in mind is that Minecraft 1.6.5 is somewhat slower than 1.5_01.