Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

DropCraft, Minecraft in Dropbox


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1

stesm311
  • Location: Oxford, England
  • Minecraft: halflifejoe

Posted 31 March 2011 - 05:17 PM

DropCraft is a free way to backup and download your minecraft saves via dropbox! (This works on ALL versions of minecraft)

UPDATE SOURCE NOW AVAILABLE  

:VV: WINDOWS GUI NOW RELEASED! :VV:
:iapprove: MAC GUI COMING SOON! :iapprove:  

News:
i am still working on this program, i haven't touched it in about a year so i am doing ALL of the dev work on github here

Instructions:
On launch the app will make a folder in your dropbox called minecraft-storage. Type in the text box what's your world called then press "Upload" to upload it to the dropbox or press "Download" to download that world from the dropboxI

Version 2.0 will be out soon, it will feature full minecraft backup of mods etc. It will also include (hopefully) a drop down selection menu for your backups! Right now download the beta below!

Download:

Windows:
Beta:
:VV: Current Beta GUI 2.0 :VV: New features: Full .minecraft backup with custom names and support for customisable dropbox folder paths. Still a bit buggy. Remember to uninstall any old Dropcraft versions you have installed

Stable:
:VV: Current Version GUI 1.1.0 :VV: Firssst GUI Release
Old Version v1.0.2 FINALLY fixes the file paths issue!
Old Version v1.0.1 Fixes the file paths issue in v1.0
Old Version v1.0 Has major problems with file paths

Mac:
:VV:Current Version v1.0 :VV: First Release

Please leave any suggestions/problems in this thread and i will fix/add these as soon as i can!
Posted Image
Josef Citrine, CEO of Apex Games.co.uk

Register or log in to remove.

#2

terminatordoink

Posted 09 April 2011 - 06:02 AM

Does this work on classic? where should i put this folder?

#3

NotTarts

Posted 09 April 2011 - 06:09 AM

Why not just put Minecraft itself in your Dropbox folder..?
mcmapDZ: Simple, lightning-fast interactive web maps.

#4

Mads
    Mads

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 153 posts

Posted 09 April 2011 - 06:40 PM

NotTarts said:

Why not just put Minecraft itself in your Dropbox folder..?

Because the launcher operates with the home/user/ directory :Diamond:

#5

Celaeris
    Celaeris

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 10 April 2011 - 02:55 AM

Why not use a simlink?

#6

lucaryholt

Posted 13 April 2011 - 11:03 AM

How exactly do you do it?
Do you manually copy the MC save to your Dropbox? Or what?
Posted Image

#7

stesm311
  • Location: Oxford, England
  • Minecraft: halflifejoe

Posted 25 April 2011 - 03:17 PM

lucaryholt said:

How exactly do you do it?
Do you manually copy the MC save to your Dropbox? Or what?
Run DropcraftNew.bat
then run DropcraftUpload.bat, enter the world name that you want to upload

When you want to download it run DropcraftDownload.bat, enter the world name that you want to download
Posted Image
Josef Citrine, CEO of Apex Games.co.uk

#8

stesm311
  • Location: Oxford, England
  • Minecraft: halflifejoe

Posted 25 April 2011 - 03:18 PM

Celaeris said:

Why not use a simlink?
Explain?
Posted Image
Josef Citrine, CEO of Apex Games.co.uk

#9

JWhy
    JWhy

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 23 posts
  • Location: Cologne, Germany
  • Minecraft: eragonw

Posted 26 April 2011 - 09:21 AM

You used mkdir minecraft-storagee instead of mkdir minecraft-storage in new.bat, so uploads and downloads will fail with the two .bat scripts  :Skeleton:

#10

McTwist
    McTwist

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 246 posts
  • Location: Sweden
  • Minecraft: McTwist

Posted 26 April 2011 - 02:14 PM

Interesting idea, but it is way too simple for such a complex task. This due that people might not have default path for their dropbox folder. For instance, this script would not work on either of my computers as I mostly keep my folders at D.
But don't stop develop this. There's rejoice, but you require additional 3rd part program.
http://forums.dropbo...pic.php?id=9018
Then, this program could be improved if it was made as a stand alone program with a really simple GUI. Although, I don't encourage to overdo it...
PixelMap - Beta(1.4) mapper, GUI, multithreading, portable, modular, source. Use the full power of your computer.

#11

stesm311
  • Location: Oxford, England
  • Minecraft: halflifejoe

Posted 02 May 2011 - 12:01 PM

JWhy said:

You used mkdir minecraft-storagee instead of mkdir minecraft-storage in new.bat, so uploads and downloads will fail with the two .bat scripts  :P
I believe that is fixed in ver 1.1
Posted Image
Josef Citrine, CEO of Apex Games.co.uk

#12

johnnyc
    johnnyc

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 July 2011 - 01:41 AM

What do I put here? F or D?

C:\Program Files\Minecraft>DropCraftUpload.bat
What is your minecraft save called?  Neworld
The system cannot find the path specified.
Does C:\Users\John/Dropbox/minecraft-storage/Neworld specify a file name
or directory name on the target
(F = file, D = directory)?

Also, the script created two folders in my dropbox:
minecraft-storage
minecraft-storagee

Is it safe to delete minecraft-storagee? There's nothing in it.

#13

stesm311
  • Location: Oxford, England
  • Minecraft: halflifejoe

Posted 12 July 2011 - 06:19 PM

View Postjohnnyc, on 12 July 2011 - 01:41 AM, said:

What do I put here? F or D?

C:\Program Files\Minecraft>DropCraftUpload.bat
What is your minecraft save called?  Neworld
The system cannot find the path specified.
Does C:\Users\John/Dropbox/minecraft-storage/Neworld specify a file name
or directory name on the target
(F = file, D = directory)?

Also, the script created two folders in my dropbox:
minecraft-storage
minecraft-storagee

Is it safe to delete minecraft-storagee? There's nothing in it.

This is fixed in the latest update, just delete minecraft-storagee and get the newest version!
Posted Image
Josef Citrine, CEO of Apex Games.co.uk

#14

WillHoot
  • Minecraft: WillHoot

Posted 28 October 2011 - 05:27 AM

hey just an idea for a feature. it would be nice if we could sync the jar file, mod folder, ect. for all the modding i do i would like to keep those across machines which can get annoying.
Posted Image see my builds here
"in the event of a root uprising i would support the robots, does that make me a bad person?"

#15

curseyoubotchers

Posted 28 October 2011 - 05:47 AM

I did not try out your GUI, but after a short read of your Upload.bat script, I see a fatal error.
A backup utility should never, ever delete the backup file before creating a new backup. Your order of actions should be:

1)start backup
2)check if an old backup is already present
3)if yes, rename it to backup.old
4)copy files
5)if errors, stop. else, delete backup.old
6)end backup

Never assume that nothing bad will happen between removing the old file and copying the new one.

#16

stesm311
  • Location: Oxford, England
  • Minecraft: halflifejoe

Posted 28 October 2011 - 08:21 AM

curseyoubotchers said:

1319780827[/url]' post='9730301']
I did not try out your GUI, but after a short read of your Upload.bat script, I see a fatal error.
A backup utility should never, ever delete the backup file before creating a new backup. Your order of actions should be:

1)start backup
2)check if an old backup is already present
3)if yes, rename it to backup.old
4)copy files
5)if errors, stop. else, delete backup.old
6)end backup

Never assume that nothing bad will happen between removing the old file and copying the new one.

Thanks for pointing that out, this was only a small project to start now it's serious. It will be fixed in 1.2

Posted Image
Josef Citrine, CEO of Apex Games.co.uk

#17

Creator_James
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: Creator_James

Posted 09 November 2011 - 11:53 PM

Why not just run Minecraft Directly out of Dropbox, meaning, switching your AppData to a folder inside of Dropbox.

#18

McTwist
    McTwist

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 246 posts
  • Location: Sweden
  • Minecraft: McTwist

Posted 10 November 2011 - 10:20 PM

View PostCreator_James, on 09 November 2011 - 11:53 PM, said:

Why not just run Minecraft Directly out of Dropbox, meaning, switching your AppData to a folder inside of Dropbox.
Because that would move everything else as well. That includes saves for other games or programs that the computer have. Imagine the space it will take up.

Anyhow, I doubt this project is still running, but I would suggest that before moving it to Dropbox, first compress it. Same when moving it back, decompress it.
PixelMap - Beta(1.4) mapper, GUI, multithreading, portable, modular, source. Use the full power of your computer.

#19

Creator_James
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: Creator_James

Posted 10 November 2011 - 10:53 PM

View PostMcTwist, on 10 November 2011 - 10:20 PM, said:

Because that would move everything else as well. That includes saves for other games or programs that the computer have. Imagine the space it will take up.

Anyhow, I doubt this project is still running, but I would suggest that before moving it to Dropbox, first compress it. Same when moving it back, decompress it.
I meant temporarily. In Command Prompt (Batch) you can say 'set AppData=(Location)'

It changes the appdata for the processes you launch.

#20

johnnyc
    johnnyc

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 21 April 2012 - 02:58 AM

Hey, on the Minecraft Wiki, it shows that this tool supports up to version 1.1 and the current version is 1.2.5. Any idea what's not supported in the new version of Minecraft with this tool? I'm loading up a new computer with Minecraft, and I'm confused why the wiki says this won't work with the new version.