Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

horses killing each other?


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1

veeder
    veeder

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 80 posts
  • Location: in a box
  • Minecraft: veederrrr

Posted 07 December 2013 - 09:49 PM

I was in my regular minecraft world, about about to ride my horse. Usually it is very fast, but in this case it went VERY slow. I was confused, so I got a new one. This one worked fine. but after a few minecraft days, I saw my horse's armor (the one in use) and saddle, along with leather, instead of my horse. My horses share the same small stable. is this a common bug?


version 1.7.3

I live in a village. MAYBE THE VILLAGERS KILLED IT!
There are new boxes in the office. We must go see if we can fit in them.


Posted Image


Register or log in to remove.

#2

Dennis2p
    Dennis2p

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1038 posts
  • Location: Hypixel server :D
  • Minecraft: Dennis2p

Posted 07 December 2013 - 10:08 PM

I have never experienced anything like this.. i have my horses, i think like 4 in a 2x2 area.
they all have the same speed etc. as when i found/ bred them

Over 50k Downloads!

Posted Image


#3

veeder
    veeder

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 80 posts
  • Location: in a box
  • Minecraft: veederrrr

Posted 07 December 2013 - 10:32 PM

View PostDennis2p, on 07 December 2013 - 10:08 PM, said:

I have never experienced anything like this.. i have my horses, i think like 4 in a 2x2 area.
they all have the same speed etc. as when i found/ bred them

My horses were in a 2x2 area, with two fences and an open area. they never escape.
There are new boxes in the office. We must go see if we can fit in them.


Posted Image


#4

creeperskelly

Posted 07 December 2013 - 10:47 PM

God knows how many horses I have simply had vanish - at least you found out about it and didn't lose the saddle and armor.

Horses that were surrounded by two levels of fencing.

Horses that were tied to a pole and completely enclosed in a stone building.

Horses that simply run off and die for no reason while you are out exploring and forgot to tie them up.

Horses are the buggiest mob in this game - just awful.

The insult of it all is the fact that saddles and armor cannot be crafted.

#5

veeder
    veeder

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 80 posts
  • Location: in a box
  • Minecraft: veederrrr

Posted 07 December 2013 - 11:14 PM

View Postcreeperskelly, on 07 December 2013 - 10:47 PM, said:

God knows how many horses I have simply had vanish - at least you found out about it and didn't lose the saddle and armor.

Horses that were surrounded by two levels of fencing.

Horses that were tied to a pole and completely enclosed in a stone building.

Horses that simply run off and die for no reason while you are out exploring and forgot to tie them up.

Horses are the buggiest mob in this game - just awful.

The insult of it all is the fact that saddles and armor cannot be crafted.


ive had horses dissappear from me many times before. one moment i leave em alone unleashed, and they dissappear. it happened to my first horse. i just cheat and spawn a new one. recently i looked at the wiki and summoned a tame skeleton horse.
There are new boxes in the office. We must go see if we can fit in them.


Posted Image


#6

KyoShinda
    KyoShinda

    Enderman Ender

  • Members
  • 8155 posts
  • Location: Colorado

Posted 08 December 2013 - 12:23 AM

----Since it's a chunk loading glitch it might be best for you to make a small minecart track with two minecarts that constantly bump each other around. I use a similar thing for my village and when the chunk loads the spinning minecarts always grab the villagers. You can use this as a replacement for fences when it comes to anything.
Posted Image

#7

TheMasterCaver
  • Minecraft: PogomanMaster

Posted 08 December 2013 - 12:33 AM

If you left the area before you found your horse's "remains", it probably suffocated in a wall, a common (and very old...) bug that occurs when mobs glitch into walls because they were partially inside the wall when the chunk was unloaded and consequentially get put inside when the chunk is reloaded. One way to avoid this is to tie up your horses in an open area instead of putting them into an enclosure, especially a small one; this is how I keep mine and never had one disappear (barring any unexpected bugs since 1.6.2):

Spoiler:

I do occasionally find drops where I keep other animals, always near a wall, and even found a chicken stuck inside the glass wall on the right before, staying in the same spot for several days until I freed it; animals don't suffocate inside glass or other transparent blocks.

#8

GigaG11
    GigaG11

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 81 posts

Posted 08 December 2013 - 01:37 AM

Well, if the saddles and armor drop, you could theoretically save them with hoppers. If it is fences, IDK why they would die. If it is walls, they could have suffocated.

#9

veeder
    veeder

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 80 posts
  • Location: in a box
  • Minecraft: veederrrr

Posted 08 December 2013 - 01:40 AM

guys, my stable is literally right next to my house. and i dont have supplies for a lead. anyway, wasn't the suffocation glitch fixed?

actually, i think i know what happened. you see, i have a villager named phill who works my house/bakery. maybe he killed the horse because i wont let him leave the counter :o

ooh i looked at the bug report, and my computer uses windows vista. maybe that's why they could have suffocated. but i never see animals suffocating before.
There are new boxes in the office. We must go see if we can fit in them.


Posted Image


#10

TheMasterCaver
  • Minecraft: PogomanMaster

Posted 08 December 2013 - 04:55 AM

View Postveeder, on 08 December 2013 - 01:40 AM, said:

ooh i looked at the bug report, and my computer uses windows vista. maybe that's why they could have suffocated. but i never see animals suffocating before.

I doubt the OS version affects the bug (most bugs) since Java is supposed to work the same way across all platforms. That said, I use Windows 7 and I just started the game up and ran to where I keep chickens in the world I'm currently playing and found this:

Spoiler:


#11

KyoShinda
    KyoShinda

    Enderman Ender

  • Members
  • 8155 posts
  • Location: Colorado

Posted 08 December 2013 - 05:00 AM

They did fix that glitch before but now it's back again somehow. It's the worst glitch in my book.
Posted Image

#12

BloxmineXL
  • Minecraft: ABC

Posted 08 December 2013 - 09:05 AM

It sounds like a creepypasta :D
lol

#13

veeder
    veeder

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 80 posts
  • Location: in a box
  • Minecraft: veederrrr

Posted 08 December 2013 - 05:06 PM

View PostTheMasterCaver, on 08 December 2013 - 04:55 AM, said:

I doubt the OS version affects the bug (most bugs) since Java is supposed to work the same way across all platforms. That said, I use Windows 7 and I just started the game up and ran to where I keep chickens in the world I'm currently playing and found this:

Spoiler:

the villagers did it. end of story
There are new boxes in the office. We must go see if we can fit in them.


Posted Image


#14

william 1134

Posted 08 December 2013 - 05:07 PM

Perhaps the horses get crammed up against eachother and push the other into a block where it then dies?
Come join us at  The ip is pure-craft.co.uk :)  
Posted Image
Our Dynmap! http://bit.do/purecraft

#15

Quijonsith
  • Location: House of shadows
  • Minecraft: Quijonsith

Posted 08 December 2013 - 08:54 PM

I never have any issues with my horses at my stable in this regard.  I imagine it's likely the suffocation thing described above.  Here's my stable:
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#16

KyoShinda
    KyoShinda

    Enderman Ender

  • Members
  • 8155 posts
  • Location: Colorado

Posted 08 December 2013 - 09:45 PM

View PostQuijonsith, on 08 December 2013 - 08:54 PM, said:

I never have any issues with my horses at my stable in this regard.  I imagine it's likely the suffocation thing described above.  Here's my stable:
How do they get out? Or do you just break and place half-blocks every time?
Posted Image

#17

veeder
    veeder

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 80 posts
  • Location: in a box
  • Minecraft: veederrrr

Posted 08 December 2013 - 10:51 PM

View PostKyoShinda, on 08 December 2013 - 09:45 PM, said:

How do they get out? Or do you just break and place half-blocks every time?


for some reason they never wander out. i can just ride them out of there.
There are new boxes in the office. We must go see if we can fit in them.


Posted Image


#18

KyoShinda
    KyoShinda

    Enderman Ender

  • Members
  • 8155 posts
  • Location: Colorado

Posted 08 December 2013 - 11:07 PM

So what's wrong with using leads? How would they get off of those?
Posted Image

#19

Quijonsith
  • Location: House of shadows
  • Minecraft: Quijonsith

Posted 08 December 2013 - 11:34 PM

View PostKyoShinda, on 08 December 2013 - 09:45 PM, said:

How do they get out? Or do you just break and place half-blocks every time?

The horses see the wood slabs as full blocks instead of half blocks.  So with a top slab above and bottom slab in front they think they can't get out, even though they can.  So I just ride them in and out as veeder says.

View Postveeder, on 08 December 2013 - 10:51 PM, said:

for some reason they never wander out. i can just ride them out of there.

View PostKyoShinda, on 08 December 2013 - 11:07 PM, said:

So what's wrong with using leads? How would they get off of those?

I've never personally had a horse escape a lead tied to a fence post.  The only thing I can think of is as described above, that maybe the horse is tied up next to a solid block at a chunk boundary and it might be loading in the solid block and suffocating.

#20

KyoShinda
    KyoShinda

    Enderman Ender

  • Members
  • 8155 posts
  • Location: Colorado

Posted 09 December 2013 - 01:54 AM

View PostQuijonsith, on 08 December 2013 - 11:34 PM, said:

I've never personally had a horse escape a lead tied to a fence post.  The only thing I can think of is as described above, that maybe the horse is tied up next to a solid block at a chunk boundary and it might be loading in the solid block and suffocating.
That's good, I have a pyramid so most of it is transparent blocks:
Posted Image
Posted Image