Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[1.6.4 FORGE] LanteaCraft

forge stargates 1.6.4

  • Please log in to reply
1076 replies to this topic

#101

neo_kun666
  • Location: Jämtland, Sweden, Terra, Solar System, Milky Way, The Universe

Posted 08 November 2013 - 06:52 AM

View PostNeoRavencroft, on 07 November 2013 - 09:19 PM, said:

How do you have the gate connected to the computer? For peripheral.wrap("bottom") to work you have to have the computer inside the gate.  If you are using a wired modem then you need to peripheral.wrap("stargate_#") stargate_# would be the name you got when you activated the modem on the gate.

Thank you! I am new to both Computer Craft and Delta SGCraft so I didn't know!
Posted Image

Register or log in to remove.

#102

hyperbird
  • Location: Space
  • Minecraft: sbongbob

Posted 08 November 2013 - 08:22 AM

View PostTechnus, on 08 November 2013 - 06:34 AM, said:

Just couple things that are making me feel bad when i look at this mod
-i would really like the gate to have 9 chevrons like it had in the series. so we could have bigger addressing space and need to use some upgrades for inter dimensional travel
-and the top chevron is always "blinking" while locking other ones
-top chevron locks as the last one ALWAYS
-gate should dial and waste energy even if there is no gate at the other end (ofc then fail at the end, like it is now allows to brute-force the system in under 5 seconds)
-also please do make the inner ring a bit wider so we will no longer see that blank space between
-also add another static inner ring , since it was like that in the series

Anyways, keep up the good work.

PS i forget about the most important thing , chunk loading behavior. Could you make a file that stores all gate locations (physical ones) to use that to check if a gate exists instead of loading all chunks with gates. Also i would rather want it to load chunks when dialing and when the tunnel is open.
I LOVE THIS IDEA!!!

#103

Iomega0318

Posted 08 November 2013 - 07:19 PM

I loved Greg's version but then I found this, absolutely love the textures this version is using and how it looks much more realistic, keep up the great work on this!
Posted Image

#104

JohnOptegrove

Posted 08 November 2013 - 10:08 PM

View PostTechnus, on 08 November 2013 - 06:34 AM, said:

Just couple things that are making me feel bad when i look at this mod
-i would really like the gate to have 9 chevrons like it had in the series. so we could have bigger addressing space and need to use some upgrades for inter dimensional travel
-and the top chevron is always "blinking" while locking other ones
-top chevron locks as the last one ALWAYS
-gate should dial and waste energy even if there is no gate at the other end (ofc then fail at the end, like it is now allows to brute-force the system in under 5 seconds)
-also please do make the inner ring a bit wider so we will no longer see that blank space between
-also add another static inner ring , since it was like that in the series

Anyways, keep up the good work.

PS i forget about the most important thing , chunk loading behavior. Could you make a file that stores all gate locations (physical ones) to use that to check if a gate exists instead of loading all chunks with gates. Also i would rather want it to load chunks when dialing and when the tunnel is open.

Pretty much this. That, add the Atlantis gate, IC2/UE/BC powering of gates, and fix the Optifine issues (if possible) and this mod will basically be perfect.

#105

AfterLifeLochie

Posted 08 November 2013 - 10:24 PM

The issue we have is breaking backwards compatibility with SGCraft. We don't want to change to the 9-chevron gate system and the new addressing system because it is guaranteed to break all backwards compatibility with other SGCraft builds forever.

If we do opt to switch to 9-chevron gate systems, the gate structure will also definitely change. While we do this, we'll also be changing the mod-ID to totally remove compatibility - meaning that any already generated SGCraft data - ours, or any other SGCraft - such as blocks and items will be removed from the world by the game. If we break the one compatibility we've been tiptoeing to keep, we may as well break everything this once.

AfterLifeLochie - http://afterlifelochie.net/


#106

JohnOptegrove

Posted 08 November 2013 - 10:51 PM

I can understand the need for compatibility but at the same time I think doing this ASAP is the best thing for this mod.

#107

Xionanx
    Xionanx

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 180 posts

Posted 08 November 2013 - 11:25 PM

Ehh, if your gonna do it, then go big.  I personally could care less about maintaining "canon" when it comes to functionaility.  All I want is a working gate system OTHER then mystcraft gates..  But, as I said, if your gonna do it....

1.  Make the gates about 2x the size they are now so that a "Ship" could fly through them.  AKA puddle jumper size craft.  (not that I expect a craft of that size to be made for this mod... but lets just say if I have Archimedes Ships installed and I want to fly a skiff through a portal...)

2.  Change the UI on the dialer to be TOP DOWN view and not "awkward angle" view as if I were a 5yr old trying to look at a keyboard on a desk..

As far as 7 vs 9 chevrons.. the original movie used 7 and then for some reason the tv show's went with 9 even though the explanation for the need of 7 in the movie made perfect sense..

http://en.wikipedia....evice)  again.. I see SEVEN chevrons...

then. as a PLOT DEVICE the writers added an 8th chevron because you need an 8th to get to another GALAXY right?  And surely since this is further away it takes more power  (even though logically when dealing with wormholes distance should have no bearing on power used, but this is the level of scientific understanding used to DUMB DOWN explanations of things in a TV series for the sake of PLOT).  **NOTE I HATE "CANON" IN TV SHOWS WITH RANDOM STAFF WRITERS

Point being, 7 chevrons would have worked fine no matter how many galaxies you went to.. you just add more "constellations" to the pool of known constellations.

Then SG Universe pops in and suddenly there are 9 Chevrons.. because you know.. you need a 9th because were taking it up a notch here and we need another plot device...  So you needed the 9th chevron to dial the DESTINY and ONLY THE DESTINY and apparently it needed so much naquaduh they had to to deplete a planets entire CORE..

So... if you dont get what Im' saying here.. making a 9 chevron gate based off the fact that ONE SERIES used it ONE TIME (note that they always used 7 symbols from that point forward) as a plot device.  99% of the addresses dialed were 7 symbol address's through the entire series, and there is still no reasonable explanation of the extra power needed or why one would need 8 or 9 chevrons..

Though, If one were to take "TIME" into account and knowing that the stargates can send people through time, then the 8th and 9th could be "TIME" coordinates  for source time and destination time, which would then actually make sense, but would still serve no purpose for stargates in minecraft.


FROM a CODING perspective, if you insist on adding in 9 chevrons and dont want to break backwards compatabilty then just make the 8th and 9th "Dummy" symbols.  IE, you only need to input 7 to dial, but you CAN put in 8 or 9 which will result in a dialing failure since:

A) your not dialing a different galaxy (8th)  (unless you want to link the 8th to a dimension addresses)

B) your not dialing the destiny (9th)  (unless you want to make a destiny dimension, which doesnt sound like a bad idea but seems like an aweful lot of work with little payoff)

#108

DrakeBD
    DrakeBD

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 508 posts
  • Location: UK
  • Minecraft: DrakeBD
  • Xbox:DrakeBD

Posted 08 November 2013 - 11:40 PM

View PostXionanx, on 08 November 2013 - 11:25 PM, said:

Ehh, if your gonna do it, then go big.  I personally could care less about maintaining "canon" when it comes to functionaility.  All I want is a working gate system OTHER then mystcraft gates..  But, as I said, if your gonna do it....

1.  Make the gates about 2x the size they are now so that a "Ship" could fly through them.  AKA puddle jumper size craft.  (not that I expect a craft of that size to be made for this mod... but lets just say if I have Archimedes Ships installed and I want to fly a skiff through a portal...)

2.  Change the UI on the dialer to be TOP DOWN view and not "awkward angle" view as if I were a 5yr old trying to look at a keyboard on a desk..

As far as 7 vs 9 chevrons.. the original movie used 7 and then for some reason the tv show's went with 9 even though the explanation for the need of 7 in the movie made perfect sense..

http://en.wikipedia....evice)  again.. I see SEVEN chevrons...

then. as a PLOT DEVICE the writers added an 8th chevron because you need an 8th to get to another GALAXY right?  And surely since this is further away it takes more power  (even though logically when dealing with wormholes distance should have no bearing on power used, but this is the level of scientific understanding used to DUMB DOWN explanations of things in a TV series for the sake of PLOT).  **NOTE I HATE "CANON" IN TV SHOWS WITH RANDOM STAFF WRITERS

Point being, 7 chevrons would have worked fine no matter how many galaxies you went to.. you just add more "constellations" to the pool of known constellations.

Then SG Universe pops in and suddenly there are 9 Chevrons.. because you know.. you need a 9th because were taking it up a notch here and we need another plot device...  So you needed the 9th chevron to dial the DESTINY and ONLY THE DESTINY and apparently it needed so much naquaduh they had to to deplete a planets entire CORE..

So... if you dont get what Im' saying here.. making a 9 chevron gate based off the fact that ONE SERIES used it ONE TIME (note that they always used 7 symbols from that point forward) as a plot device.  99% of the addresses dialed were 7 symbol address's through the entire series, and there is still no reasonable explanation of the extra power needed or why one would need 8 or 9 chevrons..

Though, If one were to take "TIME" into account and knowing that the stargates can send people through time, then the 8th and 9th could be "TIME" coordinates  for source time and destination time, which would then actually make sense, but would still serve no purpose for stargates in minecraft.


FROM a CODING perspective, if you insist on adding in 9 chevrons and dont want to break backwards compatabilty then just make the 8th and 9th "Dummy" symbols.  IE, you only need to input 7 to dial, but you CAN put in 8 or 9 which will result in a dialing failure since:

A) your not dialing a different galaxy (8th)  (unless you want to link the 8th to a dimension addresses)

Posted Image your not dialing the destiny (9th)  (unless you want to make a destiny dimension, which doesnt sound like a bad idea but seems like an aweful lot of work with little payoff)

There IS 9 chevrons the other 2 are hidden under the floor u cant see the whole stargate there as a whole with it buried in the floor not great reference lol

Posted Image

Posted Image


#109

Thor110
    Thor110

    Carpenter

  • Members
  • 52 posts

Posted 08 November 2013 - 11:46 PM

Hi there.

I am glad to say after much searching that I found this mod, it is a great improvement upon Greg's SG Craft.

"Delta SGCraft-Reloaded-0.1.0-forge9.11.1.933-snapshot-39" is the build I am currently using, I am not sure if is the latest, but I found the link for it in this thread.

It works just fine on my 1.6.2 heavily modded version of minecraft.

I think you should include a way to have both the Stargate Atlantis Gates and the Normal Gates in the same mod, though of course this is up to you.

I do however dislike the DHD model, though it is good, it does not fit with Minecraft itself.

I am not sure if you have seen iKingsSGC, though from what I can tell it has not been released, the model they showed in the youtube video really fits well I think.

Perhaps you could contact him/them and see if they wanted to get involved and or let you use the model they displayed in this video : .

Completely up to you, I just thought I would throw it out there.

I would probably be using the StargateTech mod but every version they have crashes for me.

Also, a request for this mod, would be the ability to lay a stargate down flat, so it was facing the floor.
perhaps even make the Kawoosh/Event Horizon's formation destroy blocks in its way.

I tend to build the stargates one block into the ground, which actually causes it to be quite difficult to step through the gate, I think you should make it so that the bottom blocks hit test the same as a normal block.

Would be great to see Stargate themed Mob's and Weapons in Minecraft too, I have seen a stargate weapon mod floating around the internet, but the download link was unavailable so not sure if that works or if it would even be compatible.

Also it might just be me being picky, but I find that it is a real shame that this mod/stargate is so perfect besides the fact it has only 7 chevrons and they do not light up in the correct order, the chevron at the top is meant to light up last, would be great to see that done, if there is anyway I could help please let me know.

I have a little 3D modelling experience/animation experience though I have to admit not much, when it comes to texture mapping/texturing I would probably not be much help considering how great the textures you currently have are.

Also I am really glad to see the proper symbols on the DHD/Stargate Adresses, that made me smile :)

I would love to get involved, though have no java experience at the moment, but I have been meaning to start learning.

Thank you for the mod, it has been great fun so far, it actually took me ages to find this, I spent ages looking after I decided I could not handle the DHD being square in Greg's version.

Sorry for my really long message :P

Thor110

Check out my recreation of Shadow Moses Island from Metal Gear Solid in Minecraft.

[WIP] Stargate Ships (Ha'tak, Beliskner, Prometheus, Atlantis)


#110

The_K
    The_K

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 173 posts
  • Location: Homestead, Florida

Posted 08 November 2013 - 11:50 PM

View Posthyperbird, on 07 November 2013 - 11:26 PM, said:

i aint downloading em till i see what thay look like
Then quit whining.
Posted Image

#111

AfterLifeLochie

Posted 09 November 2013 - 12:00 AM

All the suggestions you've been throwing at us, we've been discussing. We know the gate animations are out of order, and I can't actually fix this until other code changes come into place. In essence, I'm rewriting the mod from the inside out, and trying to improve it's overall performance. We're getting improved DHD models, which should fix a memory issue.

Regarding Optifine weirdness, I still haven't had time to debug this. It's probably some obscure render issue, which is going to change when we rewrite the way the gates animate and render. I have noticed some weird rendering issues regarding the base blocks.

As far as multiple gates go, this is another thing we've been working on. Unfortunately, due to the way the base-gate is implemented currently, this can't be done without performing all sorts of weird hackery inside Forge, which isn't a good idea.

There's also been suggestions to have chevrons emitting light. This can be done, but can't currently - the gates aren't actually multi-block structures, so weird things have to be done to make this work. When the base code is rewritten, this will be done, however.

With regards to Tok'ra being difficult to find in villages, in the next build there will be a Spawn Tok'ra egg. They're actually just extensions of the already existing Villager entity, but this should make it slightly easier to create them if they're not present. I've written and tested this, but I haven't pushed the changes as of yet.

AfterLifeLochie - http://afterlifelochie.net/


#112

enneract

Posted 09 November 2013 - 04:44 AM

I see no reason to switch to 9-chevron gates.

I'd rather see the gate having a floor :D.

At the moment, you can simulate it with immibis microblocks, by adding the following to your immibis-microblocks.cfg

blockClass: +gcewing.sg.blocks.BlockStargateBase
blockClass: +gcewing.sg.render.blocks.BlockStargateRingRenderer
blockClass: +gcewing.sg.blocks.BlockStargateRing
blockClass: +gcewing.sg.render.blocksBlockStargateBaseRenderer
tileEntityClass: +gcewing.sg.tileentity.TileEntityStargateBase
tileEntityClass: +gcewing.sg.tileentity.TileEntityStargateRing

This will allow the microblocks to intersect with the gate blocks.

#113

HOOD_RAT_PLEASE

Posted 09 November 2013 - 04:52 AM

Good work love it Posted Image

Looks good. I will play on it :D

#114

Technus
    Technus

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 09 November 2013 - 10:43 AM

I forget about one more thing (or two)

-Event horizon should be half transparent from behind
-If you add option for one way travel then add option to kill players that try to go backwards - just like it was in the series (that would require some buffer for the players that recently come in to do not die jut in case of derp)

#115

Thor110
    Thor110

    Carpenter

  • Members
  • 52 posts

Posted 09 November 2013 - 11:11 AM

No worries, I just thought I would try and give you my thoughts on the mod.

It is great fun, now all we need is a mod to allow the gates to link totally seperate minecraft maps rather than linking different areas of the map. but again that is just me being picky.

Thank you very much for making the mod, big thanks to Greg for the original version of course.

Thor110

Check out my recreation of Shadow Moses Island from Metal Gear Solid in Minecraft.

[WIP] Stargate Ships (Ha'tak, Beliskner, Prometheus, Atlantis)


#116

MichiyoRavencroft

Posted 09 November 2013 - 11:34 AM

View PostTechnus, on 09 November 2013 - 10:43 AM, said:

I forget about one more thing (or two)

-Event horizon should be half transparent from behind
-If you add option for one way travel then add option to kill players that try to go backwards - just like it was in the series (that would require some buffer for the players that recently come in to do not die jut in case of derp)
There is an option in the config for one way travel:
####################
# stargate
####################

stargate {
	B:GalacticCraftCompat=true
	B:GenerateStructures=True
	B:closeFromEitherEnd=true
	I:gateOpeningsPerFuelItem=24
	I:minutesOpenPerFuelItem=80
	B:oneWayTravel=false <-- Set to true
	I:secondsToStayOpen=300
}
This *should* also kill the player if they attempt to travel the wrong way, this may currently be broken as event horizon damage seems odd currently.

View PostThor110, on 09 November 2013 - 11:11 AM, said:

No worries, I just thought I would try and give you my thoughts on the mod.

It is great fun, now all we need is a mod to allow the gates to link totally seperate minecraft maps rather than linking different areas of the map. but again that is just me being picky.

Thank you very much for making the mod, big thanks to Greg for the original version of course.

Thor110

What do you mean linking maps? The gates are currently fully multiworld compatible, including the nether, the end, MystCraft dims, Galacticraft worlds if you enable the compatibility option, it even works with MCPC+ Multiworld plugins (Multiverse has issues, but MyWorlds seems to work).

Posted Image


#117

Thor110
    Thor110

    Carpenter

  • Members
  • 52 posts

Posted 09 November 2013 - 01:33 PM

So you mean I could link one creative mode or survival mode map to another in single player?

I will have to play around with this Posted Image also cool to see about the one way travel thing.

Also the event horizon merges/flows into any blocks that are set behind the stargate, though this just means that the gate cannot be against a wall.

I think I mentioned it in my other post, but would be awesome to see gates that can be laid down flat facing the floor and to have the opening of the gate damage blocks/players.

Thank you for the swift replies Posted Image

Also, I found a way to fix the problem with stepping through a gate that is 1 block below the ground, using tiles from the XtraBlocks mod.

Posted Image

Check out my recreation of Shadow Moses Island from Metal Gear Solid in Minecraft.

[WIP] Stargate Ships (Ha'tak, Beliskner, Prometheus, Atlantis)


#118

JohnOptegrove

Posted 09 November 2013 - 03:54 PM

The opening of the gate damaging players is a good idea but block damage isn't the best so it should be toggleable.

#119

CronosusCZ
  • Location: Czech Rep.
  • Minecraft: CronosusCZ

Posted 09 November 2013 - 04:10 PM

little bug: hopper don't insert naquaddah to stargates
Posted Image
PS: Sorry for my English

#120

DrakeBD
    DrakeBD

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 508 posts
  • Location: UK
  • Minecraft: DrakeBD
  • Xbox:DrakeBD

Posted 09 November 2013 - 04:29 PM

View PostCronosusCZ, on 09 November 2013 - 04:10 PM, said:

little bug: hopper don't insert naquaddah to stargates

Im afraid that bug will have to wait for the minute we are in a build freeze

While we prepare the whole mod to switch to a 9 chevron gate system so yes the size of the stargate is going to get bigger 2x the size it is now plus with the addition of a new DB driven addressing system

In doing this though it will break peoples already discovered stargates in the world but we figure its better to do this now than when the mod is a lot bigger so there will be no more compatibility with Gregs SGCraft

EDIT: also the gate will no longer require naquada to run it will be powerd by the DHD in the form of a power crystal that can be charged up

Posted Image

Posted Image