Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Updating & Installing Mods in 1.6.1

1.6.1 installing update developer mcp modloader forge

  • Please log in to reply
115 replies to this topic

#41

MinecraftKingz30
    MinecraftKingz30

    The Meaning of Life, the Universe, and Everything...

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 42 posts

Posted 03 July 2013 - 12:14 AM

View PostMattthecoolcat, on 02 July 2013 - 01:58 AM, said:

How do I downgrade back to 1.5.2???
Either: (1)Edit your profile on the new launcher so it's on 1.5.2 (2)Play on the old launcher
[url=http://www.minecraftforum.net/viewtopic.php?f=1018&t=148811]Posted Image[/url]

Register or log in to remove.

#42

Mothman101
  • Location: CandyLand
  • Minecraft: Mothman101

Posted 03 July 2013 - 12:15 AM

View PostiPixeli, on 03 July 2013 - 12:08 AM, said:

Their website appears to be down from all the traffic.
Yeah thats what i thought well i got in finally and found out about the installer. So i tried it and it seemed fine when i changed the profile, but it wouldnt load! Everytime i press play the console would say "Libraries & Versions: Finished with 2 errors!" Im gonna try the more manual version to see if that will work.

#43

Ham5andw1ch

Posted 03 July 2013 - 12:33 AM

the crashing problem is caused by the fact that the mods are incompatible. clear youre mods folder untill new updates come out for mods
Posted Image

#44

_JAD3N
    _JAD3N

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 563 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Minecraft: _JAD3N

Posted 03 July 2013 - 12:36 AM

Another easy way is to use Magic Launcher, which is demonstrated in this video.




Maybe add it to the main post if you find it helpful, so others can make use of it as well? The modding community needs to be saved!

Posted Image

CLICK ME. CLICK ME HARD.


#45

Country_Gamer
  • Location: The TARDIS
  • Minecraft: Country_Gamer

Posted 03 July 2013 - 12:56 AM

I saw forge has an installer for playing the game, but how do I install forge to my mcp so that I can mod for 1.6.1???
Posted Image

#46

SoBiohazardous

Posted 03 July 2013 - 12:57 AM

Hey everyone, I HIGHLY recommend looking at the changed/new methods, if you're a modder.

MAKE SURE that you change @PreInit, @Init, and @PostInit to @EventHandler

*NOTE THAT YOU WILL NOT GET ANY ERRORS, HOWEVER YOUR IMPORT WILL BE DEPRECATED.

Another note: Gui's have now changed. Your gui probably contains:
mc.renderEngine.getTexture(textureName)

Now, you must use it like this:
ResourceLocation guiLocation = new ResourceLocation(texturelocation);
				this.mc.renderEngine.func_110577_a(guiLocation);

Posted Image

Click the picture to check it out!


#47

pokemonface12
  • Minecraft: pokemonface12

Posted 03 July 2013 - 01:18 AM

HALP!    Couldn't download https://s3.amazonaws...dded/Modded.jar for job 'Version & Libraries'
java.lang.RuntimeException: Server responded with 403
at net.minecraft.launcher.updater.download.Downloadable.download(Downloadable.java:85)
at net.minecraft.launcher.updater.download.DownloadJob.popAndDownload(DownloadJob.java:102)
at net.minecraft.launcher.updater.download.DownloadJob.access$000(DownloadJob.java:10)
at net.minecraft.launcher.updater.download.DownloadJob$1.run(DownloadJob.java:84)
at java.util.concurrent.Executors$RunnableAdapter.call(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerRun(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

Gave up trying to download https://s3.amazonaws...dded/Modded.jar for job 'Version & Libraries'
Job 'Version & Libraries' finished with 1 failure(s)!
Posted Image sunflower!
Hatch your own dragon!new breeds added.I ADVERTISE TOO MUCH I KNOW I KNOW!!

#48

TheEndermansPearl

Posted 03 July 2013 - 01:19 AM

How do I install 1.6.1 mods that DO NOT require forge or mod loader?!

#49

Bluemadness
    Bluemadness

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 910 posts
  • Location: I live in your mind, problem?
  • Minecraft: Bluemadness107
  • Xbox:What's an Xbox?
  • PSN:What's a PSN?

Posted 03 July 2013 - 01:29 AM

Since many servers includnig my own have not updated to 1.6.1, I use 1.5.2 with the new launcher. No problems right?

Wrong.

My server has mods. (Yeah, i use client mods on a bukkit server)
My server requires you have forge and a few certain mods- Problem is i can't figure out how to set up 1.5.2 in the new launcher.
Help is appreciated

Posted Image


Posted Image


#50

pokemonface12
  • Minecraft: pokemonface12

Posted 03 July 2013 - 01:35 AM

View Postpokemonface12, on 03 July 2013 - 01:18 AM, said:

HALP! Couldn't download https://s3.amazonaws...dded/Modded.jar for job 'Version & Libraries'
java.lang.RuntimeException: Server responded with 403
at net.minecraft.launcher.updater.download.Downloadable.download(Downloadable.java:85)
at net.minecraft.launcher.updater.download.DownloadJob.popAndDownload(DownloadJob.java:102)
at net.minecraft.launcher.updater.download.DownloadJob.access$000(DownloadJob.java:10)
at net.minecraft.launcher.updater.download.DownloadJob$1.run(DownloadJob.java:84)
at java.util.concurrent.Executors$RunnableAdapter.call(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerRun(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

Gave up trying to download https://s3.amazonaws...dded/Modded.jar for job 'Version & Libraries'
Job 'Version & Libraries' finished with 1 failure(s)!
'TI CAN'T EVEN PLAY MINECRAFT!
Posted Image sunflower!
Hatch your own dragon!new breeds added.I ADVERTISE TOO MUCH I KNOW I KNOW!!

#51

MrSmakz101
  • Minecraft: MrSmakz101

Posted 03 July 2013 - 03:15 AM

View PostMattthecoolcat, on 02 July 2013 - 01:58 AM, said:

How do I downgrade back to 1.5.2???

You can still play Minecraft 1.5.2 using the new launcher. You need to go to Profile Editor and create a new profile. Name it what ever you want, then check Game Directory Box. Change the User Version to 1.5.2 and click save. Now on the right of the launcher you will see a drop down menu called "Profile", click on it and change it to the profile you just created. Then log into your Minecraft account.

You can also watch this video that shows you how to install optifine 1.5.2 mod with the new launcher.

https://www.youtube....h?v=XQ_MdKkgyxA

#52

sieselshats

Posted 03 July 2013 - 05:54 AM

So I'm assuming you would put any mods you want in the mod folder you created in the cpw folder

View Postezekielelin, on 02 July 2013 - 03:52 AM, said:


9. Open [minecraft]/libraries

10. Make a folder called cpw and open it

11. Make a folder called mods and open it

12. Make a folder called fml and open it

13. Make a folder called 5.2.29 and open it

So I'm assuming you put any mods that require FML in that mod folder

#53

Excavator2
  • Location: Dalarna
  • Minecraft: Excavator2

Posted 03 July 2013 - 06:01 AM

View Postezekielelin, on 02 July 2013 - 11:35 PM, said:

The installer installs it almost instantly. I beg to differ.
Could you please explain how you use the installer in that case? I have tried the way you wrote, but I don't get it to work.
I scored 82% on the Minecraft Trivia Quiz. How much do you know about Minecraft?

#54

Fearmyboxers

Posted 03 July 2013 - 08:05 AM

forge installs and seems to start minecraft up then it crashes

#55

Siilan
    Siilan

    Carpenter

  • Members
  • 44 posts
  • Location: Aincrad
  • Minecraft: SkyCake97

Posted 03 July 2013 - 09:54 AM

I need help with the texture code. In my 1.5.2 mod, in the main class I used '.setLocalisedName()' for my textures, but now they don't work :( anyone know what I have to do to fix this?

#56

Niconiko
    Niconiko

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 233 posts

Posted 03 July 2013 - 11:18 AM

Question!

Quote

13. Make a folder called 5.2.29 and open it

14. Download the latest 1.6.1 Forge from files.minecraftforge.net and rename it to fml-5.2.29.jar

1. Why is 5.2.29?
2. The link is 1.5.2, is it work for 1.6.1 as well?

Edit: NVM, I did it!

Oh! iPixeli, one thing I wanna tell you, just open the spoiler and read the red text.

Spoiler:

That's what I wanna tell you :P

#57

camhawk10
  • Location: USA
  • Minecraft: camhawk13
  • Xbox:camhawk10

Posted 03 July 2013 - 11:46 AM

Client> 2013-07-03 07:40:38 [INFO] [STDERR] This version of CodeChickenCore does not support minecraft version 1.6.1

please help, i cant even uninstall it without an error i cant play at all

#58

zfz
    zfz

    Gold Miner

  • Members
  • 377 posts

Posted 03 July 2013 - 02:02 PM

One thing I've been wondering since the new launcher...

Does Forge respect custom game directories?

For example, if I create a profile that points to F:\Minecraft\1.6.1-MyMod\.minecraft\ as the game directory, and have Forge installed into %appdata%\Roaming\.minecraft\versions\1.6.1-MyMod\, will Forge accurately put all its working files in F: instead of AppData?

Setting up my 1.5.2 mods with the new launcher and a custom directory I want to set aside for purely 1.5.2 stuff, I found that OptiFine refuse to acknowledge custom directories and will only allow the game to load texture packs from %appdata%; while Forge also insists to create all its working files in %appdata%.

I want to use custom directories to separate my different save games and texture packs for different versions.
Posted Image

#59

CryingBlackTears

Posted 03 July 2013 - 02:17 PM

do I need to do that every time I want to install a mod? can I install multiple mods in one profile?

#60

Country_Gamer
  • Location: The TARDIS
  • Minecraft: Country_Gamer

Posted 03 July 2013 - 02:26 PM

When I use the forge 1.6.1 installer, forge installs fine, and when I play the game, it works, but where would I put my 1.6.1 forge mods? What is the directory pathway starting with the [minecraft] folder?
Posted Image