Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[1.7.2] Dynamic Lights - handheld torches, moving lightsources

dynamic lights function tweaks aesthetics 1.6.4 1.7.2

  • Please log in to reply
3028 replies to this topic

#1001

AtomicStryker
  • Location: Teutonia!!
  • Minecraft: AtomicStryker

Posted 22 September 2011 - 08:19 AM

View PostDiEvAl, on 21 September 2011 - 08:07 PM, said:

Both this mod and my mod edit AxisAlignedBB. Because of this our mods are incompatible. My mod only changes constructor from private to protected. Can you please put this into your mod to make our mods compatible?


EDIT: I looked at your source. :blink: Why do you need to edit AxisAlignedBB? Why don't you put that code into mod_dynamiclights.onTickInGame()?

OnTickIngame does not reliably run every frame.

? Why dont you use reflection then to get your data ? Modloader.getPrivate...

View PostRazumen, on 22 September 2011 - 05:13 AM, said:

I have this problem too, the mod proved so unreliable I just uninstalled it.

Basically it didn't seem to work at all sometimes, and when it did work and you moved to a new chunk the light would be 'left behind' in the previous chunk and would take awhile to update in the next. Eventually you'd have a bunch of chunks with invisible light sources in them until the game updated and removed them. I'll try and get some screenshots later if you need me to to clarify this.

It's something i am aware of but cannot change for the moment.


View PostFurious1964, on 22 September 2011 - 08:07 AM, said:

I have a problem and I was wondering if you can look into it. When I installed the Zeppelin mod, the game crashed. After testing the mods one at a time, I narrowed down the problam to an incompatibility between Dynamic Lights and Zeppelin.

Here is the crash report:

Spoiler:
..

The error with Editable signs is not causing the crash as the game ran normally with all mods except your. Editable Signs problem is that the sign post is missing, the modder is aware of the problem, but the game still works. I was wondering if you can take a look into this and offer a fix for the problem.

Thanks in advance.

The modded AxisAlignedBB is not installed.



EDIT:


Before you ask, yes i tried without the frameTime limits in AxisAlignedBB and RenderGlobal and its a lagfest even on my powerful computer. So that's not happening.

Register or log in to remove.

#1002

Furious1964
  • Location: Montreal.Canada
  • Minecraft: Mr_Furious1964

Posted 22 September 2011 - 08:27 AM

View PostAtomicStryker, on 22 September 2011 - 08:19 AM, said:

The modded AxisAlignedBB is not installed.

Is that another mod? Where do I get that?
Life is a Learning Curve....
Unfortunately, you're stuck on the bottom...amongst the bones of the stupid.

#1003

AtomicStryker
  • Location: Teutonia!!
  • Minecraft: AtomicStryker

Posted 22 September 2011 - 09:54 AM

Its 'rp.class' included in Dynamic Lights downloads

#1004

Furious1964
  • Location: Montreal.Canada
  • Minecraft: Mr_Furious1964

Posted 22 September 2011 - 10:11 AM

View PostAtomicStryker, on 22 September 2011 - 09:54 AM, said:

Its 'rp.class' included in Dynamic Lights downloads

Would it be possible to fix this?
Life is a Learning Curve....
Unfortunately, you're stuck on the bottom...amongst the bones of the stupid.

#1005

AtomicStryker
  • Location: Teutonia!!
  • Minecraft: AtomicStryker

Posted 22 September 2011 - 10:37 AM

Yes, by PUTTING IT IN YOUR FREAKIN JAR

#1006

DiEvAl
    DiEvAl

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1197 posts
  • Location: UTC+3
  • Minecraft: DiEAl

Posted 22 September 2011 - 04:35 PM

View PostAtomicStryker, on 22 September 2011 - 08:19 AM, said:

OnTickIngame does not reliably run every frame.

? Why dont you use reflection then to get your data ? Modloader.getPrivate...

Because it gets a field, and I need a constructor.


BTW, Furious1964 and I are talking about the same mod.
  • 1) You are on the internet.
  • 2) You are on minecraftforum.net.
  • 3) You are reading DiEvAl's sig.
  • 5) You didn't notice that there is no 4.
  • 6) You just checked it.

#1007

Furious1964
  • Location: Montreal.Canada
  • Minecraft: Mr_Furious1964

Posted 22 September 2011 - 07:01 PM

View PostAtomicStryker, on 22 September 2011 - 10:37 AM, said:

Yes, by PUTTING IT IN YOUR FREAKIN JAR

Don't want to get you angry and I'm sorry to bother you, but it already was in the .jar file. I did everything your instructions said. It's just that these two mods don't work together.

Sorry to edit this, but probably a merged rp.class would fix it. And I know you have your hands busy what with 1.9pr out and all, so I can wait.
Life is a Learning Curve....
Unfortunately, you're stuck on the bottom...amongst the bones of the stupid.

#1008

Alcosaurous
  • Location: The Dino Hut
  • Minecraft: Alcosaurous

Posted 22 September 2011 - 08:08 PM

This is actually quite nice; it just lags my computer A LOT when I try and use it.

"Don't stop what you love doing in life until you are forced to stop." - Dinosaur de Lunae

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۞۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬


#1009

Furious1964
  • Location: Montreal.Canada
  • Minecraft: Mr_Furious1964

Posted 22 September 2011 - 09:46 PM

View PostAlcosaurous, on 22 September 2011 - 08:08 PM, said:

This is actually quite nice; it just lags my computer A LOT when I try and use it.

See if the Lag Spike of Death Fix by the creators of Optifine can fix your lag with Dynamic Lights.

http://www.minecraftforum.net/topic/249637-173-optifine-hd-g-fps-boost/

Life is a Learning Curve....
Unfortunately, you're stuck on the bottom...amongst the bones of the stupid.

#1010

ShootToMaim
  • Location: Right Behind You...
  • Minecraft: ShootToMaim

Posted 22 September 2011 - 09:47 PM

arrggg i'm BLINDED!

[+Rep me if I helped please!][TF2, CS:GO, CS:S, L4D2, Battlefield 3, and more!]

Check out darklygaming.com, Canada's largest and best gaming community.


#1011

umaxtu
    umaxtu

    Carpenter

  • Members
  • 45 posts
  • Location: Michigan
  • Minecraft: umaxtu

Posted 23 September 2011 - 02:56 AM

Cool mod but I get some serious screen tearing when I try to use Soarex's pack

#1012

Billith
    Billith

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 968 posts
  • Location: The Farlands
  • Minecraft: BillithWalker13

Posted 23 September 2011 - 01:05 PM

Is there any possible way to edit the code easily so that the light in your hand burns out after a given time and it consumes the item? I absolutely need a feature like this for my horror map im making.
Posted Image

#1013

AtomicStryker
  • Location: Teutonia!!
  • Minecraft: AtomicStryker

Posted 23 September 2011 - 02:50 PM

Well a timer already exists for dropped items. Use it on held items, and make a function that either decreases quantity of held items by 1 or removes the item from your hands.

#1014

Furious1964
  • Location: Montreal.Canada
  • Minecraft: Mr_Furious1964

Posted 23 September 2011 - 04:53 PM

Last question: is it possible to make a merged rp.class file so I can get both Dynamic Lights and Zeppelin to work together? Currently, I'm not using Dynamic Lights because of this. Your mod is the greatest and allowed me to see in the dark without cheating.
Life is a Learning Curve....
Unfortunately, you're stuck on the bottom...amongst the bones of the stupid.

#1015

AtomicStryker
  • Location: Teutonia!!
  • Minecraft: AtomicStryker

Posted 24 September 2011 - 10:27 AM

View PostFurious1964, on 23 September 2011 - 04:53 PM, said:

Last question: is it possible to make a merged rp.class file so I can get both Dynamic Lights and Zeppelin to work together? Currently, I'm not using Dynamic Lights because of this. Your mod is the greatest and allowed me to see in the dark without cheating.

If you had asked that in the first place you would have saved us both a lot of time. Added merged file for Zeppelin mod

#1016

Furious1964
  • Location: Montreal.Canada
  • Minecraft: Mr_Furious1964

Posted 24 September 2011 - 10:44 AM

View PostAtomicStryker, on 24 September 2011 - 10:27 AM, said:

If you had asked that in the first place you would have saved us both a lot of time. Added merged file for Zeppelin mod


Thank you, thank you, thank you!

I take back all the nasty thi....oops, I mean it works, Sir. Thanks you very much.
Life is a Learning Curve....
Unfortunately, you're stuck on the bottom...amongst the bones of the stupid.

#1017

roboboy33
  • Minecraft: roboboy33

Posted 24 September 2011 - 06:12 PM

Your mod isn't working at all for me, I put everything from the compiled folder intot he jar and the configfile into the .minecraft.
Got a problem? Magma. Problem persists? More magma.
Problem still there? Even more magma.

#1018

gussak
    gussak

    Gold Miner

  • Members
  • 451 posts
  • Location: Atlantis

Posted 24 September 2011 - 11:36 PM

could you port it to minecraftForgeAPI (http://www.minecraft...inecraft-forge/)
because it is conflicting with cv.class from there,  and that API makes sprites unlimited (and many other things) what is a requirement to my endless wanting for more mods :D

also do you think the terrain light up could work in a background thread?
I try to void using torches in hand because it gets too laggy,
I promptly drop and switch to sword (zombe wield mod) otherwise I cant fight..


thx!! :D
><)))*> Truth: www.jiddu-krishnamurti.net (goo.gl/JJLwb),<> Soul: luacraft,<3 Health Unibiotica,xDPosted Image

#1019

DroppSix
    DroppSix

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 151 posts
  • Minecraft: DroppSix

Posted 24 September 2011 - 11:52 PM

Ok.. but rather place torches down..

But I like the holding torches starting light.  :iapprove:
Posted Image

#1020

BloodyRain2k
  • Location: times I broke MineOS: often enough to stop counting now oô
  • Xbox:sucks

Posted 25 September 2011 - 04:57 AM

View Postgussak, on 24 September 2011 - 11:36 PM, said:

could you port it to minecraftForgeAPI (http://www.minecraft...inecraft-forge/)
because it is conflicting with cv.class from there,  and that API makes sprites unlimited (and many other things) what is a requirement to my endless wanting for more mods :D

also do you think the terrain light up could work in a background thread?
I try to void using torches in hand because it gets too laggy,
I promptly drop and switch to sword (zombe wield mod) otherwise I cant fight..


thx!! :D
He already made a merged file for 1.0.6 so just use that
Posted Image

View PostEloraam, on 28 August 2011 - 02:47 AM, said:

Logs or it didn't happen.