Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[1.7.2] Dynamic Lights - handheld torches, moving lightsources

dynamic lights function tweaks aesthetics 1.6.4 1.7.2

  • Please log in to reply
3030 replies to this topic

#1

AtomicStryker
  • Location: Teutonia!!
  • Minecraft: AtomicStryker

Posted 27 February 2011 - 03:14 PM

*
POPULAR

Announcing: The AWESOME update


- rewritten from scratch to be a FML Coremod for Minecraft 1.4.2, requires Forge
- boosted efficiency A LOT, I'm positive it cannot be done any better now :3
- Dynamic Lights is now modular! See readme!
- configuration files for Dynamic Light modules can now be found at /config/
- global toggle Button can now be configured via Controls Menu


For those of you that don't know what FML Coremod means...
DRAG AND DROP INSTALL, YE GODS



I'll just put the readme here. Marvel at it's glory.

Spoiler:



And you know the best part about this update?
Its already available. Just re-download off the 1.4.2 Forge link :3












Other videos

Spoiler:




This modification makes 'shining' items (default: Torch, Glowstone, Glowdust, Lit Pumpkin, Redstone, Lava Bucket, powered Minecart) illuminate everything around them if


1) the player has them equipped (in hand/armor)
2) they are dropped on the ground
3) another player has them equipped in Multiplayer

On top of that, burning Entities shine light, and Creepers about to explode light up!


You may add any Item ID you wish as shiny item, via the settings file. Also supports armor items!


Toggle button ingame:
The key is "L". You can turn all dynamic Lights on/off with it. The button can be rebound using the ingame options.



There is no limit to the number of lights you can create, note however they are fairly FPS-costly. You can disable modules to obtain better FPS!


I recommend using Optifine for replacing Notch's funky render code with slightly less funky rendering code.


The mod works in Multiplayer, yet is clientside, it cannot lag servers. Note however 'dropped' light sources will not necessarily prevent Mobs from Spawning, and neither will your handheld light.


Note: DO NOT INSTALL THE COREMOD ON SERVERS! It will crash on load.




Instructions:
See readme in your downloaded file.

Config Syntax help:
Spoiler:



Downloads moved to:
http://www.atomicstryker.net



On Merged classes/mods and sourcecode:
FML Coremod! Will not need merges <3 <3 <3



To other modders: See sourcecode. Adding your own Dynamic Lights is easy.



My other mods:


Register or log in to remove.

#2

Omnomnom24
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 27 February 2011 - 03:34 PM

It's a great mod and I'd love to be able to use it, but sadly it conflicts with More Block IDs (8), specifically dt.class

Any chance of a merge?

'im not retarded and i have social skills and competence i may lack spelling but i could pwn u and ur horribal guild any day of the week' -Hasao0012


#3

Minecrap

Posted 27 February 2011 - 03:40 PM

Mod works amazingly! i hope you keep this one updated too!
Posted Image

#4

SILLYJIMMY5

Posted 27 February 2011 - 03:43 PM

This was the only thing I thought the last mod was missing. Thanks.
Then who was phone.

#5

duke2112

Posted 27 February 2011 - 03:59 PM

thanks for taking over this mod, cause it is really usefull.

#6

AtomicStryker
  • Location: Teutonia!!
  • Minecraft: AtomicStryker

Posted 27 February 2011 - 04:32 PM

Omnomnom24 said:

Any chance of a merge?

Granted and included

#7

Omnomnom24
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 27 February 2011 - 04:32 PM

Thank you kindly sir, you are a legend <3

'im not retarded and i have social skills and competence i may lack spelling but i could pwn u and ur horribal guild any day of the week' -Hasao0012


#8

NeonJ
    NeonJ

    Diamond Miner

  • Members
  • 864 posts

Posted 27 February 2011 - 04:45 PM

Why is it when I drop a torch, there's a little yellow vertical line beside it?
Posted Image The name's Cirom, a BLU KAG archer of awesome. Click the archer to join me in KAG!

#9

AtomicStryker
  • Location: Teutonia!!
  • Minecraft: AtomicStryker

Posted 27 February 2011 - 04:53 PM

You'll need to provide a screenshot. Using other mods or texture packs?

#10

Omnomnom24
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 27 February 2011 - 05:10 PM

Sorry to be a pain in the ass mate, but it's not working for some reason still.

Attached is my error report screenshot. As a side note, I'm running this version clean, ie, - Modloader, More Block ID's and Optimine only, and your mod of course.

http://img812.images...s/i/errorzk.png

Any help would be appreciated :]

'im not retarded and i have social skills and competence i may lack spelling but i could pwn u and ur horribal guild any day of the week' -Hasao0012


#11

ColdNCursed

Posted 27 February 2011 - 05:12 PM

Oh.
My.
Creeper.

This looks to be like... wow... *downloads*

Seriously, I never use mods. Never. (I enjoy browsing mods to look for cheaters to alarm my admin about, however that's about it) But this one.. WOW! *tests*

Sadly, I can not get it to work. Basically it gets stuck on, "Done Loading" (the bar never finishes)
Posted Image


Procedures I took;
Redownloaded .jar from Mojang. (No Mod-Loader, no nothing.)
Deleted Meta-INf File
Pasted the downloaded contents into the jar
Ran minecraft
Common sense is no longer common. Take for granted that every one you meet is an idiot; Every now and then you will be surprised.

#12

hasbucket

Posted 27 February 2011 - 05:32 PM

Thanks, AtomicStryker! It's working fine for me.  :cobblestone:

#13

Omnomnom24
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 27 February 2011 - 05:37 PM

hasbucket said:

Thanks, AtomicStryker! It's working fine for me.  :(
Would you kindly post the steps you took to make it work?

Specifically, are you using any texture packs/mods besides this one, and if so, what versions?

Thanks :]

'im not retarded and i have social skills and competence i may lack spelling but i could pwn u and ur horribal guild any day of the week' -Hasao0012


#14

Dozck
    Dozck

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 103 posts

Posted 27 February 2011 - 05:46 PM

Works!! Thanks for the mod!

If you try using a texture pack that uses the mcpatcher, it may not work. I had a black screen with Misa's but using default doesnt cause that.
Posted Image

#15

AtomicStryker
  • Location: Teutonia!!
  • Minecraft: AtomicStryker

Posted 27 February 2011 - 05:54 PM

Apply the hdfix after you installed this and youre good.

#16

xBlizz_I_Devi

Posted 27 February 2011 - 05:59 PM

this looks nice. not downloaded yet, but i've used your update of cryects handheld torch mod. will be downlaoding this and using it very soon. though can anyone say if there will be problems with a 256x pack patched with mcpatcher?
Please check out CanaryMod for your server needs. http://www.minecraft...f=1023&t=241258 Posted Image

#17

bobbert7591

Posted 27 February 2011 - 06:01 PM

Having the same problems. I have no other mods on, and I can still run the game fine, but when I try to even equip a torch, the game crashes (without even giving me the error report). I'd REALLY like to use this mod, so if you could figure this out, that would be awesome!

#18

xBlizz_I_Devi

Posted 27 February 2011 - 06:16 PM

can i just say that installation instructions slightly better than the current ones should be used so that the newbies who aren't akin to installing mods can make sure they've done everything right. (basically i mean the extra folders - as if you dont need the merged files, don't bother)
Please check out CanaryMod for your server needs. http://www.minecraft...f=1023&t=241258 Posted Image

#19

hasbucket

Posted 27 February 2011 - 06:21 PM

Omnomnom24 said:

hasbucket said:

Thanks, AtomicStryker! It's working fine for me.  :(
Would you kindly post the steps you took to make it work?

Specifically, are you using any texture packs/mods besides this one, and if so, what versions?

Thanks :]

I just went through the instructions in the first post. I didn't need any of the 'merged' .class files. I am using this texture pack, and the following mods (in the order that I installed them):

Posted Image

#20

AtomicStryker
  • Location: Teutonia!!
  • Minecraft: AtomicStryker

Posted 27 February 2011 - 06:26 PM

bobbert7591 said:

Having the same problems. I have no other mods on, and I can still run the game fine, but when I try to even equip a torch, the game crashes (without even giving me the error report). I'd REALLY like to use this mod, so if you could figure this out, that would be awesome!


I figured it out, you failed at following the instructions. A good bet would be step 4.



Quote

Procedures I took;
Redownloaded .jar from Mojang. (No Mod-Loader, no nothing.)
Deleted Meta-INf File
Pasted the downloaded contents into the jar
Ran minecraft

I'm not aware of any Mac specific problems. Be assured the files i provide were tested ... see if you can get a debug log or something.