Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

HOW TO: Use Forge with the Dev Launcher

forge dev launcher

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1

GrygrFlzr
  • Location: MCF Modlist
  • Minecraft: GrygrFlzr

Posted 16 May 2013 - 11:12 AM

Most of you should know by now that the dev launcher has a version selection system and all that. How can you use it with Forge?
Mojang has actually made the process relatively simple!

First off, you need to actually have Minecraft Forge for your desired Minecraft version at http://files.minecraftforge.net. The site goes down every now and then, so check every half-hour or so to see if its back up.
Navigate to your Minecraft folder. On Windows you can access it via %APPDATA%/.minecraft, while on OS X you can open Finder > Go to... ~/Library/Application Support/minecraft. I'm not sure about Linux, but you can always click Options > Texture Packs > Open texture pack folder to find it.
Open the versions folder. You should see all the versions you downloaded and have installed. Now make a copy of the version folder you want. In this case, we'll use 1.5.2 on Forge 684.
Posted Image
Now rename the folder to something like 1.5.2Forge684. I did not test what characters were not allowed but I suggest you do not use spaces (please correct me if I'm wrong). UPDATE: cestislife has confirmed that both spaces or dashes are allowed.
I do recommend having the Forge version in the foldername just so that its easy to identify. This will be the name that appears in the launcher.
Posted Image
Now go inside the folder and rename everything to the same name you use. Keep the suffixes/extension intact.
Posted Image
Now open the .json file with a text editor. I will use Notepad++ in this case, but regular notepad will work fine.
Posted Image
Rename the version name with the same name you use for the folder. Do not modify the "type" tag. The launcher will only recognize "release" and "snapshot".
Posted Image
Save the file and close it.
Now you probably want to mod the jar, go ahead and use the usual methods.
Open the <newversionname>.jar file with your favorite zip manager (7-zip in this case) and delete META-INF. Pretty standard.
Posted Image

Posted Image
Now go open your Forge zip and drag everything into the jar.
Posted Image

Posted Image
Close the zip manager.
You are NOT done yet. Go back up one directory and open the versions.json and copy your original versions' entry to its own entry. Rename the entry to the directory you just made.
Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image
Now you're done. Go ahead and open up the launcher, select the version you made.
Posted Image

Posted Image
Oh no, what's this? An error dialog! GASP.
Posted Image
It just means the Forge server storing the deobfuscation data is down.
Oh. Yeah. Oh.
No worries. Click OK. Reopen Launcher and login until Forge stops showing that error message and actually downloads the files.

BAM.
Posted Image
You're welcome.
And now for shameless self plug to make sure this actually works:
Posted Image

Register or log in to remove.

#2

cestislife
    cestislife

    Resident Fuzzball

  • Sectional Moderator
  • 6583 posts
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Minecraft: LORDVENOM0001

Posted 16 May 2013 - 11:33 AM

This does indeed work.
Please note that there may not be any "natives" folder within the version folder. If it is not present, ignore it. Spaces, dashes or any other character do not seem to break the install.

Finally, a "vanilla" way to separate your numerous instances of mod installs. You get to name them as well!

Posted Image


#3

MastaChief54117
  • Minecraft: MastaChief54117

Posted 19 May 2013 - 03:28 AM

View PostGrygrFlzr, on 16 May 2013 - 11:12 AM, said:

"Close the zip manager.
You are NOT done yet. Go back up one directory and open the versions.json and copy your original versions' entry to its own entry. Rename the entry to the directory you just made."
I'm with you up until here, but when I go back out of the "1.5.2 copy" folder, there is no 'version.json.'.  There are no 'json's at all for that matter.  There are only the folders containing each of the different versions (13w19a, 1.5.2, etc.).  When I couldn't find this json file, I looked elsewhere in 'nearby' places in the minecraft folder, again to no avail...
Posted Image
^There is the contents of my versions folder, hopefully someone can help...

Posted Image


#4

LuciusNCJ
  • Location: +1047 +65 -1933 England Biome

Posted 20 May 2013 - 02:10 PM

That info is correct, just worded badly.
If you need something a little easier to understand...

Try this.

#5

OverlordXcano
  • Location: Netherain, The Nether
  • Minecraft: Xcano

Posted 08 June 2013 - 06:24 PM

View PostMastaChief54117, on 19 May 2013 - 03:28 AM, said:

I'm with you up until here, but when I go back out of the "1.5.2 copy" folder, there is no 'version.json.'.  There are no 'json's at all for that matter.  There are only the folders containing each of the different versions (13w19a, 1.5.2, etc.).  When I couldn't find this json file, I looked elsewhere in 'nearby' places in the minecraft folder, again to no avail...
Posted Image
^There is the contents of my versions folder, hopefully someone can help...
I did it without the .json test it you should be fine.

Go on. Click it. It tastes good.

Posted Image


#6

Venomghost
  • Location: UK
  • Minecraft: VenomGhost

Posted 27 June 2013 - 08:20 PM

the only thing i dont quite understand atm is "You are NOT done yet. Go back up one directory and open the versions.json and copy your original versions' entry to its own entry. Rename the entry to the directory you just made."
no versions.json file has appeared and there is no pic showing its location

when i try to launch it comes up with this

Couldn't download https://s3.amazonaws.../1.5.2Mods1.jar for job 'Version & Libraries'
java.lang.RuntimeException: Server responded with 403
at net.minecraft.launcher.updater.download.Downloadable.download(Downloadable.java:65)
at net.minecraft.launcher.updater.download.DownloadJob.popAndDownload(DownloadJob.java:83)
at net.minecraft.launcher.updater.download.DownloadJob.access$000(DownloadJob.java:10)
at net.minecraft.launcher.updater.download.DownloadJob$1.run(DownloadJob.java:65)
at java.util.concurrent.Executors$RunnableAdapter.call(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerRun(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

Gave up trying to download https://s3.amazonaws.../1.5.2Mods1.jar for job 'Version & Libraries'
Job 'Version & Libraries' finished with 1 failure(s)!

EDIT : Never mind i found out how now :D thx for the info

#7

calmilamsy

Posted 28 June 2013 - 09:46 AM

This is outdated D: doesnt work anymore

and i am not using the version stated in the log

Launcher log:-

Launcher 1.0.3 (through bootstrap 4) started on windows...
System.getProperty('os.name') == 'Windows 7'
System.getProperty('os.version') == '6.1'
System.getProperty('os.arch') == 'x86'
System.getProperty('java.version') == '1.7.0_21'
System.getProperty('java.vendor') == 'Oracle Corporation'
Going to log in with legacy stored username & password...
Loaded 3 profile(s); selected '1.5.2'
Trying to log in...
Logging in with access token
Logged in successfully
Delta time to compare resources: 656 ms
Download job 'Resources' skipped as there are no files to download
Job 'Resources' finished successfully
Getting syncinfo for selected version
Unhandled exception in executor net.minecraft.launcher.updater.ExceptionalThreadPoolExecutor$ExceptionalFutureTask@5a5139
java.util.concurrent.ExecutionException: java.lang.NullPointerException
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerGet(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.get(Unknown Source)
at net.minecraft.launcher.updater.ExceptionalThreadPoolExecutor$ExceptionalFutureTask.done(ExceptionalThreadPoolExecutor.java:54)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerSetException(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.setException(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerRun(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Caused by: java.lang.NullPointerException
at net.minecraft.launcher.GameLauncher.playGame(GameLauncher.java:89)
at net.minecraft.launcher.ui.sidebar.login.LoggedInForm$1.run(LoggedInForm.java:93)
at java.util.concurrent.Executors$RunnableAdapter.call(Unknown Source)
... 5 more

you die, you winPosted Image

#8

SoBiohazardous

Posted 01 July 2013 - 08:31 PM

Hey thanks, it works. Note that I did not have to do the last thing where he edits some versions.json, if its not there just ignore it.

I did notice though that forge will load anything in the mods folder, regardless of what profile it is. So you cannot have multiple profiles running different forge mods.

Posted Image

Click the picture to check it out!


#9

calmilamsy

Posted 02 July 2013 - 06:58 AM

thats maybe whats wrong, thanks :D
you die, you winPosted Image

#10

SoBiohazardous

Posted 02 July 2013 - 08:58 PM

Forge now actually has an auto-installer for 1.6 and the new launcher.
http://files.minecraftforge.net/

Posted Image

Click the picture to check it out!


#11

MiningWithFriends
  • Location: In front of the computer, of course

Posted 04 September 2013 - 03:45 AM

It doesn't work for me, after the mojang screen it's just black screen
Posted Image

#12

Locriana
    Locriana

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 37 posts

Posted 27 September 2013 - 06:29 AM

View PostSoBiohazardous, on 02 July 2013 - 08:58 PM, said:

Forge now actually has an auto-installer for 1.6 and the new launcher.
http://files.minecraftforge.net/

This works! But now, how do i load a mod with Forge on 1.6.4?

#13

SoBiohazardous

Posted 27 September 2013 - 11:20 PM

View PostLocriana, on 27 September 2013 - 06:29 AM, said:

This works! But now, how do i load a mod with Forge on 1.6.4?

The same way...

Posted Image

Click the picture to check it out!


#14

Locriana
    Locriana

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 37 posts

Posted 28 September 2013 - 01:48 AM

View PostSoBiohazardous, on 27 September 2013 - 11:20 PM, said:

The same way...
as what?

Please share.... I'm new to this and having trouble finding information that applies to the 1.6.4 version.

thanks

#15

SoBiohazardous

Posted 28 September 2013 - 02:36 AM

View PostLocriana, on 28 September 2013 - 01:48 AM, said:

as what?

Please share.... I'm new to this and having trouble finding information that applies to the 1.6.4 version.

thanks

You run the new forge installer....

Posted Image

Click the picture to check it out!


#16

tripped64
  • Minecraft: Not telling

Posted 28 September 2013 - 06:51 PM

im getti8ng a error on the installer :#

"These libraries failed to download. Try again.
org.scala-lang:scala-library:2.10.2. org.scala-lang:scala-compiler:2.10.2

i have tried installing it over 4 times already and i keep getting this error :/
Posted Image

#17

Altmaster

Posted 03 January 2014 - 08:25 PM

Same here HELP