Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[INFO] Outdated Server Error! READ ME FIRST!


  • Please log in to reply
67 replies to this topic

#1

rch
    rch

    Minecraft.cm

  • Members
  • 4104 posts
  • Location: Florida
  • Minecraft: rch

Posted 22 February 2011 - 08:05 PM

[INFO]Outdated Server!

Does your server say "Outdated Server" when you try to connect to it?

It means that, well.. your server is outdated! You'll have to go to http://www.minecraft.net/download.jsp and download minecraft_server.exe or minecraft_server.jar and replace your existing one!

Be sure to type "stop" in your server console BEFORE you replace the file..

BACKUP YOUR MAP!!!!

Minecraft is going to attempt to convert your map to the new save format.. just in case something goes wrong, make sure you make a backup!

Then you can delete your current minecraft_server.(exe/jar) and place to newly downloaded one in the same directory and start up your server.

You'll see some new stuff on the console like this:

2011-02-22 19:57:22 [INFO] Starting minecraft server version Beta 1.3
2011-02-22 19:57:22 [INFO] Loading properties
2011-02-22 19:57:22 [INFO] Starting Minecraft server on *:25565
2011-02-22 19:57:22 [WARNING] Failed to load white-list: java.io.FileNotFoundException: white-list.txt (No such file or directory)
2011-02-22 19:57:22 [INFO] Preparing level "world"
2011-02-22 19:57:22 [INFO] Converting map!
2011-02-22 19:57:27 [INFO] Converting... 0%
2011-02-22 19:57:29 [INFO] Converting... 1%
......
......
......
......
......
2011-02-22 20:02:12 [INFO] Converting... 99%
2011-02-22 20:02:14 [INFO] Converting... 100%
2011-02-22 20:02:15 [INFO] Preparing start region
2011-02-22 20:02:16 [INFO] Done (293614151000ns)! For help, type "help" or "?"

Don't worry about [WARNING] Failed to load white-list: java.io.FileNotFoundException: white-list.txt (No such file or directory) - Minecraft now has a Whitelist option in the vanilla software, the server will generate this file on its own and you can now create a whitelist!

Your map will also be converted to the new format.. the white-list.txt will be generated and you'll be all set!

If the server you play on is giving you this error you will have to wait until the Admins of that server update everything! There's nothing we can do to help if you aren't the admin of the server!

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Redstorm3265

Posted 22 February 2011 - 08:19 PM

Just keeping yours on top ;)

#3

Daveyo
    Daveyo

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 191 posts

Posted 22 February 2011 - 08:56 PM

yes, because people use the default server lol
My server IP:       www.fwlawn.com

Ballers only please

40 slot server, Well configured.
viewtopic.php?f=1025&t=182894

#4

rch
    rch

    Minecraft.cm

  • Members
  • 4104 posts
  • Location: Florida
  • Minecraft: rch

Posted 22 February 2011 - 08:57 PM

Daveyo said:

yes, because people use the default server lol

You obviously don't spend much time in here.

#5

sansavarous
    sansavarous

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1037 posts

Posted 22 February 2011 - 09:10 PM

Ooo ooo let me help too...

Bumpy bumpy bumpy...

One
two
three Bump! One
two
three Bump!
There's a new dance that is going around
Called the Bump
do the Bump.
You can do it to the rhythm of that rock'n roll sound
It's the Bump
do the Bump.

#6

Israeli
    Israeli

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 193 posts

Posted 22 February 2011 - 09:28 PM

bump, people are still ignoring this thread and making their own

#7

rch
    rch

    Minecraft.cm

  • Members
  • 4104 posts
  • Location: Florida
  • Minecraft: rch

Posted 22 February 2011 - 09:39 PM

Maybe that'll help. :x

#8

zombiemann
    zombiemann

    Redstone Miner

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 594 posts

Posted 22 February 2011 - 09:43 PM

/give thread bump
zombiecraft.serverbeer.com - Permissions enabled home server, focusing on big builds

See what we are building here: http://zombiecraft.servebeer.com

#9

psykeman
    psykeman

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 22 February 2011 - 09:52 PM

bump + issue

when I did this my server failed to update properly it still said "Outdated Server", currently using XenonServers so I sent them a ticket in case the update needs to be done on their side.

#10

rch
    rch

    Minecraft.cm

  • Members
  • 4104 posts
  • Location: Florida
  • Minecraft: rch

Posted 22 February 2011 - 09:55 PM

Wait what?

These are instructions on how to update your server software - How did you follow these instructions and not update your server? Did you replace minecraft_server.jar with the new one from minecraft.net on your server?

#11

zombiemann
    zombiemann

    Redstone Miner

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 594 posts

Posted 22 February 2011 - 10:05 PM

Bumping for great justice...

This really needs to stay at the top
zombiecraft.serverbeer.com - Permissions enabled home server, focusing on big builds

See what we are building here: http://zombiecraft.servebeer.com

#12

oaf12
    oaf12

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 22 February 2011 - 10:10 PM

Bump, thanks for this. Hope the admins of the server i play on see this soon :-)

#13

diginess
    diginess

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 22 February 2011 - 10:29 PM

I do not appreciate being forced to update my server just because Notch decided it would be nice.
As of now, I've taken my server down, a bunch of people are going to be very unhappy.
I am too busy for this right now.  I feel this move was intrusive and shows a bit of disrespect to the users - forcing updates.

#14

HoodedxSaints

Posted 22 February 2011 - 10:40 PM

And so if I forgot to stop the server and already replaced the file how do I do that? I can't start up the server again because a server is already running, but I don't know how to stop it either. I'm using ssh and terminal to access the server because I have a dedicated server.

#15

Orcworm
    Orcworm

    Ghast Hunter

  • Members
  • 2731 posts
  • Location: Britain
  • Minecraft: Orcworm

Posted 22 February 2011 - 10:45 PM

diginess said:

I do not appreciate being forced to update my server just because Notch decided it would be nice.
As of now, I've taken my server down, a bunch of people are going to be very unhappy.
I am too busy for this right now.  I feel this move was intrusive and shows a bit of disrespect to the users - forcing updates.

You're not forced to update your server, only your client. You can downgrade your client in about 30 seconds.
Posted Image

#16

zombiemann
    zombiemann

    Redstone Miner

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 594 posts

Posted 22 February 2011 - 10:46 PM

diginess said:

I do not appreciate being forced to update my server just because Notch decided it would be nice.
As of now, I've taken my server down, a bunch of people are going to be very unhappy.
I am too busy for this right now.  I feel this move was intrusive and shows a bit of disrespect to the users - forcing updates.


Wow, seriously?  Developers shouldn't release a patch because you are to busy to deal with updating?  It takes less than 5 minutes to download the new file and upload it to a remote server if you are using a VPS, less than 2 minutes if you are home hosting and have a thumbdrive handy.  If you are running a vanilla server there are no issues.  And Notch/Mojang are under absolutely 0 obligation to work with or support in any way shape or form, ANY mod be it Bukkit or Kmod or whatever.  

Oh and if you and your precious users had bothered to keep informed ( as a good server admin should) you would have known about the new launcher that lets you choose to update or not.  

Get off your high horse, if you don't want to act like a server admin, then by all means shut your server down.  Nobody on these forums is going beg you not to.
zombiecraft.serverbeer.com - Permissions enabled home server, focusing on big builds

See what we are building here: http://zombiecraft.servebeer.com

#17

HoodedxSaints

Posted 22 February 2011 - 10:51 PM

Here's the error I'm getting in terminal when trying to stop my server:

[root@mc*** minecraft]# screen -x
There are several suitable screens on:
	****.minecraft	(Detached)
	*****.pts-0.mc***	(Detached)
	*****.minecraft	(Detached)
	*****.minecraft	(Detached)
	*****.minecraft	(Detached)
Type "screen [-d] -r [pid.]tty.host" to resume one of them.
[root@mc*** minecraft]# stop
bash: stop: command not found

I replaced numbers with an asterisk *
This is all in "cd /minecraft"
Am I doing a wrong command?

#18

Orcworm
    Orcworm

    Ghast Hunter

  • Members
  • 2731 posts
  • Location: Britain
  • Minecraft: Orcworm

Posted 22 February 2011 - 10:53 PM

You need to return to a screen before you can use any console commands.

screen -r pid

So if the first screen was 12345.minecraft:

screen -r 12345

Posted Image

#19

gdea73
    gdea73

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Minecraft: gdea73

Posted 22 February 2011 - 10:54 PM

Does anyone else have this issue?!

Before Beta 1.3:
g73mc running SimpleServer RC 7.0 (Beta 1.2_02 Compatible)
All was good, I played Minecraft Sunday night on my server.

Now *Today*, I noticed some "Server Outdated" errors coming up.
So, I went to minecraft.net, downloaded the new minecraft_server.jar, and replaced the old one after backing up the map. I ran my server and after converting, restarted it once more. And *NOW*:
Port 25565 comes up as CLOSED on my IP. I did NOT change my router or firewall settings since Sunday... (I HAVE A STATIC INTERNAL IP ON MY SERVER, obviously ...)
Any time I try to connect, I immediately get "connection refused" error. and nothing in the server log to notify me. Same with all other clients/members.

Solutions?

#20

HoodedxSaints

Posted 22 February 2011 - 11:05 PM

Ok I'm really bad at this. I tried that but nothing happened. I was able to get to where I can enter a command, but this happened when I typed "stop":

stop
java.lang.NullPointerException
		at ki.a(SourceFile:254)
		at ki.a(SourceFile:33)
		at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.b(SourceFile:347)
		at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.run(SourceFile:268)
		at bc.run(SourceFile:366)
2011-02-23 02:04:01 [SEVERE] Unexpected exception
java.lang.NullPointerException
		at ki.a(SourceFile:254)
		at ki.a(SourceFile:33)
		at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.b(SourceFile:347)
		at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.run(SourceFile:268)
		at bc.run(SourceFile:366)