Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Uninstalling Optifine

optifine mod uninstall laggy broken

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1

SegFaulter

Posted 29 March 2013 - 04:09 AM

After several weeks of dealing with the chunk-update lag that Optifine creates, I have chosen that it is best that I uninstall Optifine. It is nothing more than a worse problem, especially when I can't see lava flowing into my mining tunnel or have to relog to clear water out of a cave.
I could simply force-update my Minecraft.jar, and that would fix the issue. I would never have to deal with it again.
But, due to the fact that I have 36 Forge mods, and the Forge mod loader/handler/etc., force-updating is not an option, as this will also remove forge. I do not want to remove forge.
So, how can one go about removing Optifine, without force-updating Minecraft or doing something that also removes forge?
Thank you for your help.
Posted Image
Image borkened. The site it was hosted on got taken down by its hosting domain, I guess because it ran out of time/owner didn't meet the rent deadline.

Register or log in to remove.

#2

cestislife
    cestislife

    Resident Fuzzball

  • Sectional Moderator
  • 6581 posts
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Minecraft: LORDVENOM0001

Posted 29 March 2013 - 05:44 AM

Installing Forge again is not that hard. If you wish to uninstall Optifine, that is your only option. The mods you have installed will not be affected as they are not in the minecraft.jar but rather in the mods folder. All you need to do is to force update, then copy over the forge files into the minecraft.jar.

That's the only way to do it.

Posted Image


#3

SegFaulter

Posted 29 March 2013 - 06:01 AM

View Postcestislife, on 29 March 2013 - 05:44 AM, said:

Installing Forge again is not that hard. If you wish to uninstall Optifine, that is your only option. The mods you have installed will not be affected as they are not in the minecraft.jar but rather in the mods folder. All you need to do is to force update, then copy over the forge files into the minecraft.jar.

That's the only way to do it.
Thank you. Maybe someday someone else will find this thread useful aswell.
Posted Image
Image borkened. The site it was hosted on got taken down by its hosting domain, I guess because it ran out of time/owner didn't meet the rent deadline.

#4

OliverGriffin
  • Location: Inside the Matrix.
  • Minecraft: OliverGriffin

Posted 29 March 2013 - 09:50 AM

Well don't these modpacks usually have a config file in .minecraft somewhere? I know modloader always creates one not sure about forge. If so you can just go find the config file and turn optifine off from there. No need to uninstall. Else you could find each individual optifine file and delete it but this may affect the game if some are vanilla files that have been changed. You could try changing the chunk loading options? I never get the problems you are talking about and i have the slowest pc in the world (or close too Posted Image). As cestislife said, installing mods isn't that hard but it may take a lot of time...
Hope this helped. :D
Did I help? +1 me!
I did have mods but they are now out-of date.
If you want to check them out links are on my profile.

#5

Seblishus

Posted 03 May 2013 - 07:26 PM

Hey i am really sad because i came home from a trip and i wanted to play MC and i had to update and it said errored occurred and said "Library/application support/minecraft/bin/minecraft.jar" i think this is because of optifine is it? i really need help please i beg you just help me D: i beg you Posted Image and when i force update is says at 15% lwjgl_util.jar could not retrieve!!! please help :( :( :(

#6

StevtheMiner
  • Location: Earth

Posted 07 May 2013 - 08:05 AM

Try restoring your minecraft.jar to an earlier version. That's what I did. It works perfectly. I still have forge.
1. Right-click minecraft.jar
2. Click "Restore to previous version"
3. Click the version that doesn't have Optifine
4. Click Restore
Done! You still have forge with your 36 mods
Note: This only works on Windows (I don't know about Mac users)
Posted Image
Yep. I'm an adventurer(at least that's what I think I am).

#7

Thantosss1220

Posted 17 May 2013 - 04:01 AM

Um I have exactly 60 mods and 27-30 fps. Is that normal? Bad or good?

With Optifine BTW

Posted Image
A double resolution texture pack that stays faithful to the original Minecraft textures.


#8

thepenmen22
  • Location: Republic City
  • Minecraft: thepenmen22

Posted 20 June 2013 - 04:25 PM

View PostThantosss1220, on 17 May 2013 - 04:01 AM, said:

Um I have exactly 60 mods and 27-30 fps. Is that normal? Bad or good?

With Optifine BTW

That's normal-ish. Definitely not bad though

#9

ajwcool
    ajwcool

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 27 June 2013 - 12:31 AM

i have mods that Are awesome but optifine messed it upPosted Image sssssssssssssssssssssssss like you ssssssssssssssssss oh no! Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

#10

Q8i_MiNeR1993

Posted 05 August 2013 - 08:28 PM

View PostSteveofMinecraft151, on 07 May 2013 - 08:05 AM, said:

Note: This only works on Windows (I don't know about Mac users)

yup it doesn't work on mac
Posted Image

#11

AfroToast

Posted 13 August 2013 - 08:25 AM

View PostSegFaulter, on 29 March 2013 - 06:01 AM, said:

Thank you. Maybe someday someone else will find this thread useful aswell.

Thanks, this thread helped. Interesting to see it pointed out like that, but I appreciate it, haha.

#12

ItsAGirlMinecrafter
  • Location: Australia
  • Minecraft: RainbowDiva

Posted 28 January 2014 - 07:26 AM

What Kind of Optifine should I use for 17 mods? I have Minecraft Forge 1.6.2

#13

jcm2606
    jcm2606

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1034 posts
  • Location: Australia

Posted 29 January 2014 - 05:52 AM

View PostItsAGirlMinecrafter, on 28 January 2014 - 07:26 AM, said:

What Kind of Optifine should I use for 17 mods? I have Minecraft Forge 1.6.2
It doesn't exactly depend on how many mods you have, more so depends on what your system specs are like. While more mods does reduce FPS, Optifine won't really help you that much if your computer isn't so good in relation to more mods. Typically, if you have a multicore system (most systems now have Dual-Core processors, you'll have to check if yours is dual-core), the Ultra version is the best as it allows you to toggle processor utilisation between Default, Smooth and Multi-Core. The advantages of running Minecraft on more than one cores (be default, Minecraft is only ran on a single core) is faster world loading, faster calculations, higher FPS due to more CPU time being available at a time (only if you have an integrated graphics card). If you have an alright system but not multicore, or just don't want multicore, Standard should suffice. If you have a system with low-end specs, Light may be a better option, but, with the Light edition you won't have the ability to load high-res resource packs out of the box and have it work with everything (vanilla has the ability to use high-resolution textures, but things like high-res font maps and that aren't really supported IIRC).
Derpin da herp.

#14

Haim123creeper

Posted 06 February 2014 - 12:45 AM

guys im using shaders but when i install optifine it disables them, why??? Posted Image

#15

thepenmen22
  • Location: Republic City
  • Minecraft: thepenmen22

Posted 06 February 2014 - 02:35 AM

View PostHaim123creeper, on 06 February 2014 - 12:45 AM, said:

guys im using shaders but when i install optifine it disables them, why??? Posted Image

That's something you should probably post on the optifine thread, or the modded client support: http://www.minecraft...client-support/