Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Run Minecraft without OpenGl supported Graphics Card

opengl graphics card graphics

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1

Starport592
  • Minecraft: Starport592

Posted 14 March 2013 - 08:32 PM

I've got this portable Minecraft launcher.  It's mine, meaning I made it.  I used to distribute it until it started comming up as a virus.  I was re-writting it, but I've gotten lazy.  I am really close to finishing it--

Ahh sorry.  Not the point.

Basically, I plugged my flash drive into a computer at school.

Ok.

I open up Minecraft with my launcher and log in.  It loads, then closes.

*Maybe it's my launcher?

I copy the Minecraft.exe onto the desktop and run it locally.  The same thing happens.

After running around on the interwebs, I found that THE GRAPHICS CARD WAS ANCIENT.

Intel Radon X6000 or something like that.

A computer graphics class.  With a horrible graphics card.  '_'

*And yet Halo and GTA run just fine.  WTF.

Whatever.  So I'm scrambling around on the internet trying to find ways.  I'm an addict, and I search for about half a year.  (Only started comp graphics this year.)

There are viable solutions on there, but they require administrator privileges.

Great.


And then today, I found mesa.

http://stackoverflow...a-graphics-card


Quote

Yes, you can use MESA.
For your convenience, I've compiled it in both 32- and 64bit at:

http://dl.dropbox.co...496269/mesa.zip

Simply put them where you .exe file is located.

Now, I haven't gotten the chance to test this on the school computer, but I HAVE tried it at home.


It appears to work.  Granted, my graphics card at home can support OpenGl, but when I place the dll from the mesa download into the same folder as Minecraft.exe and run it, it seems to run slower.

*However, it is STILL PLAYABLE.

I am very excited and am posting to see if anyone else could try this?

I am very eager to know.
Posted Image

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Frog81
    Frog81

    Enderdragon Slayer

  • Members
  • 10470 posts
  • Location: very secret. much intrude. wow.
  • Minecraft: frog81
  • Xbox:Gorfeywog

Posted 14 March 2013 - 10:47 PM

I haven't personally tried it, but great job. And Halo and GTA? Err, as you didn't specify, I'm going to assume you mean the first GTA and Halo:Combat Evolved, which are both pretty old too.
Posted ImagePosted Image

#3

Starport592
  • Minecraft: Starport592

Posted 15 March 2013 - 04:33 AM

View PostFrog81, on 14 March 2013 - 10:47 PM, said:

I haven't personally tried it, but great job. And Halo and GTA? Err, as you didn't specify, I'm going to assume you mean the first GTA and Halo:Combat Evolved, which are both pretty old too.

Correct and correct.  I mean I just figured that they'd be more graphics intensive.  I plan on trying this theory out tomorrow.  Can't wait!
Posted Image

#4

Frog81
    Frog81

    Enderdragon Slayer

  • Members
  • 10470 posts
  • Location: very secret. much intrude. wow.
  • Minecraft: frog81
  • Xbox:Gorfeywog

Posted 15 March 2013 - 11:22 AM

View PostStarport592, on 15 March 2013 - 04:33 AM, said:

Correct and correct.  I mean I just figured that they'd be more graphics intensive.  I plan on trying this theory out tomorrow.  Can't wait!
Ah. Usually when I joke about that kind of thing I end up wrong.
Posted ImagePosted Image

#5

Starport592
  • Minecraft: Starport592

Posted 15 March 2013 - 11:34 AM

View PostFrog81, on 15 March 2013 - 11:22 AM, said:

Ah. Usually when I joke about that kind of thing I end up wrong.

Didn't realize you were joking '_'

Posted Image
Posted Image

#6

Starport592
  • Minecraft: Starport592

Posted 15 March 2013 - 09:21 PM

Okay, some good news and some bad news.

The good news:

I got to try it out today.

The bad news:

It didn't work.


Now, I'm not giving up yet, because I read through the error files that the computer created, and it turns out that it wasn't loading minecraft with the OpenGL32.dll that I have placed next to it.  Instead, it was still using the OpenGl32.dll from system32.


Does anyone know how to run an exe and also include a .dll?  I know that usually if you drop the .dll in the same folder as the program, that the program will load the .dll in the same folder as it first.

But if there is like a command line or something like that.  The above didn't work for me.

Because the errors kept showing that i was using the system's OpenGl.  And that's not what I want.
Posted Image

#7

Frog81
    Frog81

    Enderdragon Slayer

  • Members
  • 10470 posts
  • Location: very secret. much intrude. wow.
  • Minecraft: frog81
  • Xbox:Gorfeywog

Posted 15 March 2013 - 09:56 PM

Sorry, can't help you at this point. But I believe Minecraft IS more graphically intensive than Halo, it has all the smooth lighting and stuff.
Posted ImagePosted Image

#8

starfyredragon

Posted 13 May 2013 - 12:41 AM

I got the files to work... it's an iffy process, but put the two .dll files stright into window's system32 folder. (back up the old one(s) first though.) Then it worked.
Posted Image Posted Image  Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

#9

billylegota

Posted 09 August 2013 - 02:37 AM

I tried that but it didnt work...

#10

Collin1971
    Collin1971

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 998 posts
  • Location: 2001:0db8:85a3:0042:1000:8a2e:0370:7334
  • Minecraft: Collin1971

Posted 09 August 2013 - 03:06 AM

View PostStarport592, on 14 March 2013 - 08:32 PM, said:

I've got this portable Minecraft launcher.  It's mine, meaning I made it.  I used to distribute it until it started comming up as a virus.  I was re-writting it, but I've gotten lazy.  I am really close to finishing it--

Ahh sorry.  Not the point.

Basically, I plugged my flash drive into a computer at school.

Ok.

I open up Minecraft with my launcher and log in.  It loads, then closes.

*Maybe it's my launcher?

I copy the Minecraft.exe onto the desktop and run it locally.  The same thing happens.

After running around on the interwebs, I found that THE GRAPHICS CARD WAS ANCIENT.

Intel Radon X6000 or something like that.

A computer graphics class.  With a horrible graphics card.  '_'

*And yet Halo and GTA run just fine.  WTF.

Whatever.  So I'm scrambling around on the internet trying to find ways.  I'm an addict, and I search for about half a year.  (Only started comp graphics this year.)

There are viable solutions on there, but they require administrator privileges.

Great.


And then today, I found mesa.

http://stackoverflow...a-graphics-card




Now, I haven't gotten the chance to test this on the school computer, but I HAVE tried it at home.


It appears to work.  Granted, my graphics card at home can support OpenGl, but when I place the dll from the mesa download into the same folder as Minecraft.exe and run it, it seems to run slower.

*However, it is STILL PLAYABLE.

I am very excited and am posting to see if anyone else could try this?

I am very eager to know.

If your graphics card doesn't have OpenGL support, your not going to be able to play Minecraft.

Yes, I drew my avatar. I draw other things too!

My Twitter - My Website


#11

Collin1971
    Collin1971

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 998 posts
  • Location: 2001:0db8:85a3:0042:1000:8a2e:0370:7334
  • Minecraft: Collin1971

Posted 09 August 2013 - 03:23 AM

View PostRocley, on 09 August 2013 - 03:19 AM, said:

With code anything is possible.

The entire games runs on OpenGL technology. The only way to get by it is to rewrite pretty much the ENTIRE game. It may be possible to run Java in software mode, but I wouldn't expect great performance at ANY means. I don't remember how to though, or if it can even be done with LWJGL.

Yes, I drew my avatar. I draw other things too!

My Twitter - My Website


#12

Collin1971
    Collin1971

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 998 posts
  • Location: 2001:0db8:85a3:0042:1000:8a2e:0370:7334
  • Minecraft: Collin1971

Posted 09 August 2013 - 03:49 AM

View PostRocley, on 09 August 2013 - 03:42 AM, said:

Yes I know how it works,and really if it was me I would replace the video card fast and simple solution.
But the coder in me says hey let's rewrite the link between the java and the output device.

Creating your own drivers? Ehm, no.

Yes, I drew my avatar. I draw other things too!

My Twitter - My Website


#13

Starport592
  • Minecraft: Starport592

Posted 13 August 2013 - 06:54 PM

Well, I've tried it again and again.

I haven't actually compiled it on the system, but I did get pre-compiled dlls.

They did not work however.

I think for now, I'm going to give up lol.

It's infinitely easier to simply get a graphics card or computer with OpenGl support

(I got my comp used for $47 and it runs Minecraft beautifully lol.  <3 Ebay.)

So that's that.  If anyone else wants to try and contribute to see if this would work, then by all means continue.  But as for me, I think I'm good ha ha.
Posted Image

#14

TheMcPlayer1997
  • Location: London
  • Minecraft: TheMcPlayer1997

Posted 13 August 2013 - 08:03 PM

I seriously doesn't know what OpenGL is but i have it on.
Anyway i have a old laptop with 0.5GB ram and worst CPU etc in the world but OpenGL option was still working.
Perhaps something is wrong with your Graphic card options?

Posted Image


#15

JohnnyWalker84

Posted 06 November 2013 - 02:16 PM

Hey it works!
Just put the Files(x86 win32 files) were the exe is or with the exe in tne .minecraft folder.
Then start minecraft.exe in Windows 2000 combability on properties.

I have 12 fps, but it works.

#16

iPwn4G
    iPwn4G

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Location: California
  • Minecraft: iPwn4G

Posted 13 April 2014 - 09:04 PM

I may Have a solution to your guy's problem http://ipwn4g.blogsp...ntergrated.html
<a href="[url="http://steamsignature.com%22><img"]http://steamsignatur....com"><img[/url] src="[url="http://steamsignature.com/status/english/76561198090391705.png"]http://steamsignatur...91705.png"[/url] alt="" title="" /></a><a href="steam://friends/add/76561198090391705"><img src="https://steamsignatu.../AddFriend.png" alt="" title="" /></a>

#17

P3num6ra
    P3num6ra

    Mathematical Dessert

  • Members
  • 314 posts
  • Location: At an arena against ghost of Bruce Lee
  • Minecraft: P3num6ra
  • Xbox:ar6mun3P

Posted 13 April 2014 - 10:09 PM

Oh, nice.
Guy1.playYoMommaJoke(REALLY_FUNNY);
Guy2.isOffended = true;

#18

iPwn4G
    iPwn4G

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Location: California
  • Minecraft: iPwn4G

Posted 13 April 2014 - 10:48 PM

View PostP3num6ra, on 13 April 2014 - 10:09 PM, said:

Oh, nice.
np
<a href="[url="http://steamsignature.com%22><img"]http://steamsignatur....com"><img[/url] src="[url="http://steamsignature.com/status/english/76561198090391705.png"]http://steamsignatur...91705.png"[/url] alt="" title="" /></a><a href="steam://friends/add/76561198090391705"><img src="https://steamsignatu.../AddFriend.png" alt="" title="" /></a>