Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

MCEdit not working properly

mcedit sethbling filter map

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1

AblazeTheBest

Posted 20 February 2013 - 06:44 AM

Hi there! I think I might be experiencing some bugs in MCEdit. Here is what happened. I installed ALL of sethbling's filters and tried to filter a chest with a diamond sword in it with the filter "Modify Item String." But it is as if the filter doesn't exist! It never appears! Many filters don't appear, like Create Geared Mobs, Hedge Maze etc. What do I do?

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Xeadin
    Xeadin

    MnM Moderator

  • Sectional Moderator
  • 252 posts
  • Location: Shoreline, WA
  • Minecraft: Xeadin

Posted 20 February 2013 - 08:00 AM

Are you sure you put your filters in the right folder? There is a folder within the MCEdit directory (or wherever you stored your extracted files) titled <MCEdit-0.1.6.win-amd64> or something similar that has the filters folder within it.

Dreamscape: Mists of Darkness
Adventure Map [In Progress] | Development Forum
-----

Posted Image

MCForum Global Rules | Minecraft Discussion | Mapping & Modding | Other Platforms | Servers | Support

Show Your Creations | Off-Topic


#3

AblazeTheBest

Posted 20 February 2013 - 04:11 PM

I am pretty sure. Check this out:-

Posted Image

#4

Xeadin
    Xeadin

    MnM Moderator

  • Sectional Moderator
  • 252 posts
  • Location: Shoreline, WA
  • Minecraft: Xeadin

Posted 20 February 2013 - 08:43 PM

I'm wondering how you got two MCEdit-0.1.6.win-amd64 directories-- that may be your problem.

Dreamscape: Mists of Darkness
Adventure Map [In Progress] | Development Forum
-----

Posted Image

MCForum Global Rules | Minecraft Discussion | Mapping & Modding | Other Platforms | Servers | Support

Show Your Creations | Off-Topic


#5

AblazeTheBest

Posted 21 February 2013 - 03:40 AM

Ok, let me explain why there are two MCEdits. MCEdit downloads a zip file or rar or something like that right? So I chose to extract it to the desktop with the name MCEdit-0.1.6.win-amd64. Thats the first one. Then, inside this MCEdit-0.1.6.win-amd64 folder, there were seven
things. These are:-                        

MCEdit-0.1.6.win-amd64 (folder)
MCEdit-schematics (folder)
ServerJarStorage (folder)
mcedit.exe
mcedit.ini
mcedit.txt
python27.dll

Now, in the very first one (MCEdit-0.1.6.win-amd64) there are many folders and files, one of which is the filters folder. This is why you see two MCEdit-0.1.6.win-amd64. If this is a problem, tell me.

#6

Xeadin
    Xeadin

    MnM Moderator

  • Sectional Moderator
  • 252 posts
  • Location: Shoreline, WA
  • Minecraft: Xeadin

Posted 21 February 2013 - 08:34 PM

To be fair, I think I am just about as stumped as you are at this point. Someone else is having a similar issue as well, and it makes me think that you may have run into a rare, but serious, bug with the program.

Dreamscape: Mists of Darkness
Adventure Map [In Progress] | Development Forum
-----

Posted Image

MCForum Global Rules | Minecraft Discussion | Mapping & Modding | Other Platforms | Servers | Support

Show Your Creations | Off-Topic


#7

AblazeTheBest

Posted 22 February 2013 - 11:03 AM

So nothing to do?

#8

dbptwg
    dbptwg

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 117 posts

Posted 23 February 2013 - 10:21 AM

Try one of these versions in a new directory:
0.1.5(previous stable) Hosted on GitHub
0.1.7-build395(development version) From MCEdit.net

I would suggest 0.1.5 - It'll do everything you need, and the dev version will likely have more than just one bug, which is currently what you have. You could also try 0.1.6 in a new location, but I assume you'll end up with the same results.

Good luck.

Edit: Those are 64-bit, based on your screenshot. If you need a different version you can find them here and here.

#9

Hypertion
  • Minecraft: Hypertion

Posted 23 February 2013 - 07:53 PM

People really rely on these Filters huh?

Finding that fact kind of sad personally..

#10

dbptwg
    dbptwg

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 117 posts

Posted 25 February 2013 - 11:00 PM

View PostHypertion, on 23 February 2013 - 07:53 PM, said:

People really rely on these Filters huh?

Finding that fact kind of sad personally..

People doing things the more user-friendly way when they aren't familiar with what's going on is perfectly acceptable. I find it sad that you edit NBT tags instead of writing a program that does it for you, or making your own game that has things set the way you want.

#11

AblazeTheBest

Posted 26 February 2013 - 12:00 PM

I agree with dbptwg. Everyone has their own opinions. For me, MCEdit is easier and always will be.

#12

dbptwg
    dbptwg

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 117 posts

Posted 27 February 2013 - 08:08 PM

Did changing versions fix your problem?

#13

AblazeTheBest

Posted 01 March 2013 - 11:10 AM

Only a few filters :/

#14

dbptwg
    dbptwg

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 117 posts

Posted 03 March 2013 - 07:31 AM

That's... really weird. I don't know what to tell you :(