Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

How do seeds in xbox work?

xbox seeds

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

Lilikoi_Juice

Posted 14 February 2013 - 10:22 AM

I'm kind of new at the sharing ability in xbox mc.  I have a few questions about how they work.

Can other players modify the world? And if so, will it affect my "save"?
I made a build and I want others to try it out and see how they like it but I'm worried about other players messing my world up... Posted Image

I tried to use the search but it wasn't bringing up anything I wanted and google wasn't helpful either so...

Register or log in to remove.

Tamorr
    Tamorr

Ghast Hunter

• Members
  • 2851 posts

Posted 14 February 2013 - 01:45 PM

A Map Seed is an algorithm that the generation uses to make the world. Basically a number that only the generation pays any attention to, not other players.

That is, what you do on your world does not affect what the seed will generation next time, and what other do on their world will not affect the seed either. This is the reason for the save file. If it was done the way you are thinking, we would have no save file.

As for the other players messing up your world that is what the extra options are for... just have some of those options off, like trust players, tnt, the fire one... You could also have it on invite only to invite who you want to see your project.

I guess you didn't search hard enough... or you were just unlucky in word use, cause I could have sworn there was mention of it on here. About the seed I mean....

My First World, always getting back to is a pleasure I enjoy with each new update that brings in more things to add in.

--Arcavia--

Lilikoi_Juice

Posted 14 February 2013 - 05:23 PM

Oh okay :) So, you can't make a world and save it on the seed.
Hmm, I wonder how worlds are shared then (I'll look it up later).

Thanks and I think I couldn't find anything I wanted because I looked up "seeds for adventure maps". :P