Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[1.5.1/1.5.2] PowerCrystals' mods - The updates never stop


  • Please log in to reply
3370 replies to this topic

#2181

nukularpower

Posted 24 May 2013 - 07:00 AM

View PostGreylocke, on 23 May 2013 - 05:40 PM, said:

would you consider splitting out the Rednet stuff into a separate mod? I really like how you've done redstone wiring, but the rest of MFR has a lot of overlap with other mods in my modpack.

I dont really get this.  Just don't use the stuff you don't want.  I personally don't touch the MFR farms, but I love the conveyors, decorative blocks, and logic stuff.  Why make PC go through the effort of splitting it off when you can just ignore it?

Posted Image


Register or log in to remove.

#2182

Grydian
    Grydian

    Gold Miner

  • Members
  • 365 posts
  • Location: Denton TX
  • Minecraft: grydian2

Posted 24 May 2013 - 07:23 AM

I just tested the latest beta versions of MFR, powercrstal core etc...  It loads fine and everything is working.  I also am using Biomes of plenty.  I can use their saplings in a ferminter but not a bio reactor.  I know they recently changed their IDs...  Any chance you can fix this for MFR 2.6?

#2183

Revemohl

Posted 24 May 2013 - 10:43 AM

Could you add support for (the new) Biomes O' Plenty and DartCraft? Looks like there is a BoP Compatibility module, but maybe it broke with the 0.5.2 update.
Natura's module isn't working 100% either. Darkwood and Fusewood saplings will grow with fertilizer, but the harvester ignores them. Maple, Silverbell, Amaranth, Tigerwood and Willow aren't even planted.

#2184

AryuSyrius

Posted 24 May 2013 - 11:55 AM

View Postpower crystals, on 24 May 2013 - 03:21 AM, said:

Wow, it blew up trying to set up vanilla farm stuff. That isn't supposed to happen. I'll take a look at this tomorrow, I don't have the time to track down the 1.4.7 version of that file in our github tonight.

I appreciate it.

#2185

power crystals
  • Location: lava
  • Minecraft: powercrystals

Posted 24 May 2013 - 12:11 PM

View PostGrydian, on 24 May 2013 - 07:23 AM, said:

I just tested the latest beta versions of MFR, powercrstal core etc...  It loads fine and everything is working.  I also am using Biomes of plenty.  I can use their saplings in a ferminter but not a bio reactor.  I know they recently changed their IDs...  Any chance you can fix this for MFR 2.6?

View PostRevemohl, on 24 May 2013 - 10:43 AM, said:

Could you add support for (the new) Biomes O' Plenty and DartCraft? Looks like there is a BoP Compatibility module, but maybe it broke with the 0.5.2 update.
Natura's module isn't working 100% either. Darkwood and Fusewood saplings will grow with fertilizer, but the harvester ignores them. Maple, Silverbell, Amaranth, Tigerwood and Willow aren't even planted.

BOP 0.5.2 should work with the beta MFRs. If it doesn't, tell me. As for dartcraft, not sure when we'll get to thatgoven that we already have a huge backlog.
Posted Image
INFORMATION WANTS TO BE WRONG

#2186

Yusunoha
    Yusunoha

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 619 posts

Posted 24 May 2013 - 01:40 PM

aawh, I hoped the chronotyper would also move mobs, but it doesn't :(

#2187

Revemohl

Posted 24 May 2013 - 02:25 PM

View Postpower crystals, on 24 May 2013 - 12:11 PM, said:

BOP 0.5.2 should work with the beta MFRs. If it doesn't, tell me. As for dartcraft, not sure when we'll get to thatgoven that we already have a huge backlog.
The test I made was in the latest beta, so I guess it's still broken in there.
Maybe it would be better to hold off trying to fix BoP compatibility though, because apparently the next version is going to break everything once again.

#2188

Grydian
    Grydian

    Gold Miner

  • Members
  • 365 posts
  • Location: Denton TX
  • Minecraft: grydian2

Posted 24 May 2013 - 02:51 PM

I am using BoP 0.5.3 and the latest Beta of MFR 2.6.0 B1 -821 etc..    Just tested with BoP 0.5.2 and the Bio reactor is not taking any of the saplings from BoP.  Its definately now working on my end and I am using the latest everything.  I am also using forge 707 for optifine to work well.  Any suggestions that I need to check on?

Yeah reading up on the BoP forums it does apear a new update it about to be released that will break everything again so I would wait until that update before you worry about it.  I hear FTB is switching to BoP so I am sure it will get worked out ;)

#2189

power crystals
  • Location: lava
  • Minecraft: powercrystals

Posted 24 May 2013 - 03:35 PM

View PostYusunoha, on 24 May 2013 - 01:40 PM, said:

aawh, I hoped the chronotyper would also move mobs, but it doesn't :(
Wait, why? Hostile mobs aren't ageable anyway. What are you trying to do?

View PostRevemohl, on 24 May 2013 - 02:25 PM, said:

The test I made was in the latest beta, so I guess it's still broken in there.
Maybe it would be better to hold off trying to fix BoP compatibility though, because apparently the next version is going to break everything once again.

View PostGrydian, on 24 May 2013 - 02:51 PM, said:

I am using BoP 0.5.3 and the latest Beta of MFR 2.6.0 B1 -821 etc..    Just tested with BoP 0.5.2 and the Bio reactor is not taking any of the saplings from BoP.  Its definately now working on my end and I am using the latest everything.  I am also using forge 707 for optifine to work well.  Any suggestions that I need to check on?

Yeah reading up on the BoP forums it does apear a new update it about to be released that will break everything again so I would wait until that update before you worry about it.  I hear FTB is switching to BoP so I am sure it will get worked out ;)
Oh, good, I guess I should update my world once so when the next huge breaking update happens I'm set.
Posted Image
INFORMATION WANTS TO BE WRONG

#2190

Yusunoha
    Yusunoha

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 619 posts

Posted 24 May 2013 - 05:25 PM

View Postpower crystals, on 24 May 2013 - 03:35 PM, said:

Wait, why? Hostile mobs aren't ageable anyway. What are you trying to do?

I am trying to make a mobspawner with a 1x1 dropshaft, but often it gets clogged up with too many mobs and the whole thing stops. a chronotyper would be perfect of taking the mobs from the spawning area, and transport them behind the chronotyper into a 1x1 dropshaft.
it'd be even more perfect if the chronotyper could use a radius upgrade (to a certain degree ofcourse, no 25x25 mob spawner but more of a 9x9) so you won't even have to bother using water or conveyor belts to move them towards the chronotyper.

#2191

Greylocke
  • Location: Hidden on the map!

Posted 24 May 2013 - 05:40 PM

View Postnukularpower, on 24 May 2013 - 07:00 AM, said:

I dont really get this.  Just don't use the stuff you don't want.  I personally don't touch the MFR farms, but I love the conveyors, decorative blocks, and logic stuff.  Why make PC go through the effort of splitting it off when you can just ignore it?
I cannot "make" Powercrystals do anything, nor would I try to. But I can ask. Who knows? It might actually fit into his long term design goals. It is not uncommon to split out classes that aren't highly interdependent. For example, look at what Powercrystals has already done with the 5 mods in the OP of this thread. Those 5 could have been just one massive mod. Instead he chose to break them apart, allowing the end user to decide which parts they want to use.

Regarding why I asked, It is because I have in mind a server environment with many players. If I were to leave recipeless blocks in the game then each new player would at some point stumble across them, get frustrated trying to make the recipe work, waste time researching the recipe online, and then open a service ticket. Better to just make them disappear. Secondly, having redundant features in a game unnecessarily increases the occurrence of both incompatibility with other mods and exposure to bugs. Not good practice.

#2192

power crystals
  • Location: lava
  • Minecraft: powercrystals

Posted 24 May 2013 - 05:55 PM

View PostYusunoha, on 24 May 2013 - 05:25 PM, said:

I am trying to make a mobspawner with a 1x1 dropshaft, but often it gets clogged up with too many mobs and the whole thing stops. a chronotyper would be perfect of taking the mobs from the spawning area, and transport them behind the chronotyper into a 1x1 dropshaft.
it'd be even more perfect if the chronotyper could use a radius upgrade (to a certain degree ofcourse, no 25x25 mob spawner but more of a 9x9) so you won't even have to bother using water or conveyor belts to move them towards the chronotyper.
Can't you just use conveyors to take them to the hole? Or am I missing something?

And yeah, a 27x27 chronotyper would be kind of... silly. But I do see what you are trying to do and will think about it.

View PostGreylocke, on 24 May 2013 - 05:40 PM, said:

I cannot "make" Powercrystals do anything, nor would I try to. But I can ask. Who knows? It might actually fit into his long term design goals. It is not uncommon to split out classes that aren't highly interdependent. For example, look at what Powercrystals has already done with the 5 mods in the OP of this thread. Those 5 could have been just one massive mod. Instead he chose to break them apart, allowing the end user to decide which parts they want to use.

Regarding why I asked, It is because I have in mind a server environment with many players. If I were to leave recipeless blocks in the game then each new player would at some point stumble across them, get frustrated trying to make the recipe work, waste time researching the recipe online, and then open a service ticket. Better to just make them disappear. Secondly, having redundant features in a game unnecessarily increases the occurrence of both incompatibility with other mods and exposure to bugs. Not good practice.
For what it's worth, I talk with quite a few server owners and most enjoy having multiple ways for players to do things. Not saying you're wrong, but that viewpoint seems to be the minority.

You could always remove the other mods instead ;)
Posted Image
INFORMATION WANTS TO BE WRONG

#2193

Greylocke
  • Location: Hidden on the map!

Posted 24 May 2013 - 06:18 PM

View Postpower crystals, on 24 May 2013 - 05:55 PM, said:

For what it's worth, I talk with quite a few server owners and most enjoy having multiple ways for players to do things. Not saying you're wrong, but that viewpoint seems to be the minority.

You could always remove the other mods instead Posted Image
haha! True 'nuff. I've got 50+ mods running happily together, several with their own worldgen, and more than a few overlapping machine types. Choices? I got yer choices. Now I'm looking for stability. Posted Image

thanks for your great work! I really appreciate your quick responses. Don't know how you find time for all of it.

#2194

Iaintsayin

Posted 24 May 2013 - 06:20 PM

Powercrystals, when will you tweak the bioreactor and biofuel generator? Right now with Buildcraft + Forestry, I don't need anything but  bioreactor and biofuel generators. They produce energy so fast, my factories can't even consume that fast.

It needs to be nerfed.
"I ain't do nothin', I ain't know nothin', I ain't sayin' nothin'!" - Iaintsayin

#2195

Yusunoha
    Yusunoha

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 619 posts

Posted 24 May 2013 - 06:28 PM

View Postpower crystals, on 24 May 2013 - 05:55 PM, said:

Can't you just use conveyors to take them to the hole? Or am I missing something?

And yeah, a 27x27 chronotyper would be kind of... silly. But I do see what you are trying to do and will think about it.

hmm, yea, I could use conveyor belts, but a chronotyper would be better looking and easier to use, for example if you have a blaze spawner, a chronotyper could get hold of them much faster then a conveyor belt.

anyways, thanks for atleast considering it.

#2196

power crystals
  • Location: lava
  • Minecraft: powercrystals

Posted 24 May 2013 - 10:36 PM

View PostAryuSyrius, on 24 May 2013 - 11:55 AM, said:

I appreciate it.
It looks like somehow MFR's own rubber sapling doesn't exist. I.. don't really know how that's possible, and no work has been done on 1.4 in months. I'm not really sure what to tell you.

View PostGreylocke, on 24 May 2013 - 06:18 PM, said:

haha! True 'nuff. I've got 50+ mods running happily together, several with their own worldgen, and more than a few overlapping machine types. Choices? I got yer choices. Now I'm looking for stability. Posted Image

thanks for your great work! I really appreciate your quick responses. Don't know how you find time for all of it.
I am literally a space wizard.

View PostIaintsayin, on 24 May 2013 - 06:20 PM, said:

Powercrystals, when will you tweak the bioreactor and biofuel generator? Right now with Buildcraft + Forestry, I don't need anything but  bioreactor and biofuel generators. They produce energy so fast, my factories can't even consume that fast.

It needs to be nerfed.
Pulse size will be configurable in 2.6. Amount per biofuel is still locked.
Posted Image
INFORMATION WANTS TO BE WRONG

#2197

Dlothar
    Dlothar

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 37 posts
  • Location: California
  • Minecraft: Dlothar01

Posted 24 May 2013 - 11:03 PM

So I have finally narrowed down an issue with the grinder to Tinkers Construct.  If I load TC the MFR Grinder will no longer pick up the leather from my cow farm, it just drops on the ground.  If I remove TC, grinders work normally and everything ends up in the chest.  Any chance you can explain to dMiyo what he is doing poorly.  :)

Posted Image


#2198

power crystals
  • Location: lava
  • Minecraft: powercrystals

Posted 24 May 2013 - 11:49 PM

View PostDlothar, on 24 May 2013 - 11:03 PM, said:

So I have finally narrowed down an issue with the grinder to Tinkers Construct.  If I load TC the MFR Grinder will no longer pick up the leather from my cow farm, it just drops on the ground.  If I remove TC, grinders work normally and everything ends up in the chest.  Any chance you can explain to dMiyo what he is doing poorly.  Posted Image
I have. Several times. It's going to get fixed at some point I can't say when. It also actually is getting the leather, TC is just spawning extra leather on the ground because it's ignoring the rules.
Posted Image
INFORMATION WANTS TO BE WRONG

#2199

Revemohl

Posted 25 May 2013 - 03:02 AM

View PostDlothar, on 24 May 2013 - 11:03 PM, said:

So I have finally narrowed down an issue with the grinder to Tinkers Construct.  If I load TC the MFR Grinder will no longer pick up the leather from my cow farm, it just drops on the ground.  If I remove TC, grinders work normally and everything ends up in the chest.  Any chance you can explain to dMiyo what he is doing poorly.  Posted Image
IIRC, TC boosts the amount of leather and feather dropped by cows/chickens. Since the grinder has basically its own loot table, it ignores that extra amount of drops.

#2200

AryuSyrius

Posted 25 May 2013 - 03:32 AM

View Postpower crystals, on 24 May 2013 - 10:36 PM, said:

It looks like somehow MFR's own rubber sapling doesn't exist. I.. don't really know how that's possible, and no work has been done on 1.4 in months. I'm not really sure what to tell you.

Hmm, The Tekkit BigDig mod uses the same files that I am using. And their's works find and dandy. I have even tried using their files on my server, and I get the same results.