Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[1.5.1] BetterFonts - Make Your Minecraft Chat/Text Look Better!-Unofficial Update-Fix For 1.5.2-Awaiting Response From Optifine Mod'r

ssp smp tweaks font unicode opentype truetype betterfonts chat/text 1.5.1

  • Please log in to reply
121 replies to this topic

Poll: [1.5.1] BetterFonts - Make Your Minecraft Chat/Text Look Better!-Unofficial Update-Fix For 1.5.2-Awaiting Response From Optifine Mod'r (128 member(s) have cast votes)

Can you Survive Without BetterFonts?

  1. Yes (26 votes [20.31%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 20.31%

  2. NOOOOO!! (62 votes [48.44%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 48.44%

  3. Sort of........ (40 votes [31.25%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 31.25%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1

The_MiningCrafter
  • Location: ~~In Minecraftia Playing Tropicraft!~~
  • Minecraft: Minecrafter_LKC

Posted 27 December 2012 - 08:11 AM

I am not the creator of this mod.  All credit goes to thvortex for the creation of the mod and bechill for updating this mod to MC 1.4.6/7 and wonbear for updating it to 1.5/1.5.1.  I am simply posting a seperate thread for this mod to help aviod confusion and simplify the process of finding this mod and downloading it.  Most of the information below is from the original mod thread.  NO COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT IS INTENDED!


Original (Outdated?) Forum Thread: http://www.minecraft...ort/page__st__0


The BetterFonts mod adds TrueType/OpenType font support for Minecraft. This mod will use the fonts installed on your system for drawing text instead of the builtin bitmap fonts that come with Minecraft. Languages such as Arabic and Hindi look much better with this mod since both require complex layout that the bitmap fonts simply can't provide. All in-game text will change to use the new fonts including GUIs, the F3 debug screen, chat, and even signs. This mod should have little or no impact on performance.


Unicode Text in Chat:

Starting with 1.3.2, both the regular Minecraft server and CraftBukkit allow using full Unicode text in chat. Unfortunately, the Minecraft client comes with an older version of the LWJGL library which doesn't handle keyboard layouts properly. You will have to to manually update LWJGL to the latest version, if you need Unicode support in chat.


FOR PEOPLE THAT WANT THE 1.5.2 VERSION:
http://www.minecraft...ter-unofficial/


EDIT: A fix for Betterfonts 1.5.2 conflicting with Optifine is in progress.  Please wait until I can release the bug fix.

Download Link:
http://www.mediafire...b9l2tl2fapoxbtd
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
CREDIT FOR UPDATING BETTERFONTS TO 1.5.1: wonbear
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The default font of this mod has been changed to SansSerif by wonbear (the person who updated the mod).  Go ahead to his blog ( http://wonbear.egloos.com/5736415 ) and scroll down to the 'Configuration' section.


Tell me if the links becomes broken!  I'll post a new one if it does.


If you like this mod, mind giving this post a +1 at the bottom of this post? Thanks for your support!

Pictures (From The Original Thread):
Spoiler:

Installation:
Spoiler:


Configuration:

You can have a config file to change the default font and text size this mod uses. If your game is installed in a ".minecraft" directory, then the config file will be ".minecraft/config/BetterFonts.cfg" (the same place ModLoader *and forge?* keeps its config files). Please note that the "config" directory does not go inside minecraft.jar but directly into the game folder. You can download the config file.  Open spoiler below to have a better tutorial on changing the fonts, by wonbear.
Spoiler:



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
[FOR BETTERFONTS 1.5/1.5.1 ONLY!]:
Source availible at http://www.mediafire...d0sr196d93q76sm
[FOR BETTERFONTS 1.4.6/7 ONLY!]:
Source available at http://github.com/evix1101/BetterFonts
Posted Image

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Alexemov
    Alexemov

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Location: Ukraine

Posted 27 December 2012 - 09:37 AM

Many thanks for the new version of the mod!
Well done!
I love Minecraft with many mods!
Posted Image

#3

The_MiningCrafter
  • Location: ~~In Minecraftia Playing Tropicraft!~~
  • Minecraft: Minecrafter_LKC

Posted 27 December 2012 - 09:42 AM

Thanks! Btw nice signature! :)
Posted Image

#4

_Xiae
    _Xiae

    Void Walker

  • Retired Staff
  • 1575 posts
  • Location: Tasmania, AU
  • Minecraft: _Xiae

Posted 28 December 2012 - 09:30 AM

Thanks for the update! One minor problem.. the mods I have are not compatible with forge. Any chance you can release a non-forge compatible release? If not, no problem Posted Image

Posted Image


#5

The_MiningCrafter
  • Location: ~~In Minecraftia Playing Tropicraft!~~
  • Minecraft: Minecrafter_LKC

Posted 29 December 2012 - 01:31 AM

No problem!  I will try and see if I can get/make a non-forge version.



EDIT: The mod now works without Forge! Enjoy! :)
Posted Image

#6

chaytea1350

Posted 29 December 2012 - 01:33 AM

didnt bechill update this for 1.4.6 ?
The MCModindex  Updates , Videos Information and More !!!

#7

The_MiningCrafter
  • Location: ~~In Minecraftia Playing Tropicraft!~~
  • Minecraft: Minecrafter_LKC

Posted 29 December 2012 - 03:14 AM

Yes, bechill did update this.  I gave him credit at the top.
Posted Image

#8

_Xiae
    _Xiae

    Void Walker

  • Retired Staff
  • 1575 posts
  • Location: Tasmania, AU
  • Minecraft: _Xiae

Posted 30 December 2012 - 06:22 AM

View PostThe_MiningCrafter, on 29 December 2012 - 01:31 AM, said:

No problem!  I will try and see if I can get/make a non-forge version.



EDIT: The mod now works without Forge! Enjoy! Posted Image
Thanks! I can't play Minecraft without this mod <3

Posted Image


#9

SuperPyroManiac
  • Minecraft: SuperPyroManiac

Posted 02 January 2013 - 09:20 PM

Found a major bug you should look into.

Posted Image

I typed this exactly:

Everything works other then number, here is zero through nine: 0123456789

As you can see the numbers are very messed up.

EDIT: It appears to work fine, except the new chat features (Italics, Bold, Crossout, Underline) do not support 0123456789

Posted Image


PC Specs: AMD Radeon HD 7950 | Intel I7-4770 3.9 Ghz| 16 GB Ram | Windows 8 Pro


#10

sdkyron
    sdkyron

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 04 January 2013 - 09:02 PM

Any chance to have this mod use a custom font that we would put in the config folder instead of using those from the windows folder ?

#11

The_MiningCrafter
  • Location: ~~In Minecraftia Playing Tropicraft!~~
  • Minecraft: Minecrafter_LKC

Posted 06 January 2013 - 05:20 AM

View PostSuperPyroManiac, on 02 January 2013 - 09:20 PM, said:

Found a major bug you should look into.

Posted Image

I typed this exactly:

Everything works other then number, here is zero through nine: 0123456789

As you can see the numbers are very messed up.

EDIT: It appears to work fine, except the new chat features (Italics, Bold, Crossout, Underline) do not support 0123456789

Is that font that you are using is Arial, yes? Also, are you on Windows or Mac?


View Postsdkyron, on 04 January 2013 - 09:02 PM, said:

Any chance to have this mod use a custom font that we would put in the config folder instead of using those from the windows folder ?

Erm..... Dunno about that.  For now, you are probably going to have to deal with using fonts from the windows default (pre-installed) fonts.  Sorry about that. Posted Image Posted Image
Posted Image

#12

GabeLopes
  • Location: Brazil
  • Minecraft: G_Gabe

Posted 06 January 2013 - 06:00 AM

Thanks for updating it, I was getting insane without this mod ;)
Posted Image

#13

SuperPyroManiac
  • Minecraft: SuperPyroManiac

Posted 06 January 2013 - 06:51 AM

View PostThe_MiningCrafter, on 06 January 2013 - 05:20 AM, said:

-Snip-

Yes, the font is Arial, I am running Windows 8 Pro 64x

Posted Image


PC Specs: AMD Radeon HD 7950 | Intel I7-4770 3.9 Ghz| 16 GB Ram | Windows 8 Pro


#14

The_MiningCrafter
  • Location: ~~In Minecraftia Playing Tropicraft!~~
  • Minecraft: Minecrafter_LKC

Posted 08 January 2013 - 01:55 AM

Looking into the bug right now.....


View PostGabeLopes, on 06 January 2013 - 06:00 AM, said:

Thanks for updating it, I was getting insane without this mod Posted Image

No problem! ;)
Posted Image

#15

ilovelotsofpie
  • Location: Whiterun, Skyrim

Posted 16 January 2013 - 09:53 PM

If you are able to,
can you change the installation up to where you can just place the zip into the mods folder.

#16

julialy
    julialy

    Obsidian Miner

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 1351 posts
  • Minecraft: julialy

Posted 19 January 2013 - 11:08 PM

View Postilovelotsofpie, on 16 January 2013 - 09:53 PM, said:

If you are able to,
can you change the installation up to where you can just place the zip into the mods folder.
no
it need to change font rendereubf
Posted Image

#17

justin0a0
  • Location: Roanoke, VA
  • Minecraft: justin_a_

Posted 21 January 2013 - 05:20 AM

View Postjulialy, on 19 January 2013 - 11:08 PM, said:

no
it need to change font rendereubf
Then go for a coremod Posted Image
Idc though nothing else touches font rendering really

#18

sasiu_PL
    sasiu_PL

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 22 January 2013 - 04:26 PM

Hey, welcome everyone

Something is not right... I installed version BetterFonts 1.4.6 yesterday (over 1.4.7 MC version) for the first time... and unicode is not working for me...

Firstly I updated LWJGL but MC showed black screen after login... so I need do downgrade two files (lwjgl.dll and lwjgl64.dll - graphic engine I assume )... thvortex said that unicode will work after LWJGL update but mc 1.4.7 version already has the newest version of input engine files (2.8.5 stable) I checked SHA-1 hashes and they match for 4 files (jinput-dx8.dll, jinput-dx8_64.dll, jinput-raw.dll, jinput-raw_64.dll)

Now the most important thing... what I see... below two images first taken from ms word 2010 PL -> Arial, size 16 and a second one from MC 1.4.7 client

Posted Image

Posted Image

It looks like MC has hardcoded font encoding so such encoding pages like "windows-1250" or "iso-8859-2" or pl_PL.UTF-8" which has polish diacritic signs is forced to not using in mc chat and sign items...

but in GUI polish diacritic signs are showing perfectly fine look:

Posted Image

And the last thing... today I figured out that when I am using ctrl+c / ctrl+v polish diacritic signs show up perfectly fine... only when typing on the keyboard signs are messed up (copy/paste method also works for full original MC client 1.4.7 without any modifications...)

EDIT:

MC forcing to use "english" keyboard layout instead of checking actual used OS "language and regional setting" which for me is obviously set to "polish/poland"... is there any way to workaround this ???

#19

julialy
    julialy

    Obsidian Miner

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 1351 posts
  • Minecraft: julialy

Posted 24 January 2013 - 04:58 PM

you need to update lwjgl
Posted Image

#20

Maczaz
    Maczaz

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 23 posts
  • Location: Sopot, Poland
  • Minecraft: Maczaz
  • Xbox:Maczaz

Posted 25 January 2013 - 03:08 PM

nice job, but it's crash minecraft with newest OptiFine (OptiFine_1.4.6_HD_U_B5). Any ideas why and how to fix it?
on MagicLauncher 1.0.0 log i have:
Missing class member: public Z enabled, class: atq, mod: BetterFonts-1.4.6.zip
when try to use OptiFine B5