Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

wondering how good this pc will run a minecraft server?


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1

subvein158

Posted 23 December 2012 - 08:39 PM

HI i was wondering how much people , max i could get on a minecraft server using this computer build without lagging

specs:
proccesor: FX BULLDOZER 8150 8 core
32GB RAM komputer bay
graphics card :ATI RADEON 7770
2TB HARDRIVE SEAGATE
motherboard:ASROCK SKT-AM3+ 970 EXTREME4 S/L 5200MT/s

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Mhyles
    Mhyles

    Glowstone Miner

  • Members
  • 3109 posts
  • Location: Ireland
  • Minecraft: Mhyles

Posted 23 December 2012 - 08:49 PM

Servers more so depend on your internet speeds, mind posting them here?

Also, that computer is awful.

#3

subvein158

Posted 23 December 2012 - 08:56 PM

oh yeah i mean an ati radeon hd  7770   and internet is at 1436 kbps

#4

Nucco
    Nucco

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1177 posts
  • Location: Saskatchatoon, Canada
  • Minecraft: MGieni09
  • Xbox:MGieni09

Posted 23 December 2012 - 08:58 PM

It's the upload speed that matters.

Stuff happens.  Don't be discouraged.


#5

Mhyles
    Mhyles

    Glowstone Miner

  • Members
  • 3109 posts
  • Location: Ireland
  • Minecraft: Mhyles

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:04 PM

Do a speed test and post it here.

#6

subvein158

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:06 PM

oh  sorry upload speed is 0.346mb/s

#7

InfinateX
    InfinateX

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 913 posts
  • Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
  • Minecraft: InfinateX

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:08 PM

Your upload speed seems kind of slow, but the computer should be enough to run minecraft without issues.

Shouldn't this be in the Minecraft Servers subforum?

View PostGateFox, on 02 July 2013 - 11:01 PM, said:

"Are there any young boys around here? Don't worry, I'm a policeman."

#8

subvein158

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:08 PM

oh yeah how is the computer bad?

#9

Mhyles
    Mhyles

    Glowstone Miner

  • Members
  • 3109 posts
  • Location: Ireland
  • Minecraft: Mhyles

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:11 PM

View PostInfinateX, on 23 December 2012 - 09:08 PM, said:

Your upload speed seems kind of slow, but the computer should be enough to run minecraft without issues.

Shouldn't this be in the Minecraft Servers subforum?

No.

View Postsubvein158, on 23 December 2012 - 09:08 PM, said:

oh yeah how is the computer bad?

Bulldozer CPU,
Stupid amount of memory,
No named PSU.

What's your budget, where are you from, do you need peripherals an OS?

#10

subvein158

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:19 PM

ok What would be a good  amd3 or amd+3 proccesor for a good gaming computer
what about an fx-6100 ?

and my budget is £200 to £320 i have already have a case for the computer with 4 fans
and a 750watt powersupply

#11

aceattwister

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:20 PM

View Postsubvein158, on 23 December 2012 - 09:19 PM, said:

ok What would be a good  amd3 or amd+3 proccesor for a good gaming computer
what about an fx-6100 ?

and my budget is £200 to £320 i have already have a case for the computer with 4 fans
and a 750watt powersupply
can you post a link to the case and power supply?
Proud member of the MCF AWA war of '13!
if someone suggests Alienware or Cyberpower, wait for a custom-built list from someone who knows their stuff.     Meh Rig

#12

Draconbane
    Draconbane

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1036 posts
  • Location: Underneath You [AUS]
  • Minecraft: sctunehrdowib

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:23 PM

32 EHRMAGAWD.. it's not useful honestly.. I can max out my i7 3770k on the kinda encoding/ converting rendering stuff... though...  AND WHAT BRAND! (PSU) most important
-Sctune- CFO, PRO & Owner of Phicraft, Co-Owner of BuildersInc, Founder of OminousWinds
Posted Image

#13

danielhep
    danielhep

    Void Walker

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 1777 posts
  • Location: Central California
  • Minecraft: danielhep

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:23 PM

View Postsubvein158, on 23 December 2012 - 09:06 PM, said:

oh  sorry upload speed is 0.346mb/s
You need at least 5 mbps upload to host a decent server. Sorry, you're so far away, it's just not going to happen.

Doan VPS

No Overselling | Starting at $1.28/month | 100% customizable plans | Native IPv6 support

Quality Over Quantity

I'm a Doan VPS representative


#14

subvein158

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:24 PM

case :
CiT Vantage Midi Mesh Gaming Case with HD Audio, 4 Fans, Card Reader and No PSU

power supply ACE 750W BR PSU with 12cm Red Fan and PFC - Black

#15

Mhyles
    Mhyles

    Glowstone Miner

  • Members
  • 3109 posts
  • Location: Ireland
  • Minecraft: Mhyles

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:27 PM

View Postaceattwister, on 23 December 2012 - 09:20 PM, said:

can you post a link to the case and power supply?

This.

Anyway, I've come up with something, this will only work if your case and power supply allow it:

http://pcpartpicker.com/uk/p/tO37

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU:  AMD FX-4300 3.8GHz Quad-Core Processor  (£89.40 @ Aria PC)
Motherboard:  ASRock 970 Extreme3 ATX  AM3+ Motherboard  (£64.99 @ Amazon UK)
Memory:  Mushkin Silverline 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1333 Memory  (£28.74 @ Aria PC)
Storage:  Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive  (£45.54 @ Aria PC)
Video Card:  Sapphire Radeon HD 7770 1GB Video Card  (£99.13 @ Dabs)
Optical Drive:  Lite-On iHAS124-04 DVD/CD Writer  (£12.98 @ Scan.co.uk)
Total: £340.78
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2012-12-23 21:27 GMT+0000)

#16

InfinateX
    InfinateX

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 913 posts
  • Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
  • Minecraft: InfinateX

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:27 PM

View PostMhyles, on 23 December 2012 - 09:11 PM, said:

No.


Bulldozer CPU,
Stupid amount of memory,
No named PSU.

What's your budget, where are you from, do you need peripherals an OS?

Wow it's like you have't read the forum rules.
Being a bulldozer CPU isn't enough to say it's bad. Saying the specific model would be enough.
Some people need/want more memory, it is in no way bad to have "too much".
PSU makes sense. Should have everything listed.

You're PC should be fine. It has an 8-core processor, and more than enough RAM. Just work on the connection speed. So long as your HDD isn't nearly full (Don't see how it could be) it should run fine. The graphics card shouldn't be an issue for a game like Minecraft unless you're using graphics mods.

View PostGateFox, on 02 July 2013 - 11:01 PM, said:

"Are there any young boys around here? Don't worry, I'm a policeman."

#17

Draconbane
    Draconbane

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1036 posts
  • Location: Underneath You [AUS]
  • Minecraft: sctunehrdowib

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:28 PM

View Postsubvein158, on 23 December 2012 - 09:24 PM, said:


Cit Vantage... your choice...

Anyone got any review on ACE PSUs? I think dodgy?

View PostDraconbane, on 23 December 2012 - 09:27 PM, said:

Cit Vantage... your choice...

Anyone got any review on ACE PSUs? I think dodgy?



WATCH DIS
-Sctune- CFO, PRO & Owner of Phicraft, Co-Owner of BuildersInc, Founder of OminousWinds
Posted Image

#18

Mhyles
    Mhyles

    Glowstone Miner

  • Members
  • 3109 posts
  • Location: Ireland
  • Minecraft: Mhyles

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:31 PM

View Postsubvein158, on 23 December 2012 - 09:24 PM, said:


Oh god, that PSU. A 750W PSU for £20? You really think that's a good quality PSU? It's awful, most likely a ticking time bomb.

View PostInfinateX, on 23 December 2012 - 09:27 PM, said:

Wow it's like you have't read the forum rules.
Being a bulldozer CPU isn't enough to say it's bad. Saying the specific model would be enough.
Some people need/want more memory, it is in no way bad to have "too much".
PSU makes sense. Should have everything listed.

You're PC should be fine. It has an 8-core processor, and more than enough RAM. Just work on the connection speed. So long as your HDD isn't nearly full (Don't see how it could be) it should run fine. The graphics card shouldn't be an issue for a game like Minecraft unless you're using graphics mods.

Oh god.

32GB RAM IS USELESS TO ANYONE WHO ISN'T 3D MODELING OR EDITING. How much do I have to tell you?
Bulldozers are awful. Where the hell is popsicle when I need his sig? :P Cores =/= Performance.

#19

aceattwister

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:32 PM

View PostInfinateX, on 23 December 2012 - 09:27 PM, said:

Wow it's like you have't read the forum rules.
Being a bulldozer CPU isn't enough to say it's bad. Saying the specific model would be enough.
Some people need/want more memory, it is in no way bad to have "too much".
PSU makes sense. Should have everything listed.

You're PC should be fine. It has an 8-core processor, and more than enough RAM. Just work on the connection speed. So long as your HDD isn't nearly full (Don't see how it could be) it should run fine. The graphics card shouldn't be an issue for a game like Minecraft unless you're using graphics mods.

don't know don't post. this is not only a horrible build, but it (sounds like) a prebuilt.
You never judge a CPU on it's cores or its Ghz
Gpu sounds alright, but can be better.
No average user would ever use 32Gb of RAM You and your 3D editing can go ahead and use it, but if your going to be posting on Gaming build pages, don't suggest 32Gb, 8 is plenty.
Proud member of the MCF AWA war of '13!
if someone suggests Alienware or Cyberpower, wait for a custom-built list from someone who knows their stuff.     Meh Rig

#20

popsicleclub
  • Minecraft: popsicleclub

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:35 PM

View PostInfinateX, on 23 December 2012 - 09:27 PM, said:

-snip-
1. Forum Rules don't state that you can't tell someone that their computer build is bad.
2. It is in every way bad to have "too much" RAM. Wasted RAM is money wasted.
3. PSU makes sense? I don't even know where to start..
4. Cores Posted Image Performance
5. GHz  Posted Image Performance
6. RAM Posted Image Performance

View PostMhyles, on 23 December 2012 - 09:31 PM, said:

Where the hell is popsicle when I need his sig?
Looking for zis?
Posted Image
You know you want to use it: Posted Image  Faith In Humanity: -10 (As of June 14, 2013)
R.I.P fm87