Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Upgrading java to a 64 bit?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1

vp79
    vp79

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 224 posts

Posted 12 December 2012 - 11:14 PM

Hello
I have recently just found out that I need a 64 bit java to go along with my 64 bit system.
I have windows 7 and it's a laptop.
Please help!

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Sillen
    Sillen

    Glowstone Miner

  • Members
  • 3000 posts
  • Location: Sweden - Closer to Notch than you are!
  • Minecraft: Sickan

Posted 12 December 2012 - 11:22 PM

Navigate to the Java website and download and install a Java 7 JVM then?
AND and OR should be renamed BOTH and EITHER.

#3

vp79
    vp79

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 224 posts

Posted 13 December 2012 - 12:41 AM

Oh I forgot to mention I have a 32 bit java.

#4

zerchted
    zerchted

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 218 posts
  • Location: Australia

Posted 13 December 2012 - 10:27 AM

Some noobish questions here.
I just installed Feed the Beast. When I go into video settings, I see I have a red message telling me I can't use render distance on far because I have a 32-bit java system installed. I seem to remember that  I installed both 32-bit and 64-bit versions of Java two months ago, but when I go into Uninstall or change a program, all that's listed there is: Java 7 Update (64-bit) and Java 7 Update 9.
1) What happened to the 32-bit version?
2) Could its absence be the reason for my Chrome being a bit glitchy?
3) Why is Feed the Beast telling me I have the 32-bit version installed?
4) If I uninstall whatever Java I currently have and install the latest 64-bit Java (I have 64-bit Windows) will it have any effect on my Minecraft setup?
5) I wanted 32-bit Java because apparently Chrome needs it. Will Chrome work well enough with just 64-bit Java on my system?

#5

BKrenz
    BKrenz

    Last Guardian of SCT

  • Sectional Moderator
  • 4596 posts
  • Location: SCT Forums

Posted 13 December 2012 - 10:47 AM

1. Uninstall All Java, the software. Not sure how to uninstall coffee.
2. Install latest version
3. ????
4. Profit
"Programmers never repeat themselves. They loop."

#6

vp79
    vp79

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 224 posts

Posted 13 December 2012 - 09:52 PM

So I uninstall java and downlaod 64 bit java?

#7

CosmicSpore

Posted 13 December 2012 - 11:30 PM

View Postzerchted, on 13 December 2012 - 10:27 AM, said:

when I go into Uninstall or change a program, all that's listed there is: Java 7 Update (64-bit) and Java 7 Update 9.
"Java 7 Update 9" is the 32-bit one.
32-bit installations do not usually refer to themselves as 32bit... They occasionally say "x86" but most of the time not.

I recommend you both uninstall all versions of Java and just install the latest one for your OS.
If a program requires an older version it should install it, or if not and the program doesn't run without it (unlikely) then you can just look up what version it uses and install it manually.

A program should be able to detect the most recent version of Java installed and use 64bit if it is available... If not, then the program itself is probably not designed very well...
You can have both the 32bit and 64bit Java installations, and they should be correctly recognized by all programs... Although I'm not sure why you would need both, unless you need the 32bit SDK.

#8

vp79
    vp79

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 224 posts

Posted 14 December 2012 - 12:19 AM

View PostCosmicSpore, on 13 December 2012 - 11:30 PM, said:


"Java 7 Update 9" is the 32-bit one.
32-bit installations do not usually refer to themselves as 32bit... They occasionally say "x86" but most of the time not.

I recommend you both uninstall all versions of Java and just install the latest one for your OS.
If a program requires an older version it should install it, or if not and the program doesn't run without it (unlikely) then you can just look up what version it uses and install it manually.

A program should be able to detect the most recent version of Java installed and use 64bit if it is available... If not, then the program itself is probably not designed very well...
You can have both the 32bit and 64bit Java installations, and they should be correctly recognized by all programs... Although I'm not sure why you would need both, unless you need the 32bit SDK.

How would I know if I uninstalled all versions of java?

#9

zerchted
    zerchted

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 218 posts
  • Location: Australia

Posted 14 December 2012 - 05:34 AM

View PostCosmicSpore, on 13 December 2012 - 11:30 PM, said:

You can have both the 32bit and 64bit Java installations, and they should be correctly recognized by all programs... Although I'm not sure why you would need both, unless you need the 32bit SDK.

I need both because apparently Chrome is a 32-bit browser. If someone can assure me that Chrome works well with 64-bit java, I'll nuke that 32-bit file.

And, apparently I can't have both 32- and 64-bit Java installations, because Minecraft seems to choose the 32-bit version and then I can't get far render on FTB!   (I do have 64-bit Windows).

#10

BC_Programming
  • Location: Nanaimo, BC
  • Minecraft: BC_Programming

Posted 14 December 2012 - 05:22 PM

anybody else notice the thread was actually hijacked?

#11

kastor246

Posted 14 December 2012 - 05:32 PM

View PostBC_Programming, on 14 December 2012 - 05:22 PM, said:

anybody else notice the thread was actually hijacked?
How so? Or do you mean the random guy who out of nowhere asked for help? (

zerchted) Or do you mean someone else?


Best moderator: BKrenz

#12

CosmicSpore

Posted 14 December 2012 - 07:33 PM

View Postvp79, on 14 December 2012 - 12:19 AM, said:

How would I know if I uninstalled all versions of java?
If you go to Start > Control Panel > Programs > Uninstall Programs, there won't be any versions of Java listed anymore.

View Postzerchted, on 14 December 2012 - 05:34 AM, said:

I need both because apparently Chrome is a 32-bit browser. If someone can assure me that Chrome works well with 64-bit java, I'll nuke that 32-bit file.
64-bit programs can run 32-bit code. That's just how they work. You don't need both.

View Postzerchted, on 14 December 2012 - 05:34 AM, said:

And, apparently I can't have both 32- and 64-bit Java installations, because Minecraft seems to choose the 32-bit version and then I can't get far render on FTB!   (I do have 64-bit Windows).
Then uninstall the 32 bit version? Problem solved.

#13

vp79
    vp79

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 224 posts

Posted 14 December 2012 - 09:39 PM

View PostCosmicSpore, on 14 December 2012 - 07:33 PM, said:


If you go to Start > Control Panel > Programs > Uninstall Programs, there won't be any versions of Java listed anymore.


64-bit programs can run 32-bit code. That's just how they work. You don't need both.


Then uninstall the 32 bit version? Problem solved.

Thanks a ton!!!:)

#14

CosmicSpore

Posted 14 December 2012 - 11:17 PM

No problem, let us know if you have any other problems.