Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Minecraft - Disable Internal Server in Single Player?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
9 replies to this topic

#1

KDStudios
    KDStudios

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 905 posts
  • Location: England, UK

Posted 25 November 2012 - 10:36 AM

Ever since the single player game became an internal server I've had nothing but problems when playing the game. I don't mind living with the multiplayer bugs in Single player but having lag just because I'm uploading a video or file to the internet or downloading a game on steam is ridiculous.

I remember seeing a mod for the game that basically disables the internal server and brings back the single player feeling it used to have.
I can't seem to find it though and I wish I made a bookmark of it earlier.
Does anyone have a link for the mod?

Ps. Don't suggest making a server and setting it to offline mode.
Also...If you are not going to link to the mod, don't bother replying. This is not a topic asking for "help".
Posted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image

Register or log in to remove.

#2

nworB_cirE
    nworB_cirE

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 936 posts
  • Location: Utah, USA
  • Minecraft: nworB_cirE

Posted 25 November 2012 - 05:31 PM

Umm.... you do realize that the internal server has nothing to do with your network connection, right? You're lagging because your computer can't handle minecraft and downloading something at the same time.
Posted Image
PLEASE! Learn to use spoiler tags, especially when posting crash reports: [spoiler]YOUR TEXT HERE[ /spoiler]

#3

KDStudios
    KDStudios

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 905 posts
  • Location: England, UK

Posted 25 November 2012 - 06:27 PM

View PostnworB_cirE, on 25 November 2012 - 05:31 PM, said:

Umm.... you do realize that the internal server has nothing to do with your network connection, right? You're lagging because your computer can't handle minecraft and downloading something at the same time.

You do realise that it has everything to do with the network connection right?
It's exactly the same as a LAN server being affected by someone downloading/uploading something. It doesn't effect it that much but it's very noticeable.
My computer can handle more than your bucket of bolts ever could, I've made lagless videos with 256x and 512x texture packs and 1080p video recording and play video games on their highest settings all while downloading and uploading video content.
So don't come in here on this topic trying to correct someone who has more experience with computers and internet connection than you.

I've specifically asked a question and all I'm looking for is an answer.
You'll also notice that I specifically requested a link to a mod that I have seen.
Not some muppet who thinks he knows everything and isn't going to provide anything helpful.

Posted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image

#4

nworB_cirE
    nworB_cirE

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 936 posts
  • Location: Utah, USA
  • Minecraft: nworB_cirE

Posted 25 November 2012 - 06:29 PM

It only deals with your external network connection when you click "Open to LAN". It has no reason to if it's not sharing data with anything else. Otherwise, it's just two separate programs on your computer communicating with each other.
Posted Image
PLEASE! Learn to use spoiler tags, especially when posting crash reports: [spoiler]YOUR TEXT HERE[ /spoiler]

#5

KDStudios
    KDStudios

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 905 posts
  • Location: England, UK

Posted 25 November 2012 - 06:34 PM

View PostnworB_cirE, on 25 November 2012 - 06:29 PM, said:

It only deals with your external network connection when you click "Open to LAN". It has no reason to if it's not sharing data with anything else. Otherwise, it's just two separate programs on your computer communicating with each other.

Get off my topic now.
Posted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image

#6

BlockyDude
  • Minecraft: b0h

Posted 25 November 2012 - 07:01 PM

Nice way to treat someone trying to help you, friend. It's nice to see kind people.
For that behavior, you don't deserve help at all.
Also, don't bother to answer me. i'll will not , any further than this. This is YOUR topic , after all.
Posted Image

#7

KDStudios
    KDStudios

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 905 posts
  • Location: England, UK

Posted 25 November 2012 - 07:26 PM

I asked one simple question, yet there's now 2 people wasting my time by now answering it.
I never once asked for help with the problem, just a link to the mod.
Stop posting this useless crap on my topic.
Posted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image

#8

joe325billybob
  • Location: Cincinnati, OH
  • Minecraft: joe325billybob
  • Xbox:gammer1221
  • PSN:joe325billybob

Posted 12 April 2013 - 11:27 PM

Sorry but, he IS right. Believe it or not, the Internal server requires a bunch of CPU usage, something not many people have alot to give. In return, MineCraft slows down other programs to boosts its performance  Before the internal server, I ran at 90FPS. Now I am sticking with a low 20FPS.

For the mod however, I have never seen anything like that. I would help if I could, and I would use it myself. If anything, it should be a suggestion for Optifine. That is my opinion, though.

Best wishes.
~joe325billybob

Live and let die, right?


#9

maxpowa
    maxpowa

    Gold Miner

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 408 posts
  • Location: 10.0.0.1
  • Minecraft: maxpowa

Posted 13 April 2013 - 04:05 AM

Frankly, running singleplayer without the internal server is impossible, you would only be able to run on MP. Minecraft singleplayer always had an internal server, it just never had the ability for other LAN players to connect until 1.3 . I'm sorry, but "having lag just because I'm uploading a video or file to the internet or downloading a game on steam" does not happen.

Minecraft Wiki said:

On the technical side a minecraft client with an opened LAN game sends a UDP multicast to the local address 224.0.2.60:4445 every 1.5 seconds.

If you don't have a LAN game open, nothing is being used on the network card, and even then a UDP multicast is so miniscule that the only way you could be affected by that is if you're using a 56k dial up modem. Even then, you're pushing it.

As for mod: http://www.minecraft...aysnbxlite-ssp/ (Look at the SSP mod) I kinda feel like this way of doing it though would kill mod compatibility so you'll only get vanilla gameplay.

I maintain TukMC here on MCF. I'm working on updating AdvancedHUD. Please check out my BukkitDev page!

Posted Image


#10

Exalm
    Exalm

    End Dweller

  • Members
  • 7476 posts

Posted 13 April 2013 - 04:59 AM

View Postmaxpowa, on 13 April 2013 - 04:05 AM, said:

Frankly, running singleplayer without the internal server is impossible, you would only be able to run on MP. Minecraft singleplayer always had an internal server, it just never had the ability for other LAN players to connect until 1.3 .
Actually, you are wrong. The game did not use server before 1.3. In 12w18a they just removed the whole singleplayer-specific code and made the client start separate SMP server when you create/load a world. Few snapshots later they integrated that server into the client jar.

It can't lag because of slow internet connection, but the game still uses the same packets as in SMP, it just sends them without using network. But this way is still slow. Before 1.3 it didn't use packets in singleplayer at all.

If you will look into the mod sources, you will notice that all logic is client-side. Just as in 1.2.5.
However, it uses "fake server" to resolve some NullPointerExceptions. That "server" doesn't tick (So it does not slowdown the game) and is a wrapper for client logic. (For example, when something requests the player list, it returns list with client player name.)

Posted Image

My UA on laptop: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Ubuntu; Linux i686; rv:27.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/27.0 SeaMonkey/2.24 Lightning/2.9b1; I use Ubuntu 13.10 here.
And on desktop: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:20.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/20.0; Here I use openSUSE 12.2.