Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Seeking advice on Adventure map building

adventure map help

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

dogfender

Posted 20 November 2012 - 09:58 AM

So I am new to making maps. I am aiming to make an RPG style adventure map. I have MCedit and a lot of sethblings filters. However there are some fundimental things I need to know.

What is the best way to start out making my adventure map?
-scratch build starting with MCedit?
-create a map using creative mode?
-create a map using survival + allowing cheats to toggle between creative and survival?

What is the best method for testing things out in a map?
When playing in the map to test (because I am unaware of how to otherwise) the things you do effect the map, meaning I will constantly need to replace what I have done.

Is there a filter for MCedit that lets you select and area and change/ replace its durability?

If someone could be my compass and point me in the right direction I could use the guidance.

Thanks a ton,
Dogfender

Register or log in to remove.

jancheung10

Posted 20 November 2012 - 12:27 PM

First i am making my own rpg style adventure map too
I want to tell u that if u have at least 2 computers u can just drag the save file to the other computer and
test it,
Secondly i advice u to install too many items mod, the change the map to only survival
so player wont be able to change it to creative and cheat (most likely)
and to the mcedit question i cant answer u because i am starting to learn it too
btw if u want to make a rpg style map u can download noopes custom npc mod
it really helps alout with these kind of things
hope it helped

dogfender

Posted 20 November 2012 - 07:04 PM

Thank you for the advice. I would really like to not use any mods for my map though, I dont want people to have to a mod and keep that mod updated with minecraft in order to play the map =/