Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Anvil cost depends on anvil?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1

ouchthats

Posted 17 November 2012 - 08:23 AM

So I've got 2 anvils right next to each other. I went to combine two shovels recently (both Eff 4) and got different costs: one anvil wanted 13 levels to combine them, but the other one only cost 11. This isn't an order effect; neither anvil cared about which order the shovels were in. The only difference was which anvil I was using. The wiki doesn't say anything that would explain this, as far as I can see. Any ideas why this is happening?

Register or log in to remove.

#2

InfernoHero
  • Location: United States, Georgia
  • Minecraft: InfernoHero222

Posted 17 November 2012 - 08:56 AM

One anvil was slightly used, while the other was closer to being new. The more you use an anvil, the more exp it needs to work.

#3

ouchthats

Posted 17 November 2012 - 09:46 AM

Neither is damaged at all; does this have an effect even before damage starts to show?

#4

InfernoHero
  • Location: United States, Georgia
  • Minecraft: InfernoHero222

Posted 17 November 2012 - 09:50 AM

View Postouchthats, on 17 November 2012 - 09:46 AM, said:

Neither is damaged at all; does this have an effect even before damage starts to show?

Yes

#5

Vojife
    Vojife

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 605 posts
  • Location: The Nether Fortress
  • Minecraft: Vojife

Posted 17 November 2012 - 10:02 AM

Perhaps it works a bit like enchanting, that is also quite random, you can get the same enchantment for different experience.

You want a signature? Fine!


#6

JTTCOTE2
    JTTCOTE2

    Diamond Miner

  • Members
  • 885 posts

Posted 17 November 2012 - 10:09 AM

No, it's always fixed. I guess it's damage.

#7

aminecraftguy00
  • Minecraft: aminecraftguy00

Posted 17 November 2012 - 11:03 AM

This just calls for repairing anvils using anvils...
To all of you people who think Notch is still working on the game, he stopped working on Minecraft in late 2011. Get your facts straight and stop spamming his twitter about Minecraft updates.

#8

Boundegar
    Boundegar

    Blaze Extinguisher

  • Members
  • 4820 posts
  • Location: Neptune

Posted 17 November 2012 - 11:22 AM

View Postaminecraftguy00, on 17 November 2012 - 11:03 AM, said:

This just calls for repairing anvils using anvils...
Or, when they get old, use them as projectiles.

#9

martinator
  • Location: second star to the right

Posted 17 November 2012 - 03:32 PM

Maybe you changed the order you placed those shovels i think you need to place the less expensive one first.
BTW Why are you reparing iron shovels?
         I rather repare wooden hoes or something.
I ALWAYS SEE THE CUP HALF EMPTY EVEN WHEN IT`S FULL

#10

Hachouma
    Hachouma

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 154 posts
  • Location: Somewhere south of the Mediterranean sea

Posted 17 November 2012 - 03:47 PM

View PostBoundegar, on 17 November 2012 - 11:22 AM, said:

Or, when they get old, use them as projectiles.
Posted Image :ohgodawesome:

#11

TheCheeseKnees

Posted 17 November 2012 - 04:21 PM

View PostBoundegar, on 17 November 2012 - 11:22 AM, said:

Or, when they get old, use them as projectiles.

I have so many broken anvils in my chests, and now I'm going to use them as defense mechanisms :D
Archaeopteryx ftw

#12

___MeRliN___
  • Location: Classiefied
  • Minecraft: Guess...

Posted 17 November 2012 - 04:38 PM

I am pretty sure its just because one of your anvils is more damaged then the other one.