Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

How to build the Nether Reactor from the 0.5.0 update

tutorial

  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#1

dlcoates1
  • Location: Washington, USA
  • Minecraft: D3_Roach

Posted 15 November 2012 - 08:19 PM

Ok guys, since the 0.5.0 update just came out, and I am sure you all know the "Nether" was released with this update, I thought I would go ahead and show you the schematics for how to create the nether reactor.Keep in mind this only works in survival!Firstly, you will need to have a good sized area to work at, and second you will need a total of 3 diamonds, 36 gold ingots, 6 iron ingots, and 14 cobblestone.In the center of the area, you will need to place 4 gold blocks on the corners of a 3x3 area in the center of your workspace like so:Posted ImageNext, fill the spaces in between the gold blocks with cobblestone like so:Posted ImageOn the top of the 4 gold blocks, place 4 more cobblestone:Posted ImageTo make the nether reactor core you will need 3 diamonds, and 6 iron:Posted ImagePlace your nether reactor core in the center:Posted ImagePlace 1 cobblestone on the top of the nether reactor core:Posted ImageOn the 4 sides of that, you will need to place 4 more cobblestone so it looks like a +:Posted ImageOnce that is done, you now have your nether reactor. To activate it, simply click on it.When the nether reactor is activated it will spawn pigmen, and a few items such as mellons, glowstone, and other items for a short amount of time. The casing of the reactor is made of obsidian netherrack (as of 0.6.0/0.7.0), and it is recommended you build only 1 per world.Unfortunately, I can not post a picture to show what it looks like seeing as how I am short on materials. Missing a little gold, I have more than enough diamonds.Anyway, I am sure someone from here can post a picture showing the nether reactor when activated. But that's the lesson for today, hope you guys enjoy the update. Good luck with your adventures!

Posted Image


Register or log in to remove.

#2

Deevil768
    Deevil768

    Glowstone Miner

  • Members
  • 3500 posts
  • Location: America

Posted 15 November 2012 - 08:22 PM

View Postdlcoates1, on 15 November 2012 - 08:19 PM, said:

Ok guys, since the 0.5.0 update just came out, and I am sure you all know the "Nether" was released with this update, I thought I would go ahead and show you the schematics for how to create the nether reactor.

Firstly, you will need to have a good sized area to work at, and second you will need a total of 3 diamonds, 36 gold ingots , 6 iron ingots, and 14 cobblestone.

In the center of the area, you will need to place 4 gold blocks on the corners of a 3x3 area in the center of your workspace like so:
Posted Image

Next, fill the spaces in between the gold blocks with cobblestone like so:
Posted Image

On the top of the 4 gold blocks, place 4 more cobblestone:
Posted Image

To make the nether reactor core you will need 3 diamonds, and 6 iron:
Posted Image

Place your nether reactor core in the center:
Posted Image

Place 1 cobblestone on the top of the nether reactor core:
Posted Image

On the 4 sides of that, you will need to place 4 more cobblestone so it looks like a +:
Posted Image

Once that is done, you now have your nether reactor. To activate it, simply click on it.

When the nether reactor is activated it will spawn pigmen, and a few items such as mellons, glowstone, and other items for a short amount of time. The casing of the reactor is made of obsidian, and it is recommended you build only 1 per world.

Unfortunately, I can not post a picture to show what it looks like seeing as how I am short on materials. Missing a little gold, I have more than enough diamonds.
Anyway, I am sure someone from here can post a picture showing the nether reactor when activated. But that's the lesson for today, hope you guys enjoy the update. Good luck with your adventures!
4 x 9 = 36 not 27 :)
Posted Image

#3

dlcoates1
  • Location: Washington, USA
  • Minecraft: D3_Roach

Posted 15 November 2012 - 08:24 PM

View PostDeevil768, on 15 November 2012 - 08:22 PM, said:

4 x 9 = 36 not 27 Posted Image

Thank's for pointing that out. It has been fixed! :D

Posted Image


#4

Deevil768
    Deevil768

    Glowstone Miner

  • Members
  • 3500 posts
  • Location: America

Posted 15 November 2012 - 08:25 PM

Also do not use it near your house :o it looks horrible when it's done, it's like a giant fortress of obsidian.
Posted Image

#5

_ChrisMCMine_
  • Location: Austria
  • Minecraft: ChrisMCMine

Posted 15 November 2012 - 08:27 PM

View PostDeevil768, on 15 November 2012 - 08:22 PM, said:

4 x 9 = 36 not 27 :)
You're the first who response, but why did you make a FULL quote???

Posted Image

Spoiler:

#6

dlcoates1
  • Location: Washington, USA
  • Minecraft: D3_Roach

Posted 15 November 2012 - 08:53 PM

Here is a video as well guys so you can see how it works. Skip to 4:10 to see.

Posted Image


#7

PixelDrum
    PixelDrum

    Portal Expert

  • Retired Staff
  • 5227 posts
  • Minecraft: PixelDrum

Posted 15 November 2012 - 09:28 PM

I made the mistake of building it near my house...


#8

dlcoates1
  • Location: Washington, USA
  • Minecraft: D3_Roach

Posted 15 November 2012 - 10:07 PM

View PostPixelDrum, on 15 November 2012 - 09:28 PM, said:

I made the mistake of building it near my house...

Yikes. Yeah once it's fully built, the oblisk consumes about a 15x15 block area, more or less. Not to mention people say its an eye sore, so building it near your house is not the best idea.

On a side note, I should have a video up soon for actual gameplay on the reactor. I am going to try to go for the first video posted by someone who doesn't work for mojang, showing all the details and possibly survive it. Hopefully I do get the video up first, although it might be a LQ video because I have not jailbroken my iPhone so I have no way to record the gameplay unless I use my built in camera on my laptop.

Posted Image


#9

LuigiSavior
  • Minecraft: LuigiSavior

Posted 15 November 2012 - 10:36 PM

What's the aftermath?
Just having fun in Minecraft Pocket Edition! :)

#10

dlcoates1
  • Location: Washington, USA
  • Minecraft: D3_Roach

Posted 15 November 2012 - 11:42 PM

View PostLuigiSavior, on 15 November 2012 - 10:36 PM, said:

What's the aftermath?

This picture was taken from over 20 blocks away:
Posted Image

This picture was taken less than 10 blocks away:
Posted Image


Please note, this was only after using 1 nether reactor. This is not something you want to do close to home.

Posted Image


#11

dlcoates1
  • Location: Washington, USA
  • Minecraft: D3_Roach

Posted 16 November 2012 - 03:25 AM

Sorry for bumping this thread, but it seems that more and more people are creating threads asking how to build this. I figured a little bump would help them out.

Posted Image


#12

grim619
    grim619

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 525 posts

Posted 16 November 2012 - 03:41 AM

On top of that the imobsidian towers fill with hostile mobs insanely fast, they literally pour out.
in the navy, so im out to sea alot. [email protected]
http://www.youtube.c...beast619/videos

#13

LuigiSavior
  • Minecraft: LuigiSavior

Posted 16 November 2012 - 03:42 AM

Thanks!
Just having fun in Minecraft Pocket Edition! :)

#14

dlcoates1
  • Location: Washington, USA
  • Minecraft: D3_Roach

Posted 16 November 2012 - 04:27 AM

View PostLuigiSavior, on 16 November 2012 - 03:42 AM, said:

Thanks!

No problem. I am not that pro at regular minecraft, and don't even get me started with tekkit, but I have constantly been keeping myself up to date with everything when it comes to pocket edition. I figure I might as well use that knowledge to help out everyone else.

Posted Image


#15

v3912
    v3912

    Gold Miner

  • Members
  • 423 posts
  • Location: Somewhere...
  • Minecraft: v3912

Posted 16 November 2012 - 02:29 PM

View Postgrim619, on 16 November 2012 - 03:41 AM, said:

On top of that the imobsidian towers fill with hostile mobs insanely fast, they literally pour out.
How do you force them to spawn?
Posted Image

#16

dlcoates1
  • Location: Washington, USA
  • Minecraft: D3_Roach

Posted 16 November 2012 - 04:28 PM

View Postv3912, on 16 November 2012 - 02:29 PM, said:

How do you force them to spawn?

I am not sure you can. I honestly have not explored the top floors of the tower.

Posted Image


#17

BROOSTANE

Posted 16 November 2012 - 10:58 PM

Does it work in creative? Because I just want to see what happens, not do all the mining.

#18

iiTeMpeR
    iiTeMpeR

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 16 November 2012 - 11:10 PM

Don't you think 36 ingots is just to much? Well, I could say the same for the Nether Portal by collecting 10 Obsidians but atleast you can use it as many times as you want. Question, can you only activate it with a sword, still in the progress of finding gold so I'm curious but in Johan's vid he hit it with an iron sword. Sorry if this question was already posted.

#19

Aviler
    Aviler

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 95 posts

Posted 17 November 2012 - 04:13 PM

View PostBROOSTANE, on 16 November 2012 - 10:58 PM, said:

Does it work in creative? Because I just want to see what happens, not do all the mining.
You can build a reactor in creative, but it can't be activated in creative.

Another thing to note is that the correct pattern is the whole 3x3x3 cube. This means that the air spaces are part of the pattern. Outside of that, it doesn't matter. So you can build one underwater if you put a shell around it, or you can bury one in mountain or underground if you dig out the 3x3x3 area to build it in.

View Post_tommo_, on 20 September 2013 - 11:12 PM, said:

@everyone that asks for release dates: we don't have them! We have for sure a timeline we would like to follow... but we want the freedom to say *screw that* and release weeks before or after without people complaining, if there are valid reasons. So, unless everything is pretty much finalized (ie. coming out in 1 week or so) you won't have a deadline from us, sorreh.

#20

FlamingSnowman
  • Minecraft: FlamingSnowman

Posted 17 November 2012 - 05:04 PM

Having a really difficult time with the gold,, I've mined back and forth across the entire map about 3-4 times and I still don't have enough, No shortage of diamonds, though.
The required amount of gold should be reduced, in my opinion.

Really looking forward to using it, though. Looks really cool.

Does it spit out any gold? Perhaps enough to make up some of the lost gold you used building the reactor?
Chickneys are friends, not food. Same with pigs and cows. Not zombies though.