Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[1.6.4][Forge][ModLoader] Mob Spawn Controls! Control Spawning! Increase SpawnCaps + Spawn Attempts! Mo'Creatures+ExtraBiomes Support! Updated!

msc

  • Please log in to reply
1224 replies to this topic

#1

Davidee
    Davidee

    Obsidian Miner

  • Members
  • 1482 posts

Posted 06 November 2012 - 01:53 AM

*
POPULAR

Mob Spawn Controls
CLIENT REQUIRES MODLOADER OR FORGE
SERVER REQUIRES  FORGE




NOTE: MSC2 has been released!




About







This allows you to control where mobs can spawn. By using F6, you can open the Control GUI and select what mobs you want to spawn by-biome, or globally!





Not only can you control spawnrates of the individual mobs, but you can also increase the Spawn Caps and passive mob spawn frequency (see configuration below)






Compatibility



Confirmed to work with the following mods:

Configuration

  • View PostDrZhark, on 25 October 2012 - 11:51 PM, said:

    Hi Davidee. Good work with your mods and the MSC.  There is a simple way to make both your our mods compatible and that is for the user to set all the spawn rates to 1 and deactivate the vanilla spawn settings in MoCreatures,
  • The save file is currently found in the each world save directory and is named "SpawnConfiguration.txt"
  • The first four lines (SpawnCap.monster...) refer to the spawning caps placed on each creature type - increase them! I personally put the creatures (animals) spawn cap to over 50. The max is 500.
  • Creatures.SpawnFrequency is the number of ticks between attempts to spawn animals. Lower this (minimum is 1) to increase the frequency of animal spawns. NOTE:  You also want to increase the Spawn Cap for creatures - by default, it is very low (15) and I recommend at least 50, possibly 100
  • AutoSave means that the mod will save (to the file) every time that you make a change in game
  • CanEdit means that you have permission to open the GUI in game. Setting this to false will make it so that you can't open the GUI - it is useful for servers
  • Entities.txt can be found in your Minecraft directory and lists all of the Spawnable Entities
  • MSC_Overrides.txt can be found in your Minecraft directory and can be used to override the default settings
    • Incredibly useful when using mods

Images & Videos








Posted Image




Posted Image

Posted Image

After increasing the animals spawn cap and frequency...
Posted Image






Forge Download:

  • Download Forge
  • Universal (Client+Server):
  • V1.6.4.0 for Minecraft 1.6.4: Here
  • V1.6.2.0 for Minecraft 1.6.2: Here
  • V1.6.1.0 for Minecraft 1.6.1: Here


  • V1.5.2.0 for Minecraft 1.5.2: Here
  • V1.5.1.0 for Minecraft 1.5.1: Here
  • V1.5.0.0 for Minecraft 1.5.0: Here
  • V1.4.6.2 for Minecraft 1.4.6 / 1.4.7: Here
  • V1.4.4.2 for Minecraft 1.4.4 / 1.4.5: Here
  • V1.4.2.2 for Minecraft 1.4.2: Here
  • ‚Äčv1.3.2.2 for Minecraft 1.3.2 : Here

ModLoader Download:

  • Download ModLoader
  • v1.4.6.0 for Minecraft 1.4.6 / 1.4.7: Here
  • v1.4.4.1 for Minecraft 1.4.4 / 1.4.5: Here
  • v1.4.2.2 for Minecraft 1.4.2: Here
  • v1.3.2.2 for Minecraft 1.3.2:  Here
  • Client : v1.3.1.0 for Minecraft 1.3.1:  Here



Installation

Spoiler:






TERMS AND CONDITIONS
Spoiler:


Register or log in to remove.

#2

thrandisher

Posted 06 November 2012 - 03:18 AM

thanks for this and that tidbit about how to make this and mo creatures more compatable.

#3

MohawkyMagoo
  • Location: At the council fires of the mod masters

Posted 06 November 2012 - 07:04 AM

Awesome! Thanks for the updates.

#4

MohawkyMagoo
  • Location: At the council fires of the mod masters

Posted 06 November 2012 - 09:57 AM

Hmmm, have tested it thoroughly and I dont think its compatible with Mo Creatures. I turned off all the Mo Creatures spawning, and set new spawns in MSC.   No Mo Creatures mobs or animals now spawn at all, unless its a night - when they appear and totally ignore any restrictions I may have set for their types in MSC.

When I restart a game, Mo Creatures settings for hostile mobs have all been reset to default - all the others are still at 0

It also seems to have limited compatibility with Project Zulu. For example, on the savana biome, I set up lots of creatures to spawn and disabled squids. All I get spawning are dozens of squid in any available waterhole.

In swamps i'm getting nothing at all apart from Project Zulu frogs?

The whole thing seems unworkable.

#5

Davidee
    Davidee

    Obsidian Miner

  • Members
  • 1482 posts

Posted 06 November 2012 - 01:22 PM

View Postthrandisher, on 06 November 2012 - 03:18 AM, said:

thanks for this and that tidbit about how to make this and mo creatures more compatable.

View PostMohawkyMagoo, on 06 November 2012 - 07:04 AM, said:

Awesome! Thanks for the updates.
You're welcome ! :)

View PostMohawkyMagoo, on 06 November 2012 - 09:57 AM, said:

Hmmm, have tested it thoroughly and I dont think its compatible with Mo Creatures. I turned off all the Mo Creatures spawning, and set new spawns in MSC.   No Mo Creatures mobs or animals now spawn at all, unless its a night - when they appear and totally ignore any restrictions I may have set for their types in MSC.

When I restart a game, Mo Creatures settings for hostile mobs have all been reset to default - all the others are still at 0

It also seems to have limited compatibility with Project Zulu. For example, on the savana biome, I set up lots of creatures to spawn and disabled squids. All I get spawning are dozens of squid in any available waterhole.

In swamps i'm getting nothing at all apart from Project Zulu frogs?

The whole thing seems unworkable.
The update was minor. The core of the mod remains the same - all I did was add the option to increase how frequently animals spawn. Did Mo Creatures update? If so, the update probably is a little buggy - it seems like your Mo Creatures settings aren't taking effect and that the spawning conditions for the Mo Creatures mobs are messed up. You should tell DrZhark.

Yeah, then there's definitely a probably with Mo  Creatures.

Uh, did you disable squids in the right biome? Are you sure that they weren't there before hand? Trying killing them and see if they reappear. Project Zulu shouldn't effect the vanilla spawning, so it should work fine.

Too many Frogs? Change the Spawn Weight! You really need to mess around with it. Although the Spawn Weights for the mobs may be the same, the actually chances of them spawning are different - each entity defines its own "getCanSpawnHere" which also affects how often it can spawn. I'm assuming that the frogs have some overly generous spawning conditions - either lower their spawn weight or increase the spawn weights of the other mobs.

#6

MohawkyMagoo
  • Location: At the council fires of the mod masters

Posted 06 November 2012 - 03:18 PM

View PostDavidee, on 06 November 2012 - 01:22 PM, said:

You're welcome ! Posted Image

The update was minor. The core of the mod remains the same - all I did was add the option to increase how frequently animals spawn. Did Mo Creatures update? If so, the update probably is a little buggy - it seems like your Mo Creatures settings aren't taking effect and that the spawning conditions for the Mo Creatures mobs are messed up. You should tell DrZhark.

Yeah, then there's definitely a probably with Mo  Creatures.

Uh, did you disable squids in the right biome? Are you sure that they weren't there before hand? Trying killing them and see if they reappear. Project Zulu shouldn't effect the vanilla spawning, so it should work fine.

Too many Frogs? Change the Spawn Weight! You really need to mess around with it. Although the Spawn Weights for the mobs may be the same, the actually chances of them spawning are different - each entity defines its own "getCanSpawnHere" which also affects how often it can spawn. I'm assuming that the frogs have some overly generous spawning conditions - either lower their spawn weight or increase the spawn weights of the other mobs.

Yep, Mo Creatures updated. Have left a post there too.

Yes, all squid disabled in Correct biomes. All spawn weights for every creature were set to weight 8 with 1 min, 3 max, didnt know there were hidden values - where do I find them? These are all new chunks generating by the wa, so there shouldnt be any hangover creatures from previous settings.

You misunderstand the point on the frogs its not abot playing with the settings - there is something fundamentally wrong - - frogs were not enabled for that biome, other things were, lots of them, but I only have frogs spawn (ha ha!)

From how it looks to me, MSC has no effect on Mo Creatures spawning or rates of spawn after they have been turned off completely under Mo Creatures global mod options. They are turned off, but MSC doesnt turn them back on, or Mo Creatures prevents them being turned back on.

#7

Rhymane Flameheart
  • Location: UK

Posted 06 November 2012 - 05:38 PM

Coo, this has it's own topic now - nice^^

By the way David, another quick question if I may be so bold. I also notice this mod does not have an option for turning on/off spider jockeys. Would such an option be possible to add, and are there any plans for that at all?

Sorry for all the questions, just trying to figure out the best way to use this mod for how I want to play lol.
I used to be a console gamer. Then Xbox One and PS4 came out. Now I'm a PC gamer.
Minecraft - the only game in the world where you can dig out a pile of gravel with a roast chicken...

#8

Davidee
    Davidee

    Obsidian Miner

  • Members
  • 1482 posts

Posted 06 November 2012 - 06:58 PM

View PostMohawkyMagoo, on 06 November 2012 - 03:18 PM, said:

Yep, Mo Creatures updated. Have left a post there too.

Yes, all squid disabled in Correct biomes. All spawn weights for every creature were set to weight 8 with 1 min, 3 max, didnt know there were hidden values - where do I find them? These are all new chunks generating by the wa, so there shouldnt be any hangover creatures from previous settings.

You misunderstand the point on the frogs its not abot playing with the settings - there is something fundamentally wrong - - frogs were not enabled for that biome, other things were, lots of them, but I only have frogs spawn (ha ha!)

From how it looks to me, MSC has no effect on Mo Creatures spawning or rates of spawn after they have been turned off completely under Mo Creatures global mod options. They are turned off, but MSC doesnt turn them back on, or Mo Creatures prevents them being turned back on.
I just decompiled Project Zulu and looked at the mob spawning. It doesn't edit anything - it uses the vanilla mob spawning. So, the problem has to be Mo Creatures. I'm assuming he messed something up in the update - it seems that his mod also tries to control the spawn rates of mobs. Weird. Try it without Mo Creatures?

If you still want to play with Mo Creatures, you're probably going to need to get an older version or wait for him to fix it.

View PostRhymane Flameheart, on 06 November 2012 - 05:38 PM, said:

Coo, this has it's own topic now - nice^^

By the way David, another quick question if I may be so bold. I also notice this mod does not have an option for turning on/off spider jockeys. Would such an option be possible to add, and are there any plans for that at all?

Sorry for all the questions, just trying to figure out the best way to use this mod for how I want to play lol.
I honestly have no I idea... I've never looked into it. I can try, but no promises. Posted Image

#9

Rhymane Flameheart
  • Location: UK

Posted 06 November 2012 - 07:24 PM

View PostDavidee, on 06 November 2012 - 06:58 PM, said:

I honestly have no I idea... I've never looked into it. I can try, but no promises. Posted Image

Be awesome if you could add something, tyvm for taking a look bro Posted Image No worries if it isn't possible for any reason though.
I used to be a console gamer. Then Xbox One and PS4 came out. Now I'm a PC gamer.
Minecraft - the only game in the world where you can dig out a pile of gravel with a roast chicken...

#10

Jay.T.A.

Posted 06 November 2012 - 08:02 PM

You should try finding a way to make the edits permanent for the map instead of having it only for when you have the mod installed.

#11

Lady Eternity
  • Location: Somwhere over the rainbow

Posted 06 November 2012 - 08:19 PM

This is an incredible mod....just completely incredible. You should start some 'collections' for people to download for various biome and creature mods. Sort of an end-user config repository that people could download and use to give them a quicker and less setup intensive  path to getting this mod up and running.

I was playing around with it last night, configuring ExtraBiomesXL with all the different critters from the various mods we are using: Lion King, Mo's, Twilight Forest and it works pretty darn good. I applaud this mod and hope you keep going with it as the versions of Minecraft fly by.

Lady E

Posted Image


#12

Davidee
    Davidee

    Obsidian Miner

  • Members
  • 1482 posts

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:00 PM

View PostRhymane Flameheart, on 06 November 2012 - 07:24 PM, said:

Be awesome if you could add something, tyvm for taking a look bro Posted Image No worries if it isn't possible for any reason though.
It looks like it's possible It would just be a pain. There's a Forge hook that can prevent it, but adding in all of the options wouldn't be fun... Posted Image

View PostJay.T.A., on 06 November 2012 - 08:02 PM, said:

You should try finding a way to make the edits permanent for the map instead of having it only for when you have the mod installed.
Without the mod? That's impossible! Just never uninstall the mod... and don't update your minecraft until I have updated the mod! Posted Image

View PostLady Eternity, on 06 November 2012 - 08:19 PM, said:

This is an incredible mod....just completely incredible. You should start some 'collections' for people to download for various biome and creature mods. Sort of an end-user config repository that people could download and use to give them a quicker and less setup intensive  path to getting this mod up and running.

I was playing around with it last night, configuring ExtraBiomesXL with all the different critters from the various mods we are using: Lion King, Mo's, Twilight Forest and it works pretty darn good. I applaud this mod and hope you keep going with it as the versions of Minecraft fly by.

Lady E
Thank you! Posted Image And I currently don't play minecraft that much... barely at all. So I'd need people to give me their configurations - then I could either post them here or there could be a separate thread. There are so many options... it's endless. But there are bound to be some really popular ones - ones that deal with mods, getting rid of squids, one with high spawn caps, etc... That's a really good idea though.

And I will! Posted Image It's really not that hard to update. The mod doesn't modify any class files, so as long as they're isn't another 1.3 update I should be okay. And I've managed to not break the SpawnConfiguration saves as of yet.. so that's a plus.

#13

Rhymane Flameheart
  • Location: UK

Posted 06 November 2012 - 11:48 PM

View PostDavidee, on 06 November 2012 - 10:00 PM, said:

It looks like it's possible It would just be a pain. There's a Forge hook that can prevent it, but adding in all of the options wouldn't be fun... Posted Image

Downer, really sorry to hear that man :( If ever you had a bit of free time on your hands and you felt up to it I for one would really love to see the option added, but I certainly don't want to put on you or anything bro - I understand and respect you have a life beyond Minecraft modding lol. Whatever the case this really is a great mod, thanks again for all of your work on it^^
I used to be a console gamer. Then Xbox One and PS4 came out. Now I'm a PC gamer.
Minecraft - the only game in the world where you can dig out a pile of gravel with a roast chicken...

#14

Izbenn
    Izbenn

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 07 November 2012 - 01:16 AM

I love this mod now.  It has enabled me to setup some great spawn options.

However I have to say I am having the same problems with Mo'Creatures working with this one.  No matter what I do none of the Mo'Creatures mobs are spawning.  I have used the last two versions of Mo'Creatures to test (as well as making the suggested config changes) and it does not matter.  I do not believe the problem is with this mod though, it would make more sense if the error is with Mo'Creatures because the mobs from other mods I have are all working fine with this one, it's only the Mo'Creatures mobs that refuse to cooperate no matter what I do.  If anyone comes up with any idea's I am all ears.

#15

Davidee
    Davidee

    Obsidian Miner

  • Members
  • 1482 posts

Posted 07 November 2012 - 01:10 PM

View PostRhymane Flameheart, on 06 November 2012 - 11:48 PM, said:

Downer, really sorry to hear that man Posted Image If ever you had a bit of free time on your hands and you felt up to it I for one would really love to see the option added, but I certainly don't want to put on you or anything bro - I understand and respect you have a life beyond Minecraft modding lol. Whatever the case this really is a great mod, thanks again for all of your work on it^^
Yeah, if I have some free time, I'll try to work on it. But thanks! :)

View PostIzbenn, on 07 November 2012 - 01:16 AM, said:

I love this mod now.  It has enabled me to setup some great spawn options.

However I have to say I am having the same problems with Mo'Creatures working with this one.  No matter what I do none of the Mo'Creatures mobs are spawning.  I have used the last two versions of Mo'Creatures to test (as well as making the suggested config changes) and it does not matter.  I do not believe the problem is with this mod though, it would make more sense if the error is with Mo'Creatures because the mobs from other mods I have are all working fine with this one, it's only the Mo'Creatures mobs that refuse to cooperate no matter what I do.  If anyone comes up with any idea's I am all ears.
Thank you!

And yeah, it seems that the recent versions of Mo Creatures has messed up compatibility. I'm going to look into this, but it's definitely a problem on DrZhark's end. If I find anything, I'll let you know.

#16

Davidee
    Davidee

    Obsidian Miner

  • Members
  • 1482 posts

Posted 07 November 2012 - 09:53 PM

I've looked into the problem with Mo Creatures and notified DrZhark. He said that he will fix the compatibility issues in the next update.

View PostDrZhark, on 07 November 2012 - 05:37 PM, said:

hi Davidee

I'll fix that in the next update. thanks for pointing that out


#17

Magician_DC

Posted 07 November 2012 - 11:12 PM

Hey Davidee, glad you and DrZhark could work things out.  My question though, does not relate to the Mo'creatures mod but the Invasion mod by Lieu.  His invading horde does not spawn in my world naturally (even after altering the config to allow night spawns), and when using your mod in junction with his mod, his mobs(zomibes, skeletons, spiders... hostiles) are considered creatures instead of monsters.  Since this is the case, i cant even force his mobs to spawn in my world using your mod since his mobs only spawns at night and by default, creatures dont spawn at night.  Is it possible to either talk to him too ( i've already brought this issue up with him with no reply) or somehow change his entities from creatures into monsters somehow using the config?  Thanks in advanced n love your wonderful work.

#18

MohawkyMagoo
  • Location: At the council fires of the mod masters

Posted 08 November 2012 - 12:31 AM

View PostDavidee, on 07 November 2012 - 09:53 PM, said:

I've looked into the problem with Mo Creatures and notified DrZhark. He said that he will fix the compatibility issues in the next update.

Thank you! Result!

#19

Davidee
    Davidee

    Obsidian Miner

  • Members
  • 1482 posts

Posted 08 November 2012 - 12:52 PM

View PostMagician_DC, on 07 November 2012 - 11:12 PM, said:

Hey Davidee, glad you and DrZhark could work things out.  My question though, does not relate to the Mo'creatures mod but the Invasion mod by Lieu.  His invading horde does not spawn in my world naturally (even after altering the config to allow night spawns), and when using your mod in junction with his mod, his mobs(zomibes, skeletons, spiders... hostiles) are considered creatures instead of monsters.  Since this is the case, i cant even force his mobs to spawn in my world using your mod since his mobs only spawns at night and by default, creatures dont spawn at night.  Is it possible to either talk to him too ( i've already brought this issue up with him with no reply) or somehow change his entities from creatures into monsters somehow using the config?  Thanks in advanced n love your wonderful work.
I knew that something like this could happen, so I implemented a way to fix it.

MSC generates 3 files in your minecraft directory -
  • MobSpawnControls file - a log file
  • Entities file - lists all entities (these names are used by MSC to save and by the Overrides)
  • MSC_Overrides - this is what you're looking for

Here's what the MSC_Overrides file looks like by default:


# Mob Spawn Controls Override File
#
# Use this file to override MSC's default settings
# This can be used to fix mistakes in the settings
# This can be used to add mobs from other mods
#
# See MobSpawnControls.log to see if your overrides worked
# See Entities.txt for a list of Entity names
#
# import -EntityName- as -CreatureType-
# exclude -EntityName- as -CreatureType-
#
# Example : "import Creeper as Monster"
# Example : "import Ghast as Creature"
#
# Example : "exclude Squid as WaterCreature"
# Example : "exclude Bat as Ambient"

Say the EntityName is "InvasionMob"

You would need to add this to MSC_Overrides

exclude InvasionMob as Creature
import InvasionMob as Monster

Now if you have multiple fixes, you just need to put that multiple times with the different entitynames. And you  can check the log file to see if your overrides worked. Happy overriding! :)

View PostMohawkyMagoo, on 08 November 2012 - 12:31 AM, said:

Thank you! Result!
No problem! Posted Image

#20

Magician_DC

Posted 08 November 2012 - 08:49 PM

Thanks Davidee... i'll try it right now and see what happens.  I saw that overide option but never knew how it worked, thankyou for taking the time to actually properly explaining it instead of just saying "refer to overide.txt" like other modders.  Again, thanks for your patience and wonderful mod

EDIT: just tried it and it works... thankyou so much!