Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[1.7.2][1.6.4][Forge] Hit Splat Damage Indicators v3.1.1 RPG UI and Damage Amount Mod

1.4.5 1.4.2 hit splat pop off damage indicators 1.4.6 1.4.7

  • Please log in to reply
2770 replies to this topic

#1

rich1051414

Posted 25 October 2012 - 11:41 PM

*
POPULAR

Damage Indicators

Server no longer needs to have to mod installed if using Minecraft 1.6 or later.

This is a little mod I made for myself back in 1.2.5(there is no 1.2.5 release, dont ask), and I quickly rewrote it for 1.4.2 as I think others would appreciate it too. It was originally thrown together as a fancy debugging tool, but it gives the game a bit of a... rpg feel, so I thought I would release it. When anything living takes damage, the damage they took will bounce off their head, with a cool little effect. Now shows the Mob portrait preview with current health when you mouse over mobs! Every registered Mob type(mod mobs too) can have this preview adjusted using config files, so full compatibility is easy. Have a mob displaying incorrectly? Press period and click the Advanced button(or navigate to /.mincraft/config/DIAdvancedCompatibility/class.path.to.entity.cfg, open it with whatever editor you use) and descriptions for all the adjustments are listed.

Preview in action: Posted Image

Do not like the new skin? Open up the repositioning GUI and turn it off(Period key(Fullstop) is default, rebind it in Controls).

Here is some screenshots of the repositioning GUI:

Spoiler:

DOWNLOAD

DamageIndicators[1.6.X]v2.9.2.3

DamageIndicators[1.7.2]v3.1.1

Like this mod? Keep it active and...

Posted Image

Receive a donators cape and sparkles for donating 5 or more USD Posted Image

Spoiler:
Installation:
Spoiler:
Installation Video by oSPARKSo
Spoiler:
Old Versions:Change Log:
Spoiler:
Want to disable people from using damage indicators? Now support MOTD based disables. This only works with welcome messages, which vanilla is incapable of. If you have a forge server, use the forge mod and disable from the config, if you have a bukkit server, and just want to globally disable some feature, this is how:
Spoiler:
Bukkit Plugin to add permissions support for users using damage indicators.
Spoiler:
Old Versions to enable damage indicators on bukkit servers:
Spoiler:

Custom Skins from the Community

Painterly Style by Ivy
Spoiler:
Super Nothing Mini by FaceguyMcBadass
Spoiler:
Super Nothing by FaceguyMcBadass
Spoiler:
Cleared Golden 1.0 by vovanov2
Spoiler:
Ben10 by SelectedLime375TRANSFORMERS by SelectedLime375
Spoiler:
Skyrim style by ValeraSTK
Spoiler:
DM DokuCraft skins by DarthMisium
Spoiler:
Skin Installation:
Spoiler:
Spotlight by BebopVoxSpotlight by antvenomSpotlight by PocketIslandSpotlight by derpthadSpotlight by piedudeausSpotlight by Brinko54Outdated Spotlights.(These are all obsolete and do not represent the current state of this mod)
Spoiler:
More Reviews and Spotlights:
Spoiler:
Multilingual Reviews and Spotlights:
Spoiler:
Legal:
Spoiler:
Note to modpacks:
Spoiler:
Click here to see our donaters!

Posted Image


Register or log in to remove.

#2

UrASmurf
    UrASmurf

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 175 posts
  • Location: Look behind you :3
  • Minecraft: UrASmurf

Posted 25 October 2012 - 11:58 PM

Since there isn't any pictures, I did us all a favor with a virus scan - https://www.virustot...sis/1351209413/

Will upload pictures once I load Minecraft! Posted Image


EDIT:

As promised, here is a couple pictures! Not very good representation, since its a picture, but I am not disappointed at the mod!

Sheep!: Posted Image


Chicken!: Posted Image

Metallurgy: Putting the "Mine" back in Minecraft.

Posted Image


#3

Quincannon
  • Location: Mordor
  • Minecraft: Skylord_Macbeth

Posted 25 October 2012 - 11:58 PM

It works! If possible, could you make the numbers 3D?
Posted Image

#4

rich1051414

Posted 26 October 2012 - 12:00 AM

View PostQuincannon, on 25 October 2012 - 11:58 PM, said:

[IMG]http://i.imgur.com/JnbSw.png[/img]
It works! If possible, could you make the numbers 3D?

Hmm, i could, but that would make this little mod WAY more complicated, it is just meant as a simple 'tweak'

Posted Image


#5

rich1051414

Posted 26 October 2012 - 12:03 AM

View Postwaysidemedal, on 25 October 2012 - 11:49 PM, said:

Can you pleas add some pictures =D
LOL i was working on it, I literally just started this thread 5 minutes ago

Posted Image


#6

UrASmurf
    UrASmurf

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 175 posts
  • Location: Look behind you :3
  • Minecraft: UrASmurf

Posted 26 October 2012 - 12:05 AM

It is amazing even without 3dness. Thanks OP! :D

Metallurgy: Putting the "Mine" back in Minecraft.

Posted Image


#7

Quincannon
  • Location: Mordor
  • Minecraft: Skylord_Macbeth

Posted 26 October 2012 - 12:05 AM

View Postrich1051414, on 26 October 2012 - 12:00 AM, said:

Hmm, i could, but that would make this little mod WAY more complicated, it is just meant as a simple 'tweak'
OK. That's fine. This has definately been missing from Minecraft. :iapprove:

#8

rich1051414

Posted 26 October 2012 - 12:24 AM

Quote

It is amazing even without 3dness. Thanks OP! Posted Image

Well I kind of meant for it to be 2D floating digits, this is the style of many RPG's, so not only is it easier, it's nicer.

It is easy to do the 3D effect, but then you have to make sure they pop up facing the right direction and stay legible  but at the end of the day, the 2D version is stylistic, and easier to read and implement.

In the original version, I implemented a config file that allowed for custom colors, adjusting the transparency, size of the numbers, how high the numbers bounce, etc.

If you guys want it, I can add it again.

Posted Image


#9

Kodehawa
    Kodehawa

    Nether Resident

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 2018 posts
  • Location: Concepción - Chile
  • Minecraft: kodehawa

Posted 26 October 2012 - 12:39 AM

Its posible add to Health Bar in the top of mobs... type End Boss?


Downloading mod...
Playing osu right now~, Check new CE updated by Godshawk

Posted Image


#10

rich1051414

Posted 26 October 2012 - 12:41 AM

View PostKodehawa, on 26 October 2012 - 12:39 AM, said:

Its posible add to Health Bar in the top of mobs... type End Boss?


Downloading mod...
I might do that sometime, as a new mod, maybe implementing this one with it, if it gets any kind of support behind it. I would rather have the health bar floating over the heads however, but I think you mean as a progress bar style.

Posted Image


#11

James380
    James380

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 26 October 2012 - 12:42 AM

This looks very usefull.
In addition to the damage values comming up, is it possible to display...mm perhaps the values when minning, digging & logging?
Hopefully you can reuse your code to siplay such values. If possible.
Also good job, i can see this being used by a fair few amount of people.
:3

#12

Kodehawa
    Kodehawa

    Nether Resident

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 2018 posts
  • Location: Concepción - Chile
  • Minecraft: kodehawa

Posted 26 October 2012 - 12:45 AM

View Postrich1051414, on 26 October 2012 - 12:41 AM, said:

I might do that sometime, as a new mod, maybe implementing this one with it, if it gets any kind of support behind it. I would rather have the health bar floating over the heads however, but I think you mean as a progress bar style.

Exactily, a progress bar style :B

Hmm.. your mod looks great
Playing osu right now~, Check new CE updated by Godshawk

Posted Image


#13

rich1051414

Posted 26 October 2012 - 12:50 AM

View PostJames380, on 26 October 2012 - 12:42 AM, said:

This looks very usefull.
In addition to the damage values comming up, is it possible to display...mm perhaps the values when minning, digging & logging?
Hopefully you can reuse your code to siplay such values. If possible.
Also good job, i can see this being used by a fair few amount of people.
:3
I could add it as an option in the config when i get around to adding it back. There is only 3 lines of code that hook this effect, other than the mod backbone, my custom particle effect and texture file generator used by the custom particle effect. So yeah, it would be easy to add that.

Posted Image


#14

SteveDisbelieve

Posted 26 October 2012 - 01:00 AM

NO! Another mod I will be dependent of... But seeing how you keep your paint mod updated, I dont tink that will be a prob

#15

TigersFangs
  • Location: CyberSpace......Okay I lied....Minecraftia
  • Minecraft: TigersFangs
  • Xbox:TigersFangs

Posted 26 October 2012 - 01:08 AM

This mod is awesome! I'll have to add it to my collection when I update to 1.4.2. ;)
Posted Image

#16

rich1051414

Posted 26 October 2012 - 01:23 AM

View PostTigersFangs, on 26 October 2012 - 01:08 AM, said:

This mod is awesome! I'll have to add it to my collection when I update to 1.4.2. Posted Image
Good timing, I just added a 1.3.2 version, here.

Posted Image


#17

Torkass
    Torkass

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 106 posts
  • Location: France

Posted 26 October 2012 - 01:33 AM

Nice done ! :)

#18

rich1051414

Posted 26 October 2012 - 03:23 AM

Just a note, this mod is Client Side only, obviously. Rendering is not done server side ever anyways, however, the event_bus does not report the registered event unless the server is running the mod and knows to, so it will not work unless the server has the mod running. It's either this, or modify a base file, which I won't do for something this simple.

With that said, it probably will not do anything for other players on your server, but I am planning on adding a packet handler to send the event to all players in range of the entity, when I get around to it, so at least it will have a little SMP support.



Decidedly Impossible
The vanilla server does not give the client adequant information for this to be client side only. All damage and health information is handled server side and the client is left totally blind. Bukkit and Forge SMP compatible to make it easier, as well as not being a required mod, meaning servers can run this mod and clients are not required to have the mod. Their game experience will be completely unaffected.

Server for both client and server streamlined for lightwieght performance and bandwidth requirements, as well as using it's own data watching technique to ensure full 3rd party mod compatibility(as far as data watching is concerned). All mod mobs should work, but dynamic mobs(pixelmon) and lazily coded mobs(mods that don't set the entities max health correctly or do not name their mobs) might be missing some information.

Slimes and magma cubes also have buggy health information, but this is a vanilla bug revealed by this mod.(Has to do with dynamic health not getting updated when generating the random mob).

Posted Image


#19

damunzy
    damunzy

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 122 posts
  • Location: Jersey Shore, NJ, USA
  • Minecraft: damunzy

Posted 26 October 2012 - 04:36 AM

View Postrich1051414, on 26 October 2012 - 12:03 AM, said:

LOL i was working on it, I literally just started this thread 5 minutes ago
Some ppl just like to post first in a thread with an asinine comment.
“There are 10 types of people in the world. Those that understand binary and those that do not.” – anonymous computer geek
01100100 01100001 01101101 01110101 01101110 01111010 01111001

#20

ElectroBot4
  • Location: Canada

Posted 26 October 2012 - 04:44 AM

View Postrich1051414, on 26 October 2012 - 03:23 AM, said:

Just a note, this mod is Client Side only, obviously. Rendering is not done server side ever anyways, however, the event_bus does not report the registered event unless the server is running the mod and knows to, so it will not work unless the server has the mod running. It's either this, or modify a base file, which I won't do for something this simple.

With that said, it probably will not do anything for other players on your server, but I am planning on adding a packet handler to send the event to all players in range of the entity, when I get around to it, so at least it will have a little SMP support.

I had fun with it in SSP testing it, but it does suck that it won't work on servers without it installed.