Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

How to restore lost world!


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1

Trenchdigger

Posted 03 February 2011 - 03:16 PM

10 min ago i got bluescreen of death while playing on my world 4. When i logged in again, my world 4 was gone from mincraft menue. However its still in my file system, and i havent open world 4 yet. I know im not the first with this problem, i just wonder how all the rest that lost their world got it back.

So plz someone help me on this!

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Craigape
    Craigape

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 182 posts
  • Location: Miles below the surface.

Posted 03 February 2011 - 03:19 PM

Do not be afraid, I'm pretty sure Notch has a way to fix these if you email them to him, how you get them to him on the other hand, I do not know, other than that, I've got nothing. Hopefully this helps a bit.

#3

LanceLander
  • Location: Somewhere between Minecraft and Starcraft 2
  • Minecraft: LanceLander

Posted 03 February 2011 - 03:28 PM

During the big snowstorm yesterday, my freind lost his world three when the power went out, he made a new one entered the nether finnaly. and it was the same nether as in the old world 3 (he's a peaceful player) with his house in the nether and everything. when he left he got his old world 3, with all the diamond and stuff in his iventory from the old world. and now whenn he dies, he respawns in the new world three, and then goes through the nether to the old world. its pretty frikin awsome that he has two worlds connected to one nether in the same file. but once he goes into the nether, the only way to the new world 3 is to die. but i dont really feel bad for him, exept when he dies and cant get to his stuff fast enough you never know, you might get the same thing. ^_^

#4

Dark_One2012

Posted 03 February 2011 - 03:30 PM

To recover your old world, simply make a new world in the "empty" space where your old one was. You will have a new spawn, and your inventory will be gone, and you'll have to find your old stuff, and not all of it may be there, but you'll have your old world back!

Posted Image


#5

BlockHitter

Posted 03 February 2011 - 03:39 PM

you guys really should make a habit of backing up your save files once in a while

#6

BlockHitter

Posted 03 February 2011 - 03:40 PM

Dark_One2012 said:

To recover your old world, simply make a new world in the "empty" space where your old one was. You will have a new spawn, and your inventory will be gone, and you'll have to find your old stuff, and not all of it may be there, but you'll have your old world back!

umm... are you sure about that?

#7

Lex
    Lex

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 108 posts

Posted 03 February 2011 - 03:53 PM

BlockHitter said:

Dark_One2012 said:

To recover your old world, simply make a new world in the "empty" space where your old one was. You will have a new spawn, and your inventory will be gone, and you'll have to find your old stuff, and not all of it may be there, but you'll have your old world back!

umm... are you sure about that?

100% sure I had it a couple of times and I've been able to recover it every time. Only sometimes you can get a chunk error through your house xD

#8

apocalypse_r
  • Location: 0x00000000 (Every time you visit, a program dies.)
  • Minecraft: notch

Posted 03 February 2011 - 04:38 PM

This is the worst thread ever.

To understand why, we have to analyze the save format a bit.
The blocks are saved in a huge series of small files, organized longitudinally and latitudinally if directories in some cryptic way on the hard drive, one chunk per file.  Additionally, player position, map seed, chest contents, inventory, health, etc... are stored in a small metadata file.  Its name is level.dat, and it lives in the world folder along with all of the folders containing the chunks..

In cases when the world crashes for some reason, the metadata file can become corrupted and unreadable to minecraft.  When this happens, it will simply give up, and show the world as an empty slot.  If the computer crashes suddenly, THERE IS A GOOD CHANCE THAT THE WORLD CAN BE COMPLETELY RECOVERED IF YOU DON'T DO ANYTHING.  If you try to recreate the world, it will probably destroy any hope you have of getting the original world back.

This important metadata file, because it is so vulnerable to being corrupted by a crash, is BACKED UP AUTOMATICALLY.  The backup file is in the same folder as the normal file, and is called level.dat_old .  Restoring level.dat to this backed up version of the file MAY FIX THE WORLD.  It will probably not be up to date in terms of inventory and position, but it will restore the world as completely and properly as possible.

Creating a new world over the existing old one SHOULD BE THE LAST RESORT OPTION because if you do this, any chance of restoring the old backup is erased because the file will be overwritten when the world is generated.  Furthermore, the directory structures containing the chunks of the old level is preserved.  The result of this is that when the new world tries to generate itself, it gets mixed in with the remnants of the old one.  Once this has been done, it is not undoable.  You will probably get a bunch of chunk errors, and you WILL GET TERRAIN MISMATCHES.  

There is nothing special or supernatural about having remnants of an old world appear in a new one.  It just means you went about recovering from a crash the wrong way.

The moral of the story is to BACK UP YOUR SAVES EVERY WEEK OR SO so if an unrecoverable crash occurs, you can just revert to a previous version.

And when you do revert, DELETE THE EXISTING WORLD FOLDER OR YOU WILL EXPERIENCE THE SAME SORTS OF PROBLEMS.

#9

b_boy_212

Posted 03 February 2011 - 04:51 PM

go into your save folder there are 2 files near the bottom: level.dat and level.dat_old delete the level.dat and rename level.dat_old to level.dat

What it does is restore it to your last save
“Strange women lying in ponds distributing swords is no basis for a system of government!”

Posted Image


#10

b_boy_212

Posted 03 February 2011 - 05:11 PM

hope it works for you too
“Strange women lying in ponds distributing swords is no basis for a system of government!”

Posted Image


#11

rodabon
    rodabon

    End Dweller

  • Members
  • 7187 posts

Posted 03 February 2011 - 05:21 PM

Tagging this thread for reference if this ever happens to me.

Also Apoc I just want to say I really appreciate how you use your solid tech knowledge to help people here with their game issues.
Re: 3D Minecraft - Anyone tried it?
by c0yote  

I tried it with terrible results. I gave my wife my glasses for a second, a creeper showed up and now my wife is pregnant.
Stupid 3D..

#12

Cheker
    Cheker

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 118 posts
  • Location: Planet Calypso (Entropia is an epic win)
  • Minecraft: Cheker32

Posted 03 February 2011 - 05:25 PM

BlockHitter said:

you guys really should make a habit of backing up your save files once in a while
yeah but, waiting 7 minutes to do a copy of a save file with 44mb does suck a little....

Cheker said:

Andre your windows is XP, Vista or 7?

Andre said:

Active.


Felthat said:

Kill him and hide the corpse. You now have a free girlfriend and a new house. This plan has no downsides.

#13

Cheker
    Cheker

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 118 posts
  • Location: Planet Calypso (Entropia is an epic win)
  • Minecraft: Cheker32

Posted 03 February 2011 - 05:28 PM

apocalypse_r said:

This is the worst thread ever.

To understand why, we have to analyze the save format a bit.
The blocks are saved in a huge series of small files, organized longitudinally and latitudinally if directories in some cryptic way on the hard drive, one chunk per file.  Additionally, player position, map seed, chest contents, inventory, health, etc... are stored in a small metadata file.  Its name is level.dat, and it lives in the world folder along with all of the folders containing the chunks..

In cases when the world crashes for some reason, the metadata file can become corrupted and unreadable to minecraft.  When this happens, it will simply give up, and show the world as an empty slot.  If the computer crashes suddenly, THERE IS A GOOD CHANCE THAT THE WORLD CAN BE COMPLETELY RECOVERED IF YOU DON'T DO ANYTHING.  If you try to recreate the world, it will probably destroy any hope you have of getting the original world back.

This important metadata file, because it is so vulnerable to being corrupted by a crash, is BACKED UP AUTOMATICALLY.  The backup file is in the same folder as the normal file, and is called level.dat_old .  Restoring level.dat to this backed up version of the file MAY FIX THE WORLD.  It will probably not be up to date in terms of inventory and position, but it will restore the world as completely and properly as possible.

Creating a new world over the existing old one SHOULD BE THE LAST RESORT OPTION because if you do this, any chance of restoring the old backup is erased because the file will be overwritten when the world is generated.  Furthermore, the directory structures containing the chunks of the old level is preserved.  The result of this is that when the new world tries to generate itself, it gets mixed in with the remnants of the old one.  Once this has been done, it is not undoable.  You will probably get a bunch of chunk errors, and you WILL GET TERRAIN MISMATCHES.  

There is nothing special or supernatural about having remnants of an old world appear in a new one.  It just means you went about recovering from a crash the wrong way.

The moral of the story is to BACK UP YOUR SAVES EVERY WEEK OR SO so if an unrecoverable crash occurs, you can just revert to a previous version.

And when you do revert, DELETE THE EXISTING WORLD FOLDER OR YOU WILL EXPERIENCE THE SAME SORTS OF PROBLEMS.

bow down to this guy :SSSS:

Cheker said:

Andre your windows is XP, Vista or 7?

Andre said:

Active.


Felthat said:

Kill him and hide the corpse. You now have a free girlfriend and a new house. This plan has no downsides.

#14

rodabon
    rodabon

    End Dweller

  • Members
  • 7187 posts

Posted 03 February 2011 - 05:30 PM

Cheker said:

BlockHitter said:

you guys really should make a habit of backing up your save files once in a while
yeah but, waiting 7 minutes to do a copy of a save file with 44mb does suck a little....

If you save using a zip format it goes much faster I've heard.  Was going to try that when I backup this week.  Restoring the zip still takes a long time though.
Re: 3D Minecraft - Anyone tried it?
by c0yote  

I tried it with terrible results. I gave my wife my glasses for a second, a creeper showed up and now my wife is pregnant.
Stupid 3D..

#15

Trenchdigger

Posted 03 February 2011 - 06:14 PM

So, i finaly clicked world 4 after deleting level.dat, and renamed level.dat_old to level.dat.

To my supprise i was 20 meters away from old spawn point, and all my buildings where at my hq. I ran up the hills to look, and iv found 4 chunk errors near home. Not any big ones, but one took 4 chests with stuff in. It will take a hour to fill the chunkerrors, but thats a small price to pay.


Thx alot guys, this realy made me happy!

#16

LazyMonkey

Posted 03 February 2011 - 06:32 PM

Me said:

Hooray for being the first helpful post on this thread:

If you have Windows 7 (maybe Vista, try googling "Vista folder backups" or something.) you can go to [Username]/Appdata/roaming/.minecraft/saves then right click your world folder and go to properties, then to 'Previous Versions', choose a date from before your save was corrupted...

Voila! you've lost whatever you've built since that date but at least you haven't lost everything :iapprove:

This is now the 7th time I've posted this :iapprove:

#17

apocalypse_r
  • Location: 0x00000000 (Every time you visit, a program dies.)
  • Minecraft: notch

Posted 03 February 2011 - 07:02 PM

My 1337 w1zard h4xxery is also capable of fixing chunk errors.

I made a thread for corrupted save repair, Drop by and I'll take a look at it.

I will be unable to restore them back to the state they were in before the crash, but I will be able to revert the terrain to its original state.

#18

Trenchdigger

Posted 03 February 2011 - 07:35 PM

Thx for the advice, but chunk errors are already filled. Think they where only like 16x16x16 with alot of sandstone in it already, and i had loads of gravel to fill it with.

#19

Bijan
    Bijan

    Newly Spawned

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 March 2011 - 06:54 AM

LazyMonkey said:

Me said:

Hooray for being the first helpful post on this thread:

If you have Windows 7 (maybe Vista, try googling "Vista folder backups" or something.) you can go to [Username]/Appdata/roaming/.minecraft/saves then right click your world folder and go to properties, then to 'Previous Versions', choose a date from before your save was corrupted...

Voila! you've lost whatever you've built since that date but at least you haven't lost everything :Notch:

This is now the 7th time I've posted this :iapprove:

I did everything you said except I couldn't find the "Previous Versions" on the properties of my "World2" file.