Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Custom MCPE Map Generator

map generator mcpe custom

  • Please log in to reply
69 replies to this topic

#1

Jocopa3
    Jocopa3

    Diamond Miner

  • Members
  • 711 posts
  • Location: Earth

Posted 15 October 2012 - 06:33 AM

Are you tired of MCPE's boring old maps with little difference to each one? Want something radically new and amazing? That's why I'm working on MCPEGen, a custom map generator for MCPE. MCPE uses a bad and boring Perlin noise generator that is hardly CPU efficient and barely considered cool, MCPEGen uses a Simplex Noise generator and creates amazing maps every time with high CPU efficiency!

What it does do:
  • Generate maps independently
  • Generate caves
  • Generates oceans
  • Added ores
  • Generates 4 types of terrains (hollow mountain, cliffs, floating rock, abstract universe)
  • Allows for different seeds to generate the same/different terrains
  • Saves maps to pocket edition format
What it doesn't do:
  • Use any other program to generate the map
So far, the map saves the blocks right, but the dirty columns are messed up somehow. I have to use MCedit to view the maps really, since MCPE doesn't like the dirty columns at all.

The program:
Posted Image

Generator Type: the type of generator
Generator Options: options for the generator type selected (will add more in the future)
Options: extra's to add
Generate: button to start generating the file

Land: generate land, if disabled, the generator you selected won't generate land
Seed: the seed of the world, MUST BE A NUMBER

Oceans: add oceans to the world
Sea level: the height of the water from the void
Floor level: the height of the floor from the void

Grass: add grass and dirt to the world
Grass Height: how tall each stack of grass and dirt is

Ores: add ores to the map

Caves: add caves to the map
Lava Level: how high from the void lava should generate in caves
Threshold: how wide the caves are in a decimal number, the larger the decimal the wider the caves
Frequency: how frequent the caves are, can have a decimal

Bedrock: add bedrock to the bottom of the map
Bedrock Level: how high the bedrock should be from the void

IN ORDER FOR THE PROGRAM TO WORK, CHANGE THE GROUP AND OWNER OF THE FILE TO MOBILE USING IFILE OR ANY OTHER PROGRAM!!!

Screenshots:
Spoiler:

To do:
  • Fix lighting algorithm
  • Fix saves
  • Add trees
  • Add biomes
Might not seem like it does a lot right now, but to be able to create and save MCPE maps from scratch is amazing in the programming world.

Download

Did you know I make music? Just click my logo to listen to my awesome Electronic beats!

Posted Image


Register or log in to remove.

#2

500 Internal Server Error
  • Location: Test.neverCallThis() (Test.java:42)
  • Minecraft: zhuowei

Posted 15 October 2012 - 06:37 AM

View PostJocopa3, on 15 October 2012 - 06:33 AM, said:

Release date: whenever I fix dirty column stuff.
I think MCEdit just sets the entire chunk's dirty column to dirty if the chunk is modified: https://github.com/m...level/issues/61

That looks pretty awesome; can't wait to see this in action.

#3

Junyi00
    Junyi00

    Obsidian Miner

  • Members
  • 1332 posts

Posted 15 October 2012 - 06:41 AM

Amazing find! :D
The simplex generator seems awesome enough :P
The complex one is so much more awesome! :D
I didn't believe that mcpe mods would come so far in such a small amount of time
Posted Image

#4

Jocopa3
    Jocopa3

    Diamond Miner

  • Members
  • 711 posts
  • Location: Earth

Posted 15 October 2012 - 06:43 AM

View Post500 Internal Server Error, on 15 October 2012 - 06:37 AM, said:

I think MCEdit just sets the entire chunk's dirty column to dirty if the chunk is modified: https://github.com/m...level/issues/61

That looks pretty awesome; can't wait to see this in action.
I tried that too, the dirty columns in my map are in the right spot according to comparisons with MCedit saves, but not even MCedit maps work with MCPE anymore. Not sure if it's me or MCPE that is acting strange, and I don't want to pester codewarrior and the other project managers, but I think  MCedit is out of date for MCPE world saves.


View PostJunyi00, on 15 October 2012 - 06:41 AM, said:

Amazing find! Posted Image
The simplex generator seems awesome enough Posted Image
The complex one is so much more awesome! Posted Image
I didn't believe that mcpe mods would come so far in such a small amount of time
I'ts not a mod, it's a computer program.

Did you know I make music? Just click my logo to listen to my awesome Electronic beats!

Posted Image


#5

500 Internal Server Error
  • Location: Test.neverCallThis() (Test.java:42)
  • Minecraft: zhuowei

Posted 15 October 2012 - 06:45 AM

View PostJocopa3, on 15 October 2012 - 06:43 AM, said:


I tried that too, the dirty columns in my map are in the right spot according to comparisons with MCedit saves, but not even MCedit maps work with MCPE anymore. Not sure if it's me or MCPE that is acting strange, and I don't want to pester codewarrior and the other project managers, but I think  MCedit is out of date for MCPE world saves.
What happens when you try to view a map in Minecraft PE? Does it freeze or crash or...

#6

Jocopa3
    Jocopa3

    Diamond Miner

  • Members
  • 711 posts
  • Location: Earth

Posted 15 October 2012 - 06:52 AM

View Post500 Internal Server Error, on 15 October 2012 - 06:45 AM, said:

What happens when you try to view a map in Minecraft PE? Does it freeze or crash or...
It loads the world, but instead of seeing the edits from MCedit or the maps I generate, I see a regular world that is the same as the seed in the level.dat. It's like MCPE is ignoring the dirty columns (and no mods are activated to clear up that potential issue).

Did you know I make music? Just click my logo to listen to my awesome Electronic beats!

Posted Image


#7

500 Internal Server Error
  • Location: Test.neverCallThis() (Test.java:42)
  • Minecraft: zhuowei

Posted 15 October 2012 - 06:56 AM

View PostJocopa3, on 15 October 2012 - 06:52 AM, said:

It loads the world, but instead of seeing the edits from MCedit or the maps I generate, I see a regular world that is the same as the seed in the level.dat. It's like MCPE is ignoring the dirty columns (and no mods are activated to clear up that potential issue).
Which version of MCEdit are you using? Maybe try a newer version? (You probably know way more about this than I do, of course)

#8

PixelDrum
    PixelDrum

    Portal Expert

  • Retired Staff
  • 5227 posts
  • Minecraft: PixelDrum

Posted 15 October 2012 - 07:09 AM

This looks like its going to turn out brilliantly! Good work Jocopa3.


#9

Jocopa3
    Jocopa3

    Diamond Miner

  • Members
  • 711 posts
  • Location: Earth

Posted 15 October 2012 - 07:16 AM

View Post500 Internal Server Error, on 15 October 2012 - 06:56 AM, said:

Which version of MCEdit are you using? Maybe try a newer version?
0.1.3, and I'm as clueless as you are about this. It's a strange mishap...

View PostPixelDrum, on 15 October 2012 - 07:09 AM, said:

This looks like its going to turn out brilliantly! Good work Jocopa3.
Thanks!

Did you know I make music? Just click my logo to listen to my awesome Electronic beats!

Posted Image


#10

Sirius
    Sirius

    Obsidian Miner

  • Retired Staff
  • 1390 posts
  • Location: The 16th dimensional plane
  • Minecraft: Seri_us
  • Xbox:Siri0usly

Posted 15 October 2012 - 07:35 AM

This... Is amazing.

I hope it works out, it'd be a phenomenal step in MCPE.

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#11

Jocopa3
    Jocopa3

    Diamond Miner

  • Members
  • 711 posts
  • Location: Earth

Posted 17 October 2012 - 12:13 AM

Added loads of new stuff and even new terrain types. Caves are updated to have lava if you get far enough down. Still looking for a solution to the saving issues, looked at everything and still found nothing.

Did you know I make music? Just click my logo to listen to my awesome Electronic beats!

Posted Image


#12

Micropie
    Micropie

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1093 posts
  • Location: I just woke up in a world of blocks!
  • Minecraft: Scattar

Posted 17 October 2012 - 06:58 AM

So much for using this on my computer. Looks amazing though!
Posted Image

#13

Jocopa3
    Jocopa3

    Diamond Miner

  • Members
  • 711 posts
  • Location: Earth

Posted 17 October 2012 - 08:18 AM

I'll release a map I got working. It's not the best map, but it's the only one I got to work. I had to use MCedit and import it into another working MCPE world.

Hollow Moutain

Sorry if ores are scattered around (diamond can be found anywhere), I made this before I did any major improvements to the program (such as ores spawn in correct places, oceans, etc).

Screenshots:
Spoiler:

I'll give anyone the beta version of the generator (working or not) if you can record yourself climbing this, from bottom to top, in survival, without adding or removing blocks from the map (I'll be tracing your steps to make sure of that, so don't cheat). Only place you can add a block is at the very top where there is a ring separating the cap of the mountain from the base, you can only place one block.

Did you know I make music? Just click my logo to listen to my awesome Electronic beats!

Posted Image


#14

PixelDrum
    PixelDrum

    Portal Expert

  • Retired Staff
  • 5227 posts
  • Minecraft: PixelDrum

Posted 17 October 2012 - 09:38 AM

View PostJocopa3, on 17 October 2012 - 08:18 AM, said:

I'll give anyone the beta version of the generator (working or not) if you can record yourself climbing this, from bottom to top, in survival, without adding or removing blocks from the map (I'll be tracing your steps to make sure of that, so don't cheat). Only place you can add a block is at the very top where there is a ring separating the cap of the mountain from the base, you can only place one block.
Challenge accepted! Will post a video soon.


#15

ProdigiousGawd

Posted 17 October 2012 - 11:07 AM

View PostPixelDrum, on 17 October 2012 - 09:38 AM, said:

Challenge accepted! Will post a video soon.
Good Luck!
Posted Image
                (+.[___].:) Supporter of Minecraft for the PS Vita (+.[___].:)

#16

Junyi00
    Junyi00

    Obsidian Miner

  • Members
  • 1332 posts

Posted 17 October 2012 - 12:15 PM

View PostJocopa3, on 17 October 2012 - 08:18 AM, said:

I'll release a map I got working. It's not the best map, but it's the only one I got to work. I had to use MCedit and import it into another working MCPE world.

Hollow Moutain

Sorry if ores are scattered around (diamond can be found anywhere), I made this before I did any major improvements to the program (such as ores spawn in correct places, oceans, etc).

Screenshots:
Spoiler:

I'll give anyone the beta version of the generator (working or not) if you can record yourself climbing this, from bottom to top, in survival, without adding or removing blocks from the map (I'll be tracing your steps to make sure of that, so don't cheat). Only place you can add a block is at the very top where there is a ring separating the cap of the mountain from the base, you can only place one block.
Okay....
I entered the world and..... stuck? one lava and nothing else?
I can't climb or anything....

EDIT: i decided to switch back to creative and dig...
          Now i noticed i'm in a normal generated map, not a hollow mountain at all....
          Gonna try changing file permission
Posted Image

#17

SHiftER2O
    SHiftER2O

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 908 posts
  • Location: Somewhere probably

Posted 17 October 2012 - 12:19 PM

This is SOME stuff here, Needs a +1
Posted Image

#18

PixelDrum
    PixelDrum

    Portal Expert

  • Retired Staff
  • 5227 posts
  • Minecraft: PixelDrum

Posted 17 October 2012 - 01:05 PM

Okay, I have completed the challenge :D



It did take a fair bit of time, but I made it ^_^


#19

Chad
    Chad

    Obsidian Miner

  • Retired Staff
  • 1332 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 17 October 2012 - 02:08 PM

Wow this program looks very neat.  I would accept your climbing challenge but I can't record video on my tab. :(

Be sure and quote my post so I know to reply!


Forum Rules


#20

C0deH4cker
  • Location: /dev/kmem
  • Minecraft: C0deH4cker

Posted 17 October 2012 - 02:36 PM

View PostPixelDrum, on 17 October 2012 - 01:05 PM, said:

Okay, I have completed the challenge Posted Image



It did take a fair bit of time, but I made it Posted Image
Lol, I got up the mountain in 1:33 :P
Didn't think we were supposed to post the video publicly though, as that kind of defeats the purpose of a challenge. I PMed him when I beat it.


Check out my iOS Mods!