Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Newb question - how to save a server world


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1

Skystriker

Posted 02 February 2011 - 10:22 AM

Hello,

My friend and I are playing our first game on my server. I wanted to know how to save our work so that it is not lost when I turn off my computer. Thank you!

Register or log in to remove.

#2

ColorWars

Posted 02 February 2011 - 10:24 AM

It's automatically saved me thinks.

#3

DimMyXx
    DimMyXx

    Gold Miner

  • Members
  • 360 posts
  • Location: Gensokyo
  • Minecraft: DimMyXx

Posted 02 February 2011 - 10:27 AM

You make regular backup of the world folder your server is playing on

To make a backup,
1. find the world folder (default is world1)
2. Copy it and paste it somewhere you think you're gonna remember where it is.

It's been a while. Take a seat.


#4

Inconspicularity
  • Location: Hell

Posted 02 February 2011 - 10:46 AM

Use "stop" when you want to stop the server, it will save the world and prevent the world from getting corrupted.

It's like turn off power vs. switch of properly. The first is faster but damages your computer.
I'm not officially on these forums anymore, as I've quit to the new forums. If you see me online here, it's because I'm inviting people.

No you can't join, stop asking.

#5

prentle
    prentle

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 137 posts

Posted 02 February 2011 - 01:32 PM

I just type:

save-all

in the server console, this forces a save as though save&exiting from SSP.

#6

Coblam
    Coblam

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 April 2014 - 06:28 AM

can you save your world and a different save folder and be able to reset your server to do other things and be able to access the world to work? I am going to start a server and want to just make sure.


#7

GravityVSGaming

Posted 21 April 2014 - 06:51 AM

It saves automatically.

#8

touristterrist
  • Location: CyberVille
  • Minecraft: touristterrist

Posted 21 April 2014 - 07:07 AM

If you're using Bukkit, it should save automatically save, same with the vanilla server, just make sure to type in stop in case of accidents happening. Cause if you turn off your console, it'll not shut it down but run it in the background, also it'll corrupt your world and etc... when you shut down your machine, just make sure to type in stop :)
To get your very own Avatar, check this fine fellow out, Avatars

Posted Image