Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

I need help with "You don't have permission...." error


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
9 replies to this topic

#1

Etera
    Etera

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 03 October 2012 - 05:32 PM

When people join my server, they are unable to interact with the environment (this includes me).  The only way to interact is if I 'op' them, and I do not want everyone running around as operators.
I am currently running Bukkit and have the following plugins:
Permissionspex v1.19.3
WorldEdit v5.4.2
ChatManager v1.19.1
Modifyworld v1.19.3
Essentials v2.9.4
EssentialsChat
EssentialsProtect
EssentialsSpawn
EssentialsAntiBuild

Before posting info, I should note that this same problem occured BEFORE I installed any of those plugins, so I am not sure if this is a plugin problem, or something else.

Here is my permissionspex yml: (I have run this through the online yml checker)

groups:
  default:
default: true
options:
  rank: '1000'
permissions:
- modifyworld.chat
  Member:
prefix: '&0(&8M&7ember&0)&7 '
permissions:
- modifyworld.*
options:
  rank: '900'
  VIP:
prefix: '&0(&eVIP&0)&7 '
permissions:
- -modifyworld.mobtarget.monster.creeper
- modifyworld.*
options:
  rank: '800'
  Moderator:
prefix: '&0(&1Moderator&0)&7 '
permissions:
- -modifyworld.mobtarget.*
- modifyworld.*
options:
  rank: '100'
  Admins:
prefix: '&0(&4Admins&0)&7 '
permissions:
- -modifyworld.mobtarget.*
- modifyworld.*
- permissions.*
options:
  rank: '1'
users:
  N_Mennenoh:
group:
- Member
  Etera:
group:
- Admins



My server debug log displays this when trying to break a block:
[INFO] User Etera checked for "modifyworld.blocks.interact.sandstone","modifyworld.*" found
[INFO] User Etera checked for "*", no permission found.

My game window, however, displays this:
You are not permitted to interact with SANDSTONE

My server debug log displays this when trying to use a pressure plate:
[INFO] User Etera checked for "modifyworld.blocks.interact.woodplate","modifyworld.*" found

My game window, however, displays this:
You are not permitted to interact with WOOD_PLATE


Just in case you need it I am also providing my server properties and modifyworld yml.

Modifyyworld.yml  (I didn't bother posting all the 'messages')
enable: true
item-restrictions: false
inform-players: true
whitelist: false
use-material-names: true
drop-restricted-item: false
item-use-check: false

Server Properties:
#Minecraft server properties
#Wed Oct 03 11:51:53 CDT 2012
allow-nether=true
level-name=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
enable-query=false
allow-flight=false
server-port=xxxxx
level-type=DEFAULT
enable-rcon=false
level-seed=
server-ip=x.xxx.xx.xx
max-build-height=256
spawn-npcs=true
white-list=false
spawn-animals=true
snooper-enabled=true
hardcore=false
texture-pack=
online-mode=true
pvp=true
difficulty=1
gamemode=0
max-players=20
spawn-monsters=true
view-distance=10
generate-structures=true
motd=A Minecraft Server


I am at a dead end and would appreciate any advice/help on how to fix this problem.
Thank you in advance.

Register or log in to remove.

#2

NorthAntrim
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 03 October 2012 - 05:40 PM

Could you please post the permissions file to Pastebin so we can see if it's an indentation error? We can't see them here in the form unless you use the
[code][/code]
tags as the extra spaces are removed.

PLEASE "Posted Image" WHEN REPLYING TO ME • USEFUL LINKS AND INFO:

Rules | Support | Minecraft Servers Status | MCF Help | Mojang Support Center

Posted Image


#3

Etera
    Etera

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 03 October 2012 - 06:04 PM

http://pastebin.com/QGTPgGep

#4

matt9522
    matt9522

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania USA
  • Minecraft: matt9522

Posted 03 October 2012 - 06:05 PM

I was having the same problem, and I have found that your problem lies with Essentials AntiBuild. It's a new addition to the essentials zip package. Essentially, it's essentials version of Modifyworld. AntiBuild is completely optional, and to fix your problem, just delete the jar file. It won't affect your server if you have modifyworld enabled.

P.S. Your indentation on the YAML is perfectly fine.

Also, if you WANT to keep the AntiBuild.jar, feel free to try and find the permissions nodes online somewhere.

#5

Etera
    Etera

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 03 October 2012 - 06:16 PM

It works!  Thank you!  I spent days pouring over help files to figure this out and came up with nothing.  As I was typing my plugins into this thread I did a double take at the AntiBuild, and come to find out it was the problem.

Again, thank you for your help and your quick responses!

#6

matt9522
    matt9522

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania USA
  • Minecraft: matt9522

Posted 03 October 2012 - 06:21 PM

You're quite welcome! I'm glad I could help :D

#7

NorthAntrim
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 03 October 2012 - 06:47 PM

View Postmatt9522, on 03 October 2012 - 06:05 PM, said:

I was having the same problem, and I have found that your problem lies with Essentials AntiBuild. It's a new addition to the essentials zip package. Essentially, it's essentials version of Modifyworld. AntiBuild is completely optional, and to fix your problem, just delete the jar file. It won't affect your server if you have modifyworld enabled.

P.S. Your indentation on the YAML is perfectly fine.

Also, if you WANT to keep the AntiBuild.jar, feel free to try and find the permissions nodes online somewhere.

I wasn't aware of Essentials anti-build. Thanks though, I'll know to look out for this when helping people in the future.

PLEASE "Posted Image" WHEN REPLYING TO ME • USEFUL LINKS AND INFO:

Rules | Support | Minecraft Servers Status | MCF Help | Mojang Support Center

Posted Image


#8

Dirtbikes95

Posted 03 March 2013 - 02:40 AM

Well I did delete the ANTI Build except now whenever I try to destroy outside of my spawn the block just spawns back I don't know whats up

#9

Dirtbikes95

Posted 03 March 2013 - 02:48 AM

I deleted the Anti builds.jar and that's it and i'm having the same problem the block keeps reappearing is there another AntiBuild file I don't know about?

#10

Rmarmorstein
  • Location: New Hampshire
  • Minecraft: Rmarmorstein
  • Xbox:DSyR x River
  • PSN:eliteriver

Posted 03 March 2013 - 06:33 AM

this is from a long time ago, and Permissions Related issues now belong in the Permissions Workshop thread.

Locked.

Please Quote me If you are Expecting a Reply!

Rmarmorstein | Retired Staff  | Check out my Server Ghost-Realms!

Follow me: @Rmarmorstein