• Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Ars Magica v5.52.014 (Updated August 2) (1.5.2)

open beta ars magica magical arts magic arts magic mod wizard spell spellcraft

• Please log in to reply
6732 replies to this topic

Kereminde

Posted 30 November 2012 - 10:16 PM

I'd suggest finding the Ars Magica RPG rules but I think it might be a thorny idea if the stuff was read and somehow leaked into the mod . . . I'm not a lawyer so I don't know if legal issues would arise. (The 4th Edition main book is available free, though.) But the interesting thing is that there's parallels without necessarily meaning there is a translation.

I've said my piece on this before, but one thought ran through my head as I have been toying with "MystCraft" . . . do these two mods have compatability? Or rather, will they once Ars Magica for 1.4.5 is finished?

Register or log in to remove.

Kereminde

Posted 30 November 2012 - 10:29 PM

View PostPetator, on 30 November 2012 - 10:13 PM, said:

Agreed. It would be nice if TC3 and AM could be designed to work well together, in the same way as many tech mods.

Here are a few suggestions for some improvements and new mechanics, largely with regards to spellcasting:

1) Spell-specific inventory and improved casting. I can imagine having a number of different spells could clutter your inventory quite a bit. In addition, I feel that casting spells through items is clunky and bukkit-ish. It would definitely take some additional work, maybe a lot of additional work, but I believe the following system will improve the spellcasting aspect of this mod:
  • Spells are permanent once learned. Icons for these spells are stored to the right of your inventory, to be dropped into your hotbar. These spell "items" are given more recognizable icons (ie minus the scroll) and cannot be placed in your inventory.