Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Making a mcmod.info file


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1

BEASTpoint2
  • Location: In my chair
  • Minecraft: BEASTpoint2
  • Xbox:BEASTpoint2

Posted 02 September 2012 - 08:30 PM

I am making my mod Blox+ using forge and am wanting to make a mcmod.info file. Does anyone know how, and would care to help me out. Thanks. :)

Posted Image


Register or log in to remove.

#2

dmillerw
    dmillerw

    Nether Resident

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 2160 posts
  • Minecraft: dmillerw

Posted 02 September 2012 - 09:02 PM

[
{
  "modid": "mod_BuildCraftCore",
  "name": "BuildCraft 3",
  "description": "Extending Minecraft with pipes, auto-crafting, quarries, engines and much more!",
  "version": "",
  "credits": "Created by SpaceToad",
  "logoFile": "/gfx/buildcraft/logo.png",
  "mcversion": "",
  "url": "http://www.mod-buildcraft.com/",
  "updateUrl": "",
  "authors": [ "SpaceToad", "Krapht", "SirSengir", "Others" ],
  "parent":"",
  "screenshots": [],
  "dependencies": [
	 "mod_MinecraftForge"
]
}


#3

GiggleSquid
  • Location: Kent, UK
  • Minecraft: GiggleSquid

Posted 03 September 2012 - 03:23 PM

View Postdmillerw, on 02 September 2012 - 09:02 PM, said:

[
{
"modid": "mod_BuildCraftCore",
"name": "BuildCraft 3",
"description": "Extending Minecraft with pipes, auto-crafting, quarries, engines and much more!",
"version": "",
"credits": "Created by SpaceToad",
"logoFile": "/gfx/buildcraft/logo.png",
"mcversion": "",
"url": "http://www.mod-buildcraft.com/",
"updateUrl": "",
"authors": [ "SpaceToad", "Krapht", "SirSengir", "Others" ],
"parent":"",
"screenshots": [],
"dependencies": [
	 "mod_MinecraftForge"
]
}

Where exactly would Iput this?
Posted Image

#4

Saphirian
  • Location: Germany

Posted 03 September 2012 - 03:47 PM

If you are using eclipse, right click the Minecraft project, click on new file and use mcmod.info as the name. If not, just put it in the minecraft.jar/the mod zip-file.

#5

Dragonphly77
  • Minecraft: b0mbshellAntics

Posted 03 September 2012 - 03:54 PM

View PostGiggleSquid, on 03 September 2012 - 03:23 PM, said:

Where exactly would Iput this?

Well, I ran it through a JSON parser, and it actually looks like this.


[
{
"modid": "mod_BuildCraftCore",
"name": "BuildCraft 3",
"description": "Extending Minecraft with pipes, auto-crafting, quarries, engines and much more!",
"version": "",
"credits": "Created by SpaceToad",
"logoFile": "/gfx/buildcraft/logo.png",
"mcversion": "",
"url": "http://www.mod-buildcraft.com/",
"updateUrl": "",
"authors": [ "SpaceToad", "Krapht", "SirSengir", "Others" ],
"parent":"",
"screenshots": [],
"dependencies": [
"mod_MinecraftForge"
]
}
]

That one was missing a bracket.
You put this in a mcmod.info file, then package the rest of your mod's classes in a zip/jar (not sure how you ship it as a jar) and it'll allow your mod to, well, load, basically.
When life gives you a potato, wonder why the heck life just gave you a potato. Why not something else? Like money? Or a combustable lemon? No, you get a potato. Nothing else.

#6

GiggleSquid
  • Location: Kent, UK
  • Minecraft: GiggleSquid

Posted 03 September 2012 - 04:10 PM

kind of really changing the subject but my mod is in its own package and the mcmod.info file is in there but nothing is changing in the mod section in minecraft
Posted Image

#7

navybofus
  • Minecraft: navybofus

Posted 09 September 2012 - 04:12 PM

Thanks! This helped me too!

Posted Image


#8

SpitefulFox
  • Location: California
  • Minecraft: SpitefulFox

Posted 09 September 2012 - 07:42 PM

The mcmod.info shouldn't be in a package folder.  It should be in the base folder of your zip/jar/whatever.  Like, when you first open the file up in 7zip, you should see the file right there.

#9

creepswarrior13
  • Location: Creeper Apocalyptia
  • Minecraft: creepswarrior13

Posted 12 November 2012 - 04:40 AM

Would this work for modloader? So I could make it have a description in forge but I don't want to code in forge yet. I'm to lazy to learn forge mod coding

View PostSaphirian, on 03 September 2012 - 03:47 PM, said:

If you are using eclipse, right click the Minecraft project, click on new file and use mcmod.info as the name. If not, just put it in the minecraft.jar/the mod zip-file.
What if we are using eclipse?
Posted Image
I eat creepers for breakfast, lunch, dinner and I have it bacon style!

#10

Anglican
  • Location: Idling at the DecoMod thread.
  • Minecraft: Anglican

Posted 20 December 2012 - 03:07 AM

View Postcreepswarrior13, on 12 November 2012 - 04:40 AM, said:

Would this work for modloader? So I could make it have a description in forge but I don't want to code in forge yet. I'm to lazy to learn forge mod coding

View PostSaphirian, on 03 September 2012 - 03:47 PM, said:

If you are using eclipse, right click the Minecraft project, click on new file and use mcmod.info as the name. If not, just put it in the minecraft.jar/the mod zip-file.
What if we are using eclipse?

Posted Image

#11

MinerTrog909
  • Location: Deep in a cave, rapidly slapping a keyboard
  • Minecraft: MinerTrog99
  • Xbox:No xbox, srry :(

Posted 27 March 2013 - 12:19 PM

Yeah, I'm making a new Mod called  the Bronze Mod. And I can't figure out  how to add an mcmod.info file either!!! :-)
Posted Image
Yup, I'm an Age Craft dev, check out the mod!

#12

MOMOTHEREAL
  • Minecraft: MOMOTHEREAL

Posted 30 March 2013 - 10:21 PM

Can I make a single mcmod.info file for multiple mods? If yes, then how?
Posted Image

#13

Royal121516
  • Location: Somewhere on the Grid
  • Minecraft: 121516

Posted 19 May 2013 - 07:36 PM

My MCMod.info file is correct, but my mod isn't applying the file in the mods tab of mc. how do i make it work?
Posted Image
Check out my Mods! TGame's Death Sticks|| TGame's Currency(W.I.P)

#14

MitchellbrineTheCreator
  • Location: USA
  • Minecraft: Mitchellbrine

Posted 25 May 2013 - 11:01 PM

I figured it out for Eclipse. You put it in your src\Minecraft folder in your mod folder. For example, if you named your mod folder "MCMOD TEST," the folder directory would be: MCMOD TEST\src\Minecraft to put your mcmod.info in. I hope that explains it all.
-Mitchellbrine

#15

eareos
    eareos

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 34 posts
  • Minecraft: eareos

Posted 13 June 2013 - 07:36 AM

Thanks Guys! That Helps SO much! For My Mod!
Posted Image

#16

JapangaTextures
  • Location: In ur base killing ur n00bs
  • Minecraft: CHARGERWAYZIE
  • Xbox:CHARGERWAYZIE

Posted 14 June 2013 - 05:24 PM

View Postdmillerw, on 02 September 2012 - 09:02 PM, said:

[
{
"modid": "mod_BuildCraftCore",
"name": "BuildCraft 3",
"description": "Extending Minecraft with pipes, auto-crafting, quarries, engines and much more!",
"version": "",
"credits": "Created by SpaceToad",
"logoFile": "/gfx/buildcraft/logo.png",
"mcversion": "",
"url": "http://www.mod-buildcraft.com/",
"updateUrl": "",
"authors": [ "SpaceToad", "Krapht", "SirSengir", "Others" ],
"parent":"",
"screenshots": [],
"dependencies": [
	 "mod_MinecraftForge"
]
}

Works.
I make mods for minecraft. And from time to time join some people's Dev Teams.

#17

BaconMan74
  • Minecraft: legodude74

Posted 15 July 2013 - 07:59 PM

View PostRoyal121516, on 19 May 2013 - 07:36 PM, said:

My MCMod.info file is correct, but my mod isn't applying the file in the mods tab of mc. how do i make it work?
get rid of the caps Posted Image
Posted Image

#18

Kal_Goku
    Kal_Goku

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 09 August 2013 - 09:06 PM

Thanks this helped

#19

NatPat3L
  • Location: The Nether, Riding a Ghast
  • Minecraft: NatPat3l
  • Xbox:NATHANVJPATEL

Posted 21 August 2013 - 02:48 PM

The mcmod.info file should be in the actual zip file. Not under anything. Don't put it in any folders.
Posted Image

#20

MotorisedEditor
  • Location: In a galaxy far far away from here...
  • Minecraft: MotorisedEditor

Posted 26 August 2013 - 03:37 PM

View PostMitchellbrineTheCreator, on 25 May 2013 - 11:01 PM, said:

I figured it out for Eclipse. You put it in your src\Minecraft folder in your mod folder. For example, if you named your mod folder "MCMOD TEST," the folder directory would be: MCMOD TEST\src\Minecraft to put your mcmod.info in. I hope that explains it all.
Thanx man!! =D
It worked for me.