• Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[1.5] [WIP (again)] Deverion's Forge Modding Tutorials [Updated 16-03-2013] [1.5 Tutorials: 1!]

modding minecraftforge tutorial smp

• Please log in to reply
845 replies to this topic

DeverionX
  • Minecraft: DeverionZ

Posted 27 August 2012 - 05:42 PM

POPULAR

Deverion's Forge
Modding Tutorials:

Hey everyone, I just wanted to make this thread to help people with making mods Posted Image Enjoy these tuts and give feedback, they should be able to take you from the basics to some fairly advanced work.

PLEASE: Make sure you have at least a basic java knowledge before beginning on minecraft modding, you'll just get confused and find it hard to make interesting content. I recommend TheNewBoston, yes, it is a lot of tutorials, but he is a VERY good teacher Posted Image

To see the code used for this tutorial, visit the github, and also, don't try to change stuff, I'm a major github noob and I'll probably freak out xD

I'm not just going to solve any problems you give me, if you have a legitimate problem, ask around elsewhere on the forums, I'm not here to write your mod for you. Note that you can also ask for help at the forge forums, the community over there is cool. I will, btw, help with requests for how to add content, suggestions for tutorials, and things I should add to my tutorials.

Required programs: Content:

1.5:
  • Setting up mcp
1.4.7:
  • Setting up your mod
  • Creating your first basic item
  • Creating items with metadata
  • Recipes, smelting and custom fuel
  • Custom creative mode tabs
  • Creating your first basic block
  • Creating blocks with metadata
  • Ore generation
  • Updating past 1.4.5
  • Special item effects
  • Using the ore dictionary
  • Distributing your mod! (Make sure you have a config first)
  • Using metadata items for tab icon
  • Using the ore dictionary pt.2
  • Updating to 1.4.7
  • Using the ore dictionary pt.3