Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

technic how do i power a quarry with an MFE


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1

fspsyco
    fspsyco

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 604 posts
  • Location: Tacoma, WA
  • Minecraft: fspsyco
  • Xbox:fs psyco

Posted 21 August 2012 - 03:21 PM

i have been playing technic for a bit now and i've been picking it up along the way and i reasenly found out you can power a quarry with electricity from a mfe or something like that where you don't have to power it with engines. im trying to power it that way but i need help can some one give me a tutorial please or if im chaceing after dust in the wind
No matter how right you think you are there will always be some one standing by to correct you.

Register or log in to remove.

#2

dmillerw
    dmillerw

    Nether Resident

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 2160 posts
  • Minecraft: dmillerw

Posted 21 August 2012 - 05:27 PM

The MFE is an IC2 item, whereas the quarry is a BC item. They both use different kinds of power, so you can't directly hook up a MFE to a quarry. You can however hook it up to an Electric Engine, then hook that up to the quarry.

#3

Biggerb1
    Biggerb1

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 12 posts
  • Location: Cave #227, Afghanistan
  • Minecraft: biggerB1

Posted 21 August 2012 - 05:31 PM

I don't know about technic, but tekkit has something called an energy link, which allows you to convert IC2 power to BC power. Just place it next to the quarry, and then connect the energy link to your MFE. (I'm not sure if it works with and MFE but it does work with a batbox)
Posted Image

#4

fspsyco
    fspsyco

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 604 posts
  • Location: Tacoma, WA
  • Minecraft: fspsyco
  • Xbox:fs psyco

Posted 21 August 2012 - 07:04 PM

hmm i'll try the bat box
No matter how right you think you are there will always be some one standing by to correct you.

#5

The_Librarian

Posted 21 August 2012 - 07:25 PM

Energy Link is from the Power Converters mod (1.2.5 version here), which is included with the latest Tekkit and Technic (IIRC) bundles since Forestry is no longer included at the author's request.

An Energy Link can accept low, medium, or high voltage, so an MFE can power it just fine. You'll need to either put the Energy Link adjacent to the quarry, or since it's a fairly expensive item to build, connect a wood conductive pipe to the Energy Link and then connect gold conductive pipes from that to multiple quarries and/or other BuildCraft items that need power.

Note that Energy Link, like the electric engine before it, converts EU to MJ indiscriminately so long as it's connected to conductive pipes, so you'll probably end up wasting a lot of power if you're just running one quarry.

I just finished setting up a pair of 64x64 quarries and found that once the frame was built, I could keep them running at near-full-speed by putting down a Redpower timer set for 10 seconds, connected to a not gate that faces the Energy Link. Since the EL shuts off when redstone current is applied, this results in the Energy Link "waking up" for a quick pulse every 10 seconds, which seems to be enough juice to keep both quarries going nonstop. I estimate this setup only uses 1/3 of the power that the direct connection did.

#6

fspsyco
    fspsyco

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 604 posts
  • Location: Tacoma, WA
  • Minecraft: fspsyco
  • Xbox:fs psyco

Posted 21 August 2012 - 07:41 PM

hey i just made 3 fast electric engines would that work because i have 2 batboxes hooked up to 2 Mfe's and those hooked up to a thermal generator all i have to do is hook the bat boxes up to the engines im wondering if this will work i'll upload some pics so you guys can understand better.
No matter how right you think you are there will always be some one standing by to correct you.

#7

fspsyco
    fspsyco

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 604 posts
  • Location: Tacoma, WA
  • Minecraft: fspsyco
  • Xbox:fs psyco

Posted 21 August 2012 - 07:50 PM

[IMG]http://i1116.photobu...8-21_124205.png[/img]so will this set up work or notPosted ImagePosted Image
No matter how right you think you are there will always be some one standing by to correct you.

#8

The_Librarian

Posted 21 August 2012 - 07:53 PM

Yes, if your version of Technic still has Electric Engines, they should work fine. Energy Links tick a lot faster and can dump much more power into BC (could be both good and bad), but quarries actually don't require nearly as much MJ/s as most people tend to pump into them, so you'll be just fine.

The only thing to watch out for is if you plan on upgrading to a newer Technic at some point. If you go to a version after they've removed Forestry, your electric engines will disappear. If you're happy keeping your world on that release forever, then knock yourself out. :)

Update: Saw your pic, that should work just fine. Once the frame is built you might even want to try cutting it down to 2 or even 1 engine and see if it changes speed at all.

#9

fspsyco
    fspsyco

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 604 posts
  • Location: Tacoma, WA
  • Minecraft: fspsyco
  • Xbox:fs psyco

Posted 21 August 2012 - 08:05 PM

ok well i'll report back soon when i find out if it worked or not
No matter how right you think you are there will always be some one standing by to correct you.

#10

lppv
    lppv

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 04 October 2012 - 12:04 AM

can i power a quarry with a engine generator with 5 red stone engines
Posted Image