Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Minecraft 1.3.2 Skin Glitch

skin glitch not showing up bug

  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1

KronicTiger

Posted 16 August 2012 - 04:57 PM

Ever since Minecraft 1.3.1 and Minecraft 1.3.2 came out, I've been having a skin bug. This skin bug is where it doesn't load your skin that you uploaded to Minecraft .net, and instead you have a steve skin. This glitch is in both Multiplayer and Singleplayer. In Multiplayer, the glitch is where you can't see others skins and instead they're steve, and your own skin is steve. If there is any news of Mojang fixing this in the next patch or any way to solve this issue, please tell me. Thank you

Pics of the glitch are below:



Posted Image

Posted Image

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Mr.OMG
    Mr.OMG

    Void Walker

  • Members
  • 1758 posts
  • Location: Finland
  • Minecraft: Vilperi14
  • Xbox:Sellis7

Posted 16 August 2012 - 05:06 PM

They are aware of this...I hope they will fix this soon.

But this can be fixed by loggin out and then log back in.
Posted Image

#3

efflandt
    efflandt

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 617 posts
  • Location: Elgin, IL USA

Posted 16 August 2012 - 05:54 PM

When I have had this issue, I noticed in the terminal that java got an HTTP 503 error (temporarily unavailable) when trying to download my skin (or sometimes for other players when in SMP).  So it appears to be a problem when skin servers get too busy as the game gets more popular.  The only real fix they could do for the client would be to have it attempt to get failed skins again after a time.  Not sure if it already does that or needs a long time delay, because occasionally I see that repeatedly failing.

#4

Taizz
    Taizz

    Void Walker

  • Members
  • 1751 posts
  • Location: England
  • Minecraft: Taizzz

Posted 16 August 2012 - 06:11 PM

I'm having this issue too, I've also found out that it applies on LAN Servers. As for the error, to me it implies that there's something wrong with fetching the skins from the servers. I'm sure it will be fixed soon Posted Image

Have I helped you? If I have why not help me back and hit the Posted Image down below? :D


#5

rodabon
    rodabon

    End Dweller

  • Members
  • 7187 posts

Posted 16 August 2012 - 06:26 PM

https://twitter.com/...161759210258432
Re: 3D Minecraft - Anyone tried it?
by c0yote  

I tried it with terrible results. I gave my wife my glasses for a second, a creeper showed up and now my wife is pregnant.
Stupid 3D..

#6

StalePhish
  • Location: New England
  • Minecraft: StalePhish

Posted 16 August 2012 - 06:36 PM

This happened right after 1.3.1 came out, too.

#7

mabvs
    mabvs

    Iron Miner

  • Members
  • 292 posts
  • Minecraft: Mabvs

Posted 16 August 2012 - 06:38 PM

The skin server is ... needing an upgrade. It's not a version specific issue, no patch will help. I'm sure they'll get it sorted out.
Those that can, do. Those that can't Google it.

#8

gerbil
    gerbil

    Support Guru

  • Members
  • 4908 posts

Posted 16 August 2012 - 07:09 PM

View Postmabvs, on 16 August 2012 - 06:38 PM, said:

The skin server is ... needing an upgrade. It's not a version specific issue, no patch will help. I'm sure they'll get it sorted out.

Well, it is a version specific issue in that 1.3 switched to a new skin server pool.   The new skin server pool is an Amazon server pool... not sure about the old one.   The old one appears to work fine, but the new one hasn't worked right yet.  It's flaky, works one run, then fails the next, and can serve up out of date skins as well.

#9

mabvs
    mabvs

    Iron Miner

  • Members
  • 292 posts
  • Minecraft: Mabvs

Posted 16 August 2012 - 10:49 PM

View Postgerbil, on 16 August 2012 - 07:09 PM, said:

Well, it is a version specific issue in that 1.3 switched to a new skin server pool.   The new skin server pool is an Amazon server pool... not sure about the old one.   The old one appears to work fine, but the new one hasn't worked right yet.  It's flaky, works one run, then fails the next, and can serve up out of date skins as well.
Ahh.  So Amazon needs to fix their shit then! I think they should implement an option to tweak the server in which you get skins. Like say you play on two servers. One is not normal run of the mill server.. cool your normal skin would work fine (mine is Hannibal Lecther) . But the other is an RP based server where Dr. Lechter would not fit, so you upload a skin to their server and when you log in, you get that skin instead. Kind of like what's going on with the texture packs. Furthermore, you should be able to put a skin file in a local folder (like the way we do with texture packs) for SSP.
This would take a HUGE load of of the current skin servers...
Those that can, do. Those that can't Google it.

#10

TheSmithysG

Posted 17 August 2012 - 07:20 PM

View Postmabvs, on 16 August 2012 - 10:49 PM, said:

Ahh.  So Amazon needs to fix their shit then! I think they should implement an option to tweak the server in which you get skins. Like say you play on two servers. One is not normal run of the mill server.. cool your normal skin would work fine (mine is Hannibal Lecther) . But the other is an RP based server where Dr. Lechter would not fit, so you upload a skin to their server and when you log in, you get that skin instead. Kind of like what's going on with the texture packs. Furthermore, you should be able to put a skin file in a local folder (like the way we do with texture packs) for SSP.
This would take a HUGE load of of the current skin servers...

I was wandering about this glitch myself and used MS Network Monitor to see where the request is going. It turns out the skins will now be located at http://skins.minecra...MinecraftSkins/ instead of http://s3.amazonaws....MinecraftSkins/. Mojang probably hasn't migrated the skins yet.

#11

TheSmithysG

Posted 17 August 2012 - 07:29 PM

also, if you know how to edit a host file you can add this line and the skins should show up.

50.17.228.159 skins.minecraft.net

If that doesn't work then ping s3.amazonaws.com and use that ip address instead.

#12

grievingwolf
  • Minecraft: GrievingWoLf..

Posted 19 August 2012 - 10:52 PM

Skin won't work on me too... 1.3.2 version minecraft, but when i'm back-up to 1.2.5 - skin works fine. Lol what the hell? login in-out or re-upload skin on site = NOT help. I have always steve now -.-

#13

Voiletwis
  • Location: PA
  • Minecraft: voiletwis

Posted 20 August 2012 - 06:50 PM

Have you guys try killing yourself in Minecraft a few times. I got my skin back after I died 2 times.

Posted Image


#14

gerbil
    gerbil

    Support Guru

  • Members
  • 4908 posts

Posted 20 August 2012 - 07:33 PM

Does no one understand what it means when a piece of software is called "flaky"?

#15

dragontyron
  • Location: The lair (of doom).
  • Minecraft: dragontyron

Posted 20 August 2012 - 10:06 PM

i have this problem as well, but i highly doubt its a version specific issue. however, i logged in today and noticed that the Steve hadnt decided to annoy me today and i got my regular skin back.


View Postrodabon, on 16 August 2012 - 06:26 PM, said:

^^^
Posted Image

#16

gerbil
    gerbil

    Support Guru

  • Members
  • 4908 posts

Posted 20 August 2012 - 10:51 PM

View Postdragontyron, on 20 August 2012 - 10:06 PM, said:

i highly doubt its a version specific issue

It's version specific because before 1.3  skins were downloaded from s3.amazonaws.com and in 1.3.x they are downloaded from skins.minecraft.net    Since these are NOT the same servers, the fact that skins.minecraft.net is flaky has no impact on 1.2.5 or earlier MC.

#17

dragontyron
  • Location: The lair (of doom).
  • Minecraft: dragontyron

Posted 20 August 2012 - 10:56 PM

View Postgerbil, on 20 August 2012 - 10:51 PM, said:

It's version specific because before 1.3  skins were downloaded from s3.amazonaws.com and in 1.3.x they are downloaded from skins.minecraft.net Since these are NOT the same servers, the fact that skins.minecraft.net is flaky has no impact on 1.2.5 or earlier MC.
ah. still, its not quite fair to be blaming it on 1.3, as the skin servers are not part of the in-game changes.
Posted Image

#18

gerbil
    gerbil

    Support Guru

  • Members
  • 4908 posts

Posted 20 August 2012 - 11:02 PM

*head*desk*

It is a code change when you change
URL url = new URL("http://s3.amazonaws.com/MinecraftSkins/" + username);
to
URL url = new URL("http://skins.minecraft.net/MinecraftSkins/" + username);


#19

dragontyron
  • Location: The lair (of doom).
  • Minecraft: dragontyron

Posted 20 August 2012 - 11:27 PM

View Postgerbil, on 20 August 2012 - 11:02 PM, said:

*head*desk*

It is a code change when you change
URL url = new URL("http://s3.amazonaws.com/MinecraftSkins/" + username);
to
URL url = new URL("http://skins.minecraft.net/MinecraftSkins/" + username);
oh.

*knows nothing about code in the first place*
Posted Image

#20

Theothecreator
  • Minecraft: Theothecreator

Posted 22 August 2012 - 10:03 AM

This happened to me too :(