Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

How can i host a LAN server on hamachi

lan

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1

fisherblue23

Posted 03 August 2012 - 11:35 AM

Well my brother lives 3 and a half hours away in Perth and i was wondering if we could play together with lan so he can help me on my world without lots of copying and pasting we have both tried our hamachi IP's with the port for example:
5.5.5.5:4023
fake ip btw.

Any help please!

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Calcearius
  • Location: UK/Turkey
  • Minecraft: calcearius
  • Xbox:F1 Di Resta

Posted 03 August 2012 - 11:46 AM

you can't play LAN over different networks, you need to setup an online server for that.

#3

Stykker
    Stykker

    Obsidian Miner

  • Members
  • 1219 posts
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • Xbox:Stykker

Posted 03 August 2012 - 11:47 AM

You cannot setup a LOCAL AREA NETWORK unless you are in the same network. I will gladly help you set up a simple "one click" server for you to play on with your brother.

#4

fisherblue23

Posted 03 August 2012 - 11:48 AM

Sigh.

#5

LoganNZL
    LoganNZL

    Diamond Miner

  • Members
  • 823 posts
  • Location: New Zealand, you don't know where that is though :'(
  • Minecraft: LoganNZL
  • Xbox:¬_¬
  • PSN:S_C_O_P_IE_D

Posted 03 August 2012 - 11:48 AM

LAN means (L)ocal (A)rea (N)etwork, You'll have to port forward... or use Hamachi there's thousands of tutorials, mostly 12 year old kids rambling on about stuff they don't understand, try to avoid those.

Posted Image

Made it myself :)


#6

Stykker
    Stykker

    Obsidian Miner

  • Members
  • 1219 posts
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • Xbox:Stykker

Posted 03 August 2012 - 11:54 AM

Really... just play on the defualt server software. It requires one click to run and one click to join...

#7

zebbe996

Posted 04 August 2012 - 10:53 PM

View PostStykker, on 03 August 2012 - 11:54 AM, said:

Really... just play on the defualt server software. It requires one click to run and one click to join...

No it's not -.- You need to port forward and many people have problems with that

Posted Image


#8

KyoShinda
    KyoShinda

    Enderman Ender

  • Members
  • 8155 posts
  • Location: Colorado

Posted 04 August 2012 - 10:57 PM

What's porting forward? All I had to do was click one button too.
Posted Image

#9

stevedogs

Posted 04 August 2012 - 10:58 PM

I think you are forgetting that a LAN (Local Area Network) server means just that...it's local. You use them for people on the same network as you, i.e. in your house.

#10

DontStealMyBacon
  • Location: Im on a boat
  • Minecraft: DontStealMyBacon

Posted 04 August 2012 - 10:59 PM

Well, Ive seen a few posts about how to do it with hamachi, but honnestly it is just easier to run a normal server with hamachi. I cant summarize it into a post, but you can find youtube guides for starting servers with hamachi without port forwarding
Posted Image

#11

Stykker
    Stykker

    Obsidian Miner

  • Members
  • 1219 posts
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • Xbox:Stykker

Posted 05 August 2012 - 06:53 AM

If you're using Hamachi, portforwrding isn't needed... and since

View Postzebbe996, on 04 August 2012 - 10:53 PM, said:

No it's not -.- You need to port forward and many people have problems with that

You do not need to port forward when using hamachi, as he is.

Do NOT open ports unless you know exactly what you're doing. Opening ports can allow unrestricted access to your computer via the internet.

When using Hamachi, you literally only need to run the .exe server, start a hamachi network (Network>Create) and give the other player your Hamachi info. He can then join your hamachi session (Network>Join).

To get the IP you need, tell the other player to right click on your name (in hamachi) and click "Copy IPv4 address". They can then enter this IP into minecraft when it asks.

If you're paying as well, and you're on the same machine as the server, simply type "localhost" and you can connect.

Unless you want server mods, I recommend you use the server.exe from minecraft.net. It is the simplest and quickest setup.

Recommended Server software: Minecraft_Server.exe (802 KB)
LogMeIn Hamachi: https://secure.logme...i/download.aspx

Step by step:
1. Start a hamachi network. (Network>Create) (password recommended)
2. Give network info to other players.
3. They can join the hamachi network by (Network>join)
4. Run the minecraftserver.exe inside a folder (it will create other files)
5. Other players join by you Hamachi IP address, not the one assigned by your ISP. They can get this by right clicking on your name in hamachi, and selecting "copy IPv4 address"
6. The address they copied is the one they will enter when prompted for a server IP
7. If you are playing on the same machine as the server, when prompted for a server IP, simply enter "localhost"

Turn connections to your computer on and off via the power button in the top left corner of Hamachi. If it is
not powered on, no one will be able to connect.

Transferring your world:
I believe as of 1.8 Beta you may simple drag and drop worlds.

1. Click the start icon
2. In the search bar, type %appdata% and press enter
3. Select ".minecraft" > "Saves"
4. Copy the world by selecting it and pressing "ctrl+c"
5. Open up the folder where the minecraftserver.exe is in
6. Paste the world with "ctrl+v"
7. Rename the save to "world"
7. OR enter the .properties file and change the world name to the name of the save.


I realize you wanted LAN over the internet, but without port forwarding this is not possible. I highly discourage port forwarding (opening ports) unless you are knowledgeable in this topic. From now on, its easier to play on your own server as single player. (I do this too, I always play on a private server in case I want friends to help)

If you're unfamiliar with the server software settings:
http://www.minecraft...rver.properties

If you're unfamiliar with the server software commands:
http://www.minecraft...Server_commands

More info on setting up a servers:
http://www.minecraft...ing_up_a_server

#12

unnerved
    unnerved

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • Minecraft: unnerved

Posted 05 August 2012 - 07:30 AM

Evolve (www.evolvehq.com) also has a vLAN that works with Minecraft. Might be easier for you to use than Hamachi and there is no 5 person limit.

#13

MineCrak
    MineCrak

    Blaze Extinguisher

  • Members
  • 4131 posts
  • Location: (0,-6,0)

Posted 05 August 2012 - 10:08 AM

View Postunnerved, on 05 August 2012 - 07:30 AM, said:

Evolve (www.evolvehq.com) also has a vLAN that works with Minecraft. Might be easier for you to use than Hamachi and there is no 5 person limit.

Can that be installed without being admin on the computer?

#14

Rennah
    Rennah

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 241 posts
  • Location: ERROR 404: You are too stupid to see this persons location.
  • Minecraft: danielthurston

Posted 05 August 2012 - 10:12 AM

View Postunnerved, on 05 August 2012 - 07:30 AM, said:

Evolve (www.evolvehq.com) also has a vLAN that works with Minecraft. Might be easier for you to use than Hamachi and there is no 5 person limit.

can someone veryify this is genuin please, Otherwise I'd like to try it!

I was wondering about a LAN hamachi server, in the description of hamachi it does say ''lan-like extended networks'', I was wondering if I could do the same. Now I know I couldn't
Posted Image

#15

Stykker
    Stykker

    Obsidian Miner

  • Members
  • 1219 posts
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • Xbox:Stykker

Posted 05 August 2012 - 10:46 AM

View PostRennah, on 05 August 2012 - 10:12 AM, said:

can someone veryify this is genuin please, Otherwise I'd like to try it!

I was wondering about a LAN hamachi server, in the description of hamachi it does say ''lan-like extended networks'', I was wondering if I could do the same. Now I know I couldn't

It is genuine, as far as I can tell. I am unsure of its functionality though.

#16

natesiteweb_4
  • Minecraft: natesiteweb_4

Posted 11 September 2012 - 09:35 PM

View PostCalcearius, on 03 August 2012 - 11:46 AM, said:

you can't play LAN over different networks, you need to setup an online server for that.
Sure you can asshole.

#17

HiImEliteDuck
  • Location: Managing my website
  • Minecraft: EliteDuck
  • Xbox:EliteDucky

Posted 12 September 2012 - 12:44 AM

You cant.

Posted Image


#18

Cym
    Cym

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 12 September 2012 - 01:13 PM

Easiest way to set up a LAN server for someone who isn't on your real network:
Download and install Tunngle
Find an empty room for any game, both/all players join that
Person who is hosting opens their world and opens it to LAN
Share the IP said in chat in now open minecraft world with your friends

#19

Psy9
    Psy9

    Carpenter

  • Members
  • 62 posts

Posted 12 September 2012 - 01:53 PM

View PostHiImEliteDuck, on 12 September 2012 - 12:44 AM, said:

You cant.

Of course you can, that is what vpn is about. Hamachi and Tunggle are just two examples of public vpn services. Inside a vpn network the computers see each other as if they were in the same local network. As there is no router inside the vpn there is no more need for port forwarding either (however, the respective vpn server needs an open port of course).

#20

Edo2710
    Edo2710

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 12 September 2012 - 02:58 PM

I've made a server, using Hamachi. But when my friend tried enter,  his Java stopped working! Any ideas of what may be the problem?
Posted Image